City of Villains


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


City of Villains is a standalone sequel rather than an expansion to City of Heroes. Construct your own dastardly villain and reak havoc on Paragon City!

Total Rating: 8.02
Reviews: 41

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 15:37 27-06-2015
Rating: 8
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Like the game, I played it, I was hoping that that has good graphics, because I give 8/10 :)

Post Date: 16:18 10-01-2015
Rating: 6
Author: arZ
Comment: This is a really cool MMORPG PvE Game... Its really interesting and fun. You can dress your Villain and make him look really cool. Graphics are ok, gameplay is ok... I give this game a rating of 6/10

Post Date: 16:55 11-06-2014
Rating: 7
Author: najdan11
Comment: Its good game.Good graphics and good gameplay.

Post Date: 21:45 05-10-2012
Rating: 7
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Its ok for me 7/10

Post Date: 20:51 05-03-2011
Rating: 10
Author: jonathin
Comment: i love city of villains.i have nothing bad to say about it.also if ur young like me and world of warcraft is to complicated for u ur in luck because of city of villains.all the people ive met on city of villains they all said its not a ripoff its worth it and i absalutely agree with them.all the people are friendly and nice.im 9 years old and im a gamer because of that one game city of villains.

Post Date: 19:53 22-02-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Adrian
Comment: I find this to be better then its sequal, "City of Heroes". Its always more too play the badguy, same graphics as COH.

Post Date: 11:35 04-02-2010
Rating: 7
Author: ermin grgic
Comment: CoX is a very good super hero MMO.

Post Date: 15:47 19-09-2009
Rating: 10
Author: maltir
Comment: Blah Blah the expansion is not a ripoff. What is a ripoff about letting players be creative? Go crawl back under your rock and actually play before making ignorant statements like that. City of Villains and City of Heroes are better than Champions Online.

Post Date: 06:17 17-09-2009
Rating: 3
Author: mmowiz
Comment: the architect expansion is a ripoff! it received a big nerf for nothing.

Post Date: 16:11 03-04-2009
Rating: 9
Author: mustainer
Comment: much better than CoH.

Post Date: 15:35 08-08-2008
Rating: 7
Author: killervickboy
Comment: better then city of heroes more polished gameplay and sound this does hav much more of a storyline wreak havoc on the city of paragon pretty much the same as heroes but just a little better gets boring fast cause u find yourself doin the same things over and over again

Post Date: 03:56 15-07-2008
Rating: 8
Author: xcriminal013
Comment: Personally, i truly believe that this game is over rated just because its new, and coh is underrated because, well... "woo! i'm some guy dressed up in tights to look like a super hero i really like and i'm playjurising another hero." Thats CoH's only problem :/... ANYWAYS. On to the ratings :D!
gameplay: 7/10 for pve element. Missions are very repetetive. Its either go take out this guy, or steal this, or protect that. It is the exact problem them CoH has. Anyways, pvp is ver fast paced and fun, depending on ur archtype. pvp gets 9/10 :D. Only problem is, once u play for a couple months, u'll feel exhausted, bored, and u wont have the will to log on again to level up for pointless pvp and super group wars.
Graphics: 9/10 better than wow's =).
Enhancement System: Interesting.... Long, annoying, time consuming, costs lots, yet it is required to become beastly powerful with ur archtypes duty =). So, in the end it is much worth it.
Customization: 10/10 Absolutely one of the best character customization systems i've ever seen! (besides perfect world's, thats PERFECT xD!)

Overall, great game, just gets boring and repetetive like CoH. This game makes me feel like the programmers just threw together another CoH, but not as well. (glitches, errors, etc.)

Post Date: 02:43 01-06-2008
Rating: 8
Author: opresser
Comment: This game will bust your balls with creativitly and Inginuity.

The only problem keeping this game from hitting it big is its graphics..

The game does have some pretty impressive models but it will soon be crushed by games like 'Darkfall' and 'Age of Conan'. Its metallic structures definitely do not go well with the models, and the pixel cuts and trash the experience.

The game would probably need to be ran on a Guild Wars like platform for it to fit the button but it does pretty well on its own.

Graphics 80%
Sound 80%
Community 59%
Innovation 85%
Customer Service 20%

Overall 81% - Reccomended to Comic fans.

Post Date: 20:27 02-02-2008
Rating: 7
Author: Phyan
Comment: I give it a 7 cuz it is fun and all but after like a month it gets boring because it is just the same old thing. But most of it is good. It is really fun to make your own SG ( Super Group )

Pros:
Great graphics
no one looks the same
almost no one has the same exact powers
4 different travel powers ( flying, Super Speed, Super Jump, And Teleportation )
Making your character can take for ever but it is worth it most of the time.

Cons:
The same places all the time
People dont always talk that much
It can be really hard to get started


P.S. it is really fun for a while
and try to stick to one character.
( to me Stalkers are the funnist. If your are starting out try one! They are awsome )

Post Date: 22:06 01-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Terra
Comment: This game captures the better side of what i seek when i play a MMORPG. Character creation options are by far the best in any game, no question. The PvP is fast paced and largely depends on skill and the power you chose to take, not equipment, making it fair for the casual gamer, while allowing a more didicated player to learn tricks to gain that competative edge. You can solo your way through this game, grouping is not necessary, so you don't have to wait for hours on end for people. Season holidays you can reply on it being fun. Graphics and gameplay are also very impressive. Travel powers give this game the final kick that makes me rate it 10. Plus, you can't beat being the Villain

My favourite game for PvP, I rate it over DaoC, WoW and EQ2 for hte PvP element

Post Date: 22:02 07-06-2007
Rating: 9
Author: dabest
Comment: great mmo i like the way you can customize the villain

Post Date: 06:31 15-04-2007
Rating: 9
Author: gimmeapenny
Comment: AMAZING MMO. The PvE gets boring quickly, but the community and the PvP kept me going for a while, pvp is awesomely fast paced, like MMO PvP for the FPSer, imo. I am taking a break at the moment from all non free MMO's but I'm thinking about coming back to CoX. Costume design is amazing and there are bonuses for playing a long time(angel and demon wings anybody?)

Trust me if you haven't played it and your looking for a FUN mmo, this is the game for you. If you are looking for a really challenging and time consuming MMO turn away.

Post Date: 20:05 14-03-2007
Rating: 10
Author: like clockwork
Comment: Cant saty much of what hasnt been said.The customization is the best of any game i have ever played.Really no one person looks alike!!Unless on purpose.I have a lvl 50 mm and he owns everything.Get to 20 and it gets fun.Many people online at all times.Plenty of skills and ways to utilize them.100s,no millions of differnt power combinations and plenty of character space.Most who give this game anything under a 8 are retards and need to play more than a week.It took me 6 days to get to lvl 20(not playing all day long) so theres no lvl gind.Pvp owns any other game.Im in a very good Super Group(I created it) and mayhem mishes are really fun if you have a large group.

Pve-8/10
pvp-12/10
SG-10/10
Gameplay-11/10
customization-53/10(its that awesome)
costume contests-10/10(xD)
Mayhem mishes-12/10

This game deserves a 94/10 one of the best games ever.PvE does need some work but only like 12seconds of programming worth.If you have $25 spare dollars pay and play.You will not regret it. PEACE!!MUH HOMIES!! Keep on grindin,
Like Clockwork

Post Date: 11:01 10-01-2007
Rating: 9
Author: Cals
Comment: I Only need to say one thing: Excellent. There is however a boring mission system which is very repeditive.

Post Date: 04:21 25-12-2006
Rating: 10
Author: svanfloyd
Comment: VERY fun game. whenever you get bored of playing on 1 charecter u can create another 1 and its like playing a whole new game almost. Also great graphics and every1 on there is really friendly aposed to sumthing like runescape where u get hacked everyday.

Post Date: 22:41 16-12-2006
Rating: 10
Author: lilluda
Comment: its perfect nothing need to be added to it so just leave this alone and let me play this one.

Post Date: 23:49 24-11-2006
Rating: 9
Author: MMMMMMM
Comment: Great game so long as you dont play it too long or it gets boring

Post Date: 18:36 24-11-2006
Rating: 4
Author: slayer3694
Comment: being evil is so much better you get to kill alot more people like in starwars knights of the old republic 2 the sith lords going to the darkside is so much better so many people to kill and sense you can go to jail in real life mine as well put anger all into the video game there sometime were I get so mad I need to kill so I play a video game I really releases the anger or listen to music that is not meatal and speaking of music metal is the best music for battle,war,fight any thing like that but when you playing a NFS you need rock when you custimise the cars you need rap when you race you need rock and thats what I have to say.

Post Date: 10:45 16-11-2006
Rating: 9
Author: konartiz
Comment: Awesome PvP and the best char creation and customization ive evr seen and villians look cooler...

Post Date: 10:27 28-09-2006
Rating: 7
Author: gunslingerkid08
Comment: A good game with nice pvp maps but the quest maps all look alike after awhile

Post Date: 18:58 04-09-2006
Rating: 10
Author: RenmakX
Comment: Best game ever! Wow! Character Creation is very well setup! This game is PERFECT!

Post Date: 17:35 07-08-2006
Rating: 9
Author: oathkeeper666
Comment: now gamers THIS is a great game it takes a little time to load but what game dosent?and i havent gotten any lag so far.i enjoy playing this game so i give it 8 points for being good and 1 more for being evil.

Post Date: 15:23 02-04-2006
Rating: 3
Author: KingDaKing
Comment: ITs alright pve needs work not worth it

Post Date: 23:46 06-01-2006
Rating: 9
Author: dac280
Comment: This game is the one thing that keeps me occupied when WOW gets boring,which it barely does. This game has everything WOW has (see my review at the WOW section)!

I give it a 9 out of 10,for being just a little too evil.

Post Date: 04:24 03-01-2006
Rating: 8
Author: toasternator65
Comment: Well of course it beats being good!
It s fun being evil ofcouse, and cooler costumes, no more stars and stuff!

Post Date: 02:17 03-01-2006
Rating: 7
Author: runescaperocks
Comment: City of Villans was made to compete with WoW becau se of the pvp thing. It looks like it did its job wile eq2 didnt lol =)

Post Date: 21:48 17-12-2005
Rating: 9
Author: Malokai
Comment: Plays alot like CoH but I just like it more for some reason.

Post Date: 21:10 15-12-2005
Rating: 10
Author: jubei
Comment: I really enjoy the fast PvP. IMHO, that is how PvP should be.

Post Date: 11:42 21-11-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Review Man
Comment: Oh, it is so fun to be bad!

Post Date: 01:28 15-11-2005
Rating: 7
Author: clilmama33830
Comment: I gave COH a 5. I give this a 7 because I like the pvp system, and You get to battle stronger enemies, and there is always someone stronger to fight

Post Date: 21:22 06-11-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: Although its very similar to City of Heroes, it is just more fun to me.

Post Date: 06:36 05-11-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Banger
Comment: A lot like the original but I like it more because it allows heroes versus villains PVP finally. I also love the new MasterMind character since I can now summon evil ninjas to my side (cackles evilly).

Post Date: 17:50 09-10-2005
Rating: 8
Author: visitor
Comment: none

Post Date: 02:25 05-10-2005
Rating: 6
Author: SephirothDX
Comment: a little better than coh.

Post Date: 09:11 17-09-2005
Rating: 5
Author: 12345678901234567890
Comment: none

Post Date: 00:05 10-09-2005
Rating: 7
Author: CFPlayer70
Comment: Not sure how the game will be...But it looks like it has pretty sick graphics. I would probably play it if it didn t have any monthly fees. Hopefully they will scratch out the monthly fee for this game.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.