BattleMaster


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


BattleMaster is a web-based, team-oriented blend of strategy and roleplaying. You can play it as a strategy game with roleplaying elements, or as a roleplaying game with a strategy wargame background, whichever aspect suits you better.

Total Rating: 7.11
Reviews: 53

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 22:59 07-04-2015
Rating: 7
Author: LosmiK
Comment: It's not a perfect game, but it's not so bad, you can play, so I give a score of 7

Post Date: 14:55 06-04-2015
Rating: 7
Author: Sle91
Comment: Not a bad game at all. It is old however and could use some redesing but I enjoyed playing it still. It's a blend of strategy game and rpg which I thought would be weird, but turned out to be really entertaining. I rate it 7/10. :)

Post Date: 23:35 14-01-2015
Rating: 8
Author: OgiPro1
Comment: Awesome but old.

Post Date: 21:05 03-01-2013
Rating: 7
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This game was pretty fun when i tried it also the graphics are pretty bad but its an RTS type game so that is expected worth checking out for sure though its a good game for the most part

Post Date: 19:36 13-12-2012
Rating: 6
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Our charakter is middleage nobleman and that lead his live on one of lands in the game. We dont have our country but we are one of citizens. First what we must to do is to become a citizen of one of the countrys and rent few marauding soldier. When we are becoming stronger the country in which we are leaving becomes stronger. And thats most important in this game. Game is rader complicated and give to player many ways to inprove his character. I think that this game cen give big fun to players. I must change my rate of this game to 6/10.

Post Date: 19:33 24-09-2012
Rating: 8
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Great game :D I love this kind of games :D 8/10

Post Date: 01:57 15-12-2010
Rating: 8
Author: EcLuD
Comment: How to Play: for new ppl :)
Click on the rock, paper, or scissors icon to determine who will attack: you or the enemy. After winning a rock-paper-scissors match, select a combat skill from the control panel. Empty the enemy's green health bar to win the battle! Between battles, use your points to stock up on items to help you in the next battle.

8/10

Post Date: 17:40 22-04-2010
Rating: 0
Author: Kisharianda
Comment: Being a two year player on the game I would have to tell people that they need to be really careful when playing this game since there is no FINE print on the social contract they have you agree to and let me tell you why.

They do tell you that you are not to have more then one account per person which is normal but what they won't tell you that is that if you are suspected of cheating or multi playing accounts that they will take a "Team" which are referred to as "Game Masters" or "Dev's" and have them review your case which makes it nearly impossible to prove your not cheating if they already have their minds made up. The members of this "Team" are people who play the game at higher levels and can move and act freely in game so careful who you piss off because like in the real world these people favor others and their decisions are influenced by those they know..

What started out to be an awesome game for me resulted in a nightmare after I was suspected of cheating. My roommate moved in with me and my boyfriend a little over 8 months ago and having limited space in our already cramped computer room we could not set up hers so I told her she could use my computer to play the game so she did. For months we played the game and had fun doing so but a few days ago we both were locked out of the game because someone(another player) reported us for cheating!?!. When I contacted the Game owner and explained to him that both my roommate and I were on the same computer he said that his "cheating program" proved otherwise since we were logging in together all the time.

I explained to him that it was my computer and that since I played other mmo games that I made it a point for her to log in when I did so that we could get our game time out of the way so I could go on doing what I normally do on my computer without interruptions he insisted that I was cheating and playing two accounts. Now I don't know about some of you but my computer is mine to use I don't mind sharing it at my own convenience but I didn't buy it to let others play on it while I twiddle my thumbs.

I invested a lot of time and effort in writing role plays not to mention all the people I have brought to the game to enhance my own personal game play. My intentions in doing this was to broaden our population in our realms and bring new faces and characters to the stories so we could all write together. Now two years later I have been locked out of my account and so has my roommate because according to him "my story" didn't collaborate with his "team's review" and "cheat program" and he couldn't have been more wrong. He has accused me basically of cheating and lying since he replied that the decision was final.

The Battle Master "team" are people who obviously monitor and play the game to keep control on cheaters and enforce the rules of the game and people who are given privileges by the owner of the game to make decisions. These are the same people you find in IRC talking about people behind their backs which I have experienced myself when I frequently visited their chat rooms and then stop going to because I hate gossip and people who don't have the jam to tell people what they think to their face, so if you're not in pocket with those people they have the ability to do what they want which is what I think is what happened in my case so I have lost two years of writing and those two years can't be replaced.

So if you play this game consider the fact that at any given time your account can be taken away and closed if you are suspected of something or even if you piss off the wrong people in game who will stop at nothing to get back at you, because you may have killed their character or imposed fines on them or even banned them. This a medieval atmosphere so there is not a limit on how the story and games play out. Another thing you want to really ponder is if you do start playing the game and like it, before you decide to go on to making contributions to get a fourth character know that at ANYTIME if the "Team" decides that accusations made against you to be true in their minds you'll have spent your money for nothing and enabled them to take your funds to put into a game you won't be able to play.

Had I known this before hand I would have NEVER invested the time in this game and I would have not referred this game to anyone I know. What a long time to waste on a game.. Pathetic.

Post Date: 23:39 15-01-2010
Rating: 10
Author: gryphon1101
Comment: As many have already stated, I also find BattleMaster to be /the/ best game out there. The fact remains that after getting deeper into BM I have completely shut down any other game I have participated in, even on PC. That says a lot of how deep, intriguing and fun the BM universe is.

To me the game is very much like reading an excellent book and living through that book via your characters,and the best part is that that book never ends as there is no time limit on anything; which means you can really build up a story here and make saga's about your family. Whether you fancy the intrigues of the court and politics, the life a trader, the blade of an assassin or the steel of the warrior, the BM has it all. The BM literally allows you to explore your imagination to the full extent.

All those who judge games by the impression they receive in the first 10 minutes probably won't dig BM. However, if you understand that it is a slow paced game where things don't happen overnight, and if you stick by it for a couple of weeks the chances you'll be enchanted by BM are very very high.

One last thing I have generally noticed is the elegance and good manners the community of BattleMaster has. There is always a distinct OOC/IC separation which allows for excellent communication between the players, but not necessarily between their characters. Recently, after a while, I have tried out some strategy game out there and was literally shocked at the amount of cursing and bad vibrations in that community, which only reminded me how healthy enviroment BM really has.

Post Date: 21:57 05-06-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Tvrtko
Comment: If your desire is really, really deep game, this is the best game ever.

If you are interested in high-tech graphics, swift clicking with your mouse, just avoid it.

There are so many good features that can be summed just shortly:

- Gameplay is based on human characters, all the game mechanics is just background. So you face the most interesting "AI", that is non-AI. It means everything is open, allways.

- Game mechanics, while very light, is impressively adapted to issues of real-life background (disregarding very small fantasy effects)- author has deep knowledge of it, and makes epic effort in achieving flavour of medieval world. That simply puts you in, and you feel all the sophistication.

- Elegant small graphics together with interactive maps and very handy menus gives you impression that this is not text-based game!

- Options, paths, careers, opportunites for life (and death).... you have sum of everything you can find in all historical movies related to middle ages.

The only element that's a bit clumsy is not directly related to game, that is marketing. Descriptions of the game, introducory manuals... are not so well prepared and can confuse you. If you are not patient enough, you can leave without realizing what you miss. Honestly, I was confused first couple of weeks, hoping that I will learn everything just by playing day by they. A little before I was going to give up, I went to bit deeper study of Wiki and it was wise decision - now I'm a fan.

Post Date: 05:50 17-03-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Tal
Comment: A great game, BM has something for everyone. A team oriented atmosphere with so many different realms to choose from you essentially choose your own experience. Choose from the despotic single minded realm to the open minded, democratic realm and everything inbetween. Be a warrior, a diplomat, a bureaucrat, a trader- your realm will need all of these people and you can choose the class that suits you best. There are heavy RP realms and light-RP realms. Heavy expansionist and peaceful realms. Best of all the game moderators the Titans enforce a code of basic rights that enable each individual to not be persecuted for OOC actions such as amount of time you are able to play. A great game, can't get enough.

Post Date: 23:58 20-11-2007
Rating: 3
Author: Random Tester
Comment: It is incredibly average for the genre. As a strat game it is fair to mid line. As an rp game you can find more rp in your average MMO. What started out as a good almost novel idea, has turned into another game that strokes its administrator's ego.

I say admin because I have heard rumors that the "creator" has been little more than an implementor of other peoples work and ideas.

If you want good RP you can always find a good Cyberpunk game on the web.

Post Date: 11:55 17-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: bengrindy
Comment: My character is 37 days old and is already helping to command and elite army. I had no problems getting into the game, i introduced myself using RP and gave the odd comment when i logged in and people like that. There is nothing set, you can join a realm but you don't have to be loyal, nice or even noble you just RP your character how you like. A great game, never have got enough of it since i joined. I've also made some foreign friends and there is no shortage of positions for you to get into!

Post Date: 15:46 16-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: HanSolo
Comment: This is a game that takes what you put into it and gives back twice as much. If you put any effort towards RPing your characters and learning how to play, this game will reward you. Even though it isn't as much a RPing game as others, it's easier to RP, because you have specific actions that you RP.

Overall, a very light game, only requiring ten to twenty minutes each day if that's all you want to put in. If you want to put in more, you can literally spend hours each day on it. I've done both before, managing to take care of things in five minutes, or (like yesterday for me) spent upwards of 5 hours just making plans.

If you enjoy RPing, but don't have much free time, this is the game for you. If you like strategy, this is also an awesome game. I really can't say enough good about it.

Post Date: 21:02 11-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Elrin
Comment: All the people who said bad things about things about this game were morons,who use stupid usernames,don't know how to write,and never heard of true RPG,they think RPG is slashing people and gaining levels,but it isn't.

IF you like something intelligent (like RPG) join Battlemaster

Nighthelm in the Far East is a nice place to start

Post Date: 04:53 30-08-2007
Rating: 0
Author: GTCowboy
Comment: The guy who started it, is an idiot dictator. I just want to warn anyone who isn't asleep or dead not to play this game, it's that boring!!!

Post Date: 01:02 28-08-2007
Rating: 10
Author: elrohir
Comment: First of all, Juggernott, and indeed everyone, I cannot for the life of my play MUDs or other such text based games. But Battlemaster combines text with graphics so that it doesn't feel like a text based game. You do not have to type walk/north or anything like that to move around or do anything in the game. You navigate the game and control your character using buttons. The only thing that needs typing is when you write to other people, and what else would you do for that? Secondly, monkey44, do you actually KNOW anything about the game or do you just begrudge the fact that it doesn't allow hotmail? Because if you are reacting only to the hotmail issue, you shouldn't give it a zero because you are completely ignorant of the game. Plus, just get one of the MANY free email services various websites offer (like gmail) Or use another email you already have.


PS This is one of the best games ever. I have been playing for almost one year, and it never gets boring. There is no grinding or leveling or anything like that. Actually, there is a sort of leveling, which is for swordfighting (duels and touraments), infiltration or whatever its name is (assasinating, spying, and generally being sneaky [only used by infils]), jousting (umm...jousts...), prayer (how good priests are) and tactics (have no idea, might affect your unit's cs). Other than that its just your unit that gets better. Oh, and for fighting in battles and doing well in tournaments you get honour and prestige (two separate things) which affect how many men you can field.

PPS If you do decide to play, feel free to introduce yourself to one of my characters and I will do my best to help you out. My characters are:

Stephson (Noble from Darka in Atamara)
Flavius (Noble from Cagilan Empire in Atamara)
Marcus (Noble from Lukon in the Colonies)
Grettir (Adventurer from Beluaterra)

Post Date: 04:13 30-06-2007
Rating: 0
Author: monkey44
Comment: I dont like this game, it doesnt even allow hotmail.com people to play

Post Date: 17:29 15-06-2007
Rating: 1
Author: Juggernott
Comment: I couldnt get into it. Borring for me. Im not much of a text-based fan either so. I dont recommend it unless your into text-based games. It had a small map but nothing other than that.

Post Date: 04:58 10-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Elrohir
Comment: Yeah, seriously, give this game a try, you won't regret it! And if you don't like it, you can delete your account. Not enormously time consuming, but if you get really into it, you can play it for quite a long time each day. The lack of graphics does not hinder the game; quite the opposite, it help its versatility and broad rangingness.
You said it m2rt:

BATTLEMASTER IS THE BEST GAME OUT THERE!!!!!

Post Date: 03:04 08-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: m2rt
Comment: THE best game.
Maybe yes in first look when you see that there is no graphics..you think that its boring and pointless...but it isnt..read wiki,manuals,rp,make more characters and stick to them,make your characters persons...etc...and you will find the game to be best...
Its a very good social experiment...
And those who are complaining about not being able to get in...please check your password..first pass is complexed...
Anyways I love the game...

Post Date: 05:08 15-11-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Elrohir
Comment: Awsome game. Its complex but easy to get a hang of. Its got a great community. You can wage enormous wars upon other kingdoms with the rest of your kingdom. Or will you choose to be a trader? The choice is yours. GREAT game! For those who say that they got no help when they started, I dont know where you started out, but wherever I've gone, the community is enormously helpful and friendly. Very active players. Immersing world that is completely controlled by the players. You can choose between almost a dozen islands, each with dozens of realms. If you want to be in a large realm however, be prepared to read TONS of letters, reports, rps, and orders. Very original idea, and constantly growing. Started only two months ago, and am already obsessed. There are some very odd rps out there, and are quite interesting. Such as at my home realm, there is a spoon cult with our judge's weapon of choice being a dull spoon. Another weapos that has been invented by a player in CE is the cat-o-nine sporks. Very creative and fun. My general is a whip wielding black knight (self described by them). Also, there are no major disadvantages to new players. Very friendly game.


Overall, THE BEST RPG/STRATEGY GAME OUT THERE!!!!


ps. may I announce that my home realm, The Cagilan Empire, just hosted what i think was history's largest tournament ever! Exactly 645 people attended. There was a very strange rp about badgers. Strange but amusing.

Post Date: 15:06 10-10-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Division_9
Comment: To enjoy this game you have to understand the game and very well not just 1 quick 10 minute run through
and you can do things in this game that you cant do in others you can be evil corrupt a tyrant make a realm for just gold it doesnt matter you cant be banned for doing evil things in the game you can just become and infiltrator and kill everyone its allowed you can do anything in the game ANYTHING
except spam stuff etc you know

Message:if you cant register too bad

Post Date: 10:32 17-09-2006
Rating: 2
Author: zirconium
Comment: I got bored very quickly, nobody bothered to help the new players except one guy, all he did was send pages and pages and pages... of premade text which i fell asleep after about 3 lines.. zzzzzzz...

Post Date: 01:34 06-08-2006
Rating: 0
Author: slayer3798
Comment: it was a dumb game to hard to log in and was a totally wast of ur time

Post Date: 05:17 22-04-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Karrak
Comment: This is the best online game ever for a few resons

1new recruits are cherished by ther empire as one day they could reaach a great lvl and half run the kingdom

2You have the chance of doing somthing cool in most mmorpgs everyones just some guy walking around in this ther are plaenty of people in comand of more than 100 playeres and ther decision could lead to life or death of there entire span of aliances like the fact that the cagilian empire reinforce tara led to all our enemies being traped behind an iron wall

3as an australian most people are on the net at different times then me trust me my timezone emty when it comes to anyone who uses the internet but this fixes that completely at the moment my archnemises lives in america

Post Date: 14:11 13-04-2006
Rating: 0
Author: kobra_strike
Comment: OMG GOOD WORK LETTING ME IN ;)NOT!!!!

TERRIBLE STUPID GAME NOT LETTING ME IN

Post Date: 21:05 07-02-2006
Rating: 5
Author: gejm4life
Comment: none

Post Date: 16:39 21-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: sniperchief00
Comment: none

Post Date: 17:40 01-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: HanSolo
Comment: This is by far better than any video game out there. It has no graphics, but it makes up for them with interaction with other players. You don t just go out and try to kill the other guys. You can use politics to negotiate with them. And it has a great, but simple, system for politics. It has a very complex system for economy. You can lose territory simply because you don t feed the populace. The system for battle, while not extremely complex, is good enough where you can become completely absorbed into it. And the best part. Have only 10 minutes to spare in the day? You can still play an important role in the game. I got started by playing for 10 minutes each day. Now I can play for over an hour, but if I don t have the time, I can squeeze five minutes to play.

All in all, after over two years of playing, this is better than any video game I ve owned or played, it is completely free, and it takes less time to play than any video game.

Post Date: 19:49 17-12-2005
Rating: 5
Author: str xxxxxxxx
Comment: none

Post Date: 04:40 15-12-2005
Rating: 0
Author: imaipanda
Comment: none

Post Date: 14:30 11-12-2005
Rating: 0
Author: goblinkingxe
Comment: i love RPG games so this is anoying be cause i cant seem to regester

Post Date: 00:31 09-12-2005
Rating: 1
Author: jubei
Comment: Didn t care for it too much. The graphics are poor and I never could get into it.

Post Date: 20:08 27-11-2005
Rating: 4
Author: wuheros
Comment: none

Post Date: 21:33 18-11-2005
Rating: 8
Author: Jan B
Comment: This might be a good game - if only there was some way of finding out how to play it - the ingame message system doesn t seem to work, or maybe it s just me - if someone can explain how it works then I ll be greateful.

Post Date: 02:21 18-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: armistead46
Comment: Though this game is not full of fancy graphics, it is a great game to play. The possibilties of playing your characters are endless. Interactions with the other players make it even better. Heck, you could even make a book out of all the actions that take place. Everyday is something new to look at. New problems arise and they must be solved, or serious consequences arise.

Whether you are a soldier, trader, infiltrator, or any other class, you are important to your realm. Choose what you do carefully, though, or you may wind up in prison, or even worse, dead.

Live like you want to, because now you can say you have more then one life. ;)

Post Date: 20:55 16-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: lordperrina
Comment: Whether your intentions are honorable or completely the opposite, battlemaster allows you to develop your character how ever you choose.

Totally free form, death is a possibility depending on the class you choose or your actions but total victory is out of the question, even the most loyal will stab you in the back for their chance at power.

Live by the blade of the night, live by your sword on the battlefield, live by assisting in police work or organizing the regional governments, the choices are endless but War is always waiting on your doorstep.

For that is battlemaster.

Post Date: 16:23 15-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: falchien
Comment: BM, a game you never get tired of playing! Politics, crisis, strategy, roleplay, diplomacy are some of the many flavors of this game. From teenagers to analysts of International Politics, it is completely addictive! Also a game you help design...

Rise in the ranks and make your name known, feared and respected!

My bride is more jealous of this game then the cute next door neighbor!

Post Date: 10:01 15-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: amancair
Comment: It is the best web based game i ve ever played .

It is an excellent Mixture of Strategy and Role Play .

Post Date: 06:08 15-09-2005
Rating: 4
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: Sorry to break up the love fest, but I have no idea why this game is getting so many perfect scores. This game is not bad for a free game but I would not call it perfect by any means. In my opinion, I don t even think its worth paying for.

Post Date: 05:42 15-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: psholla
Comment: The best Online game ever designed. I have been playing this game from the past 10 months and till now I have never found any other game which is better than this,be it a PC game or online game. The perfect mixture of RPing and srategy. I know the other reviewers have said the same thing, but thats the truth.

Post Date: 22:24 14-09-2005
Rating: 9
Author: sagsaw
Comment: I ve played this game for nearly three years now, and its as interesting, engaging, and just plain fun as the very first day. What, in my mind, makes this game different from other turn-based strategy-roleplay games is the size and friendlyness of the game community. In-game your character and another character may be dedicated to the utter descruction of the outher, but you can still have a friendly discussion about strategy and game-mechanics OOC or on the discussion lists.

Post Date: 20:34 14-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: jbow214
Comment: What can I say about this game, but WOW!. I have been playing for almost 2 years now, and I still love playing it. Semi-turn based, meaning you can play by only logging on only 2 times a day. Of course you will get hooked and play more. Set in medevil time many people are together in a realm fighting other realms. Best of all it is FREE! Thank you.

Post Date: 15:56 14-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Morningstar
Comment: Stumbled on this game two years ago, in the same manner I find all other online games. Unlike the others, I m still playing. I ve yet to find anything else that compares to it when it comes to the blend of politics, strategy, and roleplay. A perfect 10.

Post Date: 15:23 14-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: synden
Comment: It is a great place to make friends internationally, and the game is so enjoyble, it is crazy. Many has playing for several years and keep on playing because it is so interesting.

Post Date: 14:33 14-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: danaris
Comment: I have never yet seen or heard of a game as well-designed and well-run as this. It is truly designed with the player--and *all* the players--in mind, and administered and run by a creator with a true love for the game, and desire to see it remain free of the ugly influences that have invaded and corrupted many other online games.

Post Date: 23:33 08-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Cuthalion
Comment: Been playing this for over a year now - truly one of the best games of its genre out there!

Post Date: 22:05 30-08-2005
Rating: 5
Author: Banger
Comment: Not bad, but I am not as excited about it as the other reviewers.

Post Date: 18:08 30-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Maverick
Comment: A 10 on 10 for playability. I would give the game more just for the creator who in my opinion makes the game much more worth playing for.

No fancy graphics, no animations, but you do get pure fun and playability with one of the most amazing gaming communities. Try it, play it for a couple of days and you will never regret it.

Post Date: 17:55 30-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: dimitris
Comment: The best online game I have ever played! A fine blend of Strategy, RPG but mostly a unique "political simulation", resembling not only medieval era but reflecting today s diplomacy between nations, the international power struggle, the inner-realm conflicts for power etc etc.

Best game ever!

Post Date: 16:41 30-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: mickey.leroy
Comment: This is one of the few games you can t get enough of…
After 3 years I m still playing it!
What makes the difference with other games?
1) Very few (almost none) cheaters/abusers/… the game handles them very well.
2) The site is always up (its not often that you can t log in because of server problems) and its fast!
3) its not just a game you play, you learn plenty of things with it. It’s a sort of social experiment... very interesting indeed. (Some learn to act like an adult.. even if they’re already adult)

4) well you meet people.

5)BM has no age.. it goes from 14 to..60. And there are more adults then children playing it.

6) you don t need to check it every hour, its a light weight game, you log in once a day spent 10 minutes on it and that s enough (unless you become a freak and gets involved more in things)

Post Date: 14:23 30-08-2005
Rating: 9
Author: jonno88
Comment: I ve been playing this game for over 3 years now. And it gets better as the day surpasses. The Admins and Game Mod s are all active and talkative on the Discussion list and with most of the more longer players of the game are on the discussion list, any problems are always answered within the day on average.

The game play of the game surpasses anything of any other MMPORG I ve ever played. With such a dedicated Community of Role Players, a sense of comfortability can be sensed. Even when problems do arrise, rest assured it is always discussed with the players, Admins and Game Mod s to ensure the game advances in a way the community thinks will help the game.

The game, as such is turning every day into more of a politcally based country, or world, of its own. As Realms (an alliance of Players with Leaders, Generals, Duchies and what not) make war on neighbours for tresspassing, allying with enemies etc etc.

The game, its self you should give it a go. As much as it took me three times of joining and rejoining at the begining of my career on Battlemaster. I have never regretted a day.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.