Star Trek Online


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


In this sci-fi MMORPG from Cryptic Studios, players can pioneer their own destiny as Captain of a Federation starship. Or, they can become a Klingon Warlord and expand the Empire to the far reaches of the galaxy. Players will have the opportunity to visit iconic locations from the popular Star Trek fiction, reach out to unexplored star systems, and make contact with new alien species. With Episode Missions, every moment spent playing Star Trek Online will feel like a new Star Trek episode in which you are the star. Immerse yourself in the future of the Trek universe as it moves into the 25th century: a time of shifting alliances and new discoveries.

Total Rating: 6.52
Reviews: 21

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 21:46 14-05-2015
Rating: 10
Author: Spiral Storm
Comment: Wow! Never in all the years of MMORPG gaming did I ever think I would rate ANY MMORPG game a 10. As my past reviews note, I base my game reviews on here on several varying factors. Therefore, without further ado, here are the defining scores for the game factors of the amazing Star Trek Online!...

Gameplay-Smooth, fairly easy, and fairly straightforward...If one player knows what he or she is doing and getting themselves into. You are given the ability to create a character, who can be just as awesome and unique as you are. The races to select from are almost as various as the races of humans in the real world-So let your imagination skyrocket here! There are plenty of other customization options for character creation as well. Add onto this three different Classes (Tactical, Science, and Engineering) and three different factions (Romulan, Klingon, or Starfleet) and you'll have much fun simply creating your character! The tutorial is a blast, where you get lots of good, free starting equipment, plus a free starship! Now this IS a blast! Plus, your first climatic space battle is an epic battle to take part in...At least it will if you're playing as a Starfleet Officer. The controls are a little tough to handle at first, but if you're like me, then you'll be able to easily customize your controls to your liking. Just be sure to save your loadout when you're finished. Plus, did I mention there is no death penalty on the normal difficulty? Oh hell yesh! You heard right! Plus, the chances of dying before one reaches Level 10 are slim to none! Tons more fun! If this wasn't enough, you're given your own NPC crew to command!

Items-Tons of useful space-age items to make use of. Sure, there are some items which are somewhat confusing to figure out-Like those career-specific module kits and some ship equipment. However, Star Trek Online has it's very own wiki chock full of useful information on items like these. The only drawback to having so many items in the game-They tend to clog up one's inventory. This is fairly easily solved by Transwarping to Earth-Spacedock and selling off items you feel you're not going to make use of. Hint: If an item says 'Mark I' and you're using 'Mark IV' or higher items, then it's time to either ditch those Mark I items or simply store them in your bank for their sentimental value.

Weapons-Again, there are tons of useful weapons for every Class and occasion. Your NPC's can even have their own weapons, items, and armor! The reason the weapons in this game are so cool is because...1: They have unlimited ammunition. 2: They never break down completely. 3: They never need reloading, unless you're firing their special attack! There are two main types of weapons in this game, which are broken down into further categories...There are melee weapons and guns. Well, the guns are good for long-range damage, but can be used as melee weapons in a pinch. However, the melee weapons typically deal more damage than some of their gun-counterparts. The weapons for starships are even more awesome, simply because, if nothing else, they can blow other starships into thousands of blazing pieces of rubble! And like the ground weapons, there are two main types of space weapons-Beam weapons and more powerful torpedoes. I would highly recommend every starship have at least one beam weapon and one torpedo. I won't get into the many different varieties here, though. And yes, to compare this game to System Shock 2, which I could not get enough of, most, if not all of the weapons on this game ARE in fact better than most of the weapons on System Shock 2. The only weapon Star Trek doesn't seem to have is the Laser Saber/Sword/Rapier. I guess the developers weren't keen on encroaching on the sacred weapon grounds of Star Wars...

Ammo-No need to concern myself with ammo, because none of the weapons in this game use or need ammo! Now this is a wonderful thing to have in a space-age game like this one.

Armor-Yesh, this game DOES have armor and yeah it IS awesome! Like weapons, there are many different variations of armor. However, most of them don't really differ in appearance. However, they vary widely in their stats and also their types. There are also shields in this game, which act as a protection in addition to the armor this game has to offer. What self-respecting sci-fi game wouldn't have shields for players and their massive and powerful starships? And seeing as how the starships have such powerful shields, naturally, they don't really need extra armor, do they?

Plot-Every game has it's plot, well this game is no different. However, the plot of this game is actually split up into multiple plots, each one having it's own series of quests. All quests are meant for a certain level to complete. However, they not only provide a wonderful storyline, they are also almost guaranteed to level up your character, even if it is only one level at a time? One of my favorite plots in the game so far, has been the Romulan Mystery Arc. I won't spoil the fun for you here, though. While reading the storylines is entertaining, sometimes, you'll find yourself in the middle of hot firefights and you may have to skip the dialogue in order to deal with pesky enemies.

Characters-A lot of my favorite characters can be found in the various quests I can complete. Plus, your NPC bridge officers can be customized basically to your liking and given unique names, backgrounds, and even looks. At one point, it is even possible to see and gauge the abilities of other players and their selection of Bridge Officer NPC's. Plus, there are several characters who you'll no doubt run into who will have dark and/or mysterious backgrounds. And with an ability to provide a background for your own character and even your bridge officers, who wouldn't want a dark or mysterious past?

Sound-Very awesome sound and very true to the actual Star Trek Series! Not only this, but none of the sounds are vulgar or obscene in any way, shape, or form! It isn't easy to find MMORPG's with no disgusting or dumb humor these days. The only slight embarressment one might find would be a singing Klingon. Otherwise, you'll hear nothing but footsteps, gunfire, blows landing, ships warping, players beaming in and out of places, and the occasional sound of a cloaking Klingon Starship.

Music-Well, certainly not bad, but not great either. In fact, one song in Sector Space has been my favorite since the very start of the game. Unfortunately, I see no way to download any of the game's music or select what music one wants to hear while in battle with various aliens. However, there is a way to integrate one's own music into the game using it's wonderful music player! This nifty tool surely lets you rock out while blasting enemy starships out of space! The only music which can't be shut off is the music which plays while inside of certain bars in various places. Now if this isn't a reason to make you wanna give STO a try, then perhaps...

Graphics-Wonderful state-of-the-art graphics! Just marvelous! The way the characters, the enemies, the NPC's, their chatheads, outer space, planets, and more appear visually is fascinating! It can be intriguing, scary, or anything in between. Granted, while completing mission/quests, you're going to feel as though you're having a space battle, then sending an away team down to a planet or space station or starship, then finishing up and fighting another space battle. However, if one was to take in the atmosphere, then one really has nothing to worry about other than completing your mission.

Final Score-I was going to wait until reaching Max Level on this game (Currently 60) before having written this review, however, I simply could not wait. I am effectively entranced by this game and every aspect of it. And seeing as how it's free to play all the way to Level 60, there was no single reason for me to not get back into playing it! Especially not after having tried it out once back in 2013 and having to quit because my computer back then really couldn't hack it. Needless to say, the new tutorial is better than over. The game does have it's glitches here and there. However, there is almost always a solution for every problem/glitch found. My score-10 out of 10!

Post Date: 19:40 01-07-2014
Rating: 8
Author: ChanceSolo
Comment: A fun romp, lots of ships you can own. Interesting mix of missions, with players using the Foundry tool being able to create their own. Seasonal events can be fun. Lots of lock boxes though.

Post Date: 12:17 21-03-2014
Rating: 8
Author: ivekvv256
Comment: The graphich isn't really good (for my taste), but the game itself isn't bad. Its fun for me to play it cause i like space games.

Post Date: 08:34 24-04-2012
Rating: 5
Author: KuroTsuna
Comment: Star trek online is a game with a space settings. the design of this game is simple maybe too plain, not very realistic. The gameplay is a bit bored, it's fun once in a while.

Post Date: 06:20 24-04-2012
Rating: 5
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: This game is good, for a space game.. I don't really like this game though. I don't like these kind of genres but it was, as I said, good for the genre. But I wouldn't really spend my time on this game because I know there's many other game that I'd rather play.

Post Date: 03:46 15-02-2011
Rating: 9
Author: sasuke24
Comment: his is a nice MMORPG with plenty adventure. Also the graphics is awesome too.

Post Date: 22:58 13-04-2010
Rating: 2
Author: Kalthanose
Comment: Rating this a 2 based on the follwing.

I am a star trek fan and yes i am going to hate on sto.

This review takes out community casue realy thier are goods and bads in every mmo and i normaly dont get into that to much its to situational and also view point oriented (ill see someone pk someone else and think cool i want to know ho he is even if iw as pked and see wha type of person he is not damn that guy he is a nub and sucks at this game blah blah blah, did you guess im a pk lol)

1. the only good point i can see is that graphics are decent not the best but decent.

2. the implementation of the factions the borders and the ability to interact with each is sad, sorry but being a star trek fan i know that even if thier is an allaince between factions thier still neutral zone problems along with raiding and spying. Saying that the klingons and federation are on the verge of war and wait i can fly right by a federation ship within my own territory or half of a territory and not engage him directly is just bad. Klingons are limited to thier couple sectors and cant move out of them which is also terrable.

3. Ships are not balanced very well to anything we have seen on any star trek show,now i know this is an mmo but come on, theve turned the star trek ships into funny cartoons IMO. Supper power on my BOP or Defiant and watch i fire so fast its not funny. Dominion wars buggy or not showd more accuratlyw hat tey coul do.

4. the way BO's work just bad the abilities removes it from being anything even close to a star trek game and puts it somewhere else.

5. I can understand gamefreak giving the content 5/10 but im sorry i think thats generous. 3/10 is more appropriate well 2.5 of 10 the amount missing from fed side is terrable while the klingons have none of it lol oh wait a couple things.

Recap: story line is bismal, pvp is a joke, balance is a major issue(fix klingon tactial so the ship skills affect their omega strikes and so forth so we get 90% like the feds instead of 30 lol and they complain about klingons haha just wait,)graphics are subpar for the time of release, concept of non interaction between your two player factions except in the bad arenas fail yet again, interface: gamefreak got it right 2/10.

game is not passable with terrable implementation of every aspect of the game.

Post Date: 07:58 26-02-2010
Rating: 4
Author: speed
Comment: I agree with gamefreak, STO is unfinished. I had high hopes but they have been dashed by the subpar MMO.

Post Date: 04:57 20-02-2010
Rating: 6
Author: gamefreak565
Comment: I"ve played the beta, and a week in to what is supposed to be the finished aspect of the game.

I"ll get straight to the reviewing, though.


Graphics 7/10

For a new MMO, I was expecting next generation graphics. What I found was a game that had around 2005-2006 graphics with a lack of shader use. However, some of the texturing is passable, and the character customization leaves nothing behind. For that, the game gets a 7/10.

Sound 6/10

Again, for a new game, especially one with such a title to live by as star trek, I was expecting good music, tracks, etc. I found those. However the voice acting in the game is terrible, and is certainly not where it is needed. The only remotely good voice acting is what comes out of Leonard Nemoy aka Spock.

Community 9/10

What to say. The community seemed very mature for me. Not a lot of those 1337 kids around in STO.

Interface 2/10

This is where the game hits the shitter. Horrible interface and control issues, from simple unresponsiveness to mission text coming up in the middle of a battle. You will go into a mission, and be attacked as soon as you arrive in some occasions, leaving the mission text to be scrolled through while your ship is getting vaporized. Annoying? To say the least.

Content 5/10

I have to pass this with a simple 50% as the content involved in STO is the bear minimum required for a mmorpg to function. You will have those classic, go and kill this many enemies and the scan this and come back sort of missions. Exploration is a joke, as there is simply nothing noteworthy to explore. To go along with this mentioning of exploration, it turns out you can"t even explore your own ship. With the exception of the bridge, which, ironically, doesn"t do a damn thing. Finally, the sides are very unbalanced. For example, there are two factions. Federation and Klingon. Federation is PvE and PvP, as it should be. However, Klingon is PvP only. This leaves masses of players on the Federation side and dwindling amounts on the Klingon side. This results in poor PvP, usually ending with the Federation annihilating the Klingons.

Gameplay 4/10

This area is another point in where the game cannot be passed. Let us start with the main focus of the game. Space.

Where to start? Well it"s a basic space game. You point your ship at your target and instead of actually aiming with a crosshair like you would in games such as X3: Terran Conflict, you press buttons to automatically shoot. Ship customization is small and few between, and there is not any sort of way to customize your weapons, nor craft any.

Where the game really falls apart is the ground aspect, though. The ground combat is horrendous. Your away missions consist of you and 3-4 other npcs, who are about as useful as a baby with a pistol on safety mode. They will die. A lot. The ground combat is also very bland, nothing exciting here. Missions? Well, simply this:

1) Beam down and scan then beam back up.
2) Beam down, kill 30 people, a ridiculously easy boss, then beam back up.
3) Beam down, find your mission is glitched, beam back up.

That"s all there is to say for ground combat.


As a final, on sentenced statement:

The game is passable, but widely unfinished, and does not deserve the attention of any players who do not want to play a mmorpg for over a week.


Post Date: 01:00 19-02-2010
Rating: 9
Author: trock
Comment: As a big Star Trek fan, I love STO. I have always wanted to have my own ship and crew. You can't call yourself a true Star Trek fan if you hate on STO.

Post Date: 23:33 05-02-2010
Rating: 7
Author: kzat
Comment: Where is the meat. Cryptic has launched a very simple STO. Like City of Heroes and Champions, I can't see how the game will last for years. Star Trek fans may like it, but the hardcore will bore easy and leave.

Post Date: 05:18 31-07-2009
Rating: 1
Author: [email protected]
Comment: i don't think it will be very good at all :( i am a HUGE star trek fan, im such a geek about that and only that, but i just don't think this will be good at all. star wars galaxies was ok with the player owned ships and stuff, but on star trek - imagine a thousand people playing each with their own galaxy class star ship. captain picard had to be the best captain in the fleet to command one of those, and that's picard we're talking about here. it just won't have a realistic star fleet atmosphere if the players own all the ships. with star wars the old republic (soon to be MMORPG giant) you can count on it being amazing because bioware are making it, who made kotor (arguably a masterpeice) and most other star wars games have been awesome. now looking at the star trek franchise's games, we see the all time low 'star trek star ship creator' and other games that have serverely disapointing and have gone without much or any recognition. i'd LOVE a star trek mmo, and i'm sad that i just can't count on this being any good. i'm very sad :(

Post Date: 20:35 21-08-2008
Rating: 8
Author: Silhouette
Comment: Star Trek Online has been picked up andis activly being developed by Cryptic the people who first brought you City of Heros/Villians

Post Date: 13:29 08-02-2008
Rating: 8
Author: ciderapple
Comment: This game has been delayed indefinitely. Star Trek OnLine crew has been laid off.

Perpetual Entertainment, now officially known as P2, will remain in business as an "engine-only" company. It is holding onto its proprietary MMORPG technology, which it has licensed to BioWare for work on its unnamed massively multiplayer project, which is rumored to be based on Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic.

Post Date: 03:01 08-10-2007
Rating: 4
Author: Jrod
Comment: Just wont work. Star Trek just is too small. enough places for this to be any good

Post Date: 04:00 24-05-2007
Rating: 4
Author: Zirotecha
Comment: StarTrek ships and warp drive/hyperspace are immensly inferior to Star Wars Tech. (At least this game is better than Pokemon.)

Post Date: 01:04 29-01-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Totaldevil
Comment: looks great but sadly i won't be able to play cuz i can't pay for any games should be nice for those why can though....

Post Date: 00:26 18-11-2006
Rating: 8
Author: redfoxrick
Comment: Can't wait for this. I feel like a super nerd for saying taht, but I can't wait. Space Exploration and combat games are so fun!
I hope they just don't screw up like SOE did to Star Wars Galaxies

Post Date: 16:26 21-06-2006
Rating: 3
Author: bretwillis
Comment: it's a tough franchise. Might go the way of Star Wars Gallaxies

Post Date: 04:22 20-05-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Amog45780
Comment: This is impresive. I love StarTrek and to hear they are finally making an MMO of it makes me shake in happiness.

Post Date: 00:32 01-05-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Ceretress
Comment: Looks good for Star Trek fans and MMORPG players. Graphics look great even at early stages, sounds great.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.