City of Heroes


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Superhero-themed MMORPG where you get to patrol city streets in order to combat a wide variety of villians.

Total Rating: 7.41
Reviews: 61

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 16:26 26-06-2015
Rating: 8
Author: LosmiK
Comment: It is a good game, I like it, I played it.

Post Date: 16:56 11-06-2014
Rating: 7
Author: najdan11
Comment: Its good game,like City of Villians :)

Post Date: 04:02 04-06-2013
Rating: 5
Author: Webber
Comment: :) I hate that CoH is gone now. Superhero MMOs will never be the same.

Post Date: 05:21 03-01-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Webber
Comment: CoH has the best customization tool in mmos period! Even other super hero games can not match CoH for options. The gameplay on the other hand has gotten stale over the years imo. That could use a brush up. To score it, I say 8 as two points are subtracted for repetitive game play that seriously needs an overall.

Post Date: 08:39 10-10-2011
Rating: 5
Author: tachyon
Comment: Nice game. Seriously lacking on the dungeon/instance side of the coin. Great character customization, but the map always seems empty. Does anyone play this game?.. lol

Still, it will keep you busy for a few days...

Post Date: 02:01 21-09-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Joker
Comment: CoH/CoV goes F2P! Monkey see monkey do because DC Universe Online is doing the same thing. XD TBH, I prefer DCUO because of the joker.

Post Date: 19:51 22-02-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Adrian
Comment: This is like "Champions online", great graphics, music is good. Characters are fun too play, customizations are a bonus aswell.

Post Date: 23:42 28-06-2010
Rating: 4
Author: imayb1
Comment: Character customization is a strong point for this game. There are many, many options for character designs and when you get skills, you have several choices and can use individual enhancements to make each character's skill set unique. I was very pleased with all of this.

Game play was pretty typical for MMORPGs and map use/finding things was fairly easy to do. User interface wasn't as intuitive as it could be, but I didn't have any major troubles with it.

The biggest problem I had was that you'd better really enjoy the view of your character's backside and you'd better have no issues with motion sickness. The reason is that each time you fight, the camera automatically skews so you're facing your target-- meaning the world spins dizzyingly around you and you're looking at your character's butt again. The game gave me horrible headaches after very little play time because of this.

Post Date: 18:05 05-06-2010
Rating: 5
Author: sdions
Comment: Dear Sir or Ma'am,

Sadly, I write this letter to you because your company has seemed to
have failed me. I have been a customer since 2007, and I was even in
the pre-beta release of City of Heroes. My 3 year old City of Heroes
account has seen its share of inactivity, creating 10 mos of paid time.
I have purchased every add-on except for the wedding pack. I nearly
purchased the pre order new expansion, but thankfully I did not. Heres
the story so far:

A few days ago I decided that since my deployment, I'm a Soldier serving
in Iraq with the US Army, is slowing down a little with the drawback of
forces that I would start playing City of Heroes again. Since I already
had a well stacked account, with several level 50's on it, and my
favorite toon OuterLimits who was already nearly completely slotted out,
and rich, that I would be in a good position to play leisurely for the
few extra hours I have a week. I saw that their was a new add on pack,
Ninja, that I bought, then bought a month to get started. When I logged
in, I was dumbstruck as the only character I had was named "lol i hacked
ur account". I haven't been on the account since the end of summer 09
(when I first got sent to Iraq). So I logged out, and sent a support
request, the reference number is 100604-001450, and waited for a reply.
No reply was received. I figured that they were trying to get my toons
back or something, but still felt a reply would have been nice. No such
luck. A day later I logged back into NCSOFT and updated my question,
asking that I receive a response. No response again, not even an
automated one. No biggie I figure. So several hours later I check my
account on NCSOFT to see if there was some update listed under my
account name. Thats when I saw in big red letters "BANNED". Now
intense anger is a word that I would only use if I were intensely
angry. I am searching for a word that would express how much MORE angry
I am than that. I sent new questions in after that and am still
awaiting replies.

Now the biggest issue I see here is that no one replied at all, but
someone took the time to 'press the red button' banning my account.
Very suave. It would seem that your company just does not care about
the customers at all. I wanted to play the game, and after calming down
from the initial shock of realizing my characters were all gone, and
possibly not retrievable I decided I'd start over because I did enjoy
the game once. But now to see that I am banned with not so much as even
a 'fairwell' email... I really wan't to blog this thing on the many
blogs that I maintain as well as a few big MMO blogs that my deployed
brothers here have. This would of course be followed with reddits and
stumbles and diggs and etc. I hate to pull the blog card, really I do,
but what option has been left for me here? No one seems to care enough
there to reply back to me, so I'm left with this.

What needs to be done, is a: someone at NCSOFT needs to send me a human
email, b: someone at NCSOFT needs to make this right, and c: someone at
NCSOFT needs to make this right! This horrible display of customer
service is reprehensible and symptomatic of a game whose support may be
dwindling due to a loss of user base and funding. I hope this is not
the case, but then I am left to speculate as no one ever responds to me.

I look forward to an email, though I will not be holding my breath.

Sincerely,
SPC Shannon Smith

Post Date: 15:43 19-09-2009
Rating: 10
Author: maltir
Comment: Anybody who thinks Champions Online is better than CoH or CoV need to have their heads examined. Champins is not a finished game but cov/coh are. They also continually get better and offer cool things to players loyal to it. You can also make your own missions with the editor!

Post Date: 20:48 18-02-2009
Rating: 10
Author: clarky2006
Comment: Ok, lets start with the basic ratings and explanations.

Graphics (8/10)- Graphics are good, crisp and polished, good effects and amazing ability views. For example, the view when you are flying through the air is jaw-dropping. You will need a decent amount of RAM (2GB is enough) to play this game without it lagging though.

Character Creation (10/10)- You cannot beat NCsoft here, they have made the character creation absolutently amazingly. Creating a costume, this actually makes your character unique. Your character is guaranteed to look nothing like anyone else in the game. I wish more games had this amazing array of character customisation.

Gameplay (9/10)- Ok, some quests can seem a little repetative, you go in a base, you beat up a few people, you collect something, you leave. But once you start building a story arch, things get a bit more interesting. Once you get to a decent level, you can choose ability powers, which is basically main Superhero abilitys (Flying, super speed, super jumping, etc) this is very very fun when you get into it, imagine creating a character with steel claws as a superhero ability (Like wolverine from x-men), being able to jump 200ft into the air and running as fast as a plane can fly. This game is unbeatable and has kept me interested for over 2 years now. There is just too much to do, so much to explore and THOUSANDS of character ability combinations to choose from, let alone costumes.

Give this game a try, you will not be dissappointed.

Post Date: 18:23 28-01-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Kazay
Comment: This is the best game in the world, together with City Of Villains!
It's the only pay-to-play game that's actually worth the money. I've tried WoW, graphics and gameplay kinda sucked (just what I think.) and Guild Wars was good too but it was too much of the same after some time. This is just what you need! Give it a try!

Post Date: 11:44 10-01-2009
Rating: 9
Author: mavrick2482
Comment: I've been playing this game for a year now and every weekend i will be on it. every thing has been done very well and the support is brilliant. The vets are very helpfull and other players will normally try to help with any questions. The later lvls do become a bit of a grind without a team but can be lots of fun with one. PvE is good and with plenty of powers to chose from you will always find a set that suits you play style. with 5 diff types and 2 more to unlock you will never be short of things to do. There is no single storyline to play but each contact will have his/her own story this is best seen if you play throgh each contact soloing, you will fine that most team are out there just to lvl up and teaming is the best way to do it.

Post Date: 15:31 08-08-2008
Rating: 6
Author: killervickboy
Comment: the game is okay its and open city depending on witch one u get u can be with the villains or the heros graphics are mediocre the gameplay lags the sound is well polished but the storyline wait wat storyline u make a super hero and then its kindve blurry from there the game is point less seriously a good game for people that wants to create there own superman or batman but even they mite not like it

Post Date: 20:20 06-08-2008
Rating: 9
Author: stuza
Comment: this game is purely genus well coming to think of it its not why has it taken so long for some one to think of an idea that consists of good vs bad superhero vs super villan anyway enough of that the game is superb graphics awsome large spacious gameplay with a good and bad comuity the game also has great in game structure by that i mean it has good battle sequencing and comunication meathods i love tis game too bad i cant afford the monthly cost along with the fact it is not cheap to buy in the first place though over all i am plaesed to say i give this game a nine

Post Date: 04:40 09-07-2008
Rating: 9
Author: xxsomerandomkid
Comment: ok BEFORE i review....i have to say some things. for all you people who havent played the game...please dont rate it until you have at least played for a while.
its sad that one person said all there is is bad PvEW. obviously you havnet even played to lvl 15 where youy gain acces to the first pvp zone. (yes there is more than one pvp zone)

second.... whoever said this game has no quests....PAY ATTENTIOno. there are LOADS of missions and story arcs to get. if tyou didnt even try long enough to find thatout.....then you are truely lazy. if you need help....ASK. the community is very nice and helpful. 3rd....if your computer is lagging dont blame the game. you can easily access the graphics quality menu. and maybe your computer is just a little slow? SOMETIMES after a new patch servers can lag a bit, but are fixed very shortly with a new patch or fix.

now...this game has the best and most unique character creation system ive ever seen. great grapphics if your computer can handle it. very in depth story...they do a good jobs of reavealing more of Paragons history as you progress through thye game .
ONE PROBLEM: the mish maps are usually similer and repeated through out the game. you find yourself doing the same thing over and over. but with a good team and doing the story arcs...you will have fun.
finding teams is very simple and easy. there is an AT for every kind of player...anywhere from great defense to ranged to healing......plus the epic AT are great if you can get to the cap which is lvl 50

the game has great details like capes and auras....the cities and villain groups...and the story arcs REALLY get you into the game.

i would give it a perfect score but because of VERY repeated mish maps....it gets a 9.
great game!

Post Date: 04:00 03-07-2008
Rating: 8
Author: xcriminal013
Comment: Ok, i will not make this a bad review for all of u who want to know what this game is really like! Ok, starting with the graphics/sound...
Graph/Sound:8/10; This is because the graphics are SO good that it can cause some major lag for those who dont have a good graphic card. The sound though is amazing! When u shoot lazer beams from ur eyes, it really sounds like lazer beams lol!
Gameplay: 7/10; Quests become repetetive, but the action of the game itself is what amazes me. Now, class powers are also similair, which is a downside too. Like, Claw powers and Spine powers are basically the same thing, except spines do toxic damage and claws lethal.
Enhancement System: 9/10; Interesting... The crafting system and the auction house and the enhancements are all very unique, and the only downside to this is that they cost quite a boatload.
Costume Creation: 10/10; Absolutely fantastic! If you wanted to make your character a wolf/ninja mutant dude, u can! If u wanted to make a medeival knight, you can! If you want to make a demon/devil thing, u can! (catch my drift?)

Overall, entertaining for a while, but gets boring after u reach level 50 (cap). Although it may get boring, you"ll always find urself having some urge to blast the hell outta things or smack the crap outta villains either way, and u"ll find urself wandering back to CoH!

Post Date: 17:32 09-04-2008
Rating: 0
Author: Totarri
Comment: Friend; This is so boring, tedious and... Ugh, hardly any variety. Insane that anyone plays this!

Post Date: 15:58 02-04-2008
Rating: 5
Author: solidsteel
Comment: Mr Celtics I don't know how long your been playing mmorpg's but, COH will never be better than WOW, you must be crazy, COH world map is small and doing quest please...is all the same all the time, in WOW you can choose professions, lots of grinding gathering resources pvp overall is very good, the only thing with WOW is the cartoonish looks on the charcters that i hate, but COH content is way too small.

Post Date: 07:39 30-03-2008
Rating: 10
Author: boston_celtics
Comment: I give it the best compliment an MMORPG can possibly get today...

BETTER THAN WORLD OF WARCRAFT!!!

Post Date: 17:39 29-03-2008
Rating: 5
Author: solidsteel
Comment: Played the game for a year 3 lvl 50's, my review ??? this game is BORING, same quest over and over world map, SMALL, graphics are really good, community is great.
But the game gets tired after a lil while you see your self doing the same things over and over.COH is a great part time game but not to spend hours and hours of playing not worth it, cancelled my account after 9 7 months of playing.

Post Date: 12:23 07-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: tikashi
Comment: @ mister jjack

there are about 1 million quests beginning in the tutorial and every char has a story and a race arc l8er megamob arcs etc ... so i don`t know what game you played but CoH is much fun 2 play the pvp is a bit unbalanced but the pve is very interesting and funny, group finding system is easy and you always find fast groups , this game is really something you should have played at least the month and i guarantee it won`t be just the one month :)

Post Date: 07:31 12-01-2008
Rating: 0
Author: jjack66
Comment: dont play this trash. there are noe quests and the playas are really stupid this is a waste of time and monay trust mee

Post Date: 05:22 01-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Terra
Comment: This game captures the better side of what i seek when i play a MMORPG. Character creation options are by far the best in any game, no question. The PvP is fast paced and largely depends on skill and the power you chose to take, not equipment, making it fair for the casual gamer, while allowing a more didicated player to learn tricks to gain that competative edge. You can solo your way through this game, grouping is not necessary, so you don't have to wait for hours on end for people. Season holidays you can reply on it being fun. Graphics and gameplay are also very impressive. Travel powers give this game the final kick that makes me rate it 10. Plus, you can't beat being the Villain

Post Date: 10:35 24-08-2007
Rating: 10
Author: solidgold
Comment: Love my Spines/Regen Scrapper.. gotta be the best PvE build there is.. although it is a bit repetitive ill still give it a 10 *smiles

Post Date: 18:04 13-08-2007
Rating: 9
Author: CoHruler45
Comment: I have been a long time player of CoH and CoV. The story line in my book is great, and the newest free expansion packs Issue 9 and 10 have added a LOT to the gameing experiance. If it werent for some minor glitches and a low but hard to reach (maybe its just me) lvl cap, i would give this one a 10. but its a 9/10 for me

Post Date: 14:55 19-07-2007
Rating: 7
Author: Sanrack
Comment: You get to fly so its fun in my books lol.

Post Date: 17:37 15-06-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Juggernott
Comment: Pretty cool game. Awesome character custumization posibilities and prety cool powers. Only problem is it gets kinda old after a little bit because your doing the same thing over and over again. The funnest part is creating super heroes.(I made like 20 and only got 1 of them to level 10 lol)

Post Date: 15:39 15-03-2007
Rating: 8
Author: summergaming
Comment: It's a good game but I got annoyed when I kept missing the enemies. The graphics are very nice, not a lot of glitches. It's a well put together game and I think it should be around better or a bit worse than the all known World of Warcraft. Of course I can't compare because both games are somewhat/extremely different. Overall, CoH deserves a nice 8/10. ┬ęsummer.gaming reviews

Post Date: 09:52 23-01-2007
Rating: 5
Author: omnislash
Comment: the originality is amazing. love making guys. gameplay is fun. got boring kinda quick though. quick in about a couple of months or so. was fun for its time though

Post Date: 15:56 20-01-2007
Rating: 8
Author: AgentBassil
Comment: This game is great. The character creation system is awesome, and noone, I mean absolutely noone can possibly have the same look and powers as you.The game gets repetive at times, but teaming up with people instead of soloing makes up for this. I give this game a 10 for gameplay and orginality, and a -2 for repetiveness.

Post Date: 03:21 19-01-2007
Rating: 8
Author: jormar
Comment: its a good game but its the task force that makes this game

Post Date: 01:08 14-01-2007
Rating: 5
Author: croog24
Comment: Amazing game for about half a year. However, the game gets VERY boring after you have tried out a lot of the combinations of power sets. The missions you will find are all similar to a certain extent and leveling to the cap is quite a task. If you don't play with a friend or more, this probably will not keep your interest after half a year. The idea's and customization are amazing though. A little disappointed that you cannot wear a cape untill you have reached level 20, which is a good 1-3 weeks of play if you are a casual gamer who has never played this. PvP, as of right now, is not very balanced, so if you are looking for that type of game, you may want to reconsider.

Enviorment/Effects- 9.5
Beautiful and detailed, but nothing is perfect.

Playability- 8
Very easy to learn how to play, and easy to understand controls. However they are so easy to learn that it takes away from the skill aspect of the game.

Sound/Music- 8
Nice "zone music" and sounds are well put together.

Service- 9
Very good service, connection issues a bit shaky sometimes though.

Replay Value- 3
This is where I feel it falls short. After you have made one hero and razed him to the level cap and completeled a lot of the content (or villian now a days) you will probably not want to make another character. It is an extreamly painful task getting your character to cap out on level, which unfortunately takes away from the gaming experience. If you have pleanty of friends to play with it still may not save you unless you are really into the game and have a lot of time to spare. Many players have multiple capped characters though, so it is definatly possible.

Post Date: 14:16 06-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Redcap
Comment: I have played this game off and on for the past two years. I will say a few things about it.

If you enjoy actual roleplay, you'll love this game if you can find the right crowd. Things can seem a little cliquish at first, but you start to get into it.

Unless you play the Scrapper AT, I wouldn't plan on soloing in this game. It's -very- team-oriented, but that's why we play these games, right?

It gets repetitive and, quite honestly, they don't come out with new content very frequently. When they do, however, it's -great- content.

Despite the downsides, I give it a 10 because it's a game I'll keep coming back to off and on. NCSoft did a great job.

Post Date: 14:39 04-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: goku2058
Comment: awsum game i feel it brings the wold of comic books to life and is a perfekt way to kik bak relax and fly around blasting ailions with huge beams of raadiation spines energy dark energy fire ice and more

the costume designe feture is the best of enny game i have ever seen u can have caricters 3 to 7 8 foot and hindrads of costume items to chose from including vetran items like wings trenchcoats and kilts

and the ppl on the game r the frendlyist ppl ever becouz teaming and super groops r so vital to the game it makes it imposible to have arguments
and placeis like the atlas stauchu and poket d r grate for socialiseing with uther players my rateing 10 out of 10

Post Date: 04:30 25-12-2006
Rating: 10
Author: svanfloyd
Comment: I agree with minameisneo if you have a friend who plays it with u it makes it 2 times as fun and i would give it ten stars even without a friend. Extremely fun, great graphics, and it gets updated nearly every week! And like i said about COV every1 on there is freindly and willing to help u unlike sumthing like Runescape where u get hacked every day.

Post Date: 09:55 20-11-2006
Rating: 9
Author: minameisneo
Comment: Most fun pvp system among mmorpgs out there. Since its kinda boring/slow to solo in the game, gamers in places like asia (like myself) might get bored of playing as most players come from places like america or europe and cant find anyone to party with due to time :(. But its a good game to play if you got quite a few friends to play it with. The skills, characters and creeps are unique and very fun to spend weeks with. IMO CoH>CoV as CoV is rather depressing especially in the first few stages where casual gamers may get sick of killing snakes all day long.

Post Date: 01:37 05-11-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Laniatus
Comment: The games initial idea is good but... sadly it only gets halfway to what would be a really good game. First of all is the... lack of facial expression, even SWG gave it a go but with COH its just staring straight aheadwith a dodgy smile. Flying is pretty cool, i'd recommend this game if you're new to the genre but for hardcore gamers you'd hit level 50 in 6 months and throw the game out the window.

Post Date: 18:57 04-09-2006
Rating: 8
Author: RenmakX
Comment: This game is awsome! I like City of Villians better though =)

Post Date: 09:09 28-05-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Shadowbeazt
Comment: nice game :)

Post Date: 21:52 19-05-2006
Rating: 8
Author: starwarz72
Comment: Interesting!

Post Date: 04:14 03-04-2006
Rating: 5
Author: thorin492
Comment: none

Post Date: 23:45 08-03-2006
Rating: 7
Author: tessa46
Comment: This game s character creation is the best ever, in my opinion so it is doubtful your character would look like any other. The graphics are fair but it did lacked much in the way of exploration. I did like the music and combat was fun. I only stayed for about 3 months though, because it did get old after awhile with no crafting and limited solo content. For a short duration, though I was hooked.

Post Date: 15:12 04-03-2006
Rating: 10
Author: zqq2
Comment: none

Post Date: 07:25 24-02-2006
Rating: 6
Author: narutokun
Comment: i think this agme looks / and is cool

Post Date: 07:22 19-02-2006
Rating: 0
Author: lucasms
Comment: none

Post Date: 14:37 31-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: NineBlades
Comment: SUPER!

Post Date: 02:16 03-01-2006
Rating: 6
Author: runescaperocks
Comment: lol a mmorpg were your superhero! looks prety amusing lol

Post Date: 02:20 05-10-2005
Rating: 5
Author: SephirothDX
Comment: this games is okay

Post Date: 22:10 19-08-2005
Rating: 2
Author: meliger
Comment: bah dont bother in my opinion the game runs really slow and is constantly laggin which really kills when ur trying to run away from a gruop of insanely powerful villans and the game lags and then u are dead plus u cant fight back when you are fighting if they made the game so it wouldnt lag so much is would awesome

Post Date: 02:51 06-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: gameboy man
Comment: this games amazing i love it!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post Date: 03:37 10-12-2004
Rating: 8
Author: uberman
Comment: Played this for a few months while I waited on World of Warcraft. WoW came just in time because I getting bored with it. I may go back to it when CoV comes out tho.

Post Date: 14:56 29-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: jubei
Comment: Having tons of fun making characters for this game.

Post Date: 22:27 26-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: The Dragon
Comment: I think City of Villians will make it much better but the game is still improving through the free updates.

Post Date: 13:00 23-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: Love the character development over any MMOG I have ever played. The game gets repititive quick but I still enjoy it :).

Post Date: 07:47 18-09-2004
Rating: 7
Author: visitor
Comment: Having server trouble tonight.

Post Date: 12:08 17-09-2004
Rating: 7
Author: visitor
Comment: Good for a little bit each day but gets old very fast if you spend a lot of time on it.

Post Date: 11:24 14-09-2004
Rating: 8
Author: visitor
Comment: The best MMORPG for people that normally dont like MMORPGs.

Post Date: 21:04 11-09-2004
Rating: 6
Author: visitor
Comment: Got boring too quick.

Post Date: 07:25 10-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: visitor
Comment: The best MMORPG today! Got sick and tired of all those fantasy ones.

Post Date: 04:21 08-09-2004
Rating: 7
Author: visitor
Comment: Very fun but not deep enough to keep me interested.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.