Dark Orbit


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


DarkOrbit is your multiplayer online game and a milestone among browser games. Whoever likes action games will love DarkOrbit: hunt through space and fight for your company. Fighting against thousands of real opponents in this online space game – that is your mission! DarkOrbit is not a normal online game: fans of space games can't pass up this Internet game! In DarkOrbit, thousands of real players face each other: multiplayer online games are Internet games which you can play right in your browser. That's why online games like DarkOrbit are called browser games: they are Internet games with substance and a whole lot of action. Space games like DarkOrbit revolutionize the browser games market. Control your space ship with the mouse and keyboard in action-packed battles through outer space. Join together in clans – only in browser games can you play with and against thousands of real players in real-time.

Total Rating: 3.64
Reviews: 22

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 12:31 06-05-2014
Rating: 3
Author: nikiwild
Comment: This is an online something like a shooter game. I dont like it, there are much more better online games than this.

Post Date: 23:18 28-11-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This game is very fun one of the first games ive every played the graphics are good it is a browser game after all there are millions of players i was surprised when i found out popular it was myself there are factions there is Venus Mars and Earth there might be another one i haven't played in a long time so i don't know and there is quests and you can move to different worlds by going thru galaxy gates so this game is a very fun game by far

Post Date: 20:12 28-11-2012
Rating: 5
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: This game can be played without paying any money. Game is not too good but have few greates. We starts with fatal space ship but very fast we can earn for new better one. When we will buy new one rest of our money we can specd on better armor and ammo that will help us in winning our enemies. Game is really hard becouse its difficult to achive anythink but like almost all games we can buy Premium ;) Owerall I rate it 5/10 becouse off bad graphics and many other disadvantages.

Post Date: 19:40 04-08-2012
Rating: 5
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Not to good game with bad graphics. Its also very difficulty. Creators made it for money. 5/10.

Post Date: 08:15 09-02-2012
Rating: 3
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: This game is bad. The graphics are really bad. That disturbs me very much. The gameplay is OK I guess.. Not the best or the worst. But I didn't find this game entertaining though. Only played this game for an hour or so then I stopped. But it might fit some other people too. 3/10 from me.

Post Date: 06:54 17-09-2011
Rating: 8
Author: MastrDragn
Comment: Dark Orbit is a fun-fast paced game. There aren't many free-to-play games that are scifi/spaceship games with lots of excitement. I enjoyed it!

Post Date: 18:46 06-04-2011
Rating: 0
Author: dantabletennis
Comment: I do not like this game...bad gameplay and bad garphics!

Post Date: 04:19 23-02-2011
Rating: 7
Author: EcLuD
Comment: For this good game to be based on web, mobility of the ship is with the mouse .. Images are .. decent community that if the game is great, that's what I like. 7 / 10

Post Date: 21:58 21-01-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Adrian
Comment: As far as Browser games go, Dark Orbit is certainly one of the better ones. I've been playing this for about 2 years now, and it hasn't got boring yet :P.

Post Date: 12:55 19-12-2010
Rating: 7
Author: aerodeslizador
Comment: Dark Orbit is average.

Post Date: 20:29 11-12-2010
Rating: 9
Author: bozo64r
Comment: DarkOrbit or DO for short, is a free space MMORPG. It is an open-ended game so you can advance through it at your own pace. It has just celebrated it's 4th birthday.

Basic Plot:
You start off in a quick tutorial, on how to target and destory other ships. This is over quickly if you watch the instructions.
You have to pick one of three companies.
>Earth Industries (EIC)
>Venus Resourses (VRU)
>Mars Minning (MMO)

These three companies are at war for control over the galaxy, and your job is to fight for your company.
You can advance through the game very quickly, if you are prepared to pay for it. There are two in game currencys. Credits and Uridium. Credits you can easily make, and can be used to buy all the basic equipment. The more advanced equipment can be bought with urdidium, or bidded on with credits, this is very risky though.
Uridium is something you want to build up, you can pay for it using, the usaul credit/debit card, landline or mobile phone credit. It can rack up quite a bill though!
Once you have got passed the nooby stage, you can quickly advance to the 'Elite' stage, in which your ship is as powerfull as it can get.. this can take about a year, if you are willing to play for a long time each day and pay a lot of money! Or if you want to do it the non-money way.. could take a very long time.
Through out the game you meet other players, you can also join a clan, these are mini factions in which the clan leader can tax you, send messages, give you credits and start wars with other clan. Apart from the war with the two otehr companies, you can go to war with otther clans... sometimes this is over petty arguments, which is quite funny to watch if it goes into company ot global chat. You can also have alliances with clan and a Non-Aggresive-Pack (NAP) These are used after a war is sorted out, or the clans are on the edge of war. In the clan you can be given a rank/function which will allow you to do some of the things clan leaders do.
The chat system on DarkOrbit is very good, it is on a separate server to the game server, which is handy when the game crashes, you can easily ask a Chat Moderator what has gone wrong.

DarkOrbit gives you many ways of advancing quicker, but these all involve spending money, you can get premium packs, which last either 6 or 12 mounts, which costs £34.99 for the year, this gets you free repairs and some other extar functions. you can get loyalty packs which give you 10000 uridium every week, which comes in handy.

Postives:
Very good atmosphere, people always help each other, when one person hunts other companies ships, you can get up to a hundred players joining in.

The support function is very good, you can send a message to support if you have a problem, or you can use the forums to find out the answer to your problem. Teh forum mods can be picky though, so make sure you search for the problem first.

Events on DO are very good, you get Easter Eggs at easter, pumpkins at halloween and presents at christmas, these all contain bonuses, like extra ammo, or energy for the glaxey gate genarator, which can get you a special map in which you can destory eneemies and earn a lot of credits and uridium.

When you want to buy uridium, you can get bonuses, where you can recieve double or triple the amount of uridium you but, these are called Happy hours (double uridium) and Mega Happy Hours (triple uridium)

Negatives:
Whatever you do in the game, unless you want to take years advancing, you will need to use uridium, this could be for reparing your ship or buying more powerfull ammo and rockets.

One main probelm with teh game is that the servers can't hack loads of people being on, it eventually crashes and all that is left working is the chat!

Conclusion:

I give this game a 9/10, it is a brillant game, a few bad points but that is what you get with most browser games.

Post Date: 23:34 24-06-2010
Rating: 0
Author: ice grim reaper
Comment: In the review below me,I say that Dark Orbit is one of the corrupted games in the internet.You have to pay for repiaring and it's not game money,it the money that you have to pay in real life.So yes,don't play Dark Orbit unless you people like spending money every month on this terrible and horrible game.

Post Date: 13:13 07-04-2010
Rating: 1
Author: Vlado_BA_SK
Comment: My experience with DO (by German BigPoint) is very bad.

For somebody (especially children) it could be habit-forming. Ambiguous or faulty rules (you'll find it it sooner or later when playing). Arrogant administrators (especially CZ/SK). Often swearwords and abuse in (CZ/SK) chat used. Instability/errors in GUI.

Administrator can ban you from the chat or user forum for more days without any warning or noticing (chuckling admins call it "silent murder") just because of two letters in name (in my case BA as Bratislava) or for copying one Wikipedia page at user forum (30days ban) when arguing about that so called "BIG" should be added to The Rules, so users can recognize, it's a "crucial personal information", they cannot mention in chat (or 7days ban).

Administrators (CZ/SK) use swear words in replies to users i.e. "an*l alpinism" or "as*-crawler", etc. If user asks to get any explanation of The Rules, admins often ignore him or block him on user's forum.

In chat (even in "prime-time" 8:00-11:00 PM) is often a rude language, abuse and insulting seen. Children can join this "trash talk" without any problems.

Ambiguous or faulty rules, there's more different version of the rules (one linked from main windown another from user's forum). There's no list of penalties mentioned in the rules, so it's a pure administrators' "free-style".
Ambiguous or faulty rules, there's more different version of the (SK-local) rules, one linked from main windown another from user's forum. There's no list of penalties mentioned in the rules, so it's a pure administrators' "free-style". I've got no answer from the forum nor from support, which version of the rules is correct one.

In conclusion: if you're calm, asking for nothing, complaining for nothing, just paying for Uridium, everything might be fine. But if you are at the top with ship equipment (no much further fees expected?) or mention any technical problems with your ship control in chat (cost me 500 uri and 2days ban), troubles will begin (jeer, ban, blocking, ignoring...). My advice is, be very careful, if you consider to start with Dark Orbit!

Post Date: 18:11 09-02-2010
Rating: 2
Author: jasdave1
Comment: At this time, I cannot recommend this game. They are having some serious connection and lag problems that are very frustrating to the players. This game could be very serious IF they get the lag fixed, and have some type of voice chat feature added.

It would be better to spend your money elsewhere…

Post Date: 00:14 16-01-2010
Rating: 0
Author: ice grim reaper
Comment: I started playing this game and it is fine to me.You guys justed answer my question,now I know this game sucks.I'm going to quit at level 18.

Post Date: 04:16 17-12-2009
Rating: 0
Author: Vermatrix
Comment: What can I add that hasn't already been said, this game is the worst piece of crap on the internet.

Post Date: 01:58 22-10-2009
Rating: 0
Author: Palomine
Comment: Game is usually slow and accounts are hijacked by support as mine was by ETIENNE BELMAR who is buried_in_black user name. They cancelled my account and gave me no way of getting it back after I spent a few hundred on it and took it as they did others Stay away from this game

Post Date: 19:32 21-10-2009
Rating: 1
Author: dar orbit
Comment: Dark Orbit takes and does not give. I made iot to level 16 and had a fe goliath and then they banned my account for saying I spammed their support because they went to a Int Explorer based email system that hung and sent in numerous emails to them. They do not wait for an explanation from you and cancel your acct. or ignore you and keep you from playing after you spend REAL money. Bipoint and dar orbit is in it for the money only and cares less about player satisfaction

Post Date: 19:46 20-08-2008
Rating: 2
Author: sporgo
Comment: This game really is very poorly designed and there is very little to do except collect “bonus boxes” and cargo from enemy NPCs you can kill who all look the same. There are maybe eight different types of NPCs total. All of the sectors are the same except they have a different wallpaper. It is an arcade shooter at best. It is not beginner-friendly at all and there are no sectors where new players are safe.

Fully equipped high level ships can (and always do) come into the first sector and shoot down every new player in their path systematically. If you do not buy uridium (a type of game currency) you would have to grind for months to get equipment which will allow you to stay alive for any length of time under the onslaught of paying players. Anyone who pays for enough uridium (around $300 worth) can immediately buy the best ship, which is called a Goliath. They can also purchase all of the best weapons, shields, etc. There are no rewards for playing time and your rank is essentially meaningless, except as a counter for how much time you have wasted playing this horrible game.

The large ships flown by paying customers have an enormous amount of hit points and can not even be harmed by the weapons of smaller vessels. Smaller vessels are always killed, there is no skill involved; to prevail all you need do is buy the best ship and items, click attack and wait. The large ships are so powerful when fully equipped that they can hardly even harm each other and they are well aware of this so they roam the map looking for new players to shoot down instead. The small ships you get to start with are destroyed by a single shot from the large ships. These large ships also hang by all of the “portals” necessary to travel to the different sectors in the game and shoot down any small ships that come through instantly. Since you need to be able to move through several different sectors to complete even low level quests, it becomes impossible to continue without buying uridium or grinding by mindlessly collecting boxes for months.

There is a cloaking device which can be used to move around the sectors unseen; however, anyone who happens to mouse over your vessel can detect you and immediately shoot you down. There is a hack that allows people to see cloaked ships and its use is rampant among high level players.

Another point that should be noted is that the chat moderators also have accounts with very powerful ships, which they use to shoot down new players. I believe this is a blatant scheme to push the sales of their in-game currency, uridium. It seems like a very low-brow and basically scummy business practice to me.

There are numerous bugs in the game system and the in-game lag can be quite bad. Your ship will sometimes get stuck in place for a short time (for instance, if you and another player simultaneously go for the same cargo box) or the game will freeze up completely and your ship sits there waiting to be shot down. Complete server crashes on the weekends when player numbers peak is a regular occurrence.

The in-game chat is basically useless as it is full of kids flooding and insulting each other continuously, and there are no rooms to distinguish one sector from another. Everyone in the game is in the same chat by default. New players who ask questions are either ignored or outright mocked. There is basically no community in the game to speak of, except for a few groups of “elite” players who make it their mission to torment anyone not in their clique and make the game as unpleasant as possible. You cannot send personal messages, or make a list of friends like at almost every other gaming site I have seen.

They have a sort of marketplace where they regularly auction items (ships, shields, weapons, extras) to players. But the bidding is really more like gambling. You bid on the items that are posted by the site creators (not other users), and whether or not you win the bidding war, THEY KEEP YOUR CREDITS. The high bid cannot be viewed by you, the user, so you have no way of knowing what is really going on. They are just basically recycling game currency, taking away from non-paying users, and pushing uridium sales.

Customer support is provided by a foreign third party company whose employees barely speak English. They can not issue refunds or render any actual support, they just send canned apologies and hope you forget about it.

Post Date: 12:57 08-08-2008
Rating: 2
Author: killervickboy
Comment: i was alright with the game for about............. 5 minutes then i said to my self wat the hell am i suppose to do i flied around killing things the game was boring the enemies r everywere u fly its in space u can customize your ship to me its boring

Post Date: 17:43 20-07-2008
Rating: 7
Author: chimera452
Comment: fun start off with but when u lose health uve got 2 by somthing to refill your health and when u die u have to either repair your ship which cost alot or buy a new ship. heres my genral review

graphics: 7/10
comunity: 1/10 no1 helps new players they only talk to ppl in their clan
combat:4/10
pvp:2/10 hardly any1 from any other faction come into the place u start in and when they do ther always high levels
over all i think it gets a 7

Post Date: 16:05 17-07-2008
Rating: 1
Author: pavelzap
Comment: Not fun. When you die, you must start ALL OVER AGAIN. :( Bad game.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.