Darkfall


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Darkfall has most of the features one would associate with fantasy based MMORPGs, but also contains elements found in real-time strategy and action games. In Darkfall it’s the players and their actions that shape the world. The game provides you with the platform and the tools to engage in grand activities such as kingdom building, politics, strategy, diplomacy, combat, warfare, conquest, and racial wars. It also offers you the freedom and the option to not get involved in any of that if you don’t want to, and to follow a path of your own.

Total Rating: 4.91
Reviews: 58

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

Darkfall Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 15:23 30-07-2015
Rating: 1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:21 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:21 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:08 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: print `env`

Post Date: 15:08 30-07-2015
Rating: 1
Author: User Name
Comment: "+response.write(9541407*9529311)+"

Post Date: 15:08 30-07-2015
Rating: -1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: 1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: -1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: -1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: -1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: -1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 15:07 30-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 13:08 29-07-2015
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 13:08 29-07-2015
Rating: 1
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 13:08 29-07-2015
Rating: 2
Author: User Name
Comment: 1

Post Date: 19:47 24-12-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Zazael
Comment: Darkfall... Too much waiting, starteg long time ago... and in other galaxy. If it starts at 2006-it will be a bomb, at 2007- good game with millions subscribers, but now...

Post Date: 19:49 04-07-2011
Rating: 7
Author: Joker
Comment: Darkfall may be the best "anti-wow" game now but TERA will surpass it when it comes out. Darkfall could end up being like Everquest was to WoW.

Post Date: 15:58 07-06-2011
Rating: 8
Author: mmowiz
Comment: great ideas but needs better execution.i agree with horse on the graphics. the right developer could do more with the ideas behind darkfall.still, darkfall is top tier anti-wow game.

Post Date: 00:41 14-05-2011
Rating: 0
Author: Horse
Comment: First off, this isn't a "WOW fan post". I'm not a current WOW nplayer. It isn't a bad game but it is a bit too "cartoonish" for my taste. I played it for a month or two and then became bored. I was, however, a long-time UO and EQ1 player.

In short, Darkfall is awful. It is easily the worst online game that I have ever played. Why? Hmmm...where to start?

Here's a brief summary:

- The UI is one of the worst that I have ever seen -- in any game -- which is inexcusable as there are multiple points of reference out there. It is difficult to learn, difficult to manage, and impossible to enjoy. Have the developers EVER played a MMORPG? Note to the developers: Graphical MMORPGs have been around for several years...trying playing them and learning what works and what doesn't.

- The graphics are sub-par. How hard is it to understand that taking 7+ years to develop a game causes the graphics engine to be obsolete long before the game is released...regardless of how you try and update it during the process? Extremely amateur effort.

- The players are your standard PvP "griefers" and rejects that can't play more mainstream games because they can't exist in a community. And, watching them communicate, they appear to have the education of a 2nd grader. (Then again, all things considered, so do the developers and publishers of the game).

This is painful to type (though not as painful as the game is to play) so I'll cut it short. The game is near-unplayable and the community is moronic. Skip this one entirely.

Post Date: 04:23 26-09-2010
Rating: 9
Author: codemannix
Comment: Darkfall is the most in-depth sandbox mmo game i have ever played with the most fun in these fields such as, Adventure, Solo, Teeth grinding excitement in the wild... And as a fellow darkfaller i must say WoW Is a carebear game, Go to darkfall for a real experience of how a game is meant to be!

You can openly pvp, Join cities, Take over cities, Be a King or Queen, Rule 1000s of people, Take a role as a polotic if you dont want to be a warlord or a mighty warrior, You can even roam the seas on your own battleships that you made, You make everything you take everything and you by far show no mercy! hahahah Darkfall has a unique community aswell and everything is politics. Always Politics.... In darkfall you can do anything. Simply Any role you want to take on.This game is the most innovative by far! The only reason i give this a 9/10 is the graphics are too high quality and FPS Rates are hard to get working properly.

Post Date: 09:06 15-08-2010
Rating: 10
Author: Morex
Comment: Darkfall should be rated an 8 or 9! There is not a more innovative MMORPG on the planet. Darkfall is the one MMORPG that keeps my exxicted for months. Most others degenerate into mindless grinding.

Post Date: 03:01 22-01-2010
Rating: 10
Author: Fivefingers
Comment: I am an owner of 3 80 WoW characters [Feral Druid, Assasin Rogue and Survival Hunter] although i recently stopped playing, then this took my eye, overlooking the 2 day download, it still looks amazing! So i disagree with you saying 'If you like WoW, this game probably isn't for you ;)' Cause I like WoW, I like Lotro and the epic PvP, and again im pretty positive i will enjoy darkfall as im very into PvP. Finding a game with real life attributes as accurate as this makes gaming as far as it goes, to the next level. To come from 'A small team taking 8 years to design' it's bloody EPIC! It makes me think of Al'Pacino 'The world is yours' Make your own empire, become the Warlord and be topdog :P It's sort of like Runescape as when once a little boy I did play it, having the whole world of Darkfall as Runescapes wilderness. I agree with no levels will attract small children and a bad reputation, but alternately it's fair minus fail players and pros :P

Post Date: 20:12 10-11-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Freefall333
Comment: Definitely the best MMO I've ever played, and it only keep getting better with all the expansions.

If you like WoW, this game probably isn't for you ;)

Post Date: 06:01 26-08-2009
Rating: 1
Author: laycast
Comment: This game is not a AAA title..It was in development for about 8 years by a very small team. I'm assuming they did it in their spare time. As far from the horrible service this game is provided with also with the horrible community that comes with it, this game sucks. I read below someone said a "WoW killer", you are mistaken, this game had potential just like every other MMO out there but it didn't deliver.. Here is a list of stuff that makes this game horrible..

Most of the functions in this game are completely counter-intuitive and time consuming, as in: bag function, looting, UI, crafting, combat.. I really could go on. Art is horrible, graphics are not as nearly as good as they look. The animations IMO is the worst part of the art side, there is only one attack animation and they couldn't even get that looking good. The only good thing I saw in this game was that it is for hardcore players, when you get PK'd and you can get killed at any time you lose all of your stuff, the person can steal it which is a broken PvP system..It's like literally raping someone, only one of you is having a fun time.

Basically I was just as hyped about this game as anyone else. But just like every one else I was extremely disappointed when I got my hands on it. Don't look into it save yourself the time and play Hello Kitty: Island Adventures

Post Date: 06:07 19-08-2009
Rating: 6
Author: webber
Comment: Darkfall was more hype than anything else. A wow killer it is not. I had no idea what to do when I first got into the game. I did not receive any help from players or the game itself. I kept going back to a spot where I found a monster only to not to so much as hit it. No thanks.

Post Date: 15:40 05-07-2009
Rating: 0
Author: sin_scorpion
Comment: well after reading all the good stuff about this game thus far I decided to give it a try.. what a freking mess.. after about 4 hours of trying to find a client on the website, which there is not. I managed to register for the fourm as well as for a beta tester. which this game is not giveing out beta, you have to google the client. in which you get a 6 gig download. the server is euro and not in NA(North America) after reading all kinds of crap in the fourms about the game not having a lot of people playing it and all the things wrong with it.. I figured after a 9 hour download from gamershell.com I would still give it a shot.. to my suprise I get a log in error... back to the fourms I went to find someone else had the same error, so I got a link from that post to a different website to regester an account so that I can log in and maybe play.. so I set up an account waiting for about 20 mins for an e-mail code.. loaded it all up and tryed to login "account not active" back to the registration webstie I go.. oh sweet logged in fine there only to find a spot to fill out billing info.. but no price listed anywhere on anywebsite..
at least not that I could find. so not only do they want you to pay for an un-finshed game the server will lag like a mofo because its a euro server..
bang for the buck..ha after all this crap I will never install it again I have deleted it and I would recommend to anyone and everyone.. its not worth it.
I just wish I could get my 15 hours back from trying to get this game installed and ready to play..
hell I had better luck loggin into SRO...lol

Post Date: 20:37 28-03-2009
Rating: 5
Author: GENTLEMEN
Comment: Becuz some people obvioulsy rated this game 10 without playing it, I'm gonna rate it 0 without playing it.

Post Date: 21:39 21-02-2009
Rating: 10
Author: awesomedrako
Comment: ive seen the features and it definitely looks really good, and almost everything seems more realistic, yet fun:

Gameplay:

there is no "radar" like in most games, because you wouldn't have a radar in real life, your stats increase not from you placing points into them, but from you doing the work associated with that stat (doing lots of physical work results in Strength increasing), and levels are replaced by skills, which you can learn from a teacher/trainer (an NPC), there are 6 races, but that's the only choice you make about what sort of character you want to be, as there are no classes and any race may learn 95% of all skills, the others are race-specific skills, and regardless of what race you pick, it doesn't affect your character much, you can even get stealth scores and stealth skills by playing stealthily, not wearing metal armour to avoid clinking and reflection of light, walking slowly to reduce the sound of footsteps, hiding in the dark or shadows like ninjas, hiding behind boxes, wearing camouflaged clothes, it'll kind of be like assassin's creed lol

PvP:
the unrestricted PvP would mean one of the best PvP in any game, the game allows city sieges, huge battles out in the open, perhaps there will be a historic battles in this game like in the real world, and the combatants might strategize and use real-life strategies in the conquests and wars (Roman Turtle formation!)

Controls:
ive heard it has a really complex control system too (unsheathing swords, press this button to attack), but it should feel like second nature after playing it a long time

Community:
i really shouldn't rate a game's community when its in closed beta and im not a tester, but when i think about it, with the huge changes and complex control system, surely only cleverer, more sophisticated people than the 7-year olds who talk in leet all the time will play this game...

Crafting:
Every single item can be crafted by a player, and new items can be invented and crafted by players, which is realistic, as usual

Graphics + Audio:
I've seen screenshots of the game and they look on par with the big-names if not surpassing them, and it seems the audio is good too, the world is HUGE as well, it is estimated that it would take 8 hours to get from one end to the other by running

this game truly breaks all the rules! definitely a WoW killer.

and also @TheBird: you still need to work to get the skills, so very similar to levels but FAR more realistic, and you won't be killed all the time either, because of the repurcussions of the alignment system (you quickly become "evil" from killing, looting, or stealing too much, which causes NPCs to cease trade with you ("what do you mean you mean i can't sell my stuff, or buy that nice shiny weapon you've got there?) and town guards and "good" aligned to kill you for bonuses) you should really check the facts before speaking your opinions

Post Date: 07:55 07-01-2009
Rating: 4
Author: TheBird
Comment: Hmmm seems more like a massive mutliplayer hack and slash....where you be attacked ever 5 feet...with no other aim then kill other players..

Who need lvl's anyway.....right...why not start annoy and insult people from the moment you start up the game.
From my experience of playing MMo's for almost 8 years....I predict allot of very young bored children, occasionally logging in to get their daily potion of attention.
No thanks I'm no babysitter...I won't even try it.
Its good to try to find a sollution against that endless boring grinding...But letting the chicken out without a fence won't give you more eggs.

Post Date: 00:28 14-12-2008
Rating: 10
Author: gogochicken3
Comment: 1. the game does not let you go and play by your self you can be attacked by anyone any time. the exception is the banks

2. dark has features that that are wicked awesome. Navel battles, no levels, no floating names, massive clan battles are possible, build your own city, make your own weps, sounds can be heard from far a way, and damage to your character is visible. fixed 3rd and 1st person view.

3. Its release is Jan 22, open beta unknown

4. since names are not visible and you can not look behind you with out physically looking behind you, assassination is possible!!

5. who needs levels any way

this is just some of the new stuff that has been added. IT rocks!!

Post Date: 04:20 17-11-2008
Rating: 8
Author: Draconais
Comment: Very interesting concept... saw a review and the guys are like well lvling stinks so lets remove it cus EVERYONE loves no levels..
What do you think levels are for? Comparing yourself to one another and being able to say Ha Ha You are bad or go level some more. Its what made MMOs MMOs! but other than that its really interesting concept and the grahpics are good so yeah its worth checking out and following...

Post Date: 13:42 07-09-2008
Rating: 10
Author: serenicide
Comment: game is AWSOME!!!!! ive been following this game for a few years and the closed beta is FINALY HERE!!!! go sign up now! this game is not like any other game... no grind AT ALL!!! u do WHAT U WANT and kill WHAT YOU WANT and go WHERE YOU WANT. there are NO limits to what you can do on this game. you can sail ships,craft,pk,guild-v-guild,PvP,PvE,build vast citys and even destroy the citys of other players! there are NO limits here! so much to do so much time!!! go sign up for beta NOW!!! when the game is releaced it will only be £5-10 a month ($10-20 for u americans) wich for a game of this scale isnt a hell of alot!!! and i can assure you that you wont be dissapointed with this game. i give it 10/10 because its communtiy is great and so are the devs.... SIGN UP NOW-i hope to see you there!

Post Date: 01:06 10-08-2008
Rating: 8
Author: jjdragon60
Comment: looks very awesome and cant wit to play!

Post Date: 22:36 04-08-2008
Rating: 10
Author: mercc1
Comment: Best game ever designed almost like shadowbane but even better.

Post Date: 06:25 12-05-2008
Rating: 10
Author: whiting1289
Comment: This game looks to good to be true! But we do not know for sure if it will come our or not. I guess all we can do is wait and see what happens.

And for the people that think that Darkfall has been in the works for 7 years are wrong. Because they scrapped everything and started again from 2003.


I also really hate the rookie WoW gamers that bad mouth this game before it is even out.

Post Date: 07:34 11-03-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Fatboy5706
Comment: There is much hype about this game. It can easily fall through the cracks. But i do not see that happening. It has been in the works for 7 years. And will probably be in the works for maybe 1-2 more. A game like this takes a while to create, it is graphically stunning, and the game play, as i can assume right now, is endless. So much stuff to do. It will not be the downfall of WoW, WarHammer Online will do that. This game will be WarHammer's fall, as well as anyone who still plays WoW.

Post Date: 04:35 17-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Matt712
Comment: There is no doubt about it but when this game is playable it will most likely be extremely popular,after a while i mean. But hey does any1 know when this game might come out or any guesses?

Post Date: 14:35 25-12-2007
Rating: 10
Author: gorgaboll
Comment: THis game has everything!!

No auto atk. yes!!!

Post Date: 02:52 08-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Jrod
Comment: Looks like they are going to take aspects of Shadowbane and refine it to be even a better game!

Post Date: 09:52 27-06-2007
Rating: 4
Author: Nalmid
Comment: compare to the other big-named mmorpg this is really bad. ill give it a 4 for good intentions ..

Post Date: 10:50 31-05-2007
Rating: 0
Author: Welda
Comment: Man this game has been in alpha for 7 years? vapor i read them talking of intalling new expantions, they have a highly limited amount of videos and what we have seen any noob with the right sofware programs can cook up as far as i am concerned.

Post Date: 00:05 31-05-2007
Rating: 8
Author: hhher1
Comment: does anyone no when the game begins and we can play?

Well at least it looks like its worth the wait

Post Date: 21:13 05-11-2006
Rating: 9
Author: ferngalv
Comment: yea i think this iss simalur to oblivion but this is an online game i give it a 9

Post Date: 07:31 20-10-2006
Rating: 9
Author: loerdcraexy
Comment: Hmm duno what to say but i have read a lot about this one and after what i have read it sounds great

Post Date: 17:43 07-10-2006
Rating: 2
Author: bettergamer
Comment: graphics are pretty bad most of the time gets glitchy i can see why they r tryin to improve them but next time make sure u dont rush them

Post Date: 20:46 30-09-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Raikahn
Comment: heh...World of Warcraft look out! competition! I cant wait for this game I think WoW will be in some trouble graphics are better world is shaped by players. . . dont know about the controls yet but still. . . cant wait!

Post Date: 11:45 10-07-2006
Rating: 7
Author: Antonman
Comment: Looks great, but I don't think WoW has anything to worry about when it launches.

Post Date: 16:24 21-06-2006
Rating: 10
Author: bretwillis
Comment: best featureset of an MMORPG seen yet.

Post Date: 10:47 16-06-2006
Rating: 9
Author: Ouchie
Comment: This is what I am talking about! Been waiting for a MMORPG like this for a looong time. You should have the freedom to do what you want in an MMO and Darkfall will bring that.

Post Date: 08:50 08-06-2006
Rating: 7
Author: allstar
Comment: This is a wait-and-see game. Will be great if they pull off what they promise but a total mess if the dont.

Post Date: 12:34 05-06-2006
Rating: 6
Author: Banger
Comment: Looks fairly good, but I wouldn't give any game a perfect score that is in beta right now. Usually games that try to do too much fall on their face like Shadowbane did lol.

Post Date: 19:00 03-06-2006
Rating: 10
Author: DragonLord
Comment: this game looks uber i hope it's free and no download :) this game is the MMO of the year 3000.10/10 rock on!!!

Post Date: 16:41 06-05-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Kingloveland
Comment: Looks great





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.