Cartoon-style MMORPG where NPCs remember you, you can design your own clothes, fish, cook, and relax around a campfire. Not only do NPCs just remember your name, but they know how often you’ve visited them, if you’ve been a good worker, even if you treated them good or bad. This means that the things they tell you or the way they treat you will vary depending on your relationship with them. There are many ways to befriend an NPC….who knows, they might even give you special treatment.

Review Archive
Post Date: 20:31 02-08-2015
Rating: 7
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Mabinogi is a great MMO for gamers who aren’t looking to grind levels or raid 20 man dungeons for epic loots, but rather enjoy a colorful, online world that gives the player a sense of freedom when it comes to developing their character.
Post Date: 01:09 29-04-2012
Rating: 10
Author: KuroTsuna
Comment: Mabinogi is a fantasy MMORPG which is a my fav genre from all games I play. The setting of this game begins with these continents. There are currently three continents, Uladh, Belvast and Iria. If the player decides to start as a human, he or she will begin their game in the Uladh village of Tir Chonaill. If the player chooses to be an elf, the game begins in Iria at Filia, in the region Connous. Should the player decide to start as a Giant, they will begin their game at Vales, in the region Physis, which is located far north in the continent of Iria. Currently there are three races: human, elf and giant. When creating a character, one may choose an age between ten and seventeen. One thing you need to know is that your character will age in this game. it’s really realistic, don’t you think? There are many things you can do in this game, like quests and part-time jobs. It’s a nice game, I’ll give it a 10/10.
Post Date: 23:34 03-10-2010
Rating: 5
Author: ice grim reaper
Comment: I search up Celtic games and found this game.The anime style doesn’t mix with the Celtic culture.My friend wouldn’t be pleased(he’s Celtic)
Post Date: 17:03 03-09-2010
Rating: 9
Author: eatwhileplaying
Comment: On its own, Mabinogi is a great game. The dungeon system is cool, the party system is efficient, the leveling rate is somewhat reasonable and there’s a lot to do, ranging from campfires to jobs to quests to classes. It also has some interesting elements such as day and night and weather. There are a large variety of skills as well, not only combat and magic but also life skills too. I know that probably sounds a bit lame but some, like Rest, First Aid, Campfire and Cooking are very helpful. The combat system takes a while to master so newcomers may be frustrated but its quite intricate and involves good strategic skills. Graphics are actually really good and the camera works quite well (Although point-and-click movement has its issues as always.) The downsides are that the community isn’t always friendly, there’s a lot of spammers and cash shop makes up quite a bit of the game. And as with any online game, if you don’t have a friend of two to play with, the fun of the game wears pretty thin after a while. Still, Mabinogi offers a ton to do and if you can make plenty of in-game friends, this should be able to satisfy you for a long time.
Post Date: 14:06 21-07-2010
Rating: 5
Author: Ayame550
Comment: Everyone thats new to Mabinogi may find it a bit confusing. I did at first but i had a friend to help me through the basics and get started. but once you play the game for a few days and get used to it you can really find some interesting things. and the thing about this game is theres always something new to find (even if you don’t know it yet)somewhere you havn’t been or something you haven’t seen, something you haven’t done. and they’re alway s coming out with new things too!

and for those who are saying the mobs are weak then you havn’t even been past the bears near Tir cause there are PLENTY of mobs that are not weak (and i’m lvl 300 total) the graphics may not be all that but i acctualy like them in the anime style they’re in. and sure the cash shop gives you alot of advantages but it’s not a nessecity just like in MapleStory (Which i hate btw >.>)

one thing i have to say though is that this game just isn’t very much fun without a friend or two playing it with you. but with all the interactions you get by going on quests and dungeons your sure to make at least one in-game friend =o.(depending on teh server the game is very noob friendly ^^ [i’m in mari btw Ayame550 is my user]

this is a game that takes a lot of patience to get used to but once your used to it it’s the funnest game in the world =D

-Ayame550

Post Date: 15:38 08-07-2010
Rating: 10
Author: Zeryphyra
Comment: I really love this game there’s always something to do its addicting.
Post Date: 22:50 07-07-2010
Rating: 6
Author: callsofscv
Comment: When I browsed Nexon’s website for new games I stumbled upon this game called “Mabinogi” and saw the little “Fantasy Life” next to the games Title. I looked into the games FAQ’s and reviews. It received a semi good review and it also has done something never before attempted, in addition it is a completely free game so I decided to give it a shot.

After waiting almost 3 hours (I have a 2006 Dell Laptop) I finally was able to run the game. I came upon the main game screen which showed the Title and a lovely setting with flowers and grass to show in the background. I logged in and came upon the Character Creation button.

I was suprised at all the custom features you could use, you can choose between 3 races which have the same old basic s.. Elves, Humans and some Orcish like race. What made me even more excited was that you can choose your own age! Between 12 and 17 and your body becomes either full grown or still developing as you level and gain experience your body can grow. I was further intrigued by all the hair styles, skin colors, eyes, noses and custom clothing.

Once I finished creating my character, aged 17 and ‘pimped’ out I stumbled in a place which reminded me of a Prison. A lady in black told me some things then I was off into the world. When I first arrived the Tutorial spammed my screen and was very long and boring. I killed a Rabbit using a very simple attack and traveled down to a village like the lady told me.

When I arrived I was harrased by a player.. calling me a noob and a few other names. I spoke with Village Chief twice and he actually remembered my name. I was able to get several jobs and there was even a night and day time.

I learned new Combat Moves which weren’t that interesting and it was hard to get used too. I completed a few dungeons, which were boring and didn’t offer me much. I did several other quests but they were kind of boring as well and were hard to get used too.

I think this game had a potential and still does, but it didn’t really interest me that much. If the combat was a little more exciting then I think this would be a fair game to play and a good wait for the Download.

Post Date: 20:12 30-05-2010
Rating: 2
Author: BT786
Comment: I didn’t like the gameplay. The camera is horrible and the game is really confusing and difficult to get used too.
Post Date: 06:09 25-05-2010
Rating: 8
Author: Xardin
Comment: OK, for my part of the review for Mabinogi. Ill start off with the graphic. Ill make sure to include the positive and negative things about it.

Graphic: Graphic is 3D cartoon like. They have excellent background picture and nice character design. Except that when people first see it, they wont be able to tell if that it’s a good game or not without playing it.

Gameplay: I personally think that the gameplay is nice. There are many things for you to do when you first play, like going around exploring place you never been to, or doing dungeons and at the same time, meeting new people. they also have many skills for the player to raise. When i first watch the trailer, my first expression of this game was that fact that it resemble the game Runescape, because i keep seeing people cooking, fishing, weeding, shaving sheeps, woodcutting, etc. But unlike Runescape, you cant just stay in that same area and spam doing the same things for hours. You will need Ability Point(AP) to raise the skill (with the exception of skill that require hard work like icebolt and windmill). They even include a age system where we can get stronger as we age up. when you reach age 20, you can rebirth. Rebirth is when a character go back and start off as lv 1 again, but we get to keep our skill we raise, so we can level up faster, get more AP, and raise even more skill. Now for the down side of this game. During the beta open of this game, i enjoy how people mostly just talk to each other. i Also enjoyed how we can make campfire out of wood and play music while chatting with each other. Sometimes, my friends and I usually just formed a party and go team up on some random dungeons. But as the game goes on, things became very easy for most people, like how they can solo dungeons that took many poeple to finish back in the old days. Also, People rarely even create campfire and sit back and chat. They just ignore that kind of style of playing and focus on making money, buying fashion, making more money, getting stronger, and making even more money. Only time they even make campire is using them in battle -__-. As for the Landscape, people mostly dont even go into most areas. Example is the Iria continent, most people dont go there, which end up being a drag for the game and causing more lags. They even create the place that like 100 times the size of dunby and it end up with no one being there, not like how they display in the iria trailer where people ride around in horses exploring and stuff like that, sure they do that, at the first few days when iria was out, ya they do. Same for Rafting and Balloons, most of that dont do that. Ok, im done with graphic, on to the nx items.

NX items: now in games like maple story, nexon pratically ripped us off, a 9 dollar pet that only last for 3 month and wont do anything except auto pick up and auto hp/mp?
Well, you can get a 5 dollar pet that last forever, they can help you fight, store items, and even get stronger lving up. There are also many pets that have different function, along with different price, but they are all worth it.

Storyline: unlike games that just tell you to spam lv and stuff like that. Mabinogi include many storyline for you to follow, and in the end, it benefits you with great reward if you finish it. The story line include that you do many interesting quest like RPG dungeons, where you get to play as a NPC and experience their skills. There are also many boss levels in story line, where you can team up with you friends to bring it down. Mabinogi is still updating every story line. Up to now, it has a total of 6 story line to play with and in a few weeks, the 7th is going to be out =D.

Community: Helpful, nice, and doesnt say F*** off or CC PLS. there may be some assholes in the game, but there are very few.

Battle system: very nice, unlike games where you just spam a few button like maple story D=

Post Date: 02:10 02-04-2010
Rating: 9
Author: Regret
Comment: Mabinogi is pretty fun game. You will have LOTS of fun if you play with a friend. It is kinda like Runescape; point and click, fishing, cooking, and all that but I’m not sure how but it’s different. This game is pretty social because you get to a point where you can’t do dungeons by yourself. The quests help you level until about level 20, then it gets hard. They give you quests that you cannot even finish because the requirements are too difficult. Besides the quests, there isn’t really much that’s bad about this. I love playing this game because it is a bit relaxing. The great, just absolutely great part about this game is the part time jobs. You can take jobs from NPCs for a good amount of exp and money. Overall this game is excellent and you should try it if you want to relax.
Post Date: 15:57 31-01-2010
Rating: 10
Author: supergohan
Comment: i have played the game i truly enjoy it. it has mainstream quests and many regular quests. i accutally maneged to get a transformation and finsh some mainstream quests.
Post Date: 08:03 05-05-2009
Rating: 6
Author: Indispensable
Comment: The gave who gave a 0, for number one I agree that the cash shop neccesity was annoying, however as for one character, you can make 3 without cash shop as long as they are different races. Secondly what do you mean useless damage or run slower, cash shop does not affect them unless you use a horse to move for convenience.
As for your number two, the grind isnt hard until lvl 30 and you gain a rebirth option to keep stats and go back to lvl 1 with the same gear etc. Easy leveling it sounds to me.The quests arent that hard as long as you use your skills and normal level mobs outside are meant for quests. Dungeons are supposed to be your way of leveling. And also the mobs outside arent that hard to kill as long as you can click a button. (Interesting concept)
Thirdly, the health and mp arent even that much to complain about, just make sure you time things right.
People who argue about the combat being too difficult need to find a party or learn more about the game before charging blindly in.
Also error reporting is an item you get from the general store.
Post Date: 20:16 20-12-2008
Rating: 5
Author: clickmehere
Comment: unlike muhaimenr review this is my view of the game, you dont have to fight in the game at all. Whats so great about this game is you can level in other ways then combat. You can make your own music, buy a house, marry someone u know, get a pet, fish, get a job, have a life, its not all just about combat! You don’t have to fight at all in the game. Great Example of Fantasy Life
Post Date: 00:15 23-10-2008
Rating: 0
Author: muhaimenr
Comment: Major reasons why this game is useless?

Number 1: You have to pay for almost everything; without nexon cash, you cant even have more than 1 character, your damage is useless, you run slower, and basically suck. Like hell. Without paying you only have a few customization choices, and all of them are hardly different from one another.

Number 2-The gameplay was fun-for the first few levels.Luckily you level fast in this game, unlike Malplestory(Thank God!) Sadly, as soon as you reach level 15 or so (which even an idiot would be able to do in about 2-3 hours) it becomes just about impossible to do quests. The combat system was good.. but as you go on its next to impossible to attack a monster, and have the time you die trying to kill something your level. Quests were in the beginning not terrible, but once again, as you progress, the quests become WAY too hard, forcing you to grind.

Number3-Putting that aside, one last major problem is that health and mp, even at level 15, s terrible. Most monsters can kill you in 3-4 hits, even though they are your level and lower.

All that aside, conclusion is that: DONT PLAY THIS! You will regret it!

Post Date: 13:26 21-10-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Jamie09
Comment: Although the game does get to be cash-shop reliant, the pros of the game, especially the combat system and unique health/stamina, makes this quite an addicting mmo.
Post Date: 15:43 28-09-2008
Rating: 2
Author: Sylexus
Comment: This gane was great during beta, in fact I’d give it a 9. But then came the release, and guess what? All the little immature runescape geeks came flooding in (overcrowding the place and calling everyonea noob). As if that wasn’t bad enough, nexon forces you to pay money to make more characters. The PvP sucks, and so does th skill system, im sick of games where you cannot see other people’s levels without being in their party or guild. Gold spammers are everywhere, and if you think you got ksed bad in Maple its twice as bad here. The Partt time job system is pretty neat though, i must admit. I also like the music making stuff and I do like how the dungeons work though, so I can’t give it a 1.
Post Date: 12:53 28-09-2008
Rating: 5
Author: Cenovis
Comment: A quick summary of why this game is pretty lackluster.

A) Interface is awful and there is no error reporting (Don”t know what you did wrong? Don”t expect the game to tell you.)

B) Community is not very social. Chat is always quiet except for all the gold spammers (and the game is jam packed with them.)

C) Community is not newbie friendly.

D) Grindy and made grindier for the following reasons in order:
D1) Camping deduction which takes a (big) percentage of your xp if you stay too long in one spot. Rises too fast and only causes more camping (irony) near mobs on border lines.
D2) Rock-paper-scissor combat makes for unpredictable fights with mobs your level. One minute you win, the next you lose because no matter how well timed your counter attack is, 1/5 times you just won”t make because the mob gets up too quick, or your skill level isn”t high enough vs your opponent.
D3) When you get hit once by a mob, it causes a chain reaction of damage that is hard to stop. You die easily if this happens w/ mobs your level, and fighting mobs under your level means extremely slow xp.
D4) You can”t fight without stamina, and it runs down while you attack. You need pots to restore it, which are $$$ and if you use too many you can poison yourself.

E) Nexus tries to milk every cent from you by pressuring you to use the cash shop at every turn, e.g. no new characters unless you pay, no rebirth unless you pay (one of the core features of the game is rebirthing.)

D) Economy ruined, gold farmers everywhere and no GMs or game guides in sight to remedy it.

E) Marketplace prices are dumb. Items not priced according to stats or usefulness, only cuteness. I”m all for unique identities, but when a black item with the same stats as a white item costs 17x more, you have lost your mind. Stop listening to Barbie Girl and put down the Teen People.

F) No class restrictions, but extremely limited AP meaning no hybrids early on. Pointless feature, unless you want to grind your brains out.

G) Pets are useful but can only be summoned for a short period of time, 1.5 to 2 hours. Considering how grindy the game is, that time is too short.

H) Repetitive quests with nothing interesting about them. Dungeons are instanced, and extremely “samey,” reminiscent of Last Chaos.

I) Non-combat skills like crafting and whatnot are very reminiscent of Runescape, e.g. click the sheep and wait to harvest wool; click the chicken and wait to harvest eggs… Bring mats together to make clothes or food… Not exciting or unique.

J) The only unique skill is music composition. Note the word composition, you cannot play live. Most people do not write their own, only steal songs from internet. If you want to know what it”s like, imagine being stuck on the highway with everyone blasting their favorite radio station, except everyone”s stereo sucks and can only play MIDI files (kind of what the internet was like in 1998.)

Final conclusion: Runescape with better graphics, worse interface, more gold farmers, and slightly better community (if you think being ignored is superior to outright ridicule.) Some unique features, but buried under all the drawbacks. Pretty mediocre overall.

Post Date: 22:34 22-07-2008
Rating: 9
Author: mavole
Comment: I quit the game after a week but I can’t say I didn’t enjoy it.
Post Date: 20:43 14-07-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Mars180
Comment: This game is one of the best games you may ever play! It may have a cash shop but then again most Nexon games do but there is nothing to really out noobs. ^ ^ Try it out. You’ll like it. :]
Post Date: 21:24 01-06-2008
Rating: 10
Author: omegadark
Comment: Anything you can think of its probably in mabinogi. First game i seen to have aging system and weight system.
Pros:Large 3d-2d backgrounds with plenty of monsters.
has horses, pets and even transformation.
Very good graphics
Nice battle system.
Cons: A VERY time consuming game.
is cash shop so many noobs can probably buy their way to the top.
Computer AI very high , might be difficult for people not used to action mmorpgs.
Post Date: 04:58 16-03-2008
Rating: 10
Author: anigous
Comment: This game, is… EVERYTHING. Its a duengeon crawler. A music compisition tool. A social hangout. An adventure, and more! The community is awesome, the battle system is a little like rock-paper-scissor game. Though the battle system cant be everything.
SHARE
Previous articleLineage II Review
Next articleMaple Story Review
ogreman
Editor and admin of GameOgre.com for over 10 years. Always willing to improve GameOgre.com and its game community. If you have any questions or business offers, please feel free to contact me.

8 COMMENTS

  1. Interesting mmorpg that comes with cartoony anime graphic and offers a lot of hours of fun.
    Game is havily based on crafting and producing materials for you to use or sell on the market.

    Septera did not rate this post.
  2. Lower rate MMOPRG, graphic is to bad for me to play it, there are su much better games that are also free and brings so much more, i would rather play gw2 or something like that, then this game. Totally not attractive to me. As in any other mmorpg, you are placed on world, doing quests and fighting creatures, only is low graph

    brankomiljus20 did not rate this post.
  3. This is decent mmorpg video game with cartoon graphic, you can design you own clothes and you can cook,I recommend this game everybody

    TheRedLight3 did not rate this post.
  4. It’s interesting how you can build a relationship with the NPCs if you treated them good or bad I don’t see many that games but I checked​ the game through searches and the graphics really is bad just as the other says for someone like me who is really concerned about the graphics if it’s good or bad I won’t recommend it since I wouldn’t enjoy​ it that much 🙁

    Masako did not rate this post.
  5. Mabinogi is a anime fantasy MMO and a sandbox game. You can raise animals, build homes and get married too. Combat in this game is a bit different in this game from games i usually play, there’s no skill spamming you have to be precise with the timing.

    Rex did not rate this post.

LEAVE A REPLY