1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. To chat with the GameOgre community, you need to have at least 15 posts. Once you have the 15 posts, post at Become A New Ogre
    Dismiss Notice

Cleaning a PC

Discussion in 'Gaming PC' started by ogreman, Dec 30, 2013.

  1. Admin Post
    ogreman

    ogreman Ogre In Charge Staff Member GameOgre Admin

    Messages:
    37,231
    Likes Received:
    7,019
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    17,734.26
    Who here has a cleaned a PC because of fan noise before? My big rig is a few years old and the noises it is making now are starting like a dungeon lol.

    Going to have to crack the case and clean it with cans of I guess.
     
  2. Aaddron

    Aaddron Moderator Staff Member GameOgre Moderator

    Messages:
    35,330
    Likes Received:
    2,106
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    174,849.94
    Here are some general tips. Unplug all power. Avoid touching or putting fingers very near any of the main components, if your going to be touching things it's a good idea to clear static first by touching a metal object. Use Compressed Air and NEVER use a normal vacuum, vacuum can generate static which can damage components... portable vacuums can be safe.

    Fans itself though are tricky, I'd try blowing it out first... it might fix it. It could also be the fan itself though, try identifying which fan it is. If blowing it out doesn't work take the fan out if possible and clean it real good, if it's possible to get to the bearing or ring it turns on try giving it a little lubrication... if all else fails you may have to buy a new one.

    I really hate the whine fans can make... it's sooo annoying. :/
     
  3. ufbre

    ufbre World of Tanks Fan Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    17,890
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Credit:
    1,144.70
    Yes be careful!
    Avoid touching or putting fingers very near any of the main components
    I have lost my hdd last year when i used a normal vacuum
     
  4. Hawx1990SRBIJA

    Hawx1990SRBIJA Iron Ogre Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    7,186
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Credit:
    11,109.12
    If you use washing machine, put it on 30 degrees celsius, more than that will shrink PC. XD

    Ps. Metal object must bi in contact with ground, as in earth.
    Ps No.2. Do not put your PC in washing machine, i was kidding about that. XD
     
  5. Admin Post
    ogreman

    ogreman Ogre In Charge Staff Member GameOgre Admin

    Messages:
    37,231
    Likes Received:
    7,019
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    17,734.26
    Going to use cans of air for the fan first. Is there anything to avoid while doing that? Not planning on using vacuums or washing machines lol.
     
  6. Aaddron

    Aaddron Moderator Staff Member GameOgre Moderator

    Messages:
    35,330
    Likes Received:
    2,106
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    174,849.94
    Not really, the dust should come out pretty easy; it doesn't take much and the components themselves should be pretty solid.
     
  7. ufbre

    ufbre World of Tanks Fan Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    17,890
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Credit:
    1,144.70
    hold the vent until you do that do not let the vent turn!
     
  8. Crownknight

    Crownknight You like Krabby Patties, don't you Squidward? Royal Ogre

    Messages:
    9,195
    Likes Received:
    668
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    70,108.54
    ????

    cleaning a PC takes lots of stuff yea don't put your finger I'm young so I don't no much don't blame me :(
     
  9. Admin Post
    ogreman

    ogreman Ogre In Charge Staff Member GameOgre Admin

    Messages:
    37,231
    Likes Received:
    7,019
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    17,734.26
    Well, cleaned it out today and now on that PC:). However, it is still doing some clanging. The main thing is that the bad noise that started a few days ago is gone so far:).
     
  10. Crownknight

    Crownknight You like Krabby Patties, don't you Squidward? Royal Ogre

    Messages:
    9,195
    Likes Received:
    668
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    70,108.54
    good thing your PC is cleaned out
     
  11. shugo

    shugo Active Member Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Credit:
    14,267.21
    unplug the power

    you don't have to crack the case, a small screwdriver is enough to open the side hatches. Just make sure you tap the screwdriver before you open the side hatches, or use a screwdriver with plastic handles (its to avoid static). You can then vacuum the dust out of the inside. Just don't touch anything inside (hover slightly above the parts).


    I clean my pc every couple of years or so. I don't have to do it that often, because the room is like really clean and free of dust.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 4, 2014
  12. ufbre

    ufbre World of Tanks Fan Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    17,890
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Credit:
    1,144.70
    Today after cleaning my pc up with Air compressor hi had some trobles to go on.
    But its fix now,i have take out the batery from the motherbord and put it back in .
    NOTE:
    Do not use the vacuum cleaner!!! to avoid static
    Do not touch parts with bare hands!!! to avoid static
    i used it last year and accidentally touched the hard disk and it was dead on the spot.
    This year i used Air compressor just dont go over 5 bar and you will be ok.
    After cleaning check every connector to see if they have not an accident bin pulled out.
    Wile blowing the air hold the vent until you do that, do not let the vent turn!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 6, 2014
  13. Admin Post
    ogreman

    ogreman Ogre In Charge Staff Member GameOgre Admin

    Messages:
    37,231
    Likes Received:
    7,019
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    17,734.26
    I was satisfied with cleaning the PC for the first time:). There is still noise but the PC is much cleaner and the noise is less.

    Has anybody use silicon on the ball bearing before? Was told that could help too.

    So your PC is fine now, Ufbre?
     
  14. ufbre

    ufbre World of Tanks Fan Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    17,890
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Credit:
    1,144.70
    not quite .....
    i am having some troble with my pc,after clening hi just turns off giving me a blue screen with cmos eror-wrong cmos.

    sry i will probably not be able to take part in wot event or ogre forums until i fix this from time to time i am able to turn it on but it s a short time.
     
  15. Aaddron

    Aaddron Moderator Staff Member GameOgre Moderator

    Messages:
    35,330
    Likes Received:
    2,106
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    174,849.94
    Well that's not good, it's not a simple error either :(

    Is it a prebuilt or a custom build PC? If it's prebuilt, what brand is it?
     
  16. JaredOzzy

    JaredOzzy The Legendary Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    7,206
    Likes Received:
    488
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    19,516.83
    That error could be from many things it could also be as simple as you just plugged in something incorrectly into the motherboard...i have a few pc in my house that are doing the one still goes on but after about 15-20 minutes it gives a blue screen which is strange but i think it is because the power supply is faulty, another pc just gets stuck after about 15-20 minutes of using it and a few years ago when we took it in they couldn't fix it but it probably needs a better cpu lol too much money to spend on taking it in so we just got it lying around, but i could use it later its got a decent hdd and graphics card lol
     
  17. ufbre

    ufbre World of Tanks Fan Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    17,890
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Credit:
    1,144.70
    it s custom build amd phenom 955 x4 /nvidia gtx 460 gs/4 gig ram/1 gig hdd/asus870 mot bord

    cmos problem=wrong cmos
     
  18. Aaddron

    Aaddron Moderator Staff Member GameOgre Moderator

    Messages:
    35,330
    Likes Received:
    2,106
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    174,849.94
    Have you changed any of the hardware recently? Or any work done on it recently?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2014
  19. ufbre

    ufbre World of Tanks Fan Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    17,890
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Credit:
    1,144.70
    i have take down the vent from cpu cooler and cleaned it up

    i think probably the battery from the motherboard moved and causes all this
     
  20. ufbre

    ufbre World of Tanks Fan Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    17,890
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Credit:
    1,144.70
    my pc is steady now over 5 hours
     

Share This Page