Powered by the groundbreaking Cryptic Engine, Champions Online will be developed for both Xbox� 360 and PC formats. With literally billions of character options allowing total customization, real-time action combat, the richly detailed Champions universe and an experienced Cryptic Studios team devoted to working directly with gamers to deliver a great gaming experience, Champions Online is set to be the premier superheroic massively multiplayer online role playing game.

Total Rating: 8.00
Reviews: 32

Review Archive

Post Date: 17:07 05-08-2015
Rating: 8
Author: axwellshm
Comment: I would say that this game has something similar to Skyforge. Game is good, but as many developers, they stop their work on giving the game some time and love for upgrades, and it just became rubbish. Shame that game like this got killed by laziness.

Post Date: 19:32 01-07-2014
Rating: 7
Author: ChanceSolo
Comment: Was really into this game then it became, stagnant. So much potential, and if the developers/owners showed this game the love it shows the other IP’s they control…
A 7. It’s not that decrepit, but it ain’t soaring like an eagle.

Post Date: 08:46 19-06-2014
Rating: 7
Author: Vrcinac
Comment: game is good but it has its flawls for example if you like mmorpgs like wow this wont realy suit you. altho it is fun you spend around 1 to 2 hours creating a hero and 30 mins playing him 😛 it cant suit all people but if it is just me then it is very good game pvp could be better but its all good. you also have travel powers and all sorth of cosmetic which need to be bought with real money, charracter customization is realy deep and you have alot of classes to chose from in three diffrent roles tank. dps ,suport (healer) final grade 7/10

Post Date: 10:44 30-05-2014
Rating: 9
Author: bloga99
Comment: Nice game 🙂

Post Date: 20:11 02-05-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Ckalja99
Comment: Very interesting game i like it really. Hope all people play it 😉

Post Date: 08:54 21-04-2014
Rating: 9
Author: bos4kCRO
Comment: I Played it once and i can say that’s not so bad.. Graphics is very nice , i like champions 🙂 9/10

Post Date: 09:42 17-04-2014
Rating: 10
Author: Aki013
Comment: I played this game its rly nice. I was lvl 9 XD… but really good costimes and rly nice skills,a lot of classes..

Post Date: 13:38 23-03-2014
Rating: 10
Author: UchihaGuy
Comment: it is awesome games…like dc universe and city of heroes but not anyone can play it…guyz who don’t like heroes and stuff like that will not like it maybe but for me its so damned cool :)))

Post Date: 15:24 21-06-2013
Rating: 6
Author: mmowiz
Comment: i changed my mind. not as good as dc universe or the late city of heroes.

Post Date: 14:19 15-08-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: This game is epic just epic the games story lune is awesome the graphics are also great if you played DC Universe then you should check this game out

Post Date: 12:11 15-08-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: This game can be fun sometimes but at the same time it can have it bad moments. The graphics are cartoon and they can be very good sometimes. Unfortunately, it suddenly starts to lag badly sometimes on the highest levels. It takes quite a while to get started but once you get in to the game you are stuck. It’s easy to learn how everything works and what every spell does. The music is fantastic and the sound effects as well. But, the sounds have various bugs, for example that some spells can’t be heard sometimes. Not a big problem though. It’s a fun game with some problems. There are better games to be found but I still recommend this. It’s fun so it works for me xD

Post Date: 02:39 04-05-2011
Rating: 7
Author: Joker
Comment: Champions has been replaced by DC Universe as the best superhero mmo:p. The characters and combat are much better in DC.

Post Date: 11:01 31-03-2011
Rating: 10
Author: dantabletennis
Comment: I love this game, just downloaded it! Gameplay is great and character creation is epic! I suggest this game to all people!

Post Date: 19:48 22-02-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Adrian
Comment: This game is awesome. Great graphics, characters are a blast too play.

Post Date: 23:22 16-08-2010
Rating: 10
Author: Celtis
Comment: Champions Online deserves more love that it currently gets. The character customization is off the charts. I have played for over 6 months and I still love it:P.

Post Date: 05:01 16-05-2010
Rating: 7
Author: Webber
Comment: Champions Online is awesome if you want to be creative when making your character. The quests are fun too. Where Champions ultimately fails is a reason to keep coming back like WoW.

Post Date: 08:29 26-02-2010
Rating: 6
Author: speed
Comment: Champions and STO are a lot alike. STO is an unfinish scifi MMO with amazing potential but falls flat. Champions online is incredible for make a superhero but ultimately fails due to polish.

Post Date: 23:36 05-02-2010
Rating: 8
Author: kzat
Comment: Champions is a fun action game. The only problem is that you are not attracted to stay for long. The “end game” is dismal.

Post Date: 20:14 28-10-2009
Rating: 10
Author: pwnz
Comment: I love Champions Online. City of Heroes or City of Villains are not better!

The customization is the best I have ever seen in any MMO, period! You finally can make any super hero that you can imagine.

The combat is fast mixed with strategy cuz of cooldowns. My only complaints would be grouping and PvP but who needs either one when soloing pwns?

Post Date: 17:29 20-10-2009
Rating: 9
Author: xcriminal013
Comment: I have just recently bought this game and so far my highest level is a level 32 (the max is 40. yes, it sounds low, but it isn”t easy to get there unless you are a master of grinding lol.) I have a lifetime membership to this game, mostly because it is a fantastic work of art. On to the review, shall we?

Graphics: Marvelous!!! Simply Marvelous! Probably not on the same level as a PS3 or Xbox 360, but pretty damn close, thats for sure. The game itself was meant to act, look, and feel like a super hero comic book. I must say it definetly did a good job on the look element. Reflections on objects reveal all the cracks and nudges in a piece of metal or plastic. You can even see the ridges formed from paint. Reflection quality is superb, and the environment feels like a pop-up book. In other words, you feel like you could reach out and touch an object and feel it! There are a couple spots where some of the graphics do not as good, but overall, the entire world is beautifully done. Even attacks and powers look very cool. The only powerset I believe that does not look as good as it could be is the fire. It looks more like the first World of Warcraft fire (in other words, it just doesn”t look realistic), but it”s not entirely bad.

Community: For the most part, it is a friendly and helpful place and I find myself joining in zone chit-chats and having a decent and fun conversation with someone else. If you happen to need assistance, you can ask in zone chat and more than most likely someone will answer with a helpful response. I”ve been in some supergroups (guilds) as well, and they are quite fun. It feels like a big family. Overall, I like it. You feel welcomed :).

Sound: Music is pretty entertaining, but slightly repetitive. I”ve heard many of the same songs played over from a zone I was just in a couple levels ago. But the music is not bad, and definetly has a nice tune to it. Sounds for attacks and abilities are flawless, really nothing else to say about them.

Gameplay: Probably the most fun I”ve ever had on an MMO (besides playing my hunter on WoW, but thats it lol). Combat is fast and action-packed without a doubt. And another interesting thing in this game is that there is never a moment in combat where you won”t attack due to a cooldown or you”re out of mana/endurance/energy. You start your character off with two basic skills; 1 Energy Builder skill and one attack skill. An energy builder skill is an auto-attack that helps build up your endurance so that you can unleash bigger attacks once you”ve acquired the energy needed to use that skill. Another neat feature of this game is that some skills require you to maybe hold a button down to charge an attack or hold the button down to use a maintained attack. Makes the game feel almost like a console game. Definetly lots of fun in combat. But another importan element to the game is spending hours creating your costume in the costume creator. When I say hours, I don”t mean long, drawn out, boring hours of wasting your time, I mean you”re having so much fun creating the costume you will lose track of time. I know it took me at least an hour and a half to come up with my first character”s costume and I was quite proud of my work :). Anyways, the costume creator is amazing. You can choose and pick through many, many, MANY different options for your head, chest, arms, wrists, back, belt, hands, shoulders, neck, top accessories, side accesories, legs, and so much more. You can change a costume piece you like to have the texture and appearance of a shiny metal or a shiny leather look, or even go with a simple cloth look. You can choose through different types of headware, including hats, beastial faces, monstrous faces, and masks. You will NEVER meet someone who looks like you EXACTLY unless you and that other person decided to make the same costume. The costume creator is slightly less navigationable (i don”t know if thats a word lol) than CoH/V”s, but it has way more options. Another addition to this game is the crafting system. There are three types; Science, Arms, and Mysticism (I think it is called mysticism :P). Each of these crafting professions have three other categories you can specialize in. For example, In mysticism you can choose Arcana (the study of magical items and scrolls), avatar (you have magical attributes that come from a god or goddess), or Enchanting (you can enchant items to give them special attributes. Slightly like WoW, but they are different.) The strange thing about the crafting system is the way your skill in that type of profession grows. There are different “boxes”, I guess I could call them that, that you can get materials from, but that is not the strange part. Every item you find in the game is either a Mysticism, Arms, or Science type item. Say you are an Arms profession and you stumble across a Arms type item after looting your enemy. If this item is useless to you, you can take it to a Arms crafting table and take that item apart to gain points in your Arms profession and gain materials from the item. You can still get points from crafting items, but it is easier to level your profession if you just find items and take them apart for materias and points. The story line of quests aren”t that bad either. You don”t have to read them to understand what is going on, and you can easily see where the quest is telling you to go for it leaves a large green circle on the map that basically says, “Hey! You! Yeah, you! Superhero! Your quest”s objectives are over here!”, but you can still read the lore and story behind all of the quest. It isn”t an epic storyline of untold proportions, but the storyline IS there. PvP in this game, though, is actually quite horrible. There are many balance issues and it is just plain ridiculous to even try to pvp unless you have built your character for that soul purpose. I”m just going to wait it out until they balance everything. Besides that though, the PvE element is where all the action and fun is.

I could go on forever about all the details of the game, but I”m afraid I”ll run out of space to type it all in lol. Anyways, heres my overall.

Overall: Definetly a game worth trying. I can promise you it will definetly be a purchase that will leave you happy for a while. So far I have thoroughly enjoyned my experience as a super hero and I will definetily recrommend this game to anyone whose played City of Heroes/Villains and enjoyed it. This game is everything CoH/V was and more :). I hope my review helped you all out some, and maybe it has helped convince you to buy a great game. Hope to see you in the world of Champions Online!

Post Date: 20:17 09-10-2009
Rating: 3
Author: socialstatus
Comment: Ahhh this game was good while it lasted, than they screwed it up, i might play another day when they fix it up, or atleast kill off most of their players and only have a fan base of hardcore players, and then and only then will i start up the subscription for this game.

Post Date: 02:53 09-10-2009
Rating: 4
Author: seryph420
Comment: Its a visually stunning game, that said, it is the most limited spell centered mmorpg ever made. They have melee, but nothing that could stand alone. Think spiderman, but ya have ta be professor X to pull it off. The pvp is a really good system though, as long as your in an arena. The game masters are constantly unable to stop reducing the games playable powers, because it is too obviously difficult to make the enemies harder(duh). And the gaps inbetween lvls to say the least is NOT funny. All together the game is awesome to look at, but average to play. The community is somewhat helpful(If you can get into a supergroup). KSers are a constant. I think it might outlast Aion(Myst ripp-off), but I won’t hold my breath.

Post Date: 15:40 19-09-2009
Rating: 6
Author: maltir
Comment: Champions online is NOT a complete game. They had a stupid patch on the first day of launch that ruined it for alot of people like me. thankfully i did not buy the lifetime subscription or would have been out 200 bucks!!!!! back to City of Heroes and City of Villains for this boy.

Post Date: 19:10 02-09-2009
Rating: 8
Author: Joker
Comment: I played Champions during the open beta. I agree that its better than City of Heroes and Villains. The only problems on launch are no full respecs and a bad patch. The worst, however, is that Champions plays like a solo MMO worse than any other game I have played.

Post Date: 10:41 02-09-2009
Rating: 9
Author: awesomedrako
Comment: Definitely a game-changer, this one will probably be better than City of Heroes and City of Villains. With even better graphics than those other two games!

Post Date: 05:26 24-08-2009
Rating: 10
Author: mmowiz
Comment: take my word for it, champions online is better than city of heroes and city of villains combined. the customization is more varied…you can create some impressive looking characters easily. the graphics are also much better in champions online…they feel like a comic book more. the whole setup is more fun!

Post Date: 06:00 19-08-2009
Rating: 9
Author: webber
Comment: I am trying to get in the beta. I wonder how far you can customize your character to make it unique?

Post Date: 18:02 02-08-2009
Rating: 10
Author: buzzsaw
Comment: Champions Online will be SO much better than City of Heroes that it is not even funny. Cryptic has learned from the mistakes on CoH/CoV to make a superior superhero MMORPG.

Post Date: 03:49 22-05-2009
Rating: 10
Author: aerkkion
Comment: Lot’s of hype for this game (Yeah that sound’s bad but not from the vid’s we’ve seen so far.) Graphic’s are great! The comic design is so smooth it looks great. I like the fact that you can travel by swinging, or tunneling, etc. I like the xbox/pc concept. I am really interested to see how this plays out for the xbox. Im not gonna go off and say its a WoW killer but it definently looks like its gonna bump up to second place. Check out the website. It’s great.

Post Date: 22:19 22-07-2008
Rating: 10
Author: mavole
Comment: This game is going to give a home run.

Post Date: 10:15 30-05-2008
Rating: 6
Author: gogochicken3
Comment: i would really like to play this, game the graphic look good. And adding it to the xbox could make it an even more popular game. can’t wait.

Post Date: 03:52 06-03-2008
Rating: 5
Author: Call Me William
Comment: Ah, I must give it a neutral rating for I have not played this game, but it looks wondrous, maybe a little bit like City of Heroes/Villains but I think it will bring something new to the MMO playing field, but for now, I’ll just see if I can get into the beta, annnnd we’ll see if I can get some dirt for y’all.

REVIEW OVERVIEW
Online Game Review
8.00
SHARE
Previous articleChampions of Regnum Review
Next articleConquer Online Review

4 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY