Battlefield 1942


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Took online shooters to another level.

Total Rating: 7.84
Reviews: 32

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 16:40 05-01-2015
Rating: 9
Author: altot
Comment: Battlefield 1942 (also known as BF1942) is a 3D World War II first-person shooter (FPS) video game developed by Swedish company Digital Illusions CE and published by Electronic Arts for Microsoft Windows (2002) and Apple Macintosh (2004). The game can be played in singleplayer mode against the video game AI or in multiplayer mode against players on the Internet or in a Local Area Network.
It is a classic that died out long ago and. It (BF'42) only remained a name but I can't deny the fun and times that drained my youth playing this game.

Post Date: 21:32 11-11-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Mihajlo
Comment: Battlefield 1942 World War II based game and it's the first game in Battlefield Series. Game has 5 different classes: Scout, Assault,AntiTank, Medic and Engineer. There are 2 factions - Allies and Axis and all maps are based on the actual battles from the war. This is the first online shooter i've ever played and my vote for this is 9/10

Post Date: 17:41 21-05-2014
Rating: 9
Author: arZ
Comment: This is a really good shooter game... its really good to be a good teammate. I most liked deathmatch because its really fast and easy... The Flying was awesome i really enjoyed the game... it was awesome. 9/10

Post Date: 17:07 21-05-2014
Rating: 8
Author: bloga99
Comment: Very good game for me.I have not personally downloaded to a computer, but I was playing with my brother.In this game, like most flying :) 8/10

Post Date: 17:24 27-04-2014
Rating: 9
Author: savicaa
Comment: Here we have really nice mod from Battlefield game. Naimly it's about Battlefield 1942 mod , one of the best for me.
In this game you need to be good teammate. You need to attack oponnents flags and try to get them as fastest as you can , but in the other way you need to defend yours and that's not easy to do. Why ima saying teammate? Cause if some position has chance to lose flag , better go and help it , cause it will be much harder to get one of their when they get one yours.
I would reccomend to play this game with your friends. As i say make team or clan , it's much easier to win. You can use skype , and you can make some great tactics to win the oponnent much easier.
Deathmatch is really nice mod , in that mod you can practise all , when they get you/kill you , you are spawning again and playing. Better play deathmatch on start to get in form , cause you need to be good so you can win the game online.
Also there you can practise to plant bomb really good , i think about precission of planting that you need to win the game. In this game you can drive all planes , through enemy teritory , random flying where they want , they can parachute out of the place whenever they want and that's very good and looks cool .
When you are playing online game , you need to be careful , cause in game you have really nice and good players , they know the game and they can turn the battle in minute. You need to be careful where are you , what's your position , where they are , you need to follow their moving on the map and many other solutions to win the game , it's not easy , but it will be after 20-30 games .

My expressions and thinking about this game : When i first looked on this game i thought this is really bad game , cause she had really bad intro on YT and i saw comments that this game i bad . When i tried i couldn't belive that almoast 100 people talking bad about this game. Really nice online game . I like flying the most , but the battles are really good too , somethings that i like the most i parachuting from the plane , it's really nice and i could parachute for whole day.
For the end my marks. This gameplay is awesome i will give 10/10 , graphics are not that good so i can't give more then 9 , sound is no that good too so 9/10 , animations are pretty good and i will give 10/10. For all game i will give 9/10.
For all people who didn't try this game i would reccomend to start , it's really nice and you will not get dissapointed , trust me!
Cheers!

Post Date: 15:48 27-04-2014
Rating: 7
Author: nikiwild
Comment: Solid game i give it rate 7. Bassicaly game is not much special, its a online or offline shooter. Game is pretty old. Dont have much to say for it, if u play campain, u start with tutorial, then u are given missions, there are not many missions for this game. If u play online its much more funnyer, for example, play with friends, make a clan start fighting other clans, make good actions against them, or if u are playing on your won online, go deathmatch, really nice mode, when u die u spawn again, and when one team get most kills win, after a period of time. Sound in this game is not that important because every thing is the same, not line i counter strike, when u listen the sound u can hear them from which side they are coming. In this game bassicalay shooting and, not hearing anything important. Graphics in this game are good, i cant say they are bad, because in amny games that are from that year are really bad, in this game not. Gameplay, as i sad, you have campain, deathmatch, you can create game to play 1v1, any map u want. Game is not being updated any more, because there are new versions of this game i think its called battlefield 2.

Post Date: 11:54 31-03-2014
Rating: 9
Author: cemex
Comment: really good fps, nice allied and axis campaign, too bad i didnt played this game online but will try

Post Date: 11:42 11-07-2012
Rating: 9
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Love all battlefield titles !!! Times of WW2 are my favorite. Very nice graphics and good copies off that time war machines.

Post Date: 12:10 01-05-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: Like the other Battlefield titles, the campaigns and one off missions in BF1942 require you to attack enemy bases (flags) and defend friendly and captured bases (flags). There is no need to look deeper as that is all there is to the Battlefield games. You select the battle (or map), adjust the number of AI and its difficulty, pick your weapon's load out and spawn point and away you go. Not bad, just not really fulfilling. That said, it is great FUN, though far from realistic for an infantryman, to jump on board and drive a tank and fire its main gun and MG or pilot a fighter plane. I preferred playing as one of the various infantrymen types or as a tank driver/gunner to flying aircraft.

Post Date: 13:43 26-04-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: This game is one of the first major Shooters if you like old WW2 Games or flying games or both then try it out

Post Date: 19:27 17-06-2011
Rating: 7
Author: Vikeadyn
Comment: Picture a game that is a flight sim,"Persay". Real time stratgedy (RTS) First person shooter (FPS), and is Massivly Multiplayed, all combined in one. What you get is Battlefield 1942. Which is PvP oreiented. Blue vs Red. Caputuring the enemies flags are the man focus of this game.

Players in this game can control any vehicle they want to. Bomber type planes are best flown with another player.( As shown in the germen Stuka Bomber in the screenie above) There are even transport planes that you can fly. Pack up other players, fly over the enemy territory, and players can parachute out of the transport plane, and land deep in the enemy territories.

In 2002 EA designed this game. If I am not mistaken, it might had been around the time Counter Strike came out which was based more about the modern day millitary. BF42 is obviously the Historical millitary.

BF42 was bitter sweet to some players, you either hated it or loved it, this was the game before huge MMO's weard their ugly heads, and these MMORPG's took over people lives. This was just a really FUN game to play.

People of all ages flocked to this game, and to this day I still give props to those pilots that could place a bomb with percission and accuracy in them cluky Warbirds. As a ground pounder you wish all these ingame pilots would die a slow and painful death IRL. Not to be harsh, but people could not stand these players at the time. They where great pilots, and they where few and far between, that could change the course of battle in minutes. Cheers to you BF42 pilots, I still hate you people ;).

Besides that. Bf42 also came out with two expansions. Secret Weapons of WWII, and Road to Rome, which unlocked even more planes, and vehicles, and also more bigger maps to play on.

I give it a little low rate, only do to by todays standers, there are better verions of this type of game out their. What BF42 did, and mastered at it was it beimg Modder friendly. Cheers EA. Bf42 has many different mods made for players, by players using the BF42 engine and creating new Axis and Allies like USA vs Iraq. New character models, voices, weapons, soilder kits, vehicles, etc.

The list is endless what modders did using the BF42 Engine. So this game did keep you busy for a long while, and some people still play it to this day.

BF42 to me is a great Flight Simm alternative, that is way easier to use, for you flight Simm fans. Dog fighting does happen in this game, and ground personal(other Players) will shoot you down. Hell, even a tank progectile, shot off by another player driving the tank can kill you if you get to close to them when straffing.

If you are into WWII as much as I and many other people in this world are.

I deffinaly recomend this to anyone, to give it a try. It may not meet up with certain demands as other MMOFPS's do by today's standards, but it still was a fun game to kill some time on.

Cheers EA, and them beloved Modders out their.


Post Date: 14:22 14-05-2011
Rating: 10
Author: sdk123
Comment: :p

Post Date: 12:32 25-04-2011
Rating: 10
Author: CARlos9908
Comment: Please go to Tribal wars and join tribe-Kavallieri. Please pass this great message on.

Post Date: 21:21 20-01-2011
Rating: 4
Author: Adrian
Comment: Fair graphics, cool planes, not much that you can do though ingame. I wouldn't recommend it though. If your a plane game person. Try FSX (that is if your computer can handle it)

Post Date: 22:48 12-02-2010
Rating: 10
Author: futurekiller
Comment: game is great for people who like plane shooters but i dont but it will be fun for whoerver that does graphics are like a video game which is good

Post Date: 18:21 11-11-2009
Rating: 10
Author: tikkitikker
Comment: where can I download this game...???

Post Date: 13:01 23-05-2008
Rating: 9
Author: spudpuffin
Comment: look...this game ISNT TOP OF THE LINE
but you know what it is...
FUN
REMEMBER THAT FUN THE THING WE USED TO HAVE BEFORE WOW SHOWED UP AND MADE GAMING FEEL LIKE A SECOND JOB!
just consider that

Post Date: 14:40 20-06-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Exorcism
Comment: Only the multilayer is interesting, wich is kinda slow, but it is still a cool game.

I give it an 8.

Post Date: 15:19 10-06-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Aftermath-
Comment: ya know what its "diffrent" from most WWII gamesand ya know i goves 10s for diffrent..just because someone sought to diversify WWII even thought i didn't really like it but it was diffrent..its not like medal of honor and Call of Duty

Post Date: 06:57 01-06-2006
Rating: 9
Author: Dedde_911
Comment: I love this game!!

Post Date: 14:23 01-05-2006
Rating: 10
Author: tottalyloco
Comment: this is the best game ever!!!!!!!!!

Post Date: 19:58 28-04-2006
Rating: 6
Author: Desiree
Comment: Its cool

Post Date: 00:09 16-04-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Batavian
Comment: The ability to pilot planes, captain ships, or drive tanks makes this online shooter a cut above the rest

Post Date: 04:30 27-11-2005
Rating: 5
Author: sirnolan
Comment: none

Post Date: 19:47 29-07-2005
Rating: 3
Author: draconus
Comment: none

Post Date: 13:39 29-07-2005
Rating: 5
Author: sky8899
Comment: none

Post Date: 20:40 08-04-2005
Rating: 10
Author: apoc
Comment: none

Post Date: 20:38 12-10-2004
Rating: 0
Author: dimarv
Comment: none

Post Date: 08:50 26-09-2004
Rating: 4
Author: foolzie
Comment: I didn t like this game that much.. While I liked the idea of th egame.. large battlefield large number of players.. It just made me feel like I was playing a game from the 90s..

Post Date: 13:05 23-09-2004
Rating: 8
Author: Laslo
Comment: Beats the Vietnam one imo.

Post Date: 02:28 15-09-2004
Rating: 9
Author: visitor
Comment: Met quite a few friends playing this game because you feel like you are really fighting side by side.

Post Date: 18:22 13-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: Rix Raw
Comment: Very good game !
Realistic ,but dynamic FPS ,with some arcade simulation when in vehicles. Pretty fun online !
Can t wait for BF2 !





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.