Doom 3


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


One of the most popular gaming franchises ever makes its return with next generation graphics and effects.

Total Rating: 8.03
Reviews: 35

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 21:51 27-05-2015
Rating: 9
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Doom 3 is excellent. It isn’t revolutionary, but it does bring a simple and exciting gaming experience with near-flawless precision.

Post Date: 16:38 05-01-2015
Rating: 9
Author: altot
Comment: There are two kinds of people in this world: people who loved Doom 3, and people who...well, you know how that goes. Let it suffice that eight years after release, Doom 3 remains a divisive game. Whether you found the juggling of weapons and flashlight to be a taut tension-builder or a tedious chore, thought the monster closets were chilling or just cheesy, odds are Doom 3 left a deep impression on you. Me, I'm a staunch member of the pro-Doom 3 brigade, and while I haven't thought much about the game since I got done with its only expansion pack ages ago, I realized recently that I've been plenty ready for a good excuse to run back through those dimly lit Martian corridors again with all the hindsight the last several years have provided. Sadly, even the two original games don't arrive intact in BFG, and it's here where I find the changes made to this collection so perplexing and unfortunate. Like it or hate it, your inability to use a flashlight and weapon at the same time was the defining factor in Doom 3's gameplay cycle and it's largely what created the game's thick sense of tension. Sweeping a darkened room with your light would give you a basic sense of its layout, but if you wanted to defend yourself, you had to rely on your memory, the ambient glow of the facility's remaining computers and machinery, and the muzzle flash of your weapons to make out the shapes of the enemies and put your shots on target. BFG Edition throws all that right out the window, making the flashlight a simple toggle that you turn on and off instantly regardless of what weapon you're holding. The flashlight also bafflingly doesn't cast any shadows off the environment, enemies, or anything else, which may sound like an obscure technical thing but was also instrumental in establishing the visual mood of Doom 3. These changes don't destroy the tension--I still let out a couple of involuntary yelps here and there when a maggot snuck up behind me--but why there's not at least a menu option for classic flashlight mode, I have no idea. There are hardly options for anything, even basic functionality like subtitles, and on the PC, where you expect a healthy set of graphics options but will find none, that's especially damning. You can add the first two Doom games to the list of BFG's features, but these aren't especially well implemented either. On the 360, you're just launching the Xbox Live Arcade releases from a menu, so if you already bought those, you're getting literally nothing new. (The inability to play these releases from the game's custom menu when the disc is installed is just inexcusable, especially when you can still circumvent the issue by playing them from the dashboard's games library.) Things are a bit rosier on the PS3, which has never seen either of these classics released on PSN, but the ports themselves aren't nearly as snappy as the ones on the Xbox, with slow, clunky menus and a lengthy save process every time you change a menu option. So what are the BFG Edition's pros? Stereoscopic 3D support across the board is the one that's likely to be useful to the most people. Obviously, that largely comes down to your interest in playing games in 3D in the first place, but the 3D separation worked more or less fine on both consoles for me. I occasionally ran into enough crosstalk to make it hard to aim at enemies, but that may have been due to my TV setup and not the game. You can definitely lay the 3D frame rate issues at the game's feet though. Both versions run at a rock-solid 60 frames per second in normal mode, but the frame rate drops substantially in 3D (and noticeably worse so on the Xbox), enough that I preferred just playing it in 2D for a smoother experience. The PC version offers support for the forthcoming Oculus Rift VR headset, which is conceptually a great feature to have, but since even the developer-oriented version of that thing isn't shipping yet, it's not very helpful in practice right now. And the presence of a cool feature you can't actually use yet is especially depressing in light of the poor implementation of some of this collection's more basic features.
The environments in Doom 3 are exceptional. The lighting and lack thereof is so well composed that, given the appropriate system, you will bleed into that reality. It does not look like a game.

Post Date: 20:43 19-11-2014
Rating: 8
Author: Mihajlo
Comment: Doom 3 is a sci-fi survival FPS game developed by id Software. Multiplayer mode supports up to 16 players, has 4 game modes (Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Last Man Standing and Tournament mode) and 5 different characters. I rate this game 8/10

Post Date: 18:12 16-09-2014
Rating: 7
Author: Garagos
Comment: Some of my friends are playing this game, so they said me it is really great game and you should try it. I tried that game and I was disappointed... Game is not like I expected. Don't like that type of game...

Post Date: 11:34 21-05-2014
Rating: 10
Author: ivekvv256
Comment: I've played this game and it was really awesome. Graphics and details are great, also the monsters are well designed. It also had some scary parts, but that made the game even more interesting. I rate it 10/10

Post Date: 23:41 18-01-2013
Rating: 10
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This Games graphics are super great super super great it runs on the new unreal engine number 4 i think i could be wrong the effects are great and if you are a bug time doom lover like me or a hardcore fps gamer then you would enjoy this game for sure

Post Date: 14:48 27-09-2012
Rating: 7
Author: ufbre
Comment: it s a really scary game.
weapons ar nice :)

Post Date: 15:21 03-08-2012
Rating: 9
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Great graphics and effects. Game play is also very nice. Good scenario. 9/10 for me.

Post Date: 07:20 02-05-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: The gameplay connected with fighting is repetitive, especially after a while. Taking into consideration those linear AI, you just shoot at them, trying to avoid them, or, the fun part, trying to avoid their flying projectiles. Other than that, no strategy, no paths of actions. In short, the computer will bore you after time. The game is quite long. It has good pacing. Okay, maybe a bit too long. There may be a moment when you will say to yourself: when will this damn thing end!? That reason for this is probably the lack of story, I mean the game is stretched unproportionally relative to the story, if you know what I mean; the story may stagnate. So obviously it is not a good thing.

Post Date: 02:37 17-11-2011
Rating: 9
Author: lumlehsumleh
Comment: Doom 3 is a really scar game. you dont know when a monster will pop up. most of the maps are very dark which adds to the spookyness. if your a fan of scary games, i would highly reccomend this game!

Post Date: 15:33 30-01-2011
Rating: 9
Author: champking5
Comment: Doom 3 was a beast game, its just that the game was so scary to me. Most of the time I had my brother beat some modes that made me not want to play the game lol.

Post Date: 14:56 08-08-2008
Rating: 9
Author: killervickboy
Comment: some of the most organized polished graphics ive ever seen clear to the point the game is a good shooter as well as very horrific the effects amazing i was s****** in my pants playing this not sure about the online i still expected more i want a co-op online so i wont be scared

Post Date: 20:59 22-07-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Bloodredreaper
Comment: i have this game for Xbox and it rock scares u to death but i got to fufill my dream of killing the deval (sorry to all who havn't beatin it yet for spoling the end)

Post Date: 16:33 04-07-2008
Rating: 8
Author: PrinceTrase
Comment: The screen is a little dull, I have to brighten it up everytime a play the game. Scary and the graphics are pretty good! I love the Doom series.

Post Date: 21:19 26-03-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Rancy
Comment: Very good and scary wooooo!!!!!!!!

Post Date: 21:49 24-11-2006
Rating: 7
Author: Knightwolf
Comment: Very good but not enough lighting

Post Date: 20:38 24-11-2006
Rating: 9
Author: Avey
Comment: Played the entire game, very awsome. It shows a very twisted version of a hellish world that you are forced to navigate through and try to survive.

Many people call this game horrifying and the worst I could probably see if probably a lack of light in the air, though when the demon portals open up you could guess where your enemies are so it isn't like you are forced to 'spray and pray' like Gunz gamers call it. Even if you use the flashlight, incase you are forced to fight something, your character will strike them with the handle of the light in self defence.

The weapons remind me of the good old days of the older Doom games, though I wish there was an easier way to scroll between weapons so I'm not spending a good 20 seconds dodging fireballs while I try to pull out my shotgun to save the rest of my ammo with.

The monsters were horrifyingly grewsome, loved them, each of them.

Though I wish they left out the super cube thing, that kind of killed it for me

Post Date: 22:12 11-10-2006
Rating: 9
Author: the marine
Comment: I would say this game is pretty good its not bad so check it out.

Post Date: 15:17 25-08-2006
Rating: 10
Author: raikahn
Comment: This game is so scary, (true story) After I played doom 3 a few nights ago(got to 9th level in one play), and before I was able to play online my power went out and scared me bad!!

Post Date: 14:11 17-07-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Raikahn
Comment: This game rocks man so dont go giving this game bad reviews because its scary, it has guns, and its online!!

Post Date: 01:35 06-03-2006
Rating: 0
Author: gamefreak
Comment: none

Post Date: 16:46 21-01-2006
Rating: 0
Author: zensan
Comment: I Dislike this game

Post Date: 13:49 17-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Julez
Comment: OMG any one that says this game is boring they obviously havnt got a keyboard...
anyways this is a great single player game. love the blood and the graphics.

Post Date: 14:09 04-10-2005
Rating: 10
Author: raxer92
Comment: THis game will make evan the biggest macho man scream like a girl!!!You can barely see with that simple flashlight.You dont know where anything is;)

Post Date: 01:30 01-10-2005
Rating: 10
Author: oblivian_mage
Comment: pretty good

Post Date: 04:32 13-09-2005
Rating: 9
Author: Skull
Comment: Doom 3 was a great game. This was a great shooter. I did manage to beat the game. In all this game was great

Post Date: 21:19 31-01-2005
Rating: 0
Author: edin
Comment: none

Post Date: 00:43 19-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: visitor
Comment: none

Post Date: 02:08 15-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: visitor
Comment: Just look at the screenshot. Is it dark? Yes. Is it ugly? No.

Post Date: 18:25 13-09-2004
Rating: 1
Author: Rix Raw
Comment: I m sorry to bring the rating down ,but I thought it was ugly and boring.
I didn t expect much from it ,but I was still dissapointed.

Post Date: 07:20 12-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: visitor
Comment: In a class by itself until Half-life 2 comes out!

Post Date: 00:29 11-09-2004
Rating: 9
Author: visitor
Comment: I loved the first one and I love this one as well.

Post Date: 07:44 10-09-2004
Rating: 9
Author: visitor
Comment: This game meets the doom expectations! Awesome graphics and gameplay.

Post Date: 07:35 10-09-2004
Rating: 9
Author: visitor
Comment: Great graphics but I wish that it could run better on more PCs.

Post Date: 04:27 08-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: visitor
Comment: A new classic! One of the best single-player shooters that I have ever played.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.