Guild Wars Factions


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Stand alone expansion pack for Guild Wars that takes place on an Asian-inspired continent. Guilds can join together to form guild alliances. Allied guilds share Alliance chat and can visit each other’s guild halls. Alliances can also gain control of towns and outposts in Cantha by participating in Alliance Battles, which give them the ability to trigger events and gain access to exclusive areas.

Total Rating: 7.52
Reviews: 27

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

Guild Wars Factions Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 22:28 27-07-2015
Rating: 7
Author: LosmiK
Comment: The series could benefit from features such as other playable races or a crafting system, but you'll likely be so busy adventuring that you won't have much time for gathering herbs.

Post Date: 21:40 03-03-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Adrian
Comment: Guild Wars was awesome...but this expansion pack is waay better. The overall gameplay has been improved upon.

Post Date: 10:05 12-09-2010
Rating: 10
Author: yodalla
Comment: I agree with Haara from last year. Factions had the best setting of any of the Guild Wars Campaigns. I play it whenever I play Guild Wars.

Post Date: 00:29 10-06-2010
Rating: 10
Author: ozk4r123
Comment: GuildWars factions does not need my words to say how great it is.

Post Date: 23:25 08-11-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Haara
Comment: My personal favorite of the franchise, guild wars offers endless hours of game play, this game is better than any game i have ever played whether it be f2p or p2p, that goes for the entire guild wars franchise
10000000/10 :]
GET IT NOW :]

Post Date: 18:46 19-09-2008
Rating: 9
Author: Z3R0
Comment: Very good game, i found it Very hard to complete the quests farther in the game (either lack of GOOD players, or simply too many dumb people playing) The two classes are hardly underpowered, you simply have to learn to use them differently than most the others.

Personaly i would say its worth it, GuildWars is an excelent game that is really doing well.

Post Date: 18:48 02-06-2008
Rating: 10
Author: MMORPG
Comment: Once again an impressive enrty by ArenaNet, although its not as good as the original campaign, but its totally worth buying!

Post Date: 11:22 15-01-2008
Rating: 7
Author: Asuka
Comment: The graphics in this game are pretty good. Although it was pretty easy and the level limit is still only 20. >.>

Post Date: 17:18 23-12-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Beezelburg
Comment: This I believe is the best of the Guild Wars games... the new PvP systems and campaign are truly amazing, the graphics are good, gameplay is great... who could ask for more?

Post Date: 21:27 05-07-2007
Rating: 6
Author: Fatalis67
Comment: This expansion was a dissapointment to me, the two new professions were cool, but highly underpowered. The expansion did, however, introduce alliance battles, a form of PvP widely played still. But overall, the actual campaign was far too easy and short.

Post Date: 18:09 18-06-2007
Rating: 2
Author: Juggernott
Comment: Very dissapointing. I didnt like it at all. I am a huge fan of the original guild wars but this expansion pack was trash.

Post Date: 15:03 17-02-2007
Rating: 9
Author: viewer06
Comment: Factions, Well this game is the 2nd one.. well this game is a good game!! as there were 2 NEW professions : Assassin and Ritualist!! Overall heres my rating of this game!

Graphics 10/10
Gameplay 9/10

Overall a 9

Post Date: 02:53 10-02-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Hodag
Comment: Ouch, GW, you screwed up. Second game is good. but doesn't touch the first. Storyline is fairly interesting but yet...I don't want to see it twice...The Ritualist and Assasin are two cool near-useless proffesions-but they serve the purpose of factions. "What's that?" you might ask. It's a new WoW-like PvP system called Alliance battles. The Luxons(w00t) and Kurzicks(sux) are two factions(OMG THEY NAMED IT AFTER PvP SYSTEM) that are always at war. unlike WoW, however, neither side is "Good" or "bad", neither side is "right" or "wrong". The Ritualist is a great defender of territory (OMG POINT OF ALLIANCE BATTLES) and the assasin is a magekiller(OMG THERE ARE PPL WHO ARE MAGES IN PVP). They arent very good in campaign mode though.

Summary- GW, asian-pvp-style!

Graphics- 4.5/5 better than prophecies(1st game)

Play- 3.5/5 Worse than 1st game

Sound- 3/5 Worse than 1st game

Post Date: 23:30 10-01-2007
Rating: 0
Author: YamiVegeta
Comment: This addon doesn't really change the idea of the original game. And I stick to my opinion ... not worth it. Only bcuz it's free.

Post Date: 22:27 09-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Charger XD
Comment: For all you people who hate the lvl cap... well that is just your opinion. Doing straightfoward missions is much better than lvling up then doing a mission. Like most games, GW litterally starts to get good at lvl 20. IMO, lvl 20 is much better than WoW"s 60 because 60 takes months to get...

Post Date: 11:41 07-01-2007
Rating: 2
Author: Naatti
Comment: The second chapter of Guild Wars. The chapter's continent is called Cantha, and it locates to oriental surrondings. Very nice graphics, very bad story.

Factions is utterly boring and repetitive. And now deserted by players, too. Only starter area and the major trade city have players. And players from starter area leave Faction's continet to play the continents of other chapters.

The new professions from Factions: assasin and ritualist are not welcomed into player teams.

After Prphesies Factions was a big disapointment.

Post Date: 09:43 10-12-2006
Rating: 10
Author: yanbo
Comment: This game is fricken awesome!
the pvp is one of the best ive ever seen the combat is great and so is the community although it lags at times (although thats probs my rubbish computer)
i only got this game yesterday and it was on a deal so i got nightfall free XD

Post Date: 02:41 29-11-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Mallack Nightblade
Comment: If you love Japan and Guild wars, youll love this

Post Date: 17:37 01-11-2006
Rating: 9
Author: warlord snik
Comment: this game is one of the best M.O.M. (massive online multiplyer) i have played. the loading time is long and dreary for the first time, but once it loads once it is put on a server so you dont have to load it again. if your a noob and need a guild plz wisper me " Warlord Snik" if you also need help yet again wisper me. well i played this game five hours the first time. The story line is somewhat hard to grasp like the missions well most of them but the only reason i give it a 9/10 is they need more monsters and possobally higher levels for players

Post Date: 21:29 20-10-2006
Rating: 3
Author: hotburner
Comment: 2 weeks of play and the game is a repetition of killing somthing picking up his weapon... doing the quest then going to kaneng to sell the thing u found. Graphics- they are better then most things but the grafics dont hide th fact that the game is a lowsy made game that could have been great if they ahd put more effort into it
Characters- have u noticed all charcters dont have a healing move? lol which forces u to pick monk as ur secoundary so i agreee theer is no character freedom. Money- Its not nessissarily hard to make but it is... because all good things come at a big price 100 +45ectos (ectos-6.5k each) no one wants to pay that... so, heer are soem little hints about how to get alot f money.
(1) Make and Sell pink and gold dye 1k each pink=(purple+dyeremover) gold=(yellow+orange+green)
(2) Make a Mm and go run the mission zen for 1k each
(3) Buy Bad Weapons with good mods on them form noobs and salvage the mods off the .sword or axe or daggers or bow. ex ( go for 20/20 sundering or +30h fortitude)

The land in this agme is imbarrasing it has dirt pathways leading u through things... tahs kinda cheep i mean for only beign able to have a L20 showing u wheer to go is pretty gay... not to mention the mountains which almost get u killed evr secound.

The WORST OF ALL IS U CAN ONLY BE L20 OMG.... WHAT IDIOT WOULD AMKE A GAME WHERE L20 IS THE MAX...

u dont have to agree but no affence anyone that gave this game a 10 is if they are total noobs or only been playing for 1-2 weeks

for those who really want a game ive neevr played runescape befiore but i watched my friend and its longer, funner, harder, so u acuallyg to to try. I Rate This Game A 3 For nad levels, chaacters,paths, money, and the fact that u can beat the game in less then 2 weeks playing 1 hour a day...

Dont Get This Game!!
Tootles

Post Date: 16:53 10-07-2006
Rating: 3
Author: Alternate_Gamer
Comment: I bought this game thinking that i would be having a good few months playing this game... in actual fact i was very wrong. I installed it and for the first week it wasnt that bad, the graphics were good, the gameplay wasnt bad. I liked the fact that they made two more types of characters from the first guild wars to add a bit of variety. After the first week i got to leve 20 with ease. After level 20 the game got very boring with nothing to do.
If i was going to make the next guild wars here is what i would change -
I would make more than one level, at least 10. For exapmle slaying (taken from runescape, i know it isnt a very good game but i think guild wars makers could take runescape related ideas and incorporate them into the game).Only having a combat level going upto 20 is just lazy it should be up to 60 or more. This would make the game longer and more enjoyable.
Make more armour and wepons!!! there isnt enough of these so LOADS of characters are EXACTLY the same.
Increace bank size.
More monsters.
Not have PVP servers just make that into a certain place on the normal role-playing map like an island. This would let friends fight eachother on their real characters and not ones that you just make in about one minuet and there amazing. Also on this island i think players should to lose their stuff on them when they die.

Im making it sound really bad but the game is ok. It desperately needs some changes and if they do change some things like the ones i have just talked about i think it could be the best MMORPG game ever.

Post Date: 15:39 08-07-2006
Rating: 10
Author: shippogurl
Comment: this game rules you may have to buy it but it is worth it if you try it i ashure you you will like it also if you are in part two of factions whisper me im a lvl 10 elementalist ranger with a pet stalker named kirara my name is Shippo Gurl so whisper me if im online ^^

Post Date: 00:01 07-07-2006
Rating: 8
Author: high5
Comment: fractions brings guildwars into a whole new level of gaming. 2 new character classes , new items , new events , a new continent , new monsters , new quests , etc.
u dont have to own the original guildwars to play this
but it still feels more of a rpg still

Post Date: 19:05 22-06-2006
Rating: 9
Author: 132591
Comment: This game deserves a nine. The only reason it is a seven is because that whiner messed it up. This is a great game, and you are just being lazy. It has to take a lot of effort to control towns because there are gazzilions of people playing, so if you could just win one alliance battle and have control over a town, there would not be much point. This game is fun, creative, and the new classes are awesome. I thought the ritualist was a very creative idea. This is a lovely addition to the Guild Wars saga.

You have a heck of a lot of freedom in this game, and even though it has a story line, you can still do pretty much anything you want. The community is generally friendly, and although you might feel like a noob for a while, not to worry, this game is still fun. The new classes are kool, and they added attack chains to make it even more exciting. Alliance battles rock! 12 on 12 pvp! (reviews combined)

Post Date: 16:19 05-06-2006
Rating: 4
Author: soulytdd
Comment: Right this should be a great stand alone and addon for guild wars BUT
they messed it up.

they say
you fight as one of two factions fighting for control of areas and control of the map

actually
not a lot changes no matter which side you pick you can still goto either place its just means the npc wont talk to you

the gameplay pve side of the game is rubbish go here talk to him then go all the way back and so on and on.You no longer do quests to unlock skills you have to buy them.YES buy them in the end it costs 1000 gold per skill times that by 8-50 skills you soon become broke.

next point making cash is hard so buying above skills is even harder grrrrrrrr.leveling has become grind after grind.

PVP
not a lot changed to be honest regarding gvg or arenas but you can now fight alliance battles "on either side no matter which side you pick" you earn faction point to give to your alliance or buy jade or amber to buy armor or sell for cash.
ohhh the next part is the worst

you can set up an alliance with up to 10 guilds all earn faction and take over towns and outpost.
Now this seems like a good idea apart from two things

1.there is only one elite mission per side which you now need 10 million+ faction to control.You lost 10%+ of your faction per day which means a lot of alliance battles and endless pvp only to keep hold of the town.Most guilds allow you into the mission anyway which makes trying to earn the town pointless....................

2.you can control towns and outpost...cool
all you have to do is gain 2 million+ faction remembering you lose 10%+ per day and what do you get for all your effort

you get to do a fireworks display and the big one
20% discount on merchants.
so it makes more sense to buy amber with your faction point and sell it

so that part of the game is totally pointless...

all this said and done i played the first guild wars for a year and played nothing else.but i am bored of faction already.They say they will release 2 games a year with 60 ppl working on each game.They have until the next one to pick up the mess before i am off to play something else.

Post Date: 09:54 22-05-2006
Rating: 9
Author: AskMe
Comment: Makes Guild Wars even better.

Post Date: 11:02 12-05-2006
Rating: 9
Author: ouchie
Comment: Actually, I like this one better than the regular Guild Wars. The first one seemed like a generic fantasy world while I love the Asian theme of Factions. The two new classes are great, especially the Assassin. To top it off, Alliances being able to control cities is really cool.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.