DC Universe Online


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


DC Universe Online is a pay-to-play MMORPG set in the comic book DC Universe. Familar faces include Superman, Batman, the Joker, Flash, Captain Marvel, and Wonder Woman. This game is being made for the PC and the PlayStation 3.

Total Rating: 7.27
Reviews: 37

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 23:21 01-08-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 23:21 01-08-2015
Rating: 2
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 12:37 03-07-2015
Rating: 9
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Not a bad game, it's fun, I like it.

Post Date: 19:27 19-02-2015
Rating: 10
Author: Xicor97
Comment: Game is really nice and interesting..i Personally like that you can make your own super hero based on main DC characters ....Also quests and gameplay is awesome ...there is no cons from me and ill give 10/10

Post Date: 16:24 01-01-2015
Rating: 3
Author: ColdDomination
Comment: In DC Universe Online, players will be thrust headlong into an action-packed online world based on the heroes, villains and landmarks of the DC Universe. In the game, players step into the role of the next legendary superhero or villain and are given the choice to save or conquer the universe online. Along the way, players will be fighting alongside or against iconic DC characters as well as other players for the fate of the DC Universe.

Post Date: 16:37 31-12-2014
Rating: 5
Author: arZ
Comment: This is a really cool game with superheroes from Marvel and such... you can play this game on PC and Playstation. This is a fighting game and there is early PS1-2 graphics, i give this game a note of 6/10

Post Date: 17:39 10-09-2014
Rating: 10
Author: FrendlyLeBlanc
Comment: When i came to this forum i saw any showdown and there was this game. I saw good ss and downloaded her. This is good game with good heroes for me. Graphic is great and gameplsy too... I also played Marvel Heroes and i think to these games almost same but this is better...
10 :)

Post Date: 19:38 01-07-2014
Rating: 8
Author: ChanceSolo
Comment: Was in the closed beta, glad they went F2P, lotsa fun. Controls are not that intuitive (you have to play with this games control setup, to get it and have to think about them, esp. coming from other games who are more or less set up the same way). A fun ride, much time spent here.

Post Date: 14:51 04-05-2014
Rating: 9
Author: ivekvv256
Comment: A cool game where you can play super heroes such as Batman, Joker, Flash, Superman... I've played it on my PC and it's awesome. You've also got quests that will keep you occupied. I rate this MMORPG 9/10

Post Date: 22:26 23-03-2014
Rating: 8
Author: Chavo Ledeni
Comment: Supermen is awesome

Post Date: 22:51 28-01-2014
Rating: 9
Author: mmowiz
Comment: dc universe is much better than marvel heroes!

Post Date: 11:17 17-08-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: This game can be fun in some moments but it got its cons. In DC Universe, you can choose from a wide range of tights and other delights. Unfortunately, the patterns on the clothes are already made, so you can't choose by yourself. It doesn't have very much to choose between compare to other Super-hero MMORPG's, however the one you can choose between, are very well made. The game world is divided into Gotham City and Metropolis, but to be these giant cities, they feel very empty and abandoned. There are some NPCs who walk the streets and some moving cars around, but they are only walking around and there is nothing that they can integrate with and it makes it all feel a little lifeless. It's hard to explain but it feels like the game world does not have a "soul."

Post Date: 21:30 14-07-2012
Rating: 5
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: NIce idea for game. Comics graphics and charakters are good idea.

Post Date: 20:10 14-07-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: This game is pretty awesome if you like Marvel Comics which i do so i love this game i like it alot i recommend playing it if you want a fun and intense Experience

Post Date: 01:11 27-05-2012
Rating: 10
Author: Rogue_Sora
Comment: I agree with Aaddron below me. I've been playing for awhile now and it's just an amazing game.
DLC's are worth it brings so much more to the game.

Post Date: 01:57 12-05-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Aaddron
Comment: This Review covers both PC and Ps3 versions but most gameplay was done on the Ps3, PvE Server. Everything was done as a premium player (Free to Play but spent at least $5 in cash shop, bought one DLC). On to the Review.

Let’s start with the differences between PC and Ps3 versions. I could not find any differences between them content wise. I found the Ps3 versions graphics to be slightly sharper but that could be my PC. Otherwise they are identical. Gameplay wise, I find the game a lot more enjoyable with a gamepad. It works fine with a mouse and keyboard but it's just not quite as good. The PC version is compatible with a USB controller and works just as well as the Ps3 version. The biggest differences is in accounts and community. Community wise Ps3 seems to have a bigger population but they don't chat as much, chat is hard to read when on a HDTV if you aren't sitting simi-close to it, on a SDTV the Chat is partly cut off, still usable except for the fact it's really tiny. PC Community is a little more chatty but has less players, the world feels a lot emptier at times.

My absolute biggest gripe with the Ps3 version is the pop in, it's not quite as bad on PC but textures still fall behind. The fact it's jarring and hurts the immersion sucks but the real issue is enemies often fall behind too, especially when moving with upgraded movement powers. Sometimes it can take up to 30 seconds before they finally appear... all the while they are attacking and you can't do anything about it. This can be "patched" by slowing down a bit or by landing on buildings where they can't get you when first get into an area, then wait for the enemies to load in. On a smaller note, the game’s UI is made for a gamepad. It works pretty well on a gamepad but is far from perfect. On PC it's just weird. It works and is usable but it's not gonna win any awards... or even fans.

Accounts, this a biggest difference. The PC version is managed by SOE but the Ps3 version is managed by SCE. The Ps3 versions customer service isn't as good, as it's apparent SCE doesn't know what it's doing... they will help you with anything hardware related to the Ps3 but anything Software and you'll most likely be sent to SOE... who will send you back to SCE as they don't cover the Ps3 version. However this isn't the biggest difference. PC version being SOE uses Station Cash for the cash shop, Ps3 version uses PSN market and dollars... On PC if you subscribe you get a loyal reward of 500SC a month which can be used in any SOE game, spent on any item in the cash shop or used to buy DLC. On Ps3 you get loyalty points and a limited store to spend them in... which doesn't include DLC and most of the cash shop items. It's not really fair at all and kinda lessens the benefits of subscribing on the Ps3 side. PC also gets regular sales and at one point had lifetime subscriptions. Ps3 side didn't/doesn't get either.

Ok on to the game itself. SOE really tried to be different and improve. Think Guild Wars 2 before Guild Wars 2... but not taken quite as far. First the game is fully voiced. Some of the voices are a little cheese but it's an impressive feat and works really well. Next you don't always have to return to the quest giver when a quest is completed, instead they contact you via a radio, magic, satellite etc and get your reward right away. This a nice feature as it saves a lot of time and it's done well enough to make sense. Another really cool feature is you don't have to be grouped to work together. If another player comes along and starts attacking the same enemy as you, you both get credit for the kill. This makes it super easy to work with other players and speeds up questing. This makes fighting World Bosses super fun too.

Combat is fun and different than the typical hotbar MMOs. Everything is physics based so you can knock back enemies, throw stuff at them and they react. Combat is largely based on combos, like click click hold, or click right click hold etc... with a controller it's similar, it sounds boring but works well. It allows you to do the attack you want and adds a nice level of depth. The game also features blocking and dodging, which both work well enough for a lower level player who knows what he's doing to beat a higher level player. Power wise, you can unlock quite a few as you level but you can only have 6 on your hotbar at a time, no multilayer hotbars here but you do have two roles which you can switch between on the fly, allowing for a separate 6 powers. However while these roles aren't limited they offer pretty big bonuses to powers that match the role so don't try to use it as a second hotbar.

Quests are the typical affair of go here kill x and/or pick of these bring them here... they work well though. It's never kill 100 of these and usually they take place in smallish areas, along with the voice overs, it helps with repetitiveness. Every Quest line is capped off with a instanced dungeon that ends with a boss fight, either against a villain or a hero. Then every dungeon is capped off with a nice 20-30 second voiced over clip with comic art that explains more about the hero or villain. It's a nice touch.

Character customization is sorta limited at the start but the sheer amount of options as you level makes no two characters the same. Faces and body builds are quite limited. Costume wise, you have some options at the start, it's not a ton but enough to make sure no two characters look a like. Tons of different armor drops in game though and you can lock your appearance so you can equip better gear but keep the look of your old stuff.

Content wise, the game is smaller than most MMO's but it'll still last you 100-200 hours easy. They've been releasing regular free content updates and paid DLC too. Paid DLC seems to come every 3 months or so, the price is $10 each. The game is pretty solo friendly but it's easy enough to find groups... although the game is somewhat lacking in finding groups features. Advanced Guild features are also somewhat lacking... no Guild Halls here.

PvP is one of this game's strong points. On PvE servers, PvP can be toggled on and off (5 minute cooldown) and you can switch to and from the PvP server with just a loadscreen for free in game. It's not hardcore PvP in the sense you'll lose items, although I think in some instances you can but the game features open world PvP, Hero vs Villain. Open World PvP is nice but ganking can happen, where high level players prey on lower level ones. Quests are setup nicely to bring similar leveled Heroes and Villains together. Usually Heroes quest is to protect somethings or someones and villains destroy them, or vice versa. This adds a nice random element to Quests on the PvP server. The game also features arena PvP, 2v2,4v4 and 8v8. Arena PvP has legends version where you can play as real Heroes or Villains like Superman or Joker... but you can also do Arena with your own character. Characters and Legends are separate modes. You can easily join these via the On Duty menu by joining a queue, you'll get a notification when the match is ready, so you're free to do whatever until it finds other players.

Speaking of On Duty, the game features a number of 4 man instances that can be joined via a queue or in a party. These feature one or two bosses and can take anywhere from 20 minutes to over an hour. They start out pretty easy but later ones take a group effort to win. The game also features a number of 2 man missions and a few other modes that I haven't had the chance to play yet.

Last but not least is Free to Play vs Legendary (subscription). As a Free to Play player I'm not finding it overly restrictive like some of SOE other games. You get pretty much everything minus DLC, Subs get access to DLC as long as they are subscribed. The game features the typical restrictions like limited character slots (2), inventory, bank slots, can't use auction, no voice chat and can't create a guild. I'd recommend spending $5 or more to get premium, this will get you 6 character slots, voice chat, auction, more bank and inventory space... basically still restricted but mostly not restrictions you'll run into. The biggest restriction on Free and Premium Players is cash, you’re limited to 1500 free and 2000 premium, Legends don't have a restriction, if you go over it keeps it all in escrow that you can pay real money to withdraw out of. It's not really a issue until higher levels as it's still plenty of money to buy good enough gear and repairs. It's pretty ridiculous but other than this as a premium user it's not that bad at all when compared to some other games.

Well that's about it, DCUO offers fun action based combat, along with public like questing. A variety of PvP options, two full cities Gotham and Metropolis and more content on the way, at the a decent price of $10 each. Fully voiced, with gorgeous visuals and art direction. Restrictive but not too restrictive Free to Play and the first MMO on Ps3. It's not without it's issues, Questing can get repetitive, pop in is rampant and PvP does have cheaters. Customer Support could be better and the game is relatively short for a MMO. Some would say this is a single player game mashed into an MMO world... and honestly they're probably right as it can easily be played like a single player game mashed into an MMO world but it's the MMO side that give this game life and for comic book fans, especially DC fans, it doesn't get any better than this.

Post Date: 14:59 21-04-2012
Rating: 10
Author: Tyric
Comment: Awesome GRAPHICS Y'ALL

Post Date: 20:18 25-01-2012
Rating: 3
Author: Leorio
Comment: While DCUO has all the making of a great game, it falls short on SOE's weak point: dealing with cheaters. Both versions of the game (PC and PS3) have been riddled with cheaters, exploiters, and even blatant hacking since their launch.
This makes 75% of the game meaningless, and as many exploits and hacks have existed for a year or more, there is really no point in playing the game aside from attempting to have fun.
Unfortunately, the hacking in pvp for the pc version is incredibly severe, and the exploits on both version are both well-documented and ignored by the people in charge of the game. The economy is in shambles, and most people have taken to a barter system in order to do away with cash altogether.
So far there has been 3 cash rollbacks, there is currently multiple item dupe and cash dupe glitches, and people who have played since say 1 have seen their gear disappear the moment they log out.

The game itself actually has endless potential for fun and customization, but the people in charge seem to have given up on removing the tumor that is slowly killing the game...the cheaters.
Graphics: 9/10
Sound: 6/10
Fun: 2/10
Storyline: 1/10
Overall game experience: 3/10

Summary: The game could have killed off champions online and city of heroes...if not for SOE's unwillingness to take a firm stance against cheating.

Post Date: 05:40 13-12-2011
Rating: 10
Author: mmowiz
Comment: i saw a dc universe online tv commercial about it being free. i have created two toons since it went free. one is a magic wielding hero that flys. the other is an evil archer that shoots fire. i give it a 10!

Post Date: 17:19 11-12-2011
Rating: 9
Author: buzzsaw
Comment: DCUO is better than I expected. Besides being free it has better balance and more action than Heroes and Champions. The powers just feel right to me.

Post Date: 09:19 01-12-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: Pretty nice game. Graphics are pretty good but not the best. I recommend it to everyone. 9/10

Post Date: 01:22 01-12-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Webber
Comment: DC Universe is better than before now that it is free! Unlike some free games, I feel exactly the same as when I was paying per month. I still love flying around as a newbie xD.

Post Date: 02:51 13-11-2011
Rating: 10
Author: champking5
Comment: I love this game! Have fun online playing with your favorite charcters from different comic books like, Superman, Spiderman, Wonderwoman and more! When it comes out for the PS3. Im going to play it on my PS3 to!

Post Date: 05:38 18-07-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Webber
Comment: DC Universe is the best Super hero MMO atm. However, Champions Online and City of Heroes going free does not help DC. Eventually DC will need to go f2p too!

Post Date: 19:28 23-02-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Adrian
Comment: I find this to be one of the better MMO's out there, graphics are very nice, characters are a blast too play.

Post Date: 13:37 23-02-2011
Rating: 0
Author: dantabletennis
Comment: Its a game for little kids, not for people who love gaming!

Post Date: 23:00 13-01-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Joker
Comment: By a Window 7 PC? Did you think you would use XP forever?

To the game! DC is clearly the superior super hero MMORPG. Champions and City of Heroes should take notes.

1. The graphics are awesome.
2. Movement is fun from the very beginning
3. The environment is like a playground.
4. Combat is cool.
5. You can choose the dark side.

10/10 from the Joker!

Post Date: 20:48 11-01-2011
Rating: 0
Author: AlanSteele
Comment: This is the first online game I have purchased that did not work when installed, and after doing extensive beta testing for at least 3 months

Sheeze

And here is the BIG PROBLEM

Are you ready?

NOT COMPARABLE WITH WINDOWS XP

wait a minute its advertised on the box that its for Windows XP SP3 and Up however the version of Direct x used by the game is 10 (NOT ADVERTISED)

uhm Windows XP SP 3 used Direct x 9c

sooo it wont run on a windows XP SP3 system as advertised

SHAME ON YOU SONY!


This is a flat out LIE BY SONY that is will run on Windows XP SP3

I suppose I just wasted some money then?

I wont be buying any more Sony Products let me tell you

Post Date: 22:44 10-01-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Celtis
Comment: DCUO will rock! I had a blast in open and closed beta. The PvP is already better than most current mmos.

Post Date: 20:22 06-01-2011
Rating: 10
Author: mmowiz
Comment: i am buying dc universe next week!

Post Date: 11:11 05-01-2011
Rating: 8
Author: vanhoek2004
Comment: I particapated in th CBT and enjoyed it to the nth degree!
BUT, it's pricie!!

Post Date: 19:37 13-07-2010
Rating: 10
Author: kuleshs
Comment: I can"t wait for DC Universe Online.

Post Date: 09:43 08-07-2010
Rating: 0
Author: shadowshnull
Comment: the website's homepage has weird stuff on it like '$label.ReadOn' if this is a preview of what's to come with the game? next ...

Post Date: 12:33 29-04-2010
Rating: 7
Author: thundemp2007
Comment: This MMORPG that based on comic books is one of the interesting game that must not missed out.Watch the storyboards from Gotham City come to life in this feature. Defend or attack! Choose what type of hero you are on the fly. Help out some super-friends and fend off crime wave while Brainiac turns normal citizens into killing machines.DC fanatics try this!

Post Date: 06:21 14-09-2009
Rating: 8
Author: webber
Comment: I hope it does better than Champions Online has at launch.

Post Date: 18:14 02-08-2009
Rating: 9
Author: buzzsaw
Comment: I like DC superheroes better than marvel superheroes, but I have feeling that Champions Online with be a better MMO than DC Universe. Cryptic already has learned from City of Heroes.

Post Date: 01:39 04-12-2008
Rating: 10
Author: notch
Comment: Looks awesome! It will kill City of Heroes I bet! Batman anyone?





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.