Shaiya


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Features in Shaiya include 1500 vs 1500 which is Realm vs. Realm combat, Bootleggery allows the selling of items to the opposing faction in the secret warehouse, duels, arena fights, and guild events.

Total Rating: 6.04
Reviews: 72

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 22:14 01-04-2013
Rating: 8
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This game is great the realm wars are huge the graphics are super nice and there are alot of races and classes to choose from also guild events and duels but it is not all about PVP there is still quite a big amount of pve in it but mainly PVP if you are a hardcore PVP player then you should play this game

Post Date: 20:30 29-11-2012
Rating: 1
Author: User Name
Comment: used to be great game but with AP item mall and prices there people leavin for cheaper games and you get many DCs and server crashes.

Post Date: 03:38 22-11-2012
Rating: 0
Author: User Name
Comment: my charectors got deleted by shaiya do not play this game

Post Date: 23:37 04-10-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: The Pvp Battles are EPIC Dynamic PvP and Crafting Systems Thousands of gear Combinations tons of skills lots of classes and races the graphics are great and the guild system is also very good

Post Date: 13:37 04-10-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: I think this game was pretty goot actually. It got nice graphics with detailed enviroments. The quest and battle system is easy to learn too, so it's pretty easy for beginners to learn it. But it can still be pretty hard in the beginning. It takes a bit to lvl up sometimes too. But it's still a pretty good game to play.

Post Date: 11:07 27-08-2012
Rating: 4
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Bornig for me. Graphics are nice but its every thing good that i can say aout this game. 4/10

Post Date: 22:06 08-07-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Particles
Comment: Very Fun game at times, which in my opinion will make up for the boring grinding at some points. The Game itself is beautiful and is very lag free except before server maintenance's. However, the Item Mall is what keeps this game back, and im being quite generous giving it even a 7 because of it. The Item Mall not like in other games can be very very VERY overpowering to those who don't buy ap (aeria points). The PVP was perfect in the beta time of this game a long time ago, then it literally just died for a couple years until recently, with the release of the "Shaiya Phoenix" server which sought out to restore The old Shaiya massive pvp battles. In this server some of the item mall items and some item enhancing gear improvements have been banned from some of the Battlegrounds. Like the Ele lapis's for example. Off of the pvp topic, Instances are very much a part of leveling and farming. Party with people in these and leveling isn't as boring as being on the map grinding alone.
This game could be great but the Item Mall is what seriously holds this game back from being what it could potentially be.

Post Date: 02:32 13-02-2012
Rating: 4
Author: Paragon
Comment: To open with a positive note... The game is great for someone whom wants to kill time. Lots of grinding, and So-So graphics. It's got an okay Realm vs Realm setup if you can handle the lag(and the vast difference between paying players and non-paying players).

Now for the real issue of the game... AP, the game's item mall currency, is ultimately the only thing that matters. In PvP(the point of this game) it becomes very clear who is the bigger spender very fast. It doesn't matter how much you learn your character, or how to play your skills, you will die before you use them unless you are willing to spend hundreds of dollars a month to keep up with the other top players.

The level cap is 70 currently, and every map above level 30 worth going to has no level restrictions, so you will be hunted down by a AP spending PvPer thats several levels higher than you everywhere you go.

The Service in the game is almost laughable. To be fair, I don't actually believe that GM's show favorable decision making toward high spenders, I think they just flat out ignore everyone. If you send a report on anything you will get a standard reply "We are looking into the issue" and nothing will ever happen.

However The poor service, and extreme cost to be able to play this game successfully pale in comparison to the community. The people in this game are a combination between the worst "Look at Me" attention seekers, and incredibly arrogant children in their "rebellion" phase.

The economy is routinely ruined by AP buyers who mess with prices of everything just for the sake of screwing Free players over, and nothing is set in the game to stop them from doing so. Players refuse to give any information to anyone else that might help a player advance in the game, and seem to take pride in their behavior.

Due to the Paying players tampering with prices, it is virtually impossible to come into the game as a new player and be able to advance without buying large amounts of AP, which shouldn't be a problem I guess, because you shouldn't become a new player without the intent to spend hundreds a month.

Post Date: 07:59 10-10-2011
Rating: 3
Author: tachyon
Comment: Hokey as crap.... boring grindage, there's not real sequence to the questing - seems off a bit , character movement slow and choppy, limited character customization.

good points: fast download, simple gui, easy to play

You would probably call this game your second mmorpg, but you could also play windows solitaire to kill time too.

Post Date: 08:30 06-10-2011
Rating: 10
Author: cretter
Comment: this is my fav game it has a lil wow mixed with runes of magic if u like mmorpg games this is the game for u

Post Date: 18:31 30-09-2011
Rating: 1
Author: mitts
Comment: Omg this is a bad game!! i had a look at some of the reviews but decided to have a go anyway, but damn i wish i never bothered the graphics are sub par the area and backgrounds are empty and plan. The mob's are the same but with different names and the players and GM's are just like people say i never thought i would find a "clicky" mmorpg but then i never played this before,Half the time i thought i was in a chat room as the convo's had nothing to do with the game,If i want to hear lonely middle aged men and women with issue's say stuff like "i've had enough of this shit" and "lets have a room meet" i would go to any number of sad little chat rooms as it was i wanted to play a game with a good player base which sadly this game does not have.All in all a waste of time,if you want to play a good free to play mmorpg try king of kings it has alot more going for it then this game every will in closing my advice to you is AVOID.

Post Date: 06:12 24-09-2011
Rating: 8
Author: bogdan112
Comment: i play this game and is very nice

Post Date: 12:47 14-08-2011
Rating: 4
Author: jelena23
Comment: Walking from one NPC to another is a pain cause maps are large and you don't get a mount until level 40. Graphics and animations are okay. Gets boring after a while. Nothing special.

Post Date: 21:32 10-06-2011
Rating: 5
Author: Vikeadyn
Comment: Ah Shaiya, the ever popular dubbed Adult MMO game, Which is probly the only reason why people play it. They wait for that moment in game of what makes Shaiya, "Adult". It is far from an adult game, the only thing "Adult" about it is, some mobs are topless, not all. The female armors are a bit skimppy, but not overwhelming skimppy, Kinda Comic book Skimppy. The comic book "Vamperella" comes to mind about skimppy.(Just to draw a picture for you gamers).

The PVP is a joke, RvR(Realm vs Realm) is a lag fest, and the item mall tends to unbalance gameplay for some. The mystery word for a neutral warehouse is called bootlegging. Its like a neutral Auction House like WoW has that is all it is. Do not let the term bootlegging fool you guys.

A lot of events in game come from fella players in a good size guild. GM's in Shaiya act like they are gods gift to the world, and they will perma ban you for dumb reasons in the official Shaiya forums. They also host events atleast once a week, sometimes once a month. The Community is..Meh, about average.

The good thing about it, is graphics and animations of avatars and some mobs are nicely put togeather not all some. The background graphics fall short, and some other mob types also fall short. Shaiya is always getting updated, which is a plus. A lot of these free MMO's get Neglected to much, and shortly die off.

Shaiya in one word is a major "Grindfest" after level 25+. Customazation is limited, and all armors are based on levels. So you will see several other players that look just like your character does. It comes to the point that you can tell what level a person is, just based on their armor colors.

Remember eventhough it is considered Free to Play(F2P) the game currency is AeriePoints, so yes their is an Item mall. In a long run Item Mall turns out to be more expensive then a Pay to Play(P2P) like WoW, Eve, Aion, Etc, that require subs. I did the math on a lot of these F2P games that have Item Malls. You my's well get a P2P game which is better, less grindy, and way, way cheaper in a long run. Then a F2P "persay" with an Item mall.






Post Date: 13:19 23-05-2011
Rating: 0
Author: Jantjuuh
Comment: haha shaiya...
If you haven't played it yet, believe me waste of time and your MONEY. Money ?? yes money, while it's a free game... Well let me tell you about this game. I played it for 3 years and spend a lot on AP ( aeriapoints ) we are talking about thousands of euro's. Anyway it is free but trust me to play the game for free... it sucks even harder. at the begin shaiya was awesome you could farm nice lapis and gear. Lapis is to upgrade your gear >>>> which fails a lot

Post Date: 23:21 26-10-2010
Rating: 0
Author: tatortot
Comment: Shaiya has absoltely the worst game managers in the industry.
They constantly and consistently exhibit their bias and unethical actions on a daily basis.
If you feel that you absolutely must play this game, DO NOT spend any real money on this game.
Without any notice or reason the GM`s routinely delete and ban accounts.If you spend any money on this game you can be sure that it will be money wasted.
Hacking, glitching and exploiting game flaws are the norm for this game.
Unethical GM actions include allowing big money spenders to habitually hack and cheat while banning or deleteing free players for reporting the big money hackers and cheaters.
Make no mistake about it this game is ALL about money.
People who spend the most money essentially own the GM`s and have free reign to violate any and all rules with impunity.
Game glitches are numerous and easily exploited in this game.As poorly made as the game is the Game management is far the greatest flaw with this game.
Do yourself a favor and just pass on this game.

Post Date: 23:33 21-10-2010
Rating: 0
Author: ImjustAfreeplayer
Comment: This game blows HAckers nough said Or the ppl that have been there since they released it the economy is trash but then again making money is only a matter of joining Raids for OI which is supposed to be 18 ppl going in but is really only dueld with 1 DD and 1 Healer you get to know the 5-7 ppl that do this very fast as they constantly spam for you to join the cost of items is still so outrages you have to join each and every raid that is offered which in the end takes most of your gameplay away trying to keep records of raids you joined then going to collect constantly you can however make some serious coin this way.....the problem? thats easy ppl are so greedy they wanna charge BILLIOPNS for anything thats worth while


The "Ultimate" mode WAHT A JOKE NOW THAT THEY UPDATED i played b4 the update and quiut and deleted everything shortly after used to be a goal to get UM toons so you could have more power and do more in game after the update they had nerfed them so bad that my lvl 38 priest that at 1 time would easily 1 hit lvl 20-25 mobs would now take 3-4 hit to kill off i think this was more a matter of aria wanting to leach more money out of the few morons that stick around and dump RL money in this outdated game

community wise- forget it their are a few few few amount of ppl that would help and the random one or two that were just awesome but 98 % of them were aragent self loathing morons that have spent way to much money on the game and refuse to let it go

to those i say enjoy myself i moved on to more advanced Mmos


all in all i rate this gam a big FAT 0 and if i coujld i would go lower

Post Date: 23:24 29-08-2010
Rating: 0
Author: ggggttttt
Comment: IMHO; no one should spend ANY REAL MONEY on Aeria game. Too many people have had their accounts seized for no real reason after spending alot of money while they have let other people hack in the game. They only care about making money and haved used the legaleese of their TOS to enable them to do what ever they want. WARNING DO NOT SPEND AND REAL MONEY OR TIME PLAYING AERIA GAMES. They also recently have knowingly banned players who are members of the United States Armed Forces for defending others who were banned. They are now constantly adjusting their games now to get people to spend more money. And if you can believe it they actually made roulette wheels to get people to gamble with their money (AP). Very sleazey IMHO. Again this is my experience from playing these games since Beta.




Post Date: 01:24 09-02-2010
Rating: 6
Author: futurekiller
Comment: Game is ok but not what u could call good pvp combat. Maybe it is just because i love extra good graphic games and war games that let u fight in wars such as warhammer online. The game is fine rely it is just that it could be a little more fun like maybe make the combat more exting like but the game is not bad.

Post Date: 06:07 14-12-2009
Rating: 5
Author: MylesRaines
Comment: Shaiya is a pretty popular game, probably Aeria Games' best game. And that's not saying much.

Story - The story is set in the world of...well, Unnamed we shall call it for now. There are two goddesses - the goddess of light, and the goddess of fury. They're at war with each other, and they call upon their forces of good (or evil) to wage war on the opposing goddess' forces.

There are a few sub stories and plots here and there, but they're extremely bland and uninteresting.


Graphics - The graphics in this game are decent for a FTPMMORPG. There are bloom effects, neat water effects, and decent character animations. Your character animates fairly decent, showing different animations for each skill, and a randomized animation for your normal attack.

NPCS look bland, and the models for them are used time and time again. I found at least twenty NPC models from the first part of the light side being used almost twenty levels later, in the second map.

Enemies also go through the same phase. At first, on each new map, there are a few new enemies that are introduced, but later on, they all look the same, being either re-colored or their size was enlarged a bit. The enemies also animate the same way for every model. The way they run, the way they attack - it all looks the same for each model.

The armor designs in this game are unique, but the armor never changes look when worn on different classes. Sure, there are class specific armors, but they all make the character base look the same. As you progress, they get a little more decorative, but they still retain the same look for the classes that wear them. The weapons all look great, and animate well, and the later weapons are pretty unique in design.

Sound - Shaiya's background music is comprised of adventurous orchestral pieces for walking around, and each town has its own little tune. When you enter battle against an AI enemy, a battle tune starts to play, which is pretty neat. But it repeats over most every map.

There are a few other pieces of music for each area, such as light, calm tunes and some fast paced combat tunes for certain areas.

The dungeons also have their own theme, setting a mood for dungeon crawling. The bosses in said dungeons also have their own, unique theme. They are all pretty average, and for a FTPMMORPG, they did a good job.

Quests - What do you expect from a Korean-originated MMORPG?

The quests are what you'd expect from a MMORPG - gather items, kill a certain number of enemies, and delivering items to a different NPC. They offer the basic rewards, such as EXP, currency, and maybe a rare item or two. There's not much else that can be said.

Gameplay - Gameplay in Shaiya is fairly straightforward. You have a basic interface, comprised of a mini map, your skill hot bar, your character's vital stats, and your exp bar. But an interesting twist is the Bless of Goddess bar.

As players fight in PvP, killing enemies of the opposing team and capturing "Ides", they gain Bless for their realm. As the Bless bar fills, the entire realm, on any map of that realm, is bestowed extra temporary stats, such as boosted strength, less EXP lost when killed, and critical hit rate is increased. When this bar fills, the realm is bestowed with double the number and rates of the normal boosts, and critical hit rates rise off the charts. It's a great mechanic that can really ease the grinding.

Speaking of grinding, once again, what do you expect from a Korean-originated MMORPG? The grind is basically the core of the game. You do it all the time, no matter what form it's in. All you're doing is trying to get that extra level so you can take on a few more of the same quests, and fight a few more enemies, and wear different armor.

Other Stuff - The community in general is actually pretty great. The members are VERY nice and helpful, and Aeria Games pulls an Infinity Ward move and involves their members in many events throughout their games. They even select a player to become a Game Sage (which is basically an admin with reduced powers) to help keep their games and forums safe.

Their item mall is pretty much what you'd expect from a FTPMMORPG. There are EXP boosting items, mounts, etc., all of which you have to pay real money for.

All in all, the grind is what killed the cat. I'd give it a 5.

Post Date: 03:22 05-12-2009
Rating: 0
Author: pirsquared
Comment: I enjoyed the game until a "game sage" accused me of hacking, then called me a liar when I told him I wasn't hacking. While I waited for the "game sage" to get a "game master" to sort it out, I was booted from the game. Upon trying to log in, I found that my account login was disabled. This is after putting considerable time into the game. I recommend staying clear of Aeria Games to avoid this kind of treatment. I have heard that there is considerable hacking in the game, but now I wonder what percentage of perceived hacking actually is hacking. It reminds me of people who blame nearly every computer problem on a virus due to their limited knowledge.

Post Date: 08:34 19-11-2009
Rating: 5
Author: tsengril
Comment: Starts out okay but becomes pretty frustrating in the long run. Don't waste your time. It has the same problems most (all?) free to play games have. It's a grindfest and beyond that there isn't much to do.

Shaiya's a pretty game and has some great ideas but they're implemented poorly and it ends up leading to a pretty frustrating experience. You'll have difficulty reaching a level where you can compete with the top 2 or 3 guilds because they won't let you kill the bosses to get items to power up. Aeria gives them free run and if they're strong enough to take the boss away from you, you're out of luck.

PVP would be really fun except that you'll be heavily outnumbered if you pick the wrong faction on the wrong server. Throw in massive lag, tons of hacking/cheating, and nothing to do except grind, it loses its appeal pretty quickly.

If you do want to spend some money in the cash store, you'll find most things are outrageously prices for the effect they have. Something that lasts for an hour or two may cost you $5. Something that keeps your characters from instant death for a month costs somewhere around $40.

Could be great, but the implementation lets a handful of players really hinder the gameplay for everyone else.

Post Date: 21:04 16-11-2009
Rating: 7
Author: TerraChia
Comment: The game has big ups and downs. In town you're flooded with noobish messages, people talking with more numbers and !s than anything. Quests will push you up pretty far pretty fast, but the momentum is lost quickly. What you begin to notice as you truly begin to learn the word "grind" (though in truth you do not yet fathom the depth of what it means to be grinding at level 49 hard mode -_- ) This game is fun for a good while, given that you join a guild you like and enjoy grinding with them for a disgusting amount of hours. Each mode (normal, hard, ultimate) has 50 levels before you can unlock the next one. Hard mode requires twice the experience to level as normal but you get more stats and it helps a lot to be HM in PVP. Ultimate mode is do-able if you buy specialty items to resurrect you, otherwise your character and all your stuff will disappear when you die! The graphics are fine, not all of us have wonderful computers so the medium level graphics are nice on the comp. It's not long, however, before you notice that everyone looks the same as you! There are two races, two sexes, and only a few classes. All of which come with a certain look. The armor is beautiful, a complete set for every few levels (like 20-25, at which point it begins integrating into a new set) which is unique to both light and dark sides. Speaking of, PVP is totally and completely overrun! What really happens is you stand at the altar, presuming to push back the enemy horde, and then they charge you. A swarm of 100+ with little red names hovering above them, looking basically like a sea of ants coming your way. And then you're hit. And no, you won't make it, because everyone is 'nossed' on specialty items and immediately cuts you down.
I've quit the game some time ago, but when I think of it now mostly I remember the good times I had with my friend and my guildmaster grinding in a dungeon, me spamming heals their way waiting for the pleasant sound of 'ding' when someone leveled.

Post Date: 22:01 15-10-2009
Rating: 10
Author: slo1506
Comment: Truthfully a great game, great community and gameplay. Definitely try it.

Post Date: 22:58 30-09-2009
Rating: 5
Author: kingsblade42100
Comment: This game is not bad, when i started i thought this was going to be a 8 but it wasn't as great as i had hoped.

Pros
cool characters
fun battleing
perfect weapons
fair characters


Cons
horrid graphics
bad paying system
stupid moving system
bad quests

Post Date: 20:19 03-09-2009
Rating: 2
Author: russoriot
Comment: This game is really bad, but I'm coming from playing WoW. The graphics are terrible the character actions skills and movements are very bad. The overall skills are lacking in style and the pvp is really button mashing a few combos and hoping you can just out damage your opponent. For the price of 10usd for 1k aria Game points you could just buy a subscription for WoW or any other good MMO. The quests in this game really lack in any aspect just grind mobs or deliver something. I find too that its not so much lag but actual timings on the skills. This is just another Korean grind fest and is really outdated. I find that the community is not made up of any hardcore gamers and mostly age from 12-17. Who really lack the knowledge of playing a true MMORPG. There are many other good free MMOs out there I feel this is not even worthy of the top ten. Why do I have to pay to upgrade an item that might fail. If you want to throw away money I would gladly collect it for you.

Post Date: 13:56 31-08-2009
Rating: 8
Author: Hyp47
Comment: I only played this for 15mins, but the graphics r good (my pc cant run it well, thats why i dont play this) u can see reflections on the sword which is very cool, many of the f2p mmo dont have this, n also this char movement capabilities like pressing 2x WW whice will make run automatic, or pressing 2x Q or E it will make a cool movement

I RECOMMEND THIS GAME

Post Date: 01:45 31-07-2009
Rating: 7
Author: boody2010
Comment: hi i read soem reviews and it said in ultimate mode u can die permenetly well wat lvl u hev to be to unlock ultimate???

Post Date: 01:16 19-07-2009
Rating: 6
Author: MakinSushi
Comment: Well....


I gave it a try, and game gets REALLY boring after lvl 15... At first the appealing graphics and character designs kept me going, but soon even that wasn't enough. Everything was just.. grinding... boring quests (more like running errands =_= ).

I didn't have any trouble with lagging at all, but players (including me ^_^;; ) are mostly unfriendly but it seemed really pointless to make a party or anything because there weren't a lot of team-based activities...

I wish the character class and customization had a greater variety... Sorry, now I'm just whining XD

Post Date: 21:25 19-05-2009
Rating: 10
Author: InsanityReigns
Comment: One of the great F2P games Aeria has to offer. :)

Post Date: 13:34 07-05-2009
Rating: 6
Author: Lysha1
Comment: I'm playing Shaiya for a while and I can say it's alright. The graphics are good, especially cos it's free. Unfortunately, after a while this game gets quite boring because of the lacking story. The world is large enough to do whatever you want to and there are lots of quests and animals, but overall it's just running and fighting. It could have been so much better, if only the story was better.

In my opinion it doesn't matter whether you're on the dark or light side, it's all the same. I'd prefer the light side for esthetical reasons, and no other. I can't say the dark race is a very pretty race :)

It's good that you earn better armour by finishing quests. This way you won't have the ability to buy better armour than you can handle, as it is in LastChaos (also from Aeria). That's quite useless, isn't it?

So.. a well-earned 6 from me, for the graphics in this free game. Shaiya is a good way to get known with (free) MMORPG's.

Post Date: 00:07 03-04-2009
Rating: 5
Author: s3q
Comment: PvP is NOT amazing LOL. Just go to the Aeria Games forum and read about it yourself. A part of it is the players, but people in general tend to be not too bright and get nasty; there is nothing special about the Shaiya community (good or bad). If you're wondering what PvP is really like, please do a thorough research now instead of regretting after many hours and/or purchases.
PvE is crowded on Lailah; so if you're new, then start on Etain.

Post Date: 09:00 24-03-2009
Rating: 6
Author: acxrockerxdc
Comment: The good:
Really cool pvp system, pretty graphics

The bad:
The monsters are way to spread out, which means, slow grinding. Crap combat...really slow, kinda reminds you of runescape.

The weird:
Theres nudity xD

Post Date: 03:35 16-03-2009
Rating: 5
Author: Spadez88
Comment: I am currently playing this and over all its not bad...very very boreing after lvl 15 or so. no real character development as in the story in my MHO is really horrid. lack of gear and class's makes me kinda sad. archers and assasins have same armor so customization is not top notch. very few monster types to fight. PVE lacks. and population stinks with very unfriendly players. on the plus side, great PVP light ussaly wins on my server.music is new never heard anything like it befor. graphics are great for a free game and down load time is fast even on my POS computer. great guild options. theres alot more negs and positives but i dont feel like its worth stateing.

over all a 5 i can find as many good things and bad. but hey try it your self you may fall in love with it but iam gonna give another game a try.

Post Date: 01:28 07-03-2009
Rating: 7
Author: djbob25
Comment: this game is really good PvP is amazing but it only fun on HM if you are a tank mage or priest so if you dont like those classes this game really inst that fun

Post Date: 22:27 03-03-2009
Rating: 9
Author: awesomedrako
Comment: One of the best PVP as soon as you get onto hard mode or ultimate mode, so advice is to pick a Fighter class or Mage class to level as fast as possible through normal mode, then get on hard mode as soon as you unlock it, i still haven't got to hard mode yet, and i can only play on weekends, so a calculate i should be on hard mode in under 2 months

the community was good for me though, this party of (what seemed like) close friends let me in their party to help me complete a quest

its very satisfying with to use AoE spells and kill about 12 monsters at the same time XD

Post Date: 04:55 27-02-2009
Rating: 7
Author: Milai
Comment: Awesome pvp, unfortunately this is a grind fest. One of the best f2p games out there if you can handle the grind.

Post Date: 08:11 23-02-2009
Rating: 9
Author: Akyrii
Comment: I played this game for a year. It has definitely replay and staying power.

The graphics were satisfactory, the concept was brilliant, excellent PvP system, great guild competition, good gameplay, and very fun characters.

The story was lacking, but seriously, if you're playing a game for story, you picked the wrong genre. Play a console RPG. MMOs have nothing to do with story.

The drawback was it's community and it's company. It's overrun by greed and monopolization. Unless you spend thousands (yes thousands), you won't be able to compete on a realistic level.

Unbelievably good game for being F2P ruined by a bad community and a company that doesn't care about its players.

I'm going to have to give it a 9/10 anyway though. It's not the developers fault that the players are bad.

Post Date: 17:56 20-02-2009
Rating: 3
Author: darkreign11
Comment: Graphics : so so. characters and mobs tend to be more well done then the environments they are placed in. magic effects, etc are a bit bland.

Gameplay : less than sufficient AI. Very simple skills set. Not enough quests where it forces the player to grind for levels. Awesome PvP battles.

Content : Nice selection of mounts. Few armors/weapons etc to wear. NEED more gear.

Mobs : Not very many types but those they have are nice. NEED more mob types.

Controls : very sluggish. Highly needs improvement for better reactivity.

Story : As far as a story .. what story? The game does a horrible job bringing that across. If they want it better npc's and quests NEED to reflect that. Otherwise its a blah blah next sort. Need to draw people into the game.

Overall : tons of grinding with a lacking in PvE & story. Only shinning grace here is the PvP. Oh and for those saying its FREE get over that. It is not. FREE to login but to do anything worthwhile in what little PvE it has, or PvP you PAY! Payment is not a free concept...

Post Date: 11:40 07-02-2009
Rating: 7
Author: ThePunkGamr15
Comment: Fantastic MMORPG. I played with lots of fun en it pretty addictive but you get bored because, there are just a few quests per level, when your let me say lvl 37 you will get 2 to 4 quests but the experience you get from those quests are so little that you will have to train for 3 or 4 days to levelup. My rate is an 7.

Post Date: 01:25 03-02-2009
Rating: 5
Author: S3q
Comment: o.o oh hey InnerMonster :P
Well, it looks like I canNOT grind since Shaiya gets SO HARD -.- I think for the less dedicated players, the game gets boring. It'll be a long while before you get to do the next interesting thing, such as farming for drops or fighting bosses. Meanwhile, fierce competition from other players can really make things worse.
The graphics is kinda nice, but not so nice that I can't run the game hehe. I know a lot of people like the WASD movement system, but I think every game should give the option of not having to point-and-click don't you agree ^.~

Post Date: 02:16 29-01-2009
Rating: 9
Author: InnerMonster
Comment: Shaiya is overall a good game to consider. The graphics is awesome and the gameplay is somewhat complex. There's a lot of weapons and armors u can choose from and u can even upgrade their stats. Each class has its own unique role and its rly fun to party with other classes.

I read that some ppl dont like the money spending part or the exp grinding. Although money spending is optional and it does give u an edge over others- to me its no big deal. U can earn AP (Aeria Points, what you buy with ur money then cash in for special boosts/items) or u can get rich in game and use in game gold to buy the cash items. ITS NOT THAT HARD. Exp grinding can get slow but theres no point in lvling too fast.

Post Date: 01:47 29-01-2009
Rating: 7
Author: ScareCrow
Comment: This review is based on my experience in Shaiya, and that of a friend.

Shaiya is a fantasy MMORPG made by Aeria, who have also made popular games such as 12Sky and Last chaos.

The game is free, that combined with it"s wonderful graphics makes it eye catching.

Upon logging in for the first time you are given a choice between the two factions: The Alliance of Light and the Union of Fury. Being the wonderful, good person that I am, I go with light.

This choice dictates where you will play in the game, although the to sides are almost exactly mirrored in terms of classes.

After picking one of the three servers, you are taken to your character management menu. I then click on create character. I am then taken to a character creation where I can choose various things such as my character"s race (Elf and Human for Light, Vail and Death Eater for Dark), looks, height, gender and name. I can also choose my characters class.

The classers are Mirrored between Light and Dark like so:

Fighter/Warrior
Mage/Pagan
Preist/Oracle
Archer/Hunter
Defender/Guardian
Ranger/Assassin

Following the advice of my friend I make a mage. The reason being is because in Shaiya there are 4 game modes: Easy, Normal, Hard and Ultimate. Ultimate mode could result in the permanent death of a character. When you start the game only Easy and Normal are avaliable. After completing Normal mode you unlock Hard mode, after completing hard mode you unlock Ultimate mode. Since the game doesn"t truly begin until hard mode, it is recommend you use the fastest possible way to level, hence a mage.

A few minutes in my faction gain the blessing of the goddess. This is a metre at the bottom right of the screen which slowly fill up when players do various things, such as win a 1500/1500 faction battle, or defeat a boss. With this blessing many of my stats are increased and various other bonuses are givin to every member of my faction.

At first the quests seem everywhere, but soon enough they will become rare and far between, until at level 20 you will bearly be able to find any at all. This game is a grind-fest. Theres no way of getting around it. The best thing you can do is turn on some music and wait till you reach the level cap on hard mode.

It is at this point where you can truly play the mass pvp. A friend let me play it on his level 60 hard mode character and it"s worth all the grind.

This game takes a dedicated player, but once you reach the level cap on hard mode, this game really becomes something you think about all day and dream about.

7/10, The grind is bad but the PvP evens it out.

Post Date: 05:15 12-01-2009
Rating: 7
Author: Cinder
Comment: Shaiya its an okay game.

Post Date: 20:31 01-01-2009
Rating: 6
Author: Paulio
Comment: good graphics, grind-fest all the way

Post Date: 07:54 10-12-2008
Rating: 3
Author: Danthe
Comment: good game for the people who enjoy pvp, nice pvp in faction vs. faction map, but if u dont have a good credit card better stay away, lots of overpowered people who have lots of real money to spend who will kill you in 1-2 shots in pvp.
graphics are decent
grind is insane after lvl 40 in hard mode
give a try, but u will be dissapointed when you will se what money can buy in this game (is free... but whitout money you are useless)

Post Date: 20:53 30-11-2008
Rating: 9
Author: SublimeJester
Comment: I think Shaiya is a great game. You can get some pretty sweet looking equipment and then put lapis into them to buff your characters stats more. I think the pvp is a lot of fun for the most part, really gets intense sometimes. I strongly recommend checking it out if youre into playing rpg with good character building and lots of other people.

Post Date: 07:55 15-11-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Meadhlyn
Comment: Every mmorpg lover should have tried this one :) And once you do, you gonne stick with (I promise). Shaiya has nice graphics and intense gameplay (you got to love the pvp with the light vs dark side). The community is very friendly and helpful. No weeks goes by without a few events hosted. It's not too late to start Shaiya and soon episode 4 will come out so don't miss the fun ! Shaiya is free forever so what are you waiting for ? Go Download it!

Post Date: 01:47 28-09-2008
Rating: 9
Author: Scifide
Comment: Great game, love the dungeons and monsters. The PvP thing is quite extensive and it's pretty cool. The armour is bland until you get to over lvl30 yeah. You can put 'lapises' on some armour to make it more powerful.
Grinding drives you insane sometimes (especially in hard mode).
Great game though, certainly worth a try!
(and theleio don't you mean "goddessly"? xD)

Post Date: 14:23 20-09-2008
Rating: 7
Author: hazzacool
Comment: Shaiya is a good game for if you like lvling games its crap for pvp i game plays fun soo altogether it gets a 7

Post Date: 10:17 05-09-2008
Rating: 9
Author: Theleio
Comment: This game is, in essence, great. It's got the makings for the ultimate experience. Well, if you like grinding, that is.

PVP in this game is GODLY. It's so fun that you won't see the majority of the players in the PVE maps; they're in PVP enjoying themselves.

I couldn't find a better game out there. The graphics are GREAT, and the download is actually pretty tiny. The weapons are sort of bland, and so is the armor, but that changes once you reach about level 30.

Oh, and quests are boring. Don't do 'em unless you want equipment...or if you like doing them. Meh.

PVP affects the game in various ways via Blessing of Goddess, which is a constant magical ability that gives the players throughout the game (depending on which side you chose) certain buffs and abilities that wouldn't normally be available. For example, the Light side is doing great in the PVP map, and they eventually get the Blessing bar full. This activates the full Blessing, which gives double EXP gain, items don't lose durability as fast, more gold drops, better item drops, etc..

It's a great concept that's obviously been thought through, but it's still not perfect. It's getting there, though.

For a fairly new game, it's awesome. It makes me want to wait and see what they come up with next. Thanks, Aeria Games!


Post Date: 15:20 25-08-2008
Rating: 10
Author: ColdKilla222
Comment: This game is full of fun for both sides! It is split up (obviously) between the lightside and darkside. There are multiple classes you can choose from to reek havoc on the other side.

Post Date: 14:22 13-08-2008
Rating: 9
Author: Lumimancer
Comment: Many ages later...I rate this game.
Shaiya is much better than before now, with two servers instead of one. There are much more people and more people to help you. Overall, this game has improved greatly. It still lags a little, though.
The graphics and especially the music are great and you need to grind a little, like most MMORPGs. The world of Shaiya is HUGE, with several maps to explore. There are a load of quests, but they get boring sometimes. The game is great, but the only thing limiting is the character customisation. The charaters all seem to look alike, and the armor all seem to lack colour until you get to the higher levels.

In the end, it is defineatly worth it to download the game and give it a try!

Post Date: 00:22 13-08-2008
Rating: 6
Author: ubermensch
Comment: Graphics 9/10
Sound 7/10
Innovation 2/10
Community 3/10

Pretty to look at. But beyond that it's really monotonous. Each class has a set of gear and the gear looks the same, but as you get better gear, you'll get another little small addition to your costume. So basically what I'm trying to say is that they used one set of gear and added more pieces on it as you get stronger. It's kinda hard to explain, but you'll see what I mean if you play the game. So it's kinda lame in that sense.

Most of the players are lacking in any real intelligence and are less than likely to help you and just end up calling you a n00b.

Like I said before, nothing in the game really changes are you progress except you'll see small detail that look different.

The only other bad part is that once you get to level 20, mission/quests start becoming more rare. So grinding becomes a huge aspect of the game, and once you do get a quest, it's the same old thing: kill X number of Y, or find X number of Y.

Still kinda fun, at least until level 20.

Post Date: 12:46 06-08-2008
Rating: 8
Author: orasis
Comment: Are you sick of the cartoony direction that many F2P mmorpg's have taken? Do you wish you could have a game that was serious, and seriously adult? (Shaiya is officially 18+) Do you like to have linked quests that make sense, some of them so well written that they will touch your heart? (Wait until you find out what happened to Cunis sister!)

If you said yes to any of the above you MUST try Shaiya .. great graphics, well linked quests, and a bit of grind - no more or less than what WOW has.

Give it a try if you're a bit more mature you will love this game.

Post Date: 03:07 03-08-2008
Rating: 8
Author: W1w1W
Comment: Another great Game from aeria games......download IMMEDIATLY.....ECXELLANT GAME

Post Date: 15:47 01-06-2008
Rating: 5
Author: opresser
Comment: Now, if you're looking for another korean grinding mmoRPG, this game is for you. There are many games like this out including, 9 dragons, Kal online, cabal online, 2 moons.. need I go on?

As it saysin there advertisment, Most anticipated game of 2007, It is not.

Here is my review on another cash shop, grind fest, noob infested crap pile.

Graphics 73.4355%
Sound 40.454%
Community 25.4545%
Innovation 34.545%

Overall 47.5454% - Definetly not reccomended.

Post Date: 10:18 03-05-2008
Rating: 9
Author: minavain
Comment: I played this game when it still was in closed beta, and i liked it. There was some bugs but that's why beta-testing is for. PvP is awesome, you get way faster levels in PvP than normally killing monsters.
When you reach the ultimate mode and create a character on that mode, you really die when you die.

Post Date: 01:28 21-04-2008
Rating: 8
Author: jjdragon60
Comment: wow this game is... good. its better than most other mmo's but it's a grat game! a little grindy, but it has grat graphics. i reccomend to people. try it, and see for urself!

Post Date: 15:32 14-03-2008
Rating: 0
Author: Heavy Mc Guy
Comment: It is really bad. Don´t download. U don´t even get to play the game (if u have f-secure and net controll on, you won´t be able to make name=can´t play). So, i dunno anything more about it, but i bet airea invests time to put commercials everywhere.

Post Date: 11:58 04-03-2008
Rating: 0
Author: Rael
Comment: Horrible game. It has only 1 server with not even 2000 active people. Noone plays it. Full of bugs and lag. Power abusive GMs that ban people constantly for every little stupid thing. Really bad players, horrible attitude and no hlep at all. Worst game ever, nobody play and most people quit it. It sox!

Post Date: 17:26 02-03-2008
Rating: 7
Author: Amos
Comment: nice game from aeria games they have a few good games out there now, this one felt like lineage 2 but without the grind, rewarding quests and what not, definatley give it a go in my books

Post Date: 21:56 20-02-2008
Rating: 9
Author: kingfire28
Comment: i love the game, the graphic is pretty good, it's cool take a long time leveling up though. i'll give it a 9

Post Date: 21:28 12-02-2008
Rating: 10
Author: NightFall381
Comment: this game is the best MMORPG ever released, even though it gets laggy at times, everything else makes up for it, the graphics, the gameplay, the features, etc...it't totally worth the download time and space.

Post Date: 19:07 12-02-2008
Rating: 0
Author: JasmineRose
Comment: played this game last night thinking oh a new game i will give this a chance.That was my first mistake.My second was as soon as i made my account and logged on noticing there was only ! server thats usually busy and laggy from the one nice random person told me.I say i nice random person because you will be lucky to finmd one helpfull person on this game. Even the one GM who runs the site is a jerk and wont help with anything. Anyway even though i had a billion questions that the website didnt answer a GM who was unconcerned at best,one laggy server and a whole host of rude players that gave no help. I decided to least check out game play and graphics. Graphics are okay, but there no better then most new free mmorpgs. The gameplay was average.Oh and the you do have graphics sound and user options but they are very wacky.Game play was average click and hit type of combat with a few spells which no matter which race you play or side you basically do same quest. If your looking for a waste of time game that makes you feel like you have accomplished nothing then this game is for you.Overall they need to spend less time on making there *buy with real cash item mall* and spend more time on working on there game.Give me a break ! 1server maybe a few hundred people and a item mall!!!!!!!! I wonder what this game is trying to accomplish....

Post Date: 17:34 05-02-2008
Rating: 3
Author: Korb3n
Comment: This Game is great if your broke, and can't play anything else. Glitches can be overlooked easily. Game is inbalanced though. It's obvious that the developers favor the Fury. More players to that side, pvp bases work better, and from hearsay, the stats are better.
If you want to have fun in pvp, dont go alliance til the stackage is taken care of.

Post Date: 03:31 31-01-2008
Rating: 10
Author: tidus3070
Comment: quite a good game. it does have some flaws but that is expected from a game in beta. graphics are great and pvp is surperb. some flaws however, some quests i found you couldn't finish and some monsters you couldn't fight. small flaws still an awsome game. defenitly should look into.

Post Date: 02:13 31-01-2008
Rating: 10
Author: GoDz
Comment: Beautiful game, good graphics, love the pvp. Definetely a game you should all check out, and Aeria offers a variety of other amazing free games.

Post Date: 20:43 30-01-2008
Rating: 9
Author: DarkSoldier90
Comment: This game so fun, and amazing!!
Graphics are amazing and way better then most games.
IT'S FREE! 6 Classes 4 Races Good Vs Evil!
MOUNTABLE PETS!
Hoping to have crafting, more customization(I don't like when people look like me, its creepy), More Armor and weapon assortments ( not that much armors and weapons) Other then that Shaiya is amazing, and you should play it!

Post Date: 14:47 14-12-2007
Rating: 9
Author: WhoAmI?
Comment: This game is my passion :)
(To darknino thats why they have closed OB to fix bugs like the text ;)

Post Date: 19:38 13-12-2007
Rating: 9
Author: darknino
Comment: Good game, though u have to grind quite alot and some of the Enlish translations aren't great. But besides from that it's great.

Post Date: 13:18 07-12-2007
Rating: 10
Author: ShayiaNICE
Comment: Shaiya-Light and Darkness was recently opened by Aeria Games (that first did this game on some asian language) on english.

It"s free forever,NEW advanced grafics,4playable races 2good(Human,Elfs) 2evil(Vail,Death Eathers),huge game maps,pvp maps there u fight good vs evil(pvp can you do from lv1-lvl****),full screen,no lagg,fun quests,coolest pets,you can choose playing with your mouse or with the keyboard(like WoW),exp from killing people,a cool mode selection and very fun to play!





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.