PlaneShift


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


The objective of the PlaneShift Team is to create a virtual fantasy world in which a player can start as a peasant in search of fame and become a hero. We will focus our efforts in the reproduction of a real world with politics, economy, many non-player-characters controlled by the server that will bring to life our world even without players connected!

Total Rating: 5.47
Reviews: 53

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 10:24 26-01-2015
Rating: 7
Author: arZ
Comment: Panet ship is a MMORPG fantasy game where you need to create you champ and you need to become a hero. Nice graphic and cool gameplay. Rating 7/10!

Post Date: 21:33 21-02-2012
Rating: 2
Author: drokkor73
Comment: when i first started playing it, planeshift seemed like a great game. but after the first week, all of its shortcomings drove me away. the light in ojaveda flickers from bright to dim to bright to dim, and on and on, every 15-20 seconds. this is terribly annoying, and is the prime factor that made me become disgusted with the game. and when i researched the problem on the web, i learned that people have been complaining about this defect for YEARS. i can't believe fixing this issue is not a priority for them. how can anyone enjoy a game that practically gives you a headache from the slow strobe?

also, the monsters just stand there and don't come after you or move. this becomes boring after awhile. and their website promises 8 levels, yet when you read the fine print, it says, "levels to be added in a future version." yet the game has been around for many years, and they still haven't made the other levels. so why mislead people with your innacurate, overblown game discription? just to get people to play the game?

world of warcraft is 100x better than planeshift, and has tons more content, quests, zones, way better graphics, no BUGS, and doesn't use the "it's just a tech demo" excuse to respond to any criticism of the game (demo? the game has been around for TEN YEARS. how long does it take to transition from beta?!).

all of those reasons are why i switched away from planeshift.

Post Date: 05:15 31-12-2010
Rating: 7
Author: hack10
Comment: PlanetShift is a 3D MMORPG, fantasy world with unique character customization. For example, you can enter a lot of detailed (personification) date of birth, gender, etc.
The graphics are good with animated theme and the music. The game has so many special effect i.e. lightening, shining crystal, and much more.

Post Date: 12:45 18-12-2010
Rating: 6
Author: Random_fella
Comment: I rated this game at 7 for the reason that at the beginning you will find the game to be a great new adventure and many players in game are helpful and will assist you to becoming stronger yourself.
The graphics in this game are very good yet cause a lot of lag while you play (I have a mac and the game will sometimes also force quit itself)
After playing this game for a while you will get bored of it most likely since the quests do not update themselves and require you to travel far distances and sometimes type things into boxes which can really only be solved by the help of google.
Also the idea of the game is to be - as realistic as possible, even with the various looking creatures in the game, I feel if you are going to play a game like a mmorpg you are trying to get away from everyday life and rather get into a fun state. You can get very bored of the game because you have to do skills like blacksmithing or tailoring which take a lifetime of repetitive training (e.g putting ore into stock - turning it into stock and gaining experience and the melting it again to repeat.)
Although the game has many faults it is still completely free without corporates attempting to persuade you to purchase various in-game items making the game faire in the way of player vs player and such.
Overall I gave it a 6 because even though it can be boring it is still free and has very good graphics.

Post Date: 09:37 21-11-2009
Rating: 10
Author: bloodedIrishman
Comment: Planeshift is a game in development. It is currently nearing the halfway stages of a 'full game'. The 'full game' would be named 1.0. Currently it is 0.4.

It was created, is maintained, and developed by VOLUNTEERS. These are men and woman who take their own personal time to develop a game as a HOBBY. Out of their own goodwill they spend hours working; giving others a free and incredible roleplaying game to enjoy.

It is in pre-alpha stages, has been for years and will be for years.

The game itself is centered on roleplaying; which adds richness to the game.

I began playing Planeshift years back and still do. I fully enjoy the game for a number of reasons. One, the graphics are great, especially for a free VOLUNTEER run game. The community is absolutely top notch; you will not find a better one. Finally, I find the possibilities of my characters limitless; giving free range to my ideas.

All art is original. The fact that volunteer developers actually spend their time developing a game for others to enjoy is commendable. When you judge this game take that into consideration.

All in all; it's quite a hidden jewel.

Post Date: 20:33 22-10-2008
Rating: 0
Author: zapleaf
Comment: Game was awful couldn't stand a minute of it.

Post Date: 21:11 15-09-2008
Rating: 5
Author: gl000x
Comment: Everybody says this game is open source. Its not open source. The game is closed source and owned by Atomic Blue. The client/server engine is open source, but that is not the game. Planeshift is two completely separate things. Some of the devs and GMs are mature. Some of them definitely are not. Don't criticize the game because you will get harassed and flamed beyond your wildest expectations. If you cannot contribute, don't bother to play. This game attracts trolls. It can be very fun to play and hang around, until you run afoul of the in crowd. It is supposedly an RP game, but there are many restrictions on RP in this game. You must RP within the settings of the game. Because the game takes place in some bizarre idea of a world within a hollow stalactite, you are bound to go against the settings sooner or later. This game feels like it is run by a clique of high school rich kids. Giving this game a 5 because of the concept and the Mac/Win/Linux availability.

Post Date: 00:01 25-04-2008
Rating: 10
Author: fleetmasterzamnee
Comment: 100/10
I love this game. Alot of races to choose from, even though they still have alot of ingame modles to put in. It is a little hard for newbies in the beginning, but I can tell it gets better. It is kindof bad that they don't give the tutorial on every new character. I know it would take a long time, but don't you with you had that weapon, and don't you just wish that you could just have that amount of money?

Post Date: 16:04 25-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Volshen
Comment: Great graphics, great gameplay, it surprises me how such a great game is forever free to play. I definately recommend PlaneShift to any gamer.

Post Date: 19:04 21-01-2008
Rating: 5
Author: Sylexus
Comment: I hate them for using that name...
the game is good tho i will admit sadly :(

Post Date: 14:51 27-12-2007
Rating: 3
Author: voljin5465
Comment: Satisfactory graphics but really slows my PC down. Sometimes music not clear. Anyways it gives me the creeps. NPC interaction system unsactisfactory. Honestly I can't think of dialogues after I come from school.

In my opinion, there's absolutely no need of detailed customization (except for class), since what your character's father's name was and their hopes in you do not affect gameplay.

And I think it should have been completed now, since it was in alpha state even ages ago.

Post Date: 07:24 26-12-2007
Rating: 7
Author: mrwestfall
Comment: I have just began to play this game and I must say that it is very impressive. But, you cannot use that it is an early alpha version to give it a better rating.

As of 'right now' this game has many glitches, graphics that could look better, is a bit confusing to start, and has a slightly awkward control scheme.

On the positive side the game has very addictive gameplay, a great support and gaming community, is actively developed, and is free.

It is a great game which I will continue to play and look forward to future versions. It has a long way to go until I will give it a nine or ten. Also would people who do not like mmorpgs SHUT UP about people who do like mmorpgs. Same goes the other way around. It's driving me CRAZY!!! If you don't like it, DON'T PLAY IT!!!(sigh) Sorry, done ranting.

Post Date: 19:23 22-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Akashani
Comment: >>> PlaneShift is moreish i'm addicted

Post Date: 19:21 22-11-2007
Rating: 9
Author: LiadanCreag
Comment: I must say, for being my first MMORPG, Planeshift is fairly good. Although it does take a while to get to figure out your way around, with the help of other characters and the right questions (read: RP questions) it becomes easier. Might I point out that after the tutorial, you are left with 60 trias (in game currency) and depending on what you pick for your reward, you can either sell it for more, or start to pay your way by hunting small furry rodents. There are also quests to do, but should you take one on, don't be afraid to ask around. Players are more than willing to help you out, and even lead you where you need to go. Like Solone commented, you often forget how long you've been online and what really makes the game fun is the interaction between characters.

There are a few of us who would love to help out new characters to the game, if you do join and have a question I'll be more than willing to help. Just look up Liadan.

As many have commented before me, Planeshift is still in development stage. That means, expect there to be bugs in-game, and not everything will work perfectly the first time through. Be patient. It has a lot of potential and hopefully by playing it you can provide feedback for it so that Planeshift will continue to improve.
So, If you've ever wanted to be a game-tester, here's your chance. And did I mention, it's free too?

Post Date: 16:44 22-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Solone
Comment: I love this game! I don't wish to play any others. The community is awesome. :) My first day in, all sorts of people offered to show me around and help. I remember Proglin and Maerghaine and Althos, Magmir and Engguerand, Niu and Hather as well as many more...but they were the first people. I wont forget any of them. The role play is so immersive you can actually forget how long you spend in the game. :) The quests are fun, especially done in groups with friends. For any of those who have trouble with spells crashing them...go into settings and turn on the vertex buffer and there ya go. Some of the best friends I have in real life are people I met in this very game. Oh, and the person who said they fell thru the floor in town...that has never happened to me and I have been playing nearly a year. Yes there have been some glitches, but I have played other games that cost a lot of money, that were supposed to be *finished products* and they had just as many or even worse glitches. So, to make comments like that isnt really fair, as this is NOT a *finished product*. You must keep that in mind. It is still a work in progress...and in the short time I have played I've seen many good changes and progressions. Again I love this game. My name is Solone in game as well, so if any of you decide to try it, come and say hi. :)

Post Date: 16:26 22-11-2007
Rating: 9
Author: WierdEdward
Comment: This is definitely a work-in-progress. That being said, it has been improving steadily. For what claims to be a tech demo, it has a great deal of depth to the world already.

Farren_Kutter is right that we are the testers, this is not a full release commercial product and should not be judged as such. Planeshift shows a lot of potential. I, for one, am hoping it achieves that potential.

Post Date: 16:16 22-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Aiwendil
Comment: I really love this game. It's the only game I know that is truly a roleplaying game. The community is great and offers a lot of help. The game offers great RP possibilities and a lot of freedom for characters. You are not limited to a special class and can develop your character as you wish. In my opinion the best thing is that everyone is force to speak in character. No people around disturbing roleplaying with stupid OOC talking. You can spend a lot of time just with talking and playing with other players in the tarvern. But I think thats the problematic point for a lot of people. So if you look for a hack'n'slay or "I'm the best and collect all nice items"-game you surly will be disappointed. And yes, the game is still in development and has some bugs. But the quality really improves.

Post Date: 16:04 22-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Anuisbored
Comment: Planeshift offers a unique online community in a highly interactive world that is surprisingly developed considering the game's pre-alpha stage. The emphasis on Roleplay brings another whole element to the game and the player is immediately engrossed in a whole new world. The community is fantastic, and very welcoming, willing to help you get oriented as a newbie. Overall i definitely have to give this game a 10 because of the endless hours of entertainment it has provided me, and the many friendships it has fostered.

Post Date: 02:11 22-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: 2Bizarre
Comment: If you want to try an online game with a new twist, then this is it. Are you new to online gaming? PlaneShift has people from all over the world who not only roleplay, but will help you settle in and make you feel at home. There are several areas to be explored and many quests to challenge and reward you during your journey. I'm sure you'll enjoy the scenery too. Although you can attack beasts, it is by far only one of many skills you can attain. Your ideas on future development of the game will be evaluated and could be implemented. This is your chance to be involved while the game is still being developed.

Post Date: 01:35 22-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Listbard
Comment: PlaneShift is a great game in my honest opinion. People ask why and I can only chuckle. This is the only game on the internet where the majority of all players actually role play. This is simply more then a game, its a community for real role playing and story writing. The Developers are active and eagerly pursue to make the game better. It offers a vivid tutorial to aid all new players.
Though my favorite aspect would be, again the community as a whole. The game offers many playable races, and a large land to explore, as well as a unique quest system. I myself have searched the internet, and played many, MMORPGs, yet NONE of them have EVER had a large roleplaying community, not like this, and NONE of them have pushed for roleplay like this. I give PlaneShift a 10.00, For creativity, being something different, and for putting the RP, in roleplay.

Post Date: 06:51 27-07-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Farren_Kutter
Comment:
-Game Development-
Okay, first off, remember... PRE-alpha stage game. Mostly non-professional developers (There are a few professionals). Work done in their PERSONAL free time, without ANY pay whatsoever and only their own mind as motivation. They are using an engine used very rarely as far as I can tell... Now, take this all in... The game is already very good compared to most. I think that is enough on that topic.

-Community-
The PlaneShift community... Everywhere you go there is going to be jerks. In PlaneShift, many less than in any other MMORPG. Also, role-playing is a main factor. If you don't role-play, don't download the game. It isn't worth it. Role-play is what makes the game so great. I don't even train anymore, I only role-play. Most of the people in the game do, and EVERYONE must stay in character at the least. Role-play is not enforced, but staying in character is.

-Bugs/Glitches/Server-
As stated before, to cover the bugs and glitches, the game is under development. We are TESTERS!!! Testers first, players second. We encounter bugs and glitches. It is our duty to report them so that they can be fixed, not so we can log off and then come review and complain because you got stuck in a wall and didn't listen to the people telling you to use the /unstick command. This game is not funded, don't expect some grand game, especially at this stage of development.

On a similar note, the server... The server is donated freely by Fragnetics, and is therefore probably quite low spec. Plus bugs, covered previously, can get in the mix. Servers crash. Bugs can make the server crash. Bugs are being worked on so they can be fixed. Quit complaining and do something while you wait for the server to come back up. I have played for two years now, and I can't complain about much of anything for the game. Except for the female dermorian model's shoulders >.> Too broad by just a little bit...

-Final Note-
I'd like to add as a final note... Show me that you can make a better game under the same circumstances before you bash this one.

Post Date: 06:11 27-07-2007
Rating: 9
Author: Jurrel
Comment: Many are right the game is not finished which is a good thing! The game is already great! As you progress through the world of Planeshift you will find that discovering new additions to the game is fun in itself. Whats more is you play a part in shaping the game. The RP expieriance in PS is the best around because the PS team cares about your expieriance as well as others. There is so much to do in the game already. Make your own weapons by mining, melting, casting and quenching. There are many more trades to come the newest cooking. Yes you can cook your own food. Hang out at a Tavern or sit by a pool of water. Well over 100 quests that will enrich the story line. Make your charactor into whom ever you want. Join a guild or create one the world is yours to enjoy.
Jurrel Paladins Guild

Post Date: 22:23 26-07-2007
Rating: 9
Author: Icari
Comment: This game is still in development and has a long way to go before it will be complete. First rule you need to follow is to Role Play your character. If you dont role play you will be told that you need to be in character. If you take your time to get to know the game you will find it is a very good free game with lots of things to find and see

Post Date: 14:33 13-05-2007
Rating: 0
Author: Moomoo
Comment: This game is evil. It turns those who play it into zombies quite frankly. They seem to lose all sense of reality! OK, fair enough it's a 'fantasy game' but really, the people who play this game have such a sense of self importance that those who have to put it with thier loved ones staring mindlesly at the screen while chatting to god knows who feel quite excluded. I DETEST this game Play it at your peril!!

Post Date: 00:32 01-05-2007
Rating: 3
Author: Crystallix
Comment: u guys should try better games than this....say, dungeon siege I II III??

Post Date: 10:56 28-04-2007
Rating: 5
Author: orasis
Comment: It's not that good, a lot of stuff is broken - you will run around in circles wondering what you have to do since most of the dialogue is also broken. - Sure you can enter buildings, too bad no one is in them, nor is there any explanation as to what the buildings function is.

However I like the fact that this game works on Mac/Linux & Windows and is also open source.

I also like the fact that there is constant development on this game, a lot more than any other free MMORPG in my opinion.

Planeshift has a future - but as it is right now it is mediocre at best.

Oh yeah, it eats up ram like a beast.. so keep that in mind as your system slows to a crawl 3 hours into the game.

Post Date: 04:13 07-04-2007
Rating: 0
Author: nevarine
Comment: do not EVER try this game, i spent hours trying to get it to work, glitch after glitch, after them deleting my password for some reason, i even complained about everything that went wrong about this game, and everyone on the forum agreed with me!!

Post Date: 01:01 30-03-2007
Rating: 9
Author: Rare
Comment: I really wanted to give this game a try, as it actually has some American developers. I downloaded it, made an account, verified the account, and then got a message that my user name did not exist. Also the updater of the game wouldnt work because apparently none of the updater mirrors were on.

I read on some of the forums that, just to talk to npcs you have to type stuff like "Do you have ____?" Lol, I just got out of school where I took a test and had to present a huge project, do I really need NPCs making me think?

Anyway, I'm pulling the score up on this one by a little bit, just to show support for American game developers. Least I can do to help our cause.

Post Date: 05:03 17-03-2007
Rating: 7
Author: Candi_dyla
Comment: This is a wonderful game! unfortunetly it takes up tonnes of space on your computer and is often down for maitnence the death realm is fun! when you die you go their instead of going to a town and loosing all your gold! the deathrelm is a fun obstecle coarse! this game is quite good!

Post Date: 19:40 20-02-2007
Rating: 7
Author: agentbassil
Comment: This game is pretty good. But a lot of work needs to be put into in.This is only ,because the game is in pre-beta they are basicly developing the game at the same moment that everyone is playing it. I don't suggest playing it now, wait until it's done and then state what you think about it. Stop whining about an incomplete game, i bet if you played WoW in alpha state you'd hate that game too.

Post Date: 03:44 24-01-2007
Rating: 0
Author: johnnyboy414
Comment: This game is terrible! You die way to fast. I got stuck in a wall the first minute i played it. Its not worth downloading. Its just like any other game that you get bored of in 30 mins.

Post Date: 09:59 20-01-2007
Rating: 0
Author: scsi_46
Comment: The designers of this game have stated as one of their design goals: "The Death Realm is supposed to annoy you at first, and no, we will not remove it."

Yes they have made a very annoying feature in the game. I was annoyed enough to rate their game a zero. This has nothing to do with alpha test state. This is game design stupidity.

Post Date: 23:45 14-01-2007
Rating: 10
Author: thegathering
Comment: Guys, seriously quit whining about bugs/glitches. This isn"t a finished game. It"s such an early beta that all of your comments are completely ridiculous.

This game will be beautiful when it is complete and the uniqueness of the game and history will guarantee that this game becomes a classic when it is finished.

Post Date: 15:36 13-01-2007
Rating: 0
Author: Simpson3k
Comment: Ok i know its still in build but, it was already the basic controle wich forced me to exit and uninstall the client again. Nearly every roleplaying game, online or not, uses the mouse to navigate the char through the world, that i have to use my keyboard for the movement, reminds me to the old commodore 64 ages. For someone who never played any other adventure before, this maybe a good choice but, when you are used to play 90% of the game with your mouse, than safe the time you need for the download, with some more usefull things, maybe watching out of the window and count birds

Post Date: 21:38 26-12-2006
Rating: 0
Author: slayer555
Comment: wow, this is such a stupid game
reasons: easy to die
no guide for new ppl
u start off with no money and its really hard to make money
its easy to get lost

Post Date: 01:44 06-12-2006
Rating: 7
Author: 132591
Comment: Alright, you guys really gotta stop dissing this game just because it is in alpha. Many of your complaints are unjustified. For example, the complain that, "some character descriptions are missing" or that, "there is a bug when..." Come one guys, quit being like that,

Post Date: 03:23 11-11-2006
Rating: 5
Author: Fafnir
Comment: Once you have a little experience you don't die at the first misstep but there is a more permanent problem since by far the usual way to increase your avatar is to frag again and again the creature that provides you with a decent pp (and eventually loot) so you start acting like a bot. The crew is rather brutal to freeze your account.

Post Date: 01:37 18-08-2006
Rating: 10
Author: firegamer12
Comment: i played this game 1 month ago wating for more updates i stopped plaing. now i can open and im downloading lots of stuf so i can play this game has a cool communty and cools skills

Post Date: 16:43 17-08-2006
Rating: 5
Author: Psychless
Comment: I think that none of you can read cause on the planeshift website were you download it, it says that if you download the windows version on bittorrent that you have to download another file cause it isnt self updating properly cause it has a bug. After you download the game you have to extract the stuff in the file you downloaded to fix the updater onto your planeshift file wich is at "C:Program FilesPlaneShift Crystal Blue" (note when you click extract on the file that fixes the updater it askes you to type in were to extract it and type in the thing i quoted and also it asks you if you want to replace some files and just click yes to all on the first one). Also most of you are saying that its terrible and pathetic well did you notice its a tech demo and its not complete, of cource its not going to be reely good and also you guys are saying the server is always crashing well it isnt complete yet so just think about it. Also dont play this game if you have dial up like me other wise it will lagg bad almost every were. Also you should have a good graphics card for this game. I would play the game for a while before rating it and also put into mind that its not done, plus if you cant install it dont rate it a 0 then say i cant install it cause that will just bring the average rating down. THINK ABOUT IT! overall i give the game a 5 because when its done it will probably be a 10 on the scale but since its not done i give it a 5.

Post Date: 02:27 31-07-2006
Rating: 2
Author: abigail
Comment: given the fact I couldnt even OPEN the game gives it a low score. For some reason it said my version was wrong for the server I was trying. After updating it over and over again... Whatever. uninstalled.

Post Date: 15:55 08-07-2006
Rating: 0
Author: pain_killer666
Comment: Graphics: 8/10

To be honest I would be happy enough if it were just stick figures. There are so many graphical glitches that really drop the score. While leaving the seweres behind harnquist if you angle yourself the wrong way, you fall and die. I've died the most from falling through the floor. This to me is unacceptable. There are places around town that I've fallen off of and died. In fact the first time I ever died it was from falling from the distance of a rooftop. In real life I would have lived, and in real life there would be a fence or gate there. To the games defense, the spells look allright. Nothing special, but nothing bad. Even the spells crash me. The character animations are good, when they actually happen. Most of the races are not even in the game to comment about. The areas look great, but that also causes major lag. These areas are not even populated which would even cause more lag. There isn't a map GUI that will tell you where you are on a mini map, and any map posted in the forums will get the poster scolded for doing so.


Performance : 5/10


The game does play well. If it plays. Crash after crash after crash, I ask myself. Why do I keep playing. The game is a HUGE HUGE memory hog.


Sound: 2/10

The low score is for two reasons. The first reason is when I first started playing, I couldn't even load the game with sound. After a really bad update where half the things promised were not updated, I was able to use sound. The sound isn't that bad, but there is absolutely nothing special about it. My sword sounds like I'm hitting with my fist. I didn't even spend enough time finding other sounds cause the noise was just too unbearable. There is also a current bug that crashes the game when you die if you have sound enabled

Community: -5/10


People have given me trouble in the past, or have done things that really annoy me. And you know what happens to these people? NOTHING. The GMs don't do a d**n thing about people KSing and being rude. It is overlooked due to the ignorant fact that these people claim to be "Role Playing" their characters. WTF is this crap? So many people praise the PS team for encouraging role playing. Have these people ever played an MMORPG. There is never any RPing, and there really shouldn't be. If they want to RP, then go into a chat room, or any other medium that is more appropriate to that behavior. MMOs have always been about grinding and leveling.
The game reminds me of high school. In fact even worse. There is a large group of a RPing clique that will mostly ignore your role plays if you attempt one. Unless you are in the group. People in this group will also belive anything anyone else tells them about another player. I know it is the internet, these people are prolly in high school.


The people in the forums are just as bad as the people in the game. There are so many topics that have a smart comment by some know it all.

It gets worse when you talk about the questing system in the game. This questing system is THE WORST in the history of gaming. First you have to ask an NPC "Do you Need Help?" or "Give me a quest" and IF (a big IF) you get lucky and you talk to the person at the correct time they will give you a quest. But it gets worse. There is one quest for example that you need to find his lost gloves. He says he might have left them in the temple or the library. They are in the library. So you talk to the guy and if you do not spell the exact phrase correctly, the guy with the gloves will ignore you. Not to mention you need to be exact on what to say.


If you want to play a game full of nazis that will demand you RP, yet mostly ignore yours cause you are not in their clique, then PlaneShift is for you. If you want to play a true MMO, play WoW or any the other games. The current update crashes me once every 20 minutes, the server is currently down right now. You wanted an honest opinion from a nonfanboy, well here it is.
Don't buy into the pre alpha crap people say. At the current snails pace the devs are building, the game should be done around June of 2014. Excuses can only get you so far.

Post Date: 18:34 24-06-2006
Rating: 1
Author: GaMe CrItIc
Comment: it's an interesting game, it has good graphics, but: no class, missing race graphics, pathetic quests, and an overall pathetic fighting system, i give it a pathetic 1

Post Date: 17:56 24-06-2006
Rating: 2
Author: optimoz
Comment: You know, I think I remember downloading this game around 2 - 3 years ago or something. I may be wrong, mabey it hasent been that long but my god man, it was long ago, and it sounds like its in basacly the same state it was then. I am actually amazed to even see it still under development. If they havent even made it somewhat playable by now. I'm lookin at this picture and it looks nearly the exact same as it did way back whenever? Crazy is all I can say, by the time they get anything going with this game I'll be an old man. giving it a 2 only because it's free game, if you can call it that? ;p

Post Date: 17:49 08-06-2006
Rating: 2
Author: ironfistchamp
Comment: Where to begin. Ok first off brilliant idea. I really commend the developers for the idea. Thats pretty much it though. The graphics are poor, the animations are terrible. The cursor is something you would see on a bad flash site and the user interface leaves alot to be desired. It took me a full minute to find the OK button on the login screen. The font is horrible and small I couldn't see what I was clicking. Enough of the look what about the sound. The music isn't half bad. It certainly is atmospheric. Thats it for the sound. Location wise I haven't been far. Why? Because I couldn't be bothered. I fell off a roof within the first 20secs of playing. After about a minute of standing around being told "You can't do that right now" I was transported to the Dead Realm...where I died... many times. The controls are very jittery. I kept falling off into some kind of Abyss. Now have I talked about the font? Well whether I have or haven't it's horrible. I can't read a damn thing. I can't wait for the finished product I think it's going to be great but they are so far off it's not even worth downloading yet.

Did I mention the font?

Post Date: 02:11 11-05-2006
Rating: 2
Author: Cams69
Comment: Well first off picture a alpha of a alpha. Then you have the current development level of Planeshift. I do believe personally it has promise and that the staff has done well with what they've done, but it will be quite awhile before its truly worth downloading.

Graphically terrain (town) is very well done and I like the world detail. Models in general have poor animation quality but decent skins. Gameplay I just couldn't even bother to get into so I can't really say anything about that.

Controls are quite poor but interface is acceptable.

In two or three years? If it is still in development I fully intend to play. Currently:Save your bandwidth and don't bother.

Post Date: 11:22 22-04-2006
Rating: 2
Author: turtlefuzz
Comment: very dissapointing

Post Date: 04:56 22-02-2006
Rating: 0
Author: backo
Comment: I usually dont lash-out at games that i haven t PLAYED, but still being in alpha they need to do ALOT of work with this game. Downloading is very hard, and time consuming. Takes about 2 hours to download this game(WASTED TIME). If they could do soming with makign the downloading easier I would more then like try it out form the screenshots that I have seen the game looks rather simple...but hey downloading can ruin if i like a game or not..lol just my 2 cents

Post Date: 16:39 18-02-2006
Rating: 7
Author: RastaB
Comment: i liked it alot when playing it allthough i had a horrible ping (somewhere in the "500"s lol :s)
once its more complete and the world has grown a bit (still small in my opinion) it could be a VERY good game, allready like it =)
oh on top it has pretty good character-graphics, just the lag drained the fun for me.

Post Date: 01:09 18-02-2006
Rating: 9
Author: souldragon19
Comment: I think this game will look good when its finished until then I wanna make an account so i wont be a noob when they finish it. Also it has a wide range of jobs like alchemist etc. You can also make your ownstory. Thats very classy! This might be a good game.

Post Date: 18:37 12-02-2006
Rating: 0
Author: [email protected][GP]
Comment: none

Post Date: 18:51 10-02-2006
Rating: 2
Author: seasnake
Comment: Game is still in alpha, not even beta yet, that aside the movement is controlled by the arrow keys rather than the mouse, combat should also be awkward as you have to click on the creature to attack and then click a confirmation window to confirm your action. To create a character you have to choose from a lot of options about how you were born afterwhich your stats and skills are deriven so if you wanted to have a high dexterity archer with decent strength, or a high intelligent mage in a certain magic field you will have to take a lot of time to go back and change all your birth options and hope you dont come out with some inanely stupid result as basket weaving.

Post Date: 03:11 04-12-2005
Rating: 8
Author: Bob Frank
Comment: This game is quite bad at the moment, but only because it s in it s pre-alpha stages.

However it looks like, once completed, it will be the BEST MMORPG EVER. It has great graphics, a smooth engine, promises in-game politics, and reminds me of Morrowind, as it is a very in-depth game unlike most other MMORPGs.

Oh, also, here is the great bit:
PEOPLE ACTUALLY ROLE PLAY!
EVERYBODY ACTUALLY ROLE-PLAYS!
If you don t, you can be reported.

Post Date: 16:04 31-08-2005
Rating: 7
Author: Rotten
Comment: This game is quite a good game get it when they have finished making it.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.