Left 4 Dead


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


From Valve (the creators of Counter-Strike, Half-Life and more) comes Left 4 Dead, a new kind of action game for the PC and Xbox 360â„¢ that features single player, co-op and multiplayer game modes. Set in the immediate aftermath of the zombie apocalypse, L4D offers four expansive 'movie campaigns' that challenge you and your fellow survivors to battle thousands of swarming zombies as you travel across the rooftops of an abandoned metropolis, through rural ghost towns and pitch-black forests. In addition to the movie campaigns, Left 4 Dead features a Versus mode that allows you to play as the Boss Zombies.

Total Rating: 8.78
Reviews: 27

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 19:00 05-06-2015
Rating: 9
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Left 4 Dead is a fantastic experience so long as you can get yourself into games with good players.

Post Date: 20:02 10-01-2015
Rating: 9
Author: altot
Comment: Left 4 Dead 2 is a cooperative first-person shooter video game and the sequel to Valve Corporation's award-winning Left 4 Dead. The game launched on November 17, 2009, for Microsoft Windows and Xbox 360 in the United States and November 20 in Europe. On September 5, 2010 the game was made available to the Steam client for Mac OS X, and on July 2, 2013 it was made available through Steam for Linux. As a team of cocky Left 4 Dead veterans (with me as Nick, the riverboat gambler), the first thing we did in the sequel to Valve's huge-selling zombie co-op shooter was crank up the difficulty to Advanced. That proved to be a tactical error: after two hours of trying to beat the inspired final battle of the first of five campaigns, Dead Centre, we gave in and toned it down a notch. Regardless of success or failure, we were loving every minute of it. Everything is fresh. You don't always know which way to go. Panic takes hold. Waves of Infected come unpredictably, and mixed teams of several Special Infected arrive simultaneously. You think on your feet. You make mistakes. Mistakes, and desperate attempts to recover from them, produce some of the best, most thrilling moments of Left 4 Dead. Valve understand and capitalise on the fun created by emergent play and the freedom to experiment. The new melee weapons encourage daredevil tactics, new Infected varieties drive survivors from their safe corners and closets, many of the new finales are more imaginative than any in L4D1, and a new mode will steal more hours from your evenings than Versus, the campaign, or Survival (and possibly all of them combined). Clean, predictable zombie-killing is out. Cooperative calamity is in. L4D2's core philosophy is to drag you, kicking and screaming, out of your comfort zone, and that couldn't be more welcome: the original allows survivors to dig in, fending off huge numbers of Infected far too effectively, so the larger, potentially panic-inducing moments can be worked around. One of the biggest factors that will keep L4D2 unpredictable far longer than its predecessor is the arrival of three new Special Infected types.The Spitter, the Charger and the Jockey all contribute new harassment mechanics, and terrifying new combos in conjunction with the four familiar Specials. (Who return unchanged, except for alternate character models, like the disgusting female Boomer I call Helga.) The dizzying number of potential combinations means that even experienced players are more likely to be caught off-guard, and that uncertainty puts delicious fear into you every time you round a corner.
Whether or not Left 4 Dead 2 is for you really depends on your level of exposure and affinity for the style of hardcore team-focused gameplay Valve is offering here. If you’re still interested in the gameplay, then you’re going to enjoy every aspect of the sequel since it’s improved in all areas, from available game modes to strength of character and personality to replayability and its visual style. After playing, you’ll find it impossible to go back to the first game. Though plenty of other games offer co-operative gameplay against mobs of computer-controlled foes, no other game emphasizes teamwork as strongly as this, and few other games are as satisfying when you’re able to pull through successfully, particularly when competing in Versus mode against four human-controlled boss zombies. If you saw the original and were always curious to try it out, then by all means get the sequel. It is, without a doubt, the better game. Yet despite all the advancements and additions, it’s still very familiar, and something meant to appeal to those who are already sold on the concept. If you’re someone never cared for the game, Left 4 Dead 2 isn’t going to change your mind. Even so, it remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.

Post Date: 15:14 11-07-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Zasu
Comment: This is an awsome shooting game ! This game has a great gameplay.The game is about 4 people killing all the zombies.
I reccomened you to try this game u need to have a good pc .
You got many weapons

Post Date: 15:30 03-06-2014
Rating: 9
Author: najdan11
Comment: This is an awesome shooting game!This game has a great gameplay.This game talking about 4 peoples killing a lot of Zombies.For this game you need to have a good PC.I reccomened you to try this game!

Post Date: 13:52 03-06-2014
Rating: 10
Author: ivekvv256
Comment: Pretty interesting game with good graphics and awesome gameplay. You've got many weapons to fight with and of course MANY zombies to kill. So if you are into zombie killing you should really try out this game. I really enjoyed it and I rate it 10/10

Post Date: 12:57 30-05-2014
Rating: 7
Author: NeSsQQuiCk
Comment: Another zombie game but if you like those kind of games you should try second part of this cuz izt is fun to play and you can even play it multiplayer :D

Post Date: 09:15 18-04-2014
Rating: 9
Author: nikiwild
Comment: First, my rating: 9
Multiplaer 9 / 10
Gameplay 9 / 10
Graphics 9 / 10
Sound 9 / 10

This game is an awesome first person shooting game. The game is made by valve and it rocks. Its about 4 people killing zombies, its a little bit disgusting, because the blood and the zobies are terrifying. The game is made really good, the graphics, the sound, gameplay ane many more. You can play the game online or lan. Gather up 4 people and start killing the zombies, you can do campain with 4 people. So its much better to play in multyplayer mode. There are many stages so you wont get bored. If you are playing online you dont need a good net, but you will need a good pc for this game if u dont want to get lags. This cooperative action horror first personal shooter takes you and your friends through the cities, swamps and cemeteries of the deep south, from savanah to new orleans across five expansive campaigns. Play as one of four new survivors armed with a wide and devastating array of classic and upgraded weapons. In addition to firearms, you will also get a chance to take out some aggression on infected with a variety of carnage creating melee weapons, from chainsaws to axes and even the deadly frying pan. You wll be putting these weapons to the test against three horrific and formidable new special infected. The game is about 4 peopple trying to survive Francis, Bill, Zoey, Louis. Left 4 Dead contains four game modes: campaign, versus, survival, and single-player. The cooperative campaign consists of up to four human controlled survivors who attempt to make their way between safe rooms and eventually to rescue. In this mode, the special infected are controlled. In a versus campaign each team of one to four players plays each chapter of the campaign as both survivor and infected swapping sides once per chapter. The game is experienced through five campaigns that take place in various urban and rural locales. Multiple visual ingame hints including license plates, park signs, markings on airport equipment, and lines of dialogue spoken by the survivors suggest that these locations are in Pensilvania, and similarly a memorial wall giving names of those who have died in the infection. So this is my reviev of the game, its really good game, try it if u are not scared or you like blood and zobies. See you around.

Post Date: 08:39 12-04-2014
Rating: 8
Author: Someonex2000
Comment: A very fun and interesting game, I recommend it to anyone, not much demanding and weaker computers can run and can provide a lot of fun.

Post Date: 08:56 20-03-2014
Rating: 5
Author: DarkMage1997
Comment: Better buy this

Post Date: 05:53 03-03-2014
Rating: 10
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: One of the most fun games i have ever played you can kill zombies with axes pistols assault rifles shotgun sniper rifles the zombies are not just mindless some are different such as boomers which explode when u kill them hunters who grab you with there tongue and the story is ever changing i have to rate this game 10/10 for being so well made

Post Date: 19:02 02-08-2012
Rating: 8
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Nice team play shooter with good graphics and realstic scenes. Hard to play but with ery good game play. for me 8/10.

Post Date: 22:23 28-04-2012
Rating: 9
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: Of all the co-operative shooters that have come out recently, Left 4 Dead is the one that goes for it hardest. In fact, it goes for it so hard it kind of goes through co-operative games and out the other side. Rather than a traditional linear game, Left 4 Dead's content is divided into four campaigns, set around four traditional zombie-apocalyptic scenarios (hospitals, airports, farms and small towns). You can go through each one in an hour or so on a standard difficulty level, with the time increasing if you up it to expert - especially if you get stuck on the ludicrously violent sieges which close each one.

Post Date: 16:35 23-05-2011
Rating: 10
Author: bebehunter
Comment: Left 4 Dead
The Best Coop, Survival and Zombie Games.
I Really Love How The Weapons, zombie"s, maps and the how the character"s was created.
My Ratings:
Designs: 10/10
Gameplay: 10/10
Graphics: 9/10
Story: 10/10.
Overall I Still Give It a 10/10..
Well. Good Job Valve.

Post Date: 20:02 22-01-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Adrian
Comment: Left 4 Dead is quite possibly the perfect co-op shooter. It's an absolute blast to play with others, though the single-player mode feels a bit hollow...cant get bored killing zombies :P.

Post Date: 04:12 14-12-2010
Rating: 5
Author: katakbusuk02
Comment: good

Post Date: 20:19 14-09-2010
Rating: 10
Author: falcon_punch12
Comment: I love Left 4 Dead too. Can I download the game? Plz somebody tell me.

Post Date: 07:31 10-05-2010
Rating: 8
Author: Tusker
Comment: Great game I'd rate the graphics 7/10, cuastomization 4/10, gameplay 10/10, and story 9/10. So thats....Ah, screw it. I'll rate it 8/10 overall :)

Post Date: 08:54 13-03-2010
Rating: 8
Author: Hurley
Comment: The best coop shooter till then. No other PC game that I have played had been better at making you feel like you were in a B zombie Flick fighting to survive through hell. Loners should find another game because playing with friends is where its at.

Post Date: 02:45 29-11-2009
Rating: 8
Author: anymotion
Comment: Fun game that I really loved playing. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun FPS game.

Post Date: 12:35 26-11-2009
Rating: 10
Author: jd.emosmos
Comment: I only play Versus and single player.
In single player mode,i defeated it easily and didnt bother to replay.

In versus,when im in the zombie team,i always get revived as either smoker or hunter.I only got revived as Tank only twice Y_Y.

The sound effects are so realistic and is a fun game.
Overall i give it a 10

Post Date: 14:57 23-11-2009
Rating: 10
Author: bushwhacker2k
Comment: Left4Dead is a great game! It is simple to learn to play and you can jump right into the game without any lengthy introductions.

I would highly recommend this game, though renting it may be more worthwhile until it becomes cheaper.

Post Date: 04:15 19-10-2009
Rating: 10
Author: ritchi3
Comment: Awesome adventurous shooter!

Post Date: 21:44 29-03-2009
Rating: 10
Author: webber
Comment: One of the best team games I have ever played. Nothing brings people together better than watching each others backs so they don't get chewed on by zombies!

Post Date: 15:16 01-03-2009
Rating: 10
Author: weehut
Comment: Left 4 Dead seemed like the light at the end of the tunnel. The Source engine made for creating great FPS games like Counter-Strike: Source and Team Fortress 2 was slowly starting to grow obsolete, and VALVe was just about to scrap it when this game seemed to pop up out of nowhere. All players playing VALVe games started seeing ads for Left 4 Dead, and the intriguing hand with four fingers.

The open demo then came out- a few days of playing all of the game for free. Those few days were the best of my computer life thus far. Left 4 Dead is entirely based on co-op, for example, you can"t do anything without your friends, or the AI playing as your teammates. If you fall down, you can"t get up because you"re injured without friends. You can heal friends. You can help friends fight of hordes of zombies, most importantly. No longer can you find so many hordes of monsters rushing forward trying to attack you, but the satisfaction of killing them all is too great to pass up in this game.

This brings me to the next point- the AI.
In all modes, an AI, dubbed "The Director", controls level pacing and item spawns, in an attempt to create a dynamic experience and increase replay value.
The Director also creates mood and tension with emotional cues, such as visual effects, dynamic music and character communication. Valve has termed this dynamic set-up "procedural narrative".

In addition to the AI Director, there is a second Director that controls music. It was created as a way to keep the music interesting throughout the game. The music Director monitors what a player has experienced to create an appropriate mix. The process is client-side and done by a multi-track system. Each player hears their own mix, which is being generated as they play through the game, and dead players watching a teammate hear their teammates" mix.

This was basically the most advanced AI I"ve ever played against in a co-op game. The hard mode is nearly impossible because the zombies mold to your gameplay. If you start jumping around and shoot to make it harder for them to attack you, they"ll start jumping around. If you start sniping way back, the zombies will start hanging back and hiding to kill the sniper. Just amazing.

Rendering and artificial intelligence were also scaled up to allow for a greater number of enemies who can navigate the world in better ways such as climbing, jumping, or breaking obstacles. You can use almost any object in this game. See that propane tank? Place it in front of a doorway and shoot the tank when the zombies come. Yum, zombie barbecue! See that bottle of pills? Yeah, take one, lower your stress, my man! See that ladder? Yeah, climb it, move it up!

Overall, you simply shouldn"t be allowed to go through life without playing this game. No two matches are the same, it"s amazing to play with three other friends laughing as you burn zombies with Molotov cocktails, and it"s the greatest co-op game ever created.

10/10.

Post Date: 01:22 28-02-2009
Rating: 8
Author: Joker
Comment: I wouldn't call it a "zombie game". L4D a team shooter where you watch the backs of other players. If you try to play solo, you will pay for it with vomit by a boomer or getting yanked across a room or get mauled by zombies. You would think it would get boring fighting zombie after zombie but the action stays intense. The witch can be scary because you think a little girl is crying.

Forget about about a story because the game is all about surviving from check point to checkpoint. Its the journey that is fun not the destination. I will give L4D a score of 8.


Post Date: 19:13 25-02-2009
Rating: 9
Author: Pad
Comment: Brilliant! The best zombie game eva! L4D blows clunkers like the Resident Evil games out of the water.... Coop is a blast. The graphics are pure pwnage. I would recommend this game. 9/10

Post Date: 19:36 05-02-2009
Rating: 10
Author: notch
Comment: Awesome zombie game! The multiplayer is great fun with a bunch of friends.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.