Mario Kart DS


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Connect with other players via Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection to see who is the better kart racer.

Total Rating: 8.43
Reviews: 37

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 13:50 14-10-2014
Rating: 8
Author: brankomiljus20
Comment: Kart racing game with popular character Mario, but there are also many different characters. In this game u race and u can use different utilities to help u win, now there are 2 looks, from top and standard. Graphics is kinda bad, but games is rly fun to play

Post Date: 06:51 05-04-2014
Rating: 9
Author: ivekvv256
Comment: Easy and fun game to play. There are many details in game. Graphic is prety nice and you can have fun throwing the bananas at others :)

Post Date: 13:15 16-07-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: Mario Kart DS is way too easy. You can finish the game to 100% in no time.

If you think about the graphics, this is pretty good. I like how the environment looks like, and even the car designs. You can see many small details in things, like small lights on some cars, on the front. Some effects are pretty good, like the explosions or the skid marks when you are making a sharp turn.

The sound is pretty good although it could have been a little better sound effects in some parts. For example when you throw the ''turtle shells'' or bananas against your opponents. The music gives a great feeling when you are driving which makes it a little bit easier.

Post Date: 17:36 29-10-2011
Rating: 9
Author: lumlehsumleh
Comment: i never knew DS games could be this fun. they variety of characters in this game adds to the intensity. the boxes also adds to the funness.

Post Date: 14:56 23-10-2011
Rating: 9
Author: KuroTsuna
Comment: Mariokart on the DS was fun when I was a kid. I used to play many different games on the DS. This racing game is good for young and old people.

Post Date: 14:22 01-04-2011
Rating: 8
Author: dantabletennis
Comment: This is the best game on nintendo Ds!

Post Date: 22:39 19-12-2010
Rating: 10
Author: champking5
Comment: Enjoy action packed racing with many characters and karts to choose from, Also with fun tracks with many shortcuts, and ways to get the best time. I enjoyed this game.

Post Date: 18:58 04-12-2010
Rating: 9
Author: champking5
Comment: You know if ima fan of MKWii I gotta be a fan of MKDS lmao. The action pack racing on an handheld system rocks. Even though the graphics arent that good its still good to play online.

Post Date: 00:13 10-09-2010
Rating: 3
Author: logen9
Comment: Mario Kart is overrated imo. There are many better console driving games. I agree with Celtis about playing the Wii version over the DS.

Post Date: 23:19 16-08-2010
Rating: 3
Author: Celtis
Comment: Please! Mario Kart was better on the Wii. The wifi connection can be a major headache.

Post Date: 18:52 21-06-2010
Rating: 6
Author: Ichigohollowfied
Comment: They didn't change much so i was a bit dissapointed....plus i didn't hate wifi at the time when i played this

Post Date: 13:00 24-11-2009
Rating: 10
Author: jd.emosmos
Comment: i have N64 and other nintendo game consoles.
This is a better version of mariokart64 w/ new maps and playable characters(waluigi,princess daisy,etc..)

nice game
overall:10

Post Date: 16:41 20-11-2009
Rating: 9
Author: Astruil
Comment: well i love any mario kart so this one isnt the exception , this is good if u re a fan of mario kart from nintendo and nintendo 64 also wii ^^ i love it

Post Date: 19:00 15-08-2009
Rating: 8
Author: princesscally123
Comment: i love this game

Post Date: 01:51 26-07-2009
Rating: 8
Author: neeyick
Comment: its fun making everyone suck in multiplayer with action replay..

Post Date: 05:26 08-07-2009
Rating: 9
Author: killervickboy
Comment: Mario Kart is back....and it doesn't disappoint with good graphics almost every course in the mario kart franchise and a nice selection of racers this game is enjoyable.Its the best mario kart yet...

Post Date: 07:28 15-01-2009
Rating: 8
Author: jared.
Comment: Its an awesome game i love it and i think lots of people woould love it to its very addicting and its also a good racing game

Post Date: 03:25 09-01-2009
Rating: 9
Author: alistaly
Comment: Simply the best simple racing game out there. All you mainly do is race other Mario characters which you can choose who to be and you can pick your own car in which some are well designed. In this there are five different modes to choose from. One of the first modes to choose from is the Grand Prix were you compete against seven other racers. The Grand Prix also comes in with 3 different leaves the 50cc, 100cc and 150cc each of these cause each racers engine to be more powerful increasing there speed. Another is the VS which is a nice one since you are able to choose you're race track and your opponents. Again the VS comes with the 50cc, 100cc and 150cc as i listed above the features. This is my favorite type of race the Battle Mode. You can choose from a few different type of scenarios including the 1 player battles. There is also the good old Balloon Battles were the aim is to pop your enemy's balloon. Shine Runners is a another scenario in the Battle Mode. Here the aim is to collect as many Shine Sprites as possible the players with the least will be eliminated at times leaving only one winning team unless of course you choose to play 1 player. This has been a new feature to Mario Kart it's called Mission Mode were a player is given a character and there original kart to complete the objectives of the mission. Getting a 1star rating in these missions throughout the first 6 levels allows you to unlock the 7th level unlocking a few extra missions. The second last of these races is the Time Trial which has very simple objectives to just complete the race in the shortest possible time. Finally the last race is the Multiplayer Mode which allowing eight real players to race each other using either download play or LAN. There is also then same race but using Wi-Fi connection but only allowing up to 4 players and 20 races of the 32 you can race in download play or LAN. All in a great game for DS I recommend as a first game.

Post Date: 20:49 06-10-2008
Rating: 10
Author: awesomedrako
Comment: amazing game, im still working on my drift boosting, u basically race in a kart with the various mario characters, early on each character gets two cars to choose from, later on each character unlocks there third car, even later on u can race in any car with any character, which is good, also there are plenty of races to race in, and its replayability is absolutely amazing!

Post Date: 14:04 28-09-2008
Rating: 9
Author: aaddron
Comment: Simply the greatest racing game ever created on a hand held platform. The graphics are great for a DS game and the online mode work great but this game isn't with out flaws. There is some jitters in the graphics when there is a lot of things going on on screen and the amount of cheaters online can be unbearable. One of the most common things that happen online is people snaking while snaking isn't cheating it takes away from the online experience.

If you looking for something to do on the road get this game but if your looking to get the full Mario Kart experience get Mario Kart Wii.

Post Date: 21:05 14-07-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Mars180
Comment: Best DS game ever! I recommend this 100% :]

Post Date: 17:04 05-07-2008
Rating: 9
Author: hunterenjr
Comment: It is a VERY good game graphics and configureation is awsome on this game thats why i give it a 9/10

Post Date: 16:31 04-07-2008
Rating: 9
Author: PrinceTrase
Comment: I love this game! It's a great racing game and when you get together with your friends, it's a blast. Nice graphics and watching the bombomb blow up ur buddies is fun!

Post Date: 22:00 23-06-2008
Rating: 9
Author: pavelzap
Comment: One of the best racing games ever! But if you wnat the best experience, play Mario Kart Wii. MKW lets you use the Wii Wheel and you can turn the steering wheel like you're actually driving! But try both!

Post Date: 08:26 31-05-2008
Rating: 8
Author: All.Saints97
Comment: This is a very well thought out game,i thought it was really good, who dosent like a bit of wi-fi and rscing!

Post Date: 06:08 29-03-2008
Rating: 9
Author: kirbyfreek33
Comment: Wifi is awesome, i barely see any hackers at all, the game is awesome, and there are a ton of karts. 'Nuff said.

Post Date: 14:12 25-03-2008
Rating: 8
Author: oneshiningstar
Comment: All hail Mario Kart.
I thought it was some cheap racer.
It turned out to be weaponised racing. Sweet.
Nice tracks, cool weapons. Couldn't be better but i need more tracks.
a cut of 2 points due to the fact that several tracks are not able on wi-fi.

Post Date: 00:36 13-03-2008
Rating: 5
Author: jpierre
Comment: this game is cool

Post Date: 16:16 24-12-2007
Rating: 10
Author: burtybob
Comment: I love this game first DS game i ever bought however sadly havent been on wi-fi with it but it is still an amazing game.

Post Date: 01:05 08-10-2007
Rating: 9
Author: fragem
Comment: Japaneese people are still the best on wi-fi, but dont be dicouraged, its just what they do

Post Date: 00:41 10-08-2007
Rating: 9
Author: braveman2
Comment: Its a great game. To this day I'm still playing it now and then. I recommend this game. It could be better but it is still very good.

Post Date: 20:52 21-06-2007
Rating: 10
Author: wallice
Comment: this game is fun cuz everytime u try to win a blue shell blows u to smithereens it's funny when that happens

Post Date: 04:32 10-06-2007
Rating: 10
Author: rob619
Comment: Love Mario Kart and almost all mario games! :D

Post Date: 02:38 24-03-2007
Rating: 10
Author: soad553
Comment: great game i beat it for n64 and ds

Post Date: 16:44 20-02-2007
Rating: 8
Author: monkeydude93
Comment: Great game but if you can't snake you get really angry.

Post Date: 05:26 22-01-2007
Rating: 9
Author: eatwhileplaying
Comment: Oh Mario, so happy to have you on a Wi-Fi game that is so great! Even though you can only have four-player races over Wi-Fi, you can still have a heck of a time racing people across the world. It's surprisingly interesting to apply your racing strategies and tactics on other people you don't now and showing off your skills. Get yourself a connector, a DS and a Mario Kart game and try it yourself! You might be surprised how much fun you have. =D

Post Date: 02:49 06-01-2007
Rating: 9
Author: oneyx
Comment: Ok i own this game and it is freaken awsome! I think that everyone who has a ds hasd to get this game!





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.