Grand Fantasia


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Grand Fantasia is a free-to-play massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) set in an expansive and carefully crafted fantasy world. Grand Fantasia offers players a variety of innovative and engaging features, including: character and sprite customization, a branching class system, sprite crafting, an incredible menagerie of mounts, player-versus-player (PvP) combat, team-based battlefields, challenging dungeons, epic region and world bosses, a player statue feature, in-game bulletin boards, auction houses, a player romance system, robust guild management and communication tools, and a host of quests (solo, party, and guild) that will entertain gamers of all play styles.

Total Rating: 7.77
Reviews: 13

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

Grand Fantasia Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 16:46 26-07-2015
Rating: 8
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Great game, so addictive. Not bad at all fro a free game, shame there is only one race and not so many classes, but we cant h ave it all in one free game.

Post Date: 17:57 03-04-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Peyp
Comment: It's one of those games where you play as cutesy anime character. The game looks itself is great, music, graphics, skills, animations.

It's time consuming at the begging, but if you get some friends it's faster. Problem is that you have to walk a lot, and that's the thing that consumes most of your time.

One of new stuff game offers is Sprite system, which I personally adore. Sprite can also allow you to auto-play and auto-pick stuff which is great after you get bigger inventory and don't want to be there while grinding.

Also, many classes are great. And it took me AGES to find game which has NECROMANCER-like class! Much love!

Post Date: 13:58 01-05-2012
Rating: 9
Author: KuroTsuna
Comment: Grand Fantasia is a free MMORPG which has a fantasy genre in it, which is good for me. This game has many classes to play with. The choices of those classes are divided in 4 standard classes.
First, there is the figher class which has five sub classes.

Second, there is the hunter class which has five sub classes too.

Third, there's the spellcaster class which has five sub classes too.

Fourth, there's the acolyte class which has five sub classes.

The fighter classes are Warrior, Paladin, Berserker, Templar and Warlord.

The hunter classes are Archer, ranger, Assassin, Sharpshooter and Darkstalker.

The spellcaster classes are Mage, Wizard, Necromancer, Archmage and Demonologist.

The acolyte classes are Priest, Cleric, Sage, Prophet and Mystic.

There are many classes to play in this game, so it's awesome that they have so many classes.

Nice game, I'll give it a 9/10.

Post Date: 10:34 22-04-2012
Rating: 5
Author: Malevolentality
Comment: Grand Fantasia is only for those who want to spend 1000$'s of dollars in game to get good stuff.


It's a waste of time and the game sucks.

Post Date: 05:13 10-04-2012
Rating: 9
Author: florifer
Comment: I think it's great :)

graphics: cute and decent.

customisation: good as, compared to other games I played. you can choose from a range of hairstyles, eyes and colours. Of course if you spend real money you get more access to clothes etc, but even if you don't you still get access to decent armour and clothes. You have to spend ingam money obviously but from doing quests, you should get enough. There's not that much of a discrepency. Also, even though they might be customised heaps, they don't get that much advantage over you. If you stick to normal gameplay you still progress far.

classes: large number to choose from. I like how you have to earn your specialisations and that you don't simply pick a class like assasin, you have to develop into it.
yeah, I suppose some classes have large advantages, but so far, on the warrior side, I'm doing alright. Although as a mage you get way cooler tricks lol you use a crap load of MP.

gameplay:
smooth, rarely glitches.

community:
good community. Some people, if they're clerics, heal others which is nice lol.
you can travel in parties if you want, which helps espcially when you want to tackle a big-ass boss.
guilds also help, but in general grand fantasia is quite an independent game.

quests: good, not that much grinding, your level doesn't necessarily prevent you from doing a quest, it's just that you'll die in the process of attempting it haha.
I don't get bored really. There's a lot to do. Sometimes, bashing up a lot of monsters just to get 5 somethings can be a little tedious but in general it's ok.

travelling: ok, yeah. big worlds.
and a lot of travel. I'm not going to lie, a little time consuming. You get your first mount.... is it level 20? you can choose between a wolf and some machine thing I think and that makes travel a lot faster, but they're temporary, so make sure to use them sparingly. until then, a lotta walking. I swear, if I was actually my character, I'd have rippling muscles. so yeah, annoying. But I suppose you get used to it LOL
A good thing is that it almost forces you to explore. Autofind workds, but usually only for people, and only if they're in the same scene. For monsters, the game only indicates on a map the region they are at, and you go there yourself, which I like.

sprite system:
CUTE AS. You can have up to three sprites and they forage and build for you, and when summoned, can help in battle. They talk to you, which is cute and it's sad that we can't reply XD
the only thing is that you need to feed lollies when they feel down lol. Which....is kind of often. SUCH WEAK WILLPOWER lol.

other pros:
fast to download compared to other games. By fast, I mean two hours lol
range of skills to learn and develop
ability to have lovers and gain lover's currency

cons:
whenever you die, you get resurrected at your last save point (marked by soul preservation crystals) which can get irritating.
sprites pick up everything. so I get tons of useless items like damaged fur DX so I sell them ahaha

overall: gooood game :D
I highly recommend it to people who are looking for a fun game and also those who want a game that doesn't require a crapload of attention. It's a relaxed game.
It's also good for those who get scared of very graphic rpgs....like me.
anyways, if you choose to play, I'll meet you in grand fantasia! XD

Post Date: 19:06 17-08-2011
Rating: 4
Author: jelena23
Comment: I tried to enjoy it but..
It's boring in the beginning, until level 20-21, then it gets boring again.. It requires a lot of time and luck (and money) to craft things that you need (it can be especially tough if you're crafting armour cause you're gonna need more time and resources). You don't get a permanent mount until level 40, and even then you still need 16.000 fame points and 15 gold to buy it. If summoned, sprites do collect things for you but they also lose stamina. Oh and, you can attack from afar with a bow/gun, but if mob comes close to you then you switch to your melee weapon which is completely pointless. Why would anyone want a ranged class if he ends up attacking with a sword..
Anyways; it's a 4 from me.

Post Date: 15:34 09-10-2010
Rating: 5
Author: CodenameD
Comment: GF is not a bad MMORPG and has eye candy graphics and excellent musical score. However, being a free MMORPG this game will piss on you if you dont buy AP for the Item Mall items. The game is heavily dependent on luck. Everything you do practically needs good luck for positive outcome. And if you are not lucky you need to purchase luck with real cash for this so-called 'Free to play' MMORPG. Here is the horrible interior beneath the good looks of the game.

You have guardian pets call sprites which are supposed to pick up enemy drops and help you craft stuffs. While they do that, remember that they are real gold hogs. You have to spend tons of hard earned gold to keep them happy at all times or else they will fail at crafting. If they fail at crafting, you lose some gold, the costly resources to make items and to make matters worse, the sprite's mood goes down, meaning if you wanna make them craft well again you gotta spend tons of gold to make them happier. And since the game is dependent on luck there is no guaranteed crafting even when all requirements are met, which SUCKS big time. Your sprites also have this rather terrible habit to pick up cursed items (which drops often if you are not lucky) and turn you into a helpless zombie in the middle of a fight with mobs resulting in death and loss of exp.

The classes aren't that bad. However some classes, like the Assassin or Sages gets huge advantage over other classes. They can be invisible, deal great damage and be nearly extremely versatile in every situation even in PvP. That's not a good balance.

Almost everything is placed in the game inconveniently. In some cities and places the teleports are placed a mile away from the entrance so that unless you have a pet it will take you forever to reach the exit/entrance. Some NPCs whom you would need to visit frequently(Like a blacksmith and an alchemist) are placed on far corners of the city.

AOE spells for Wizards/Mages (I was one) do not respond to the associated number key but turns into a marker which you move with the mouse and select a spot where to use them with a click. So if your selected target moves while you take a year to use those horrible long casting time of AOEs that spell will either go waste or you will die from mob attacks.

There are more but remember that despite so many flaws this game is still good to play and enjoy. Probably in the early levels. The best way to tell if this game is for you or not is to download this free MMORPG. But remember, you gotta pay if you want this game to stop pissing on you!

Post Date: 12:34 04-09-2010
Rating: 7
Author: Trycal
Comment: Grand Fantasia is a fun game that fills in my time when I look for new more exciting games to play.

While GF is a great game in its own regard I find it hard to continue playing it over a long period of time. While its a fun game filled with beautiful colour and bursting with detail, I find that missions are identical no matter where you are in the overly large world.

Missions in GF are all 'kill x amount of y monsters' with very little variation. The only difference as you progress through the story is the scale on which you need to do it.

The game is quirky and colourful but my favoutrite aspect is the sprite system, with one main partner and up to two secondary allies, who do your crafting and gathering for you, you cant help but get emotionally tied to them. With emotions such as loneliness and disappointment in ones self after failing, your partners happiness levels go up and down like a yo-yo and no matter how much I play I still die a little inside every time one or my sprite runs away to cool off.

Another feature of GF that I really enjoy are the epic world bosses that spawn an hour after last being killed. I find that I need a party of the most powerful allies and of all classes to take down even the weakest world boss. Even mini bosses are overpowered.

Grand Fantasia is a fun game that I enjoy looking at more than playing. Due to its repetitive nature I cant give it a higher score but its saving graces are enough to scrape through a seven. Its branching class system, relationship systems and sprite system make it above average.

Post Date: 06:06 15-06-2010
Rating: 8
Author: Icecream_fan
Comment: great game but the need to join parties to tackle tough bosses is essential.

Tanks (preferably berserkers), healers and ranged units help a lot. A better free mmorpg I have none to other to recommend other than GF, but if you want another one where you have NPC soldiers, check out Kingdom Heroes http://kingdomheroes.aeriagames.com

Post Date: 06:08 22-05-2010
Rating: 10
Author: PheonixGRX
Comment: Grand Fantasia is an awesome MMORPG in which you care and raise sprites to help save the world of Saphael. These Sprites are found from summon items, which when trained properly, can become great allies, but to make sure you have more fun, you send them off and get rewards from sprite kings while your sprites help save the planet. It is an incredible MMO with lots of things to do, and with the many updates, you can be sure that you will enjoy the everyday, 24/7.

Post Date: 03:27 06-05-2010
Rating: 8
Author: thundemp2007
Comment: Grand Fantasia is a free to play fantasy MMORPG set in the world of Saphael. In addition to creating their characters players can also customize pets called "sprites" which are used to gather resources, create items and salvage loot for parts.Published by Aeria games,Grand Fantasia looks and feels like many other generic fantasy MMORPGs, though the game does offer more content than most.Grand Fantasia is an incredibly fun anime inspired MMORPG. The game’s large game world and sheer quantity of quests should keep players engaged.

Post Date: 04:24 21-02-2010
Rating: 10
Author: guy086
Comment: AMAZING..... Best mmo i've ever played. good graphics, music, and leveling is easy. Characters get a variety of weapons to choose from instead of being restricted to only one. The npc shop system is great, easy way to trade in a convenient fashion, (though traveling to your mailbox is annoying at times, but hey...) Good balance between classes and weapons, stats are pre allocated so you wont have to worry about messing a char up due to misplaced stats. Level cap is rising which is good. Sprite system and crafting is interesting and unique (to the games i've played), crafting and gathering is easy sprites can be replaced with ones that you desire. I highly suggest this game to anyone interested in mmos with an anime style them and good gameplay

Post Date: 07:21 15-01-2010
Rating: 9
Author: ColonelAkuna
Comment: PROS

The graphics are pretty good and the world is well layed out.

You can get some very good mounts, Sunbird, Wolf, etc.

The private shop system isnt exactly a private shop, all you have to do is go to the local shop NPC and place one of your items in the sell box, you can go fight and shop while its on the list and you get a message with cash in it when someone buys your item!

You can use guns and bows as ranged weapons, but not your primary weapon. When you are far away you use your ranged weapon, and up close you attack with close ranged weapons.

CONS

In the beginning of the game it can be a bit dull, you have to reach at least lv10 till it gets really good.

It can be hard to keep your sprite happy without getting it lolipops (cash shop)

Bosses are very hard:
Im lv 20, I fought a lv13 boss and got owned.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.