Asherons Call


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Customize your alter ego with a unique appearance and balance of heroic skills, then enter a magical frontier of terrible monsters, breathtaking vistas, and fast alliances. With over 500 square miles that offer ever more wonders to explore, Asheron's Call gives you a world of unparalleled scope and freedom, the richest setting yet for creating your personal saga or joining your friends in an epic campaign.

Total Rating: 6.52
Reviews: 27

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 23:21 01-08-2015
Rating: 1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 23:21 01-08-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 18:38 22-06-2015
Rating: 7
Author: LosmiK
Comment: A fantastic RPG for the PC. The opportunities for character creation are endless, letting you make that sword-wielding, fireball-flinging thief you always wanted to be.

Post Date: 16:06 10-01-2015
Rating: 4
Author: arZ
Comment: this is a really cool MMORPG with really bad graphics. You can customize your own hero. You can kill monsters in this game. This game is... ok? I rate it 4/10

Post Date: 00:29 16-02-2013
Rating: 4
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This game wasnt fun for me the graphics suck the gamplay and combat is also very bad and you have to pay a sub fee which is BS considering its so bad i rate it 4/10

Post Date: 20:22 29-09-2012
Rating: 6
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Graphics like shit but very good game play. 6/10

Post Date: 21:55 24-02-2011
Rating: 4
Author: Adrian
Comment: Nice game, great combat. Customizations are nice, but like sasuke said...the graphics are lame.

Post Date: 03:38 22-02-2011
Rating: 5
Author: sasuke24
Comment: A fine 3D MMORPG. I love the combat system and the multiplayer effect. The graphics is quite poor though.

Post Date: 03:22 10-11-2010
Rating: 3
Author: Neakamia
Comment: 3 weeks of my life I can never get back.

Post Date: 14:28 19-02-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Evilvertigo
Comment: Absolutely THI best MMORPG game ever made, hands down.
What you all have forgotten is the PvP, where this game really shines.
No admin working on these sites who are reviewing this game for a week or a month will have a clue about the shere depth of pvp in this game.
The player skillfacotr is truely endless, it has no comparison in any other MMO.
I'm sure only the hardcore ac players will know what im talking about, because it takes years to be truely good at ac PvP and you can never get to a point where you've learnt it all.


Post Date: 05:55 03-12-2008
Rating: 5
Author: D1E53L
Comment: people who are still reviewing this:

It has already been detailed this game was released too early as a competetor for the everquest market. its big fails, stop talking about it.

Post Date: 10:16 07-10-2008
Rating: 9
Author: satyrion
Comment: Great game and epic classic i will never forget togehter with Anarachy Online

Post Date: 15:19 28-08-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Gither79
Comment: this game rocks way better then wow

Post Date: 17:29 09-04-2008
Rating: 0
Author: Totarri
Comment: Friend; Waste of money, takes ages to actually GET and the mechanics are ridiculuos!

Post Date: 06:32 31-03-2008
Rating: 8
Author: gigemags
Comment: Wanted to try this but got to the part where they wanted my credit card info before I tried the free trial ??????? lol --no dont think so--thats what you get after the free trial and I decide to buy--leaving rating at 8 because of other posts gl

Post Date: 05:10 23-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: joker 831
Comment: looks like a cool game ill try it out i used to play world of warcraft but i couldnt play alot cause it was my cousins game and one day he felt bored and so he sold it... :( im just lookin for a game to play

Post Date: 10:14 25-01-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Hardprlovin
Comment: I started playing AC in 99' as well and from 99'-03' and loved every minute of it. since 03' i tried playing many other games including WoW(which is absolute garbage) Guild Wars ect. But after a month or 2 i would just go back and get into AC. First i LOVE the skill system and how you raise them with experience through the game. You can be killed anywhere at any time which adds a very exciting element to this game. And forming in game friendships is a must. Plus the fact that it is not a game you can hit cap(256 now i believe)in a very short amount of time makes it very fun and challenging. The Allegiance system is unrivaled. And the PvP actually requires skill which is what i love. The fact that i can kill someone who is even 100 levels higher then me even though they have a huge advantage is just awesome. All and all i think this game is a must try at least for hardcore gamers. yes the graphics arent too great but if your a fan of PvP it will not matter at all.

Post Date: 16:24 28-12-2007
Rating: 8
Author: PurEvil
Comment: I bought the original AC right after release, and played it on and off for a number of years (before following some friends to WoW).

Pros:
-Very large world to explore, with no set path to follow. If you want to follow a story, you can, but if you just want to explore, there's nearly limitless possibilities in Dereth.
-Open skill system. After playing WoW, I admit that I miss having an open skill system where you choose each skill you wish to have, which is limited by the number of skill points you've gotten through leveling. Also, if I remember right, it's not hard to completely change your character's skills around with no real penalty, after you're about level 25-30 and can survive the areas.
-Good number of trade-skills available.
-Monthly updates brings in new content to push through.
-Cheap. From what I've seen, you can start a 14-day trial, then start your subscription from that without buying the CD's/box. This includes all the expansions.

Cons:
-Magic. If you PvP, you pretty much have to have life magic, even if you're a melee or ranged character. Without it, you'll die embarassingly fast, and will do extremely little damage to your opponent. On top of this, you now have to buy all your spells. When the game was released, you could "research" the spells to keep from having to buy them. Since they took that system out, it's become a lot more expensive to be a mage.
-Tinkering. The sheer amount of frustration that is brought on by the tinkering skills is what ultimately led me to looking for a new game. You gather up materials over a few days, find a really good weapon, and with imbues, you only have a 38% chance that both the materials and weapon won't be destroyed. Very time consuming and annoying, especially if you're trying to tinker up a full set of weapons (6-8 or so, each with the same 38% success rate).
-More focus on the grind. AC was always focused on the grind, but at least it mixed it up a bit. You couldn't sit in the Lugian Cit for 50 levels (well, you could, it'd just take a very long time to do it). With the new expansion, you sit in one dungeon, killing one kind of monster, from about level 25 to 150. There are no better dungeons. More appropriate level quest gear won't compare to the stuff that drops. The XP is through the roof. The only problem is that it begins to feel like a job after a while. Granted, there's a huge world to explore, and you don't have to grind like this, but it's far too tempting to ignore entirely.
-Graphics. This is a con now, but at release, the graphics were pretty damn good. About on par with anything else that was on the market at the time (circa. 1999). They updated the graphics with the last expansion, but they don't look too different.

As for the story, I can't really list it in the pros or the cons. The original story, which still kinda exists in the game, is very immersive and very well done. Once you start moving past the Dark Majesty content, it starts to fall apart a bit, and it just doesn't keep the same hold on players.

Since I still have thoughts of going back to this game (own all the expansions, and still have my account info), I can't give it less than an 8. For someone just getting into it though, I'd say give it a try, and see how it feels. Try to ignore the outdated graphics... it really is a good game.

Post Date: 07:09 02-12-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Jaseo
Comment: In my opinion this is the best game by turbine. I played for one year and am no were close to being at the final level there is. My uncle introduced me to this game and i enjoyed it beyond belief. If you enjoy role playing games like Dungeons and dragons this is the game for you.

Post Date: 21:55 07-06-2007
Rating: 8
Author: dabest
Comment: this game is not so bad.ive only started playing recently. graphics aren't perfect but good and i like the gameplay

Post Date: 18:48 04-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: fireflysoup
Comment: I love this game, I played it when it first came out for about a year. Since then, I've tried many other mmorpgs and none have come close to the experience I had with this game. It is true that the graphics are not great, but it has the best social climate of all mmorpgs, hands down.

The allegiance system is genius, and I'm surprised that other companies have not implemented the same system. It helps to bring people together in a cooperative way, and to make actual friendships with people online rather than just casual encounters over and over.

The newest upgrade seems to have made the game a bit darker. This is tragic, imho, because one of the best things about AC was that it felt like a real world with sunlight and weather and many dynamic changes. I don't want to play an mmorpg that is gloomy and dark all the time (Nor do I want one that is all shiny happy treacle, of course. But the overall experience should be pleasant, with dungeons and gloomy places to explore only if One chooses). One of my favorite updates they did early on was a patch for spring, with ambient bunnies and butterflies. Seems that's not "cool" enough for them now.

The last time I played AC was during the free trial period for the newest version, so with the game changing as it does, it is possible that things are not as gloomy now, but I doubt it.

So, if you're looking for something with flashy graphics and a sole emphasis on fighting or crafting, AC is not for you. If you're looking for a game that encourages social interaction with other players, that has a huge emphasis on story, and that has many different hobbies and crafts - some unrelated to fighting - that you can indulge in, try AC. :)

Post Date: 00:33 01-05-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Ceretress
Comment: The graphics arent great, but its a fun game.

Post Date: 05:50 23-04-2006
Rating: 5
Author: unfilledoath
Comment: im thinkin that this game might be more popular if u didnt have to order it. nobody wnats to wait and download mmos ne more. many ppl just want to go to the site and click register and start playing for free instantly.

Post Date: 23:20 20-03-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Teliia
Comment: I have played AC for over 6 years now. I have formed many great friendships, some that will last a lifetime. I was given the chance to lead the oldest alliance on AC. AC is my online home. The graphics are constantly being updated as well as the content and Lore every month. I have not been on since the expansion pack, but I hear it has added tramendously to the world of Dereth. I miss Dereth and will soon be home once again.

Post Date: 23:41 08-03-2006
Rating: 10
Author: tessa46
Comment: I have the best memories from this game than any other MMORPG! To start off, the world is huge, the combat was fun, the world is beautiful and varied. I liked the game world and the lore was interesting. I played this game for 18 months which is longer than any other MMORPG I have played so far. Perhaps, it was because I joined a very fun guild was the reason I stayed so long, though.

Post Date: 22:12 17-02-2006
Rating: 2
Author: skranken
Comment: For those who has not followed AC from the start this game will be a total waste of time. The graphics will be to dreadful and the case that you get no trial will just make this complete waste of money as well.. I know you AC lovers will hate me now, but I gave it a chance.. For days! I even bought it.

Post Date: 21:45 05-12-2005
Rating: 9
Author: VRsurferGirl
Comment: You need to look at the newest version...it is awsome





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.