Dark Age of Camelot


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Dark Age of Camelot is a massively multi-player online role-playing game conceived and developed by Mythic Entertainment. Set in the Kingdom of Albion in the years immediately following the death of King Arthur, players of the game enter a world in chaos, where Arthur's peace has been shattered and dark forces threaten the Kingdom. Unlike traditional role-playing games in which a player's greatest challenge is fighting computer-controlled monsters, players in Camelot will come face-to-face with their greatest challenge yet, other players. In Camelot, players must choose to be members of one of the three Realms that are striving for mastery in this chaotic world: The Britons, the Celts, or the Norse. The Britons are the former kingdom of Albion, once ruled by the great King Arthur. The Celts are from the wild and magical western island of Hibernia. The Norse are the large barbarians from the lands to the north of Albion.

Total Rating: 7.22
Reviews: 46

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 17:19 01-07-2015
Rating: 9
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Very fun and addicting MMORPG. I actually had to put the game down to focus on RL. Had great times playing on my Midgard warrior. One of the few MMORPGs to deliver the three faction warfare system. The game had a huge population in the early years. The crafted system was ok. Not easy to get used to at first, but immensely valuable once you learned a crafting trade. It could also have been more meaningful and take less time to achieve Legendary status. While RVR was extremely fun, classes have remained unbalanced for the most part, especially since the inception of TOA. There's either no log in timer now, or a very short one enabling realm hoppers to easily bounce back and forth between realms. Players use this to earn more rps on their toons when one realm holds the advantage therefore destroying all meaning of realm loyalty. I fear the most recent changes to the frontiers may finish the game off as it was already suffering from a dwindling population. Many of my friends have quit, retired, or have gone to other games.

Post Date: 16:53 11-06-2014
Rating: 8
Author: najdan11
Comment: Good game,good graphics and good gameplay.:)

Post Date: 20:14 28-01-2013
Rating: 8
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: Great game graphics are nice and classic story is great gameplay is super nice and not laggy at all really one of the best low class MMORPGS out there there should be more players and content tho 7/10 Game is great could be better

Post Date: 17:00 30-01-2012
Rating: 10
Author: isnortmana
Comment: there is nothing i can say to justify this games greatness it is simply one of the greatest mmos ever made smooth gameplay great graphics 3 factions tons of races and classes to choose from and if you like pvp this game is for you the battlegrounds are insane 10

Post Date: 05:54 21-04-2011
Rating: 9
Author: sasuke24
Comment: One of the best MMORPG. The graphics and gameplay is smooth. Also I like the features.

Post Date: 21:08 11-04-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Axionious
Comment: I enjoy this game very much, much better than playing wow. Played wow for 3 years.

Post Date: 04:44 21-02-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Adrian
Comment: This game is pretty fun, great graphics, gameplay is top notch. Its just one of those MMO's that you have to play.

Post Date: 15:42 20-02-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Zume
Comment: At this point it doesn't matter what happens to this game I will still rate it as a 10. I will always remember the good times. I leveled three characters to 50 before swapping over to Pendragon and playing there for a few years (one character being the first Minotaur Heretic to reach 50 on Morgan le Fay). Even with low population on that server, the game play was terrific. Mordred was a blast. All of the battles that took place in Cotswold were so much fun.

I personally think that the game didn't need any expansions past Shrouded Isles, but that's just me. EA killed DAoC by trying to turn it into WoW or LotRO. It was fine the way it was. They broke Fool's Bow (no longer has the siege proc) and all archers now have personal buffs and no crit shot. Shame.

As I said though I will not rate below 10 for this game. I played it from Beta before the original release up through Labyrinth of the Minotaur and beyond. I miss this game and dearly hope that another game will come out that has the same setting.

Every game that comes out now strives to be what DAoC was. They all fail. I have played and currently play WoW (From BC to WotLK and Cataclysm), LotRO (From open Beta through Moria and Mirkwood), AION (Open beta through release), Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning (Open beta through release) Yet none of these games compare.

Rest In Peace, Dark Age of Camelot. You will be missed.

~ Zume Frostpaw

Post Date: 04:52 15-02-2010
Rating: 7
Author: jessiedac
Comment: I have very mixed feelings about this game (though not so mixed that I don't spend a lot of time playing it). OTOH, it is a marvelous game. Challenging, great PvP, deep. But I'm new to the game -- not a returnee, new. Now, I am serious, eager to learn, not afraid to work hard and learn from others and practice, and want to get things right sort. A newb but definitely not a noob, if you take my meaning. And still, if I didn't love the gameplay so much, I would have given up long ago, because though I want to learn, there are so few sources to learn from. Not the company, certainly; the documentation is not just sketchy in the extreme but out of date; and other players are overwhelmingly vets. I understand that they want to get on with their high-level play and not bother answering noob questions, and a few have been extremely helpful, but I have also had experiences where I've asked my group how to do such-and-such (repeatedly), no one naswered, and then I got verbally reamed for not knowing how to do the thing I had asked how to do, to no avail. There's no way to do the right thing is such a sitch except not to play; if I didn't love the game so much, I would have spared the players my ignorance already by quitting. And yet I stay, because it is a great game. But it will die if new players who want to learn and stay cannot, are not tolerated or given some way to be new and learn. And that would be a great shame.

Post Date: 13:07 11-12-2009
Rating: 5
Author: Blique
Comment: I've played this game for eight years. One can't compare this to WoW (very Cartoonish) where as DAoC has a realistic look. People that quite rather quickly don't realize one may customize it's look (UI) and keyboard commands to fit ones game play. It took me six months to get to level 50 because I enjoyed doing every quest for my level and class type. I played every PvP battle ground for my level until I maxed out my Realm Rank and was time to move on to the next battle ground. In my downtime, I crafted (alchemy) to make potions to recieve that extra ability and of course to sell and make coin. With all that said, yes - DAoC is a sinking ship. People want to come in and be lvl 50 over night with out playing the game lore as it was ment to be played. What happen to the lore? What happen to good customer service? Why are "most" of the players rude and abnoxious when one asks a question? If you want to play a game with realistic graphics, this is the game. If you want play a game that looks like you're Alice in wonderland triping on LSD, play wow. Oh, did I mention, the new owners of EA suck!?!

Post Date: 21:32 06-09-2009
Rating: 10
Author: bmay81
Comment: Anyone who tries this game now will not be very impressed due to the fact the only people who do play are lvl 50 and high rr. This game is dated back to 2001 if I am not mistaken. at that time there were so many people it was much easier to group. And the social aspect was perfect! This truly set the standard for massive pvp and in the years I played it I'll never forget the epic battles that took place! from the keep walls looking over and seeing our enemies by the hundreds! trebs blasting down our keep! It is very sad to see this game down to only a few hardcore players. maybe if they bring up the "origins" server things would get better, sadly most of the fans have moved on to other things be it mmo's for rl. Thanks DAOC for all those great times! You will be missed!

Post Date: 22:15 07-11-2008
Rating: 10
Author: chacto
Comment: As far as im concerned this was my favorite of all time, the expansions and the time required to play it ruined it...I have been beta in many games,played tons more...this game was fantastic, too bad. This was almost a copy of Everquest with things speeded up, and you didnt have to wait for ever to get enough players to do something...somehow mythic lost sight of that.

Post Date: 04:16 25-04-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Tiraldric
Comment: Amazing game, truly the best mmorpg on the market after all these years. Anyone shying away from the monthly subscription should take a look at the Dawn of Light server emulations!

Post Date: 12:41 07-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: tikashi
Comment: After 5+ years od DaoC here a little Statement

i played almost all of the mmorpgs out there so i know many of them ( i played them , not only to level 10....) i have a few level 50s in City of heroes and City of villains , i have an level 7o in Lineage 2 and in Rappelz i have an level 45 Tank, Wow i had an shaman level 50 and many other games like Silk Road , nine Dragons Vanguard, D&d Online, Archlord,Lotr online,Tabula Rasa etc , i was a long time Alpha/betatester for Codemasters so i got many games to test and play :D but 1 thing was always missing

Daoc is far faster than any of these Games, and i mean the pvp and pve you have to react on things better and faster coz it always depends on the group whether you survive or you die....

the pvp was the mainthing why i kept on playing daoc , i have not many 50s coz i almost the wohole time run around nf (new frontiers pvp zone) and kill and get killed, its the best pvp system you will find and i can guarantee that if you find a guild (there is alyso looking for guild option ingame) i will give this game only for one reason a 10 coz all the games out there are copying and similiar , but DAoC is an unique game , in the end you get many new skills from making pvp and titles and and and so you see its very pvp oriented and that makes it better than many games out there wich are grind/pve oriented with some pvp issues, you play a charakter in daoc to 50 just to do pvp (there are possibilities like level 20-24 35-39 40-44 45-49 wich are battlegrounds and have rp restriction rp = realm points you gain from killing other players ) than master levels with new skills, champion levels with new skills, artifacts, temping a char, and equiping a char, you do all that just to do 1 Thing : pvp and by far the best pvp i`ve seen out there, and i know that coz i met old daoc players in all the other games and they always said : yep this game is cool but daoc has the better pvp.....

so ppl who want really nice pvp elves dwarfs etc, here is game where you can rock or be rocked :D

try it until its still online with Warhammer online maybe the servers will shutdown ...

Post Date: 01:14 01-07-2007
Rating: 6
Author: Solasu
Comment: It's amazing to me that when EA took over Mythic suddenly a bunch of 10 ratings appeared.

I played DAoC for nearly a year and gave it up about a month ago. It was a great game, the battlegrounds are a lot of fun and the highest level PvP (New Frontiers or NF) used to be. The problem is that Mythic has long since stopped listening to user feedback and have even stopped listening to feedback from their team leads, the people in the community who they hire to be the voice of their favorite class/realm/tradeskill. 6 months ago I would have given DAoC a 9, but now it's a sinking ship. Many people that have been there for years are leaving and there are not many new players coming in to take their place. I doubt they will be able to stop the bleeding because I've seen their patch notes and most of the changes will just make the problem worse.

Post Date: 01:52 17-06-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Chaossoldier128
Comment: DUDE, the controls are sooooooo bad i died just looking for how to attack!But every thing else is pretty good.

Post Date: 10:11 27-05-2007
Rating: 6
Author: ultimategia
Comment: very good game good graphics but i always got bored at lvl 12 and made a new character also there is hardly anybody online so you cant group.

Post Date: 09:51 23-04-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Snooldepoodle
Comment: Dark Ages Of Camelot is the best MMORPG i have ever played and i will will always love it, the game has a wonderful community and great pvp and i still love playing it after 5 years

Post Date: 16:41 20-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: hero786
Comment: awesome game this is way good but wow is a litlle better but its a good pvp game

Post Date: 01:29 10-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: orzornn
Comment: Awsome game i love it. (sry if i posted twice dont see my other post XD)

Post Date: 23:30 13-12-2006
Rating: 10
Author: crawlert
Comment: gotta be the best all time pvp is uber so is pve if you get the right group going roll thru 15 lvls in 4 hours. hands down you will get addicted to bg (battle grounds) pre rvr where you pratice your skillz learn tatics to use at 50!
played wow's (world of warcraft's) capture the flag ....... Try Capture the Keep in Dark Age of Camelot grab your friends and duke it out for your realm!

Post Date: 02:57 18-11-2006
Rating: 9
Author: Wolf_Blight
Comment: I have to say that DAoC is the best MMORPG that I have ever played in my entire life. I am a fan of WoW, but DAoC is so much better. The graphics are breathtaking and the game just has so many extencive fetures. The bulk of this game is it's massive 3-way RvR PvP. The PvP system dominates that of WoW, but is a little one sided in some cases. Hibs have a better line of sight and so many familiar buffa and commands that it's crazy at times. Albs gain too much money through their extencive monster loot so their castles are decked out like fortresses and are almost impenetrable. Alb archers can also ure the wall climbing glitch much easier than the other realms. And Mids have so many person buffs, AoE spells, and brutish weaponry that make group on group almost one sided. Apart from the realm differances, PvP is it's best aspect at lvls 35+. Although it's guild and group fort and tower controll system make it hard to capture towers. It's nob fetures are good too. I usually ignore the noob PvP quests unless their easy and it is very dificult in some cases to find your way back, or get killed easily if your lost because they often stock up on creatures that can range from lvls 1-10 in noob areas making it hard to survive if lost. DAoC's main reason for not making it's score higher then that of WoW's is it's lack of advertising. Besides, everyone knows that WoW should be a good game because people know Warcraft from the several games Blizzard has placed out before trying to make an MMORPG.

Post Date: 22:47 26-10-2006
Rating: 9
Author: vistaakah
Comment: I played this game for nearly 4 years. What drove its customer base into the ground was NOT listening to player desires in many facets of the game. It's still the benchmark for all other MMORPGs. Wow had some novel convieniences, many that DAOC players asked for like the AH and mounts and definately better classes and balances. PVP non dred? Nothing better then DAOC. To this day though dated its a far better designed game then WOW or GW for example.

Post Date: 03:35 20-10-2006
Rating: 8
Author: runegod44
Comment: i like WoW more but this is good if u like pvp
altho they do make u go into pvp areas even in the
noob quests... =/

Post Date: 14:47 17-10-2006
Rating: 3
Author: Tiggs
Comment: Once a great game, Dark Age of Camelot has fallen victim to lack of attention to customers feedback. Mythic Entertainment has allowed game balance issues to remain in place for so long now that the crown jewel of her game, Player versus player combat has deteriorated severly. Line of Sight issues in this game give a steep advantage to the realm of Hibernia, allowing some of their classes to kill through walls via exploits and for the past year plus, Mythic has failed to fix these most basic game problems. Not a good game anymore, unfortunately.

Post Date: 10:28 28-09-2006
Rating: 8
Author: gunslingerkid08
Comment: Sweet game if your heavy on pvp!

Post Date: 17:29 11-07-2006
Rating: 2
Author: WoWfreak
Comment: This game does not give enough value for its monthly fees if it was free it would be a better solution for gamers that play Guild Wars but its not free so in my opinion if your looking at either starting World of Warcraft or this go for the free trials at first and then i bet u will agree with me

Post Date: 02:13 08-07-2006
Rating: 10
Author: k4taclysm
Comment: this game diserves a high score than WoW in my opinion... the reason it scores so low i think is because its hard for noobies to enjoy because so many people are level 50. i own 4 myself :/ but once you get to level 24 or so it gets more interesting do to PvP combat... another reason this game is scoring so low is because alot of players (including myself :( ) twink there lower level PvP characters and use buffbots. this is a game that can be mediocre to noobies, but for the people like me with high end alts, its a blast. but hey, thats just me - Merlins of Palomides Level 50 Light Chanter.

Post Date: 06:12 11-05-2006
Rating: 3
Author: ReBeCcA
Comment: At first i liked it... but.... u know what happened.

Post Date: 19:25 22-04-2006
Rating: 3
Author: PCJunkie
Comment: I did not like this game very much

Post Date: 00:01 09-03-2006
Rating: 7
Author: tessa46
Comment: I played for the first five months after release. At that time, there were three separate realms and each realm was very small. The only high end content was RvR and my system would slow to a crawl when large groups of players got together. While I enjoyed the RvR, it wasn t my goal to do that 100% of the time. Also, I picked a healer and being a healer was quite in demand, so I was pestered and interrupted constantly to provide rezzes for people all over any dungeon I was in. This got highly annoying and got to the point that I had to become annonymous or play alts.

Post Date: 01:00 28-02-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Alix
Comment: DAOC is an amazingly well designed and balanced game that focuses on massive Realm vs Realm combat. Because of its design around Realm vs Realm combat, while most games stagnate when the maximum level has been reached, the main experience of DAOC only begins then. Although, I am a big fun of WoW (World of Warcarft) I must admit that its Player vs Player system is so weak compared to DAOC that it’s almost a shame. As for Lineage 2, their Player vs Player system lacks overall coordination and strategy to be a serious contender. If you ever wished for massive combat scenarios where you and 100s of other poor souls are trying to fend off an even bigger hoard of invaders then DAOC is for you. If you ever dreamed of being a truly deadly, hated and renowned archer or assassin then only DAOC can help you. It allows you to experience all of this in a refined and purposeful environment that none other game can yet match. This review might be biased because I play this game and I like it. Nonetheless, I am confident that my judgement is straightened out by the fact that I also like and play WoW and Lineage 2. All, I am trying to clarify is the fact that DAOC is an unbeaten champion and an icon in the domain of organized massive Player vs Player.

Post Date: 17:47 13-02-2006
Rating: 1
Author: ttussok
Comment: This game is fun for a little while, but then gets very tedious and anti-social. There is no adventure whatsoever in this game anymore, and too many expansions. It seems that Mythic focuses too much on selling expansions and making their world bigger that they forget that their audience is shrinking. Since the release of Catacombs, most players are in Instanced dungeons, and the main goal in the game is now grinding to level 50 and entering RVR rather than adventuring, questing and grouping. The majority of people in the game are gathered around task dungeons waiting to play by themselves. With the release of Catacombs, Mythic began to cater to solo players more than anything else.

Post Date: 18:05 02-01-2006
Rating: 5
Author: runescaperocks
Comment: how mutch is the monthly fee because on there website it didnt say anything about it.

Post Date: 21:41 01-01-2006
Rating: 3
Author: Cliff
Comment: Wasn t my favorite...

Post Date: 19:46 10-12-2005
Rating: 10
Author: alexs
Comment: none

Post Date: 14:31 02-11-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Mezza
Comment: I love this game...It was my first mmorpg.I was hooked from the very beginning. They keep coming out with new expansions and characters so it doesn t get boring.

Post Date: 23:07 30-08-2005
Rating: 0
Author: nachoboy33
Comment: none

Post Date: 22:44 24-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: AlexS
Comment: none

Post Date: 18:44 18-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Forwyn
Comment: none

Post Date: 22:13 09-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: AlexS
Comment: none

Post Date: 02:57 06-07-2005
Rating: 0
Author: gameboy man
Comment: im sick of fantasy games crap!

Post Date: 22:02 26-04-2005
Rating: 0
Author: sonic99
Comment: none

Post Date: 02:07 28-11-2004
Rating: 10
Author: Altor
Comment: Love the realm wars.

Post Date: 01:31 27-11-2004
Rating: 0
Author: a4pr3nt1c3
Comment: none

Post Date: 07:23 10-09-2004
Rating: 7
Author: visitor
Comment: Very exciting for a few months then begins to get boring. Rather disappointed with the Realm versus Realm wars.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.