Control Monger


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Bored of playing online FPS games where the gameplay is always the same? Try our multiple gameplay settings and never be bored again!

Total Rating: 7.15
Reviews: 65

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 20:45 22-03-2013
Rating: 8
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This game is very very fun and worth playing for sure the graphics might not look like there awesome but they are quite good also another thing to mention is the gamplay is is not your typical FPS shooter it has way more gameplay settings then most and the way you play it is also diffrent

Post Date: 15:26 19-09-2012
Rating: 8
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Yea i remember that i spend meny houres playing it. Great shame.

Post Date: 21:51 27-11-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: Im actually very surprised that this game is in the graveyard. Its not that bad. Graphics are also pretty good.

Post Date: 17:42 29-07-2011
Rating: 4
Author: notch
Comment: Control Monger is dead. Please move it to the graveyard.

Post Date: 11:44 28-03-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Adrian
Comment: This is probably one of the best FPS games out there, the graphics are good, gameplay is fun.

Post Date: 06:57 28-03-2011
Rating: 8
Author: EcLuD
Comment: because I was very original iso the idea of ??this game .. I liked it and its graphics are good, the forum also:) 8 / 10

Post Date: 17:55 09-02-2009
Rating: 6
Author: webber
Comment: Is this game even alive still?

Post Date: 22:30 03-11-2008
Rating: 10
Author: naitrovair
Comment: I love this game, It's too bad that there is barely anybody online. The graphics are pretty good. My Xfire name is naitrovair if anybody wants to have a meeting time for gameplay.

Post Date: 16:44 06-09-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Dark PuMa
Comment: I love this game.

Post Date: 00:29 27-06-2008
Rating: 9
Author: marz777
Comment: nice graphics, comunitys ok, good fun

Post Date: 22:25 23-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: StrifeUk
Comment: Free, competitive online gaming, make your own maps, fantastic community - what more could you ask for?

Post Date: 02:21 23-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Shockandawe
Comment: I have been playing for a few months now and this is one of my favorites.

Please check out the forums for any information you wish to know. Players are also willing to give training to new players who will show some commitment.

Post Date: 00:01 20-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Xynthos
Comment: Aye,i am from the community. Starting off i was the worst player you have ever seen. I would be killed by my own minigun (which is impossible).
Now however after having played for quite some time, i have become one of the best players in the game. Yes, its difficult, yes, players are a problem. But rather than giving up becuase there are no players, why dont you keep playing? So eventually people will come, and there will be more. at this point, literally every single person helps. join the forums, get xfire, add me, my xfire username is the same as my username here. ill play with you, ill get other people to play with you. The only way to get more players is if you don't give up. No, i wont go easy on you, but i WILL teach you whats going on and what your doing wrong.

Post Date: 06:15 15-01-2008
Rating: 9
Author: pyro20089
Comment: I am from this particular community as i believe Xynthos is as well, No there is not alot of people online because we are marketing the game for free, By we i mean our developers, and alot of our developers have lives that lead them astray from this wonderful game. I Downloaded this game almost a year and a half ago and i continue to play it although they do need to get their developers back No alot of us more seasoned players do not take it easy on Newbies..or Noobs as they are often referred to but then again if we baby the new people how are they going to get better? i love this game for being free it has some of most fun gameplay i have come across without having to wait 8 and a half hours for the download. The graphics are decently high-leveled you have several bots to choose from including the sniper, medical bot,the soldier,the demolition bot,the construction bot and the heavy gunner bot. Each bot with its own unique traits and challenges And learning them is half the fun of the game whether you are in a server on your own learning the speeds and aiming abilities of different bots or you are in a clan battle with the most feared clan in the game ( {3D} BTW scary good bunch lol) putting those skills to use the game always has something surprising to reveal.
Also, We in the community are also very helpful to new players although we do spend a lot of time playfully flaming our friends or setting up clan matches just for fun there is almost always something to do!
We also have a decent Clan system we have several clans at the moment and players are encouraged to come and create their own. There are several higher level clans who will help you set up your own clan and then will show you the best ways to play the game and team tactics so you can better your own clans and take on the higher clans and move up your rank.
All in All it is a very fun game if you have the patience to learn it's intricacies i realize i just raved forever but i love this game some of my closest friends are in that game and i believe it deserves some recognition. Just try the game out join the forums and just try to get used to it and have fun. And you dont have to be a pro to play this game you just have to grind at it just like any other game. 9/10

Post Date: 19:42 02-01-2008
Rating: 9
Author: Jebin_Zedalu
Comment: Control Monger is a very fun game, combining the usual action of shooters with great tactic- and team-based elements.
Unfortunately, there aren't many people playing the game, so it may be difficult to find a match. On top of that, the more experienced players tend not to take it easy on newer players. I advise you to bring a friend when you start, and practice with each other in password-protected games before you move on to the open servers.
That said, the community is very friendly and helpful when you find them (the message boards are the best place to meet other players), and will generally answer every question you have without being at all rude about it like other online game communities.
The game has very low-end requirements, as well, meaning those with old computers can still enjoy the game.
I definitely recommend Control Monger to anyone who enjoys shooters or strategy games.

Post Date: 20:06 21-12-2007
Rating: 0
Author: Oathkeeper666
Comment: every time i play this, not one other person in the entire world is playing. How fun is that? it is very boring by yourself, and by the gameplay, i'd only give it a 3 if others DID play, maybe. who knows.

Post Date: 20:57 22-11-2007
Rating: 0
Author: xrultima
Comment: I played this but the tutorial only prepares you in knowledge, but multiplayer if your new they wont go easy on you. Played for 1 hour and constantly died on multiplayer.. Nobody is n00b-friendly.. If your an expert then you would probly find this game to be 9/10 but im not, and ill never end up being one because of the difficulty in multiplayer. 0/10

Post Date: 00:48 21-10-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Saber144
Comment: Why do u guys complain about so little players when there is actually alot of ppl complaining about the same thing.. If u guys r really concerned about players than try setting up a meeting time or something

Post Date: 19:35 05-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Xynthos
Comment: This game is different from all the others. It may have dated graphics, but thats what you get for playing an incomplete game. As far as gamplay itself goes, there is a lot more strategy and thinking going on to win. Sometimes its as easy as "blow the enemy up." but sometimes you really need to think on how to best get through your enemies defenses, and reach your goal in the most efficient way possible. Making the game more intresting is the different abilities a bot can use, anything from a 0-hit shield, to complete invisibility, to even deploying your own auto firing turrets wherever you want.
weapons are good to, you have grenades that can float through the air, stop your enemy from moving in their tracks, flash grenades, smoke grenades, and your ever faithful regualr grenades. and weapons range from a basic machine gun, up to a plasma flame thrower. the interface is easy once you get to know it.
Lack of players is a serious problem, and is a major turn off for most people. However, the only way your going to get more players, is to try the game yourself, and spread the word.
The community is great, and helpful, and some will even go so far as to teach you how to play better. The game is great with over 8 people in a server. this provides fast, action packed game play, with no break. Also, if you join the forums, you can participate in community events.

Post Date: 17:29 05-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: koolguy
Comment: The awsomest game ever. Great fighting great game play. It reminds me a lot of starwars battle front their is a system of classes like starwars battlefrount. You arn"t stuck being a class forever you can change when ever you fell like it. Classes include snippers, construction guy, healers, reular solgiers, heavy soildgers, spays, and probably a few other classes I forgot about. These guy said there was no one to fight. In my experence their was always 4 people online to play. Which is enough to fight. The only way it will get better is if you play the game!

Post Date: 05:06 23-11-2006
Rating: 0
Author: thejosh
Comment: Would be awsome if it had players to play against! It would realy be a cool game if someone advertised it and got a few players to fight against online. Good grapfics good fighting but it gets boring quick shooting at the wall beacause absouly no one is online to fight. It has great potentional would get a ten out of ten if their was something to kill, but at this point the game is pointless.

Post Date: 02:49 29-10-2006
Rating: 2
Author: kunta93
Comment: played this game--worst mistake of my week

PLAY AMERICA'S ARMY INSTEAD!!!

Post Date: 17:57 23-07-2006
Rating: 1
Author: RastaB
Comment: good graphics??? o0
yea compared to "opperation wolf" on the c64 this might be good graphics...

trying this game out was a pretty sucky experience for me.
despite the fact that this has absolutely nothing to do with the "mmo"-part it was also annoying to configure and to play.
id rather pay 10€ for a full version of "ut" then stick to this one.

Post Date: 03:20 04-07-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Division_9
Comment: This game isnt too bad just needs more players thats all

Post Date: 04:10 21-06-2006
Rating: 0
Author: fire_of_satan
Comment: Warning! Do not waste your time on this. Your better off knitting.

Post Date: 18:10 30-05-2006
Rating: 1
Author: renmak
Comment: nobody is online...

Post Date: 21:33 27-05-2006
Rating: 7
Author: makairu
Comment: Heh, i couldn't play with real people because noone was online.

Post Date: 03:35 30-01-2006
Rating: 0
Author: Fox
Comment: I can t get CM to work.

Post Date: 11:25 01-12-2005
Rating: 7
Author: PvtSlayer
Comment: This game is great for low budget and graphics people like me. You big bad BF2 players leave the little people like me (Can t afford a new graphics card yet or I just don t care to spend that much money for one) in the dirt. This game is fun for it being free. I play this when I get tired of getting killed in America s Army. GJ developers.

Post Date: 11:38 21-11-2005
Rating: 3
Author: Review Man
Comment: Not bad for a small budget game but I still think it has a long way to go before it deserves more playing time than the big shooters. Being free is good but you can play Battlefield 1942, Battle Vietnam, and Battlefield 2 for free online too.

Post Date: 03:02 02-11-2005
Rating: 0
Author: uidSpike
Comment: LOL, thats all I have to say about this "game".

Post Date: 18:29 17-09-2005
Rating: 9
Author: talus
Comment: awsome game best online shooter ive seen, cool levels, awsome bots, and realy nice pvp, definatly worth the download.

Post Date: 17:57 27-08-2005
Rating: 8
Author: ramsy66
Comment: Great game, original, addictive. Just a plain wicked online game =D recommended.

The many classes keeps this game fun for as long as possible, although it lacks good graphics, it has great gameplay

Post Date: 19:59 12-08-2005
Rating: 0
Author: Banger
Comment: Don t see what the fuss is about.

Post Date: 19:28 11-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: cobra
Comment: Im testing this game right now and it is the funniest FPS i have ever played

Post Date: 01:36 11-08-2005
Rating: 5
Author: heta 13
Comment: none

Post Date: 21:21 10-08-2005
Rating: 0
Author: jubei
Comment: Sorry, just does not impress me at all. Actually, I think some of these reviews are a little over the top. This game is better than BF2, HalfLife, and UT2004? I don t think so! Its nice to see a low budget game trying to be different, but comparing it those games is just ridiculous. The game isnt even released yet!

Post Date: 07:22 09-08-2005
Rating: 5
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: I love the price, but I think I would rather fire up UT 2004.

Post Date: 06:30 07-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: DarkWraith
Comment: VEEEEEERY nice game, especially since it s totally FREE!(well until the expansion comes out after it goes gold...but that ll be a one time cost only, no monthly fees). Pretty nice graphics, awesome gameplay, maps are awesome (give thanks to the map creator, Draconus), and the people that play are pretty cool too(i ve played alot of matches, and all the people i played with i got along with just fine). Download it if you dare! Also, check out my clan website :) www.freewebs.com/cmwraith. THANK YOU CONTROL MONGER STAFF FOR MAKING SUCH AN AWESOME GAME

Post Date: 22:25 05-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Bamelin
Comment: Ever played Tribes 1, Renegades mod? This game will bring back all those old memories.

At first I thought the graphics were dated but hell it is a beta. Bottom line guys it s all about gameplay and this game has TONS of amazing gameplay.
The game rocks.

Post Date: 13:50 05-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: DaveLegg
Comment: It s a new type of FPS for me, I really enjoy playing it, graphics are pretty good, gameplay is great, as is the community around it. Can t wait for the final release!!!

Post Date: 12:36 04-08-2005
Rating: 9
Author: shadowmaster78
Comment: good

Post Date: 09:19 04-08-2005
Rating: 8
Author: Kurz
Comment: yay!

Post Date: 05:05 04-08-2005
Rating: 5
Author: venaliterpignus
Comment: very pretty..sorta fun

Post Date: 03:45 04-08-2005
Rating: 7
Author: grond
Comment: none

Post Date: 03:33 04-08-2005
Rating: 9
Author: DrifterBG
Comment: none

Post Date: 15:25 02-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: rpgmaniac
Comment: The graphics in this game are brilliant! There is a nice array of weapons wich you can use to pulverise nearly anything. This game is why first-person shooters came to be.

One of the best free online fpt games ever!

Post Date: 08:54 02-08-2005
Rating: 9
Author: xnowandtheworldx
Comment: this game looks awsome... i have to agree the graphics do look a lil outdated but what the hell it ll be fun

Post Date: 18:15 01-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: djark
Comment: This is a fantastic game. The graphics are a little dated compared to the likes of BF2 or the like, however, they are still really good, the game s REALLY fun, and it s by far the best free game I ve EVER played, and I can honestly say I hated FPS until I played this.

Post Date: 11:20 01-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: arnotts
Comment: BEST GAME EVER!!!

Post Date: 04:55 01-08-2005
Rating: 8
Author: Trent28
Comment: The graphics look so-so. The price is perfect.

Post Date: 19:33 31-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Chuina
Comment: Control Monger takes place in a war torn futuristic world. The two major clans are the House Khan which is an empire based on gold and the House of Lo which is based on the import and trade of silver. This online FPS has probably more things to do in it then any other FPS around. Despite the graphics it has some awesome effects and amazing gameplay. It has 7 different playable bots which have their own special abilities that are all neccessary to the team. There are four types of gameplay which consist of: Capture the flag,Last man standing (Deathmatch), Objective and King of the hill. The bots are very easily controlled and move smoother than ever! This is an action packed online FPS which you just wont want to miss! Oh and the basic version is also FREE TO PLAY!

Post Date: 18:29 31-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Fenoe
Comment: great game...i just love the sniperbot...you can turn invisible and see throu walls =D...
as the others say...hardly any lagg...
lots of cool special abilities for the classes..

Post Date: 18:23 31-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: tgraupmann
Comment: First of all, I d like to distribute the extra credit. Control Monger is freely available (+1). No subscription feed (+1). The game is online (+1). Multiplayer (+1). It has hidden complexity (+1). Player control is something different from the standard (+1).

I started playing control monger when there was just a few units, which have now evolved to more than 6 last time I checked. These are all available in the free version too, which is a bonus. The first few times I played control monger, I didn t understand the mission types and ended up betraying a lot of team mates. I later learned how to pick up items F , and switching weapons with control , shift , and alt . I started to realize there was more to the game. Each bot has a different strength. You ll notice that the constructor bot, can break down and build doors, fix your radar, and build gun turrets. The turrets are a good decoy if you switch to sniper and camp to drive opponents crazy. I recently figured out that you can use a boost to jump with tab . And the spy bot is great. I like going fast, but with the boost your a blur. Add a little invisibility and you can get right next to somebody and plasma their ass.

All in all the game is quite good. Once you realize the attack buttons, "left and right mouse buttons", and x .

Post Date: 14:59 31-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: tx2rx
Comment: A very nice array of weapons all seemingly well balanced and at alpha stage as well! I much prefere game/team play over graphics and as with any game good game, team play will always win over rambo soloists and I look forward to having some large scale battles :-)

x

Post Date: 14:59 31-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: SuckyDucky
Comment: Don t know much to say about this puppy... I was one of the few lucky ones that got in from the start to test it... It s a really awesome, fast paced, non-laggy game with alot of potential.. Haven t seen any bugs so far either. The levels range from various large open maps to small enclosed spaces for close quarters combat. The various bots all have different weapons, different abilities and different strategies to play with them. And the best of all of this? It s free! That s right, no cost whatsoever to play this game. I suggest you get it when you can, it s well worth it.

Post Date: 03:55 31-07-2005
Rating: 9
Author: rick`
Comment: Top game!
Very nice selection of bots for almost any map type.

From small fast paced free-for-alls to huge arenas for massive team assults.
Graphics and frame rate is awesome.

Post Date: 02:40 31-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: pedm
Comment: Control Monger is a very good game. I have been playing it for about two weeks and find it very good. Even although I usually tend to play more rpg s than shooting games like this I have found this to be a very good game. The graphics are great and it rarely lags (for me anyways.) This is a great game and I recomend it to everybody!

Post Date: 01:21 31-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: terminal_9x
Comment: An online multiplayer shooter that anyone can go and play at any time with any number of their friends, at no charge?

Sounds almost too good to be true, but I played the alpha and was thoroughly impressed. Awesome frame rates, no lag, and a diverse gameplay that allows for any number of strategic possibilities.

There s no excuse NOT to play this game!!

Post Date: 00:31 31-07-2005
Rating: 9
Author: darkmeerkat
Comment: Great game. :) The many abilities are nice, and the various robot classes to pick from will make teamwork more viable.

Post Date: 00:27 31-07-2005
Rating: 10
Author: DjNog
Comment: What I love about this game has nothing to do with the fact that its free. (though that is always a plus) The Graphics are well done for what the dev team has to work with. I always been of the mind set of great graphics does not a great game make.

With that said. This game rocks! They have taken a old Genere and breathed some much needed life back into it. All the elements of a great FPS are in this game, however in the form of bots...The coolest thing i have seen so far in the game has to be the Repair bot, at one point in the game you can build and fortify a base ehile your team mates are off causing chaos and mayhem.

Great game for only being in beta.
Keep up the great work guys!
DjNog

Post Date: 00:06 31-07-2005
Rating: 7
Author: houstondi
Comment: none

Post Date: 23:56 30-07-2005
Rating: 9
Author: Mordakaida
Comment: playing sence it first came out as beta. intresting bots, weapons.. one of my favs in online gaming.. can t beat price.. expcially for what is instore for all of us when finally here.. gooo dracccccc

Post Date: 23:49 30-07-2005
Rating: 8
Author: yoyowazzupp
Comment: none

Post Date: 01:17 30-07-2005
Rating: 7
Author: mmorpger123
Comment: Despite only ok graphics and no playable version, I love the price. Finally somebody makes a free shooter! Can t wait to try the beta.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.