Tribal Wars


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Tribal Wars is a free browser-based MMOG. You can play the game from nearly any computer with Internet access because there are no downloads necessary. Your goal is to lead a medieval village to fame and power. With your help the small village will grow bigger and bigger. The population grows, production rises and trade prospers.But not only your village grows. Neighbours are also looking to expand their influence. Troops are being recruited, villages are fortified and wild axemen plunder and kill. You will meet other players, with whom you can fight together in a tribe. Your village grows bigger and soon the formerly small village will conquer other villages

Total Rating: 4.02
Reviews: 42

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 16:05 24-08-2014
Rating: 5
Author: ivekvv256
Comment: Some have enjoyed in this game, some haven't, but I am in the middle, since it was fun to play game, and I did make good village there, but it stoped interesting me quite fast. The game has nearly got no graphics, but gameplay is ok, so my rating is 5/10.

Post Date: 13:22 13-09-2012
Rating: 1
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: This game is honestly a pretty bad game. I don't even remember why I tried the game because when I look at some screenshots now, it doesn't look fun at all. Well.. At least it was a free game. Doubt anyone would play it if it was P2P. Just kill and kill and kill.. That's almost everything you do. Make your village bigger and kill other players. Pretty simple.

Post Date: 02:07 12-09-2012
Rating: 2
Author: baalthegreen
Comment: this is one of the worst games you can play online, those who are rating it high i my view have found out how to cheats the system and know how to abuse the game. It suppose to be free but you cannot play effectively without getting a premium account. I played this game for 5 years and it gone from bad to worse. You can log on one day and 6 months of work can be gone. There are no levels of play, a 2k village player can attack 100 village player with only a small penalty. The mods are all players of the game, and the few that are not will defer to top players thoughts. If the are found to have broke the rules from my understanding they get a minor slap on hand. You would be best to sign up for a pvp and just play that. So I view it as a lot fo work with limited reward

Post Date: 15:37 26-06-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Charlie12344321
Comment: Kurotsuna you ahve no idea what the game is about. You probaly were rimmed as you were a point whroe and had few troops. Tribalwars IS ABOUT KILLING EACH OTHER its NOT ABOUT WATCHING YOUR VILLAGE GROW. You gorw your vilalge in ORDER TO KILL other players. I had 22 villages in one world 200k. I got ganged up on by #1 tribe loads of million pointers all gagned up on me. Guess what I kicked their ass and was #1 in OD. I survived with 13 vilalges on rim but I quit as it was boring as everyone around me was tiny.

And you cant be killed first day. They have begginer protection. And premium? That barley gives a advantage to anyone. And that doesnt give them troops or anything jsut lets them point whore more easily

Also killerninja monkey I was in your tribe in world 56 under matteo543. I didnt get 1 unit of support. While that small ass guy next to me got the wholetribes attention. Real cool

Post Date: 13:07 17-04-2011
Rating: 0
Author: KuroTsuna
Comment: This wasn't good. People can kill you on your first day then you're dead and start over again.

Post Date: 02:26 06-04-2011
Rating: 0
Author: Spiral Storm
Comment: Another terrible game, Tribal Wars is all about players being allowed to slaughter each other, take each other's villages, and ruin other player's games over and over again. When I was asked to play it (By a friend who plays RuneScape, a much better game), I thought it was cool at first, because I had my own little village to control and build up. Boy, was I wrong!! This game is nothing more than a game designed to be in favor of those who are willing to pay for its perks so they can make life miserable for people who either don't have money to pay for its premium or it's for people who have no real lives and all they do is sit at their computer, build up these little villages to the max, and use them to destroy other players who (Like me) who might not want other players constantly attacking their villages (Especially if they worked a lot to build them up)!! And if you lose all your villages (Let's say 5 villages) to a player who has 10 or more villages, then your game is basically over and you have to start all over again from scratch!! Talk about insane godmodding!! Ha! There's no option to turn off the PVP (So if you're into this game, you always have to watch out for other players attacking you and possibly screwing up your game), and there's no limitations on who's allowed to attack who! It's just plain craziness! Don't even bother wasting your time with this game, unless you have no life at all and you don't mind either letting other players take away your villages (By attacking them), even if you worked hard to build them up, or if you're willing to stand up and defend your village or villages. But even if you're willing to defend them, don't say I didn't warn you when you've got 20 or so villages and another player with 50 or more villages comes along and tears down every single one of your own villages!

Post Date: 15:04 30-03-2011
Rating: 9
Author: KillerNinjaMonkey
Comment: Tribal Wars is not a game for people who want to watch their village grow for months. The focus of the game is attacking other players. It is true that there are a lot of skilled players and it can be difficult for new players to establish themselves. The game play may occassionally be slow but it is possible to find a good group of players and the social aspect is good.

This is a game for people who want to fight wars, not build pretty villages, and yes you do need to give it a lot of time if you want to compete.

One huge benefit of this game over others is that the players who pay for premium accounts don't get a huge advantage over those that want to play for free.

There is some use of scripts in the game but these tend to be available to all players (with premium acc) via the forums.

I have been playing for a long while and have not come across any corruption. If fact the moderators I have got to know are careful to ensure that they don't abuse their powers. Although that is on the worldwide versionof the game, they may be different on the national servers.

Overall this game can be ruthless and you have to be competative and dedicated to play it well.

Post Date: 04:41 18-01-2011
Rating: 0
Author: sneck7
Comment: The game is good, but I don't recommend to play this game. Reasons?:
You just become a slave of it to to be good in it. I am #1 player in world 12 Czech server. To become top require lot's of wasted time. But this is not worse. The main reason is, that some of your enemies can have friends on TW support. Then they try to trip you as much as they can. (block your account for a while, help enemies to get into the middle of your tribe territory, etc.) I had exactly this experience and I had to cancel playing world 10 and moved to new world with hope of new fair play.
My biggest enemies became directly employees of the TW support team. They call them selves "Cheat Hunters" Ridiculous! :-) They blocked my account several times during game none legitimately. After my protest they agreed of they mistake, but it was too late. Nobody can reimburse the lost what you get during blocking.
If you want to play fair play without administrator's interaction: Keep off this game and all InnoGames games.
I still have there some premium points. After I use them all I will cancel my account and never come back!

Post Date: 11:00 03-11-2010
Rating: 0
Author: cullerz
Comment: The Game is run by non paid staff who play the worlds they moderate.. they act like gods of there servers and have no problems using there advantage as mods to further there or there friends personal accounts.. the corruption of the staff and sub-par gameplay makes it an overall waste of pixels..

Post Date: 12:31 04-10-2010
Rating: 0
Author: hatetribalwars
Comment: 1 word for this game NOT FOR GOOD PEOPLE, this game is made only around bullying and betray, i played this game 2 times once for 6 months and the last time just today where i deleted my account, i still do not know why i came back to it.
both reasons for quiting is that i was bullyied and attempts where made what i shall do by control freaks without a life, the game it's self is badly made interface sucks... and it goes all around to be in a tribe, 99% people join to a tribe for protection no whatsoever loyalty and friendship can be made there people ether join a stronger tribe for better protection or be booted and practicly booted out of the game just becose you do not play 24/7,tribe forums are made only to tell anything doesnt matter what you just have to be there and say stuff you do not want too, do not trust anybody there not even your so called game friends they will kill you when they think it will help them grow.

this game is not for good and honorable people but it is for backstabers, bullys and mentaly ill people with a urge to make somebody to suffer.

Post Date: 17:22 24-06-2010
Rating: 4
Author: ice grim reaper
Comment: I used to play this game for 6 months.But the problem of Tribal Wars is that it never restarts,it will go on forever unril your villages are destroyed.Tribalwars has corruption.Players are a bunch of trashtalker,the forums are corrupted like Travian.us and you can't make a village(you have to make a noblemen to conquer a village).So play Travian instead of Tribalwar if you want a life.

Post Date: 10:05 09-06-2010
Rating: 0
Author: 00manolo
Comment: Ah! I have read some of the "positive" comments here in the forum about this game.
It is totally false that you can just play the game logging in 5 or 10 minutes a day. Well, you can but you would be restarting the game over an over again as you would be taken over as soon as you reach a certain threshold level of points.
But the players, who come here to say so, is because one of the perks of the game is predating on new players who do not yet understand the game. The buzz word in the public forums of the game, and in the inner forums of the tribes, is "noob" or "nooby". Since the game is so full of lazy spoiled prats who do not like to work (in real life) they find it funny to play pranks on new comers, let them build the villages, and then take them from them, parasitising on others as in real life, instead of taking a new (abandoned) village and build it up themselves. In many occasions this is so absurd that players, with say 100 villages, who could very easily build up other villages and gain even many more points with the resources provided by the villages they already have, are willing to "spend",in the form of lost troops, many times over the resources needed to build up a village to take some one else's villages.
The game and the players has evolved into such an absurdity that beg us believe. But the game is only the reflection on its creators and the people who control it. No need to meet them if you are after an intelligent conversation.
And I can not help it to thing that they publishers are doing some thing illegal while they charge some players to play (premium accounts) while, at the same time, the employees of the company play, cheat, and tune the rules to their advantage.
That there are people who thinks that this kind of "practice" is fun, is very worrisome.

Post Date: 08:52 09-06-2010
Rating: 0
Author: artruro
Comment: What could I add to what has been said here?
It is true that it encourages bulling and gangbanging, stupidity and is played mainly by computer programers, IT workers that spend the whole day in front of a computer.
But there is more, is cheated from inside: About 10% of the players have a relationship with the company that publishes the game, they are either employees or, so called, volunteers that for a few perks like a free Premium account do small jobs like responding to users questions. These people also are there as "animators" of the game.
The application itself is full of flows, the model of a real war situation is ludicrous, there is no strategy to be played there, only numbers. Villages are never attacked by the strategic value of their location, rules as stated in the help pages, are some times not followed by the application (for instance, they say that the "loyalty" of a village drop between 25% and 35% when attack in a certain way to conquer it, and I have recorded instances when it dropped 20% or less).
The only good thing of the game, if one can call this good, is that it lets you see how many morons are out there, how many people without a life that are willing to let themselves be patronized, that get really scared at the events in a game like this.
And, another comment, when we say bulling I don't mean virtual bulling, I mean real life bulling. I read comments of people advising other not to play against some player, because that player was the brother (real life brother) of that other player who had a zillion villages and would smash him.
Is so bad, that I think there is a case for this game to be investigated by the authorities and have some restrictions imposed on him, since is free access for any one with no check on anything, they only ask you for an email account. This game, that can be freely accessed by children, is much worse for them than porn sites, yet it has no parental control.

Post Date: 18:43 04-06-2010
Rating: 1
Author: DoctuhD
Comment: The community is decent, but the game in itself is completely unrewarding and unsatisfying. It is somewhat enjoyable at first to see a brand new village spring forward with life, but things quickly go downhill from there. 90% of the villages near you quit, and everyone around you quickly becomes not neighbors, but competition. The game in itself is a failure because the behaviour of destroying all competition is rewarded so heavily, much unlike other browser games such as Ikariam. Casual players are often destroyed, and those who have a will to survive, but don't want to destroy other players are quickly overwhelmed or quit due to the labor of keeping villages under constant supervision. This game definitely needs some major modifications if it is going to ever appeal to casual players.

Post Date: 15:44 14-05-2010
Rating: 1
Author: chriscmore
Comment: Grinding, bullying, gangbanging indeed. It's not compelling enough for you to develop any actual relationships, so your aquantences then freely betray you and gangbang with their bully friends of the moment. Like bully relationships, safety only comes in size and lack of integrity. Take that fun, with immature mooks, combine with OCD-ravaging little bits to always have to manage, needing to be online 24/7 "or else", and you have a game that should be inflicted on prisoners at Gitmo.

Post Date: 00:04 29-04-2010
Rating: 10
Author: mi7i73l
Comment: I love Tribe Wars!

Post Date: 13:00 26-04-2010
Rating: 1
Author: Pero Djetlic
Comment: Not a bad idea, but the game rules make it a very poor game. It is one of a few games that encourages and rewards bullying and gangbanging. Also, rules are set so that making other players quit the game rewards you. Thereby, if you are new, you will waste many hours for a couple of days, then realize it was all pointless and not fun at all.

Don't waste your time and especially not money on this!

Post Date: 05:47 20-03-2010
Rating: 1
Author: Varus
Comment: Agonizing boredom. A chatroom with frustrated kids and/or grown-ups, the social part. A brown interface with numbers, the game part. The rating is 1 and not 0 because the game is fun and entertaining until you discover the rules/gameplay. Also, there ain't an useful tutorial, and the forums are ... worst I've ever seen on the internet.

Post Date: 16:41 13-02-2010
Rating: 2
Author: donalan
Comment: the review by koorbmeh is exactly correct. I played a few years ago and just re-started playing - TW has really changed. The scripts, 3rd party software and yes, bots have made this game the rhelm of the teenage cyber-geek. Its really not about strategy anymore just about automating the game to a level were its really not about the theme but cheating/software.

For example, people with bots can develop at a pace no person could match (24/7). Nobel trains (attacks that come in 4 waves) now land within 150 milliseconds! To defeat them you have to counter with precision better than 250 milliseconds. Sorry but I have a life.

The comment about teenagers on a powertrip is also spot-on. Mostly young guys that are often rude and stupid. Some nice players but anyone that has a personality is unwilling to cheat and therefore unlikely to last long.

Save your time and money (premium account used to be worth it but pointless now) unless you are a javascript/greasemonkey/bot programmer...

Post Date: 18:53 22-12-2009
Rating: 1
Author: blastoise466
Comment: they are money hugs sluggers!

Post Date: 03:30 02-12-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Vizz
Comment: Best game ever, slow but good, i have palyed tribal wars for awhile and have had no problems at all, no viruse, no anything.

Post Date: 01:55 20-11-2009
Rating: 4
Author: ice grim reaper
Comment: Tribalwars is a bad game,you have to play more then 1 hour to play this game.The coin system cost too much,most troops building use less iron and it dumb because this game has armor,the wall needs a lot of clay to build it and look at the wall,it 70% wood,cats need a lot of clay and the cats looks like it needed wood to build than clay,noblemen dies when you noble a village and that is basically stupid and the website looks unentertaining.Also when some high level player attacks,you they will alway attack your village and then after a fews days,the village turns to rubble.Unlike Travian,players only attack you once a week.But still Tribalwars have some good thing better than Travian.

Post Date: 07:29 12-07-2009
Rating: 0
Author: Mman
Comment: Dont bother playing. its impossible to play if you start even remotely late. The community is unfriendly to new people and refused to help at all. the help is lacking.

Defense in the game is a joke as you lose your whole army to the first real attack against you.

Don't play unless you want to deal with an immature crowd that is unfriendly to new people.

Post Date: 20:14 30-05-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Izzy Stradlin.
Comment: This game is amazing. Many of these reviews are written by people who I have never seen on the game, and the only name I do recognize is koorbmeh, and his review is one of the most false. Yes the game allows scripts, and yes it allows third-party programs but not in the manner in which he described it. The game allows certain programs that speed up what would otherwise take dozens of hours to do. They do not enhance your game play.

Someone else also mentioned that the game is a rip off of another game known as Travian. That statement is false. Not only does Tribal Wars have more players, but it was created before Travian.

Overall the basic concept of this game is very easy to understand. It is very easy to catch on, but very hard to play as there are many people who are very, very good. Many people mention that you have to log on every day in a complaining tone, yes you do. Its the way the game is designed. It is aimed at hard-core gamers who like a challenge, and to be able to compete you must devote (waste) a lot of your time on the game.

Warning: the game is very fun, then very boring and extremely addictive. One of the hardest games ever to quit. I've been trying for ages.

Post Date: 23:31 28-05-2009
Rating: 0
Author: sidian
Comment: played this for about 5 mins and almost got hacked....dont play this

Post Date: 18:59 16-03-2009
Rating: 0
Author: koorbmeh
Comment: This game is rampant with use of scripts and third party programs that the administrators allow.
99% of the admins are teenage boys from Germany.
If you like to play with a mob of teenage boys on a power trip that use scripts and third party programs to get ahead and wipe you out, then this might be the game for you.
In every other game that I have played these practices were considered cheating.
It's also common knowledge that you will get viruses from www.tribalwars.net

It's a fun game, until you get wiped out by someone who is doing something that isn't humanly possible, because of scripts and third party programs.

Post Date: 21:30 05-01-2009
Rating: 1
Author: peaceme
Comment: Played this game for about 4 months at work as something to pass the time. I have to say this is one of the worst thought through games out there. If you want to be frustrated and all around bullied by all means play this game. I as constantly having to fend off 12 year-old kids thinking it funny to try and noble my villages. In the end I finally realized (after acquiring numerous villages from abandoned ones only) that this was just a pointless game. NO ONE follows the games own rules and cheating is rampant.

Post Date: 00:05 02-09-2008
Rating: 5
Author: AimTru
Comment: Upgrading starts out a little too fast, if you want to jump on before work/school or bed you will have an idle village all day. This changes later to taking days on end to build structures & train armies which may be gone in a quick strike.
Players I met were diverse from arrogant as well as friendly. Tribes seemed to dissolve & appear quickly.
Tribes also tend to force players to be active everyday through an unofficial rule of taking over tribemates villages who are not as active as desired. Support & threats from other players tends to rely heavily on who you are randomly placed near on the map when starting a village.
I stopped playing after a year to find new games when my few friends left, of no fault of the game.
If you want a quick click-click-done before bed I would recommend trying the game for a week or so.

Post Date: 15:32 08-08-2008
Rating: 8
Author: clickmehere
Comment: Tribal Wars is a slow game but you only need to be on 1 once a day and u can do other things while the game does its thing

Post Date: 15:18 08-08-2008
Rating: 8
Author: killervickboy
Comment: Tribal wars lets see i like it alot the only problem i had was i want to take my men into war not to just recieve a report i play it all the time im really good at it u need to like straegie games to play this one the graphics bad but u dont hav to download it the gaol is good its basically the storyline u must creat the best town village

Post Date: 18:44 07-08-2008
Rating: 9
Author: juanka_25
Comment: is a great game for those with no time to play is like you get in for a moment set up some thinevry day and before you know it people are afraid of attacking you because your villages and troops. oh and be careful who to trust some people ight ad vanage of you.

[email protected]

Post Date: 09:36 31-05-2008
Rating: 6
Author: All.Saints97
Comment: its ok i like going on every once in a while and updating my village what not but there is one thing It is most probably better than travian? what do you think

Post Date: 17:35 16-04-2008
Rating: 0
Author: mrtwiki
Comment: Here is my experience from playing tribal wars on world 8.
PLEASE read this post fully before you decide to play Tribalwars - it might save you a lot of time.

*the following are actual posts from in game containing the most reliable data and information possible*

Did it hurt? Guess what... more of that is on the way toughguy.

And you have banished so many because you think you are so special.

Shame is your harness and how you will be remembered.

[are you on crack?

Nah... but you will soon be rimming.

I"ve reported your harrasment to your leader and the mods. the war between our old tribes is over - has been over - and you"re the only one bantering about it. Either YOU send an attack on my villages or leave me alone with the messages. This is enough.

he blocked me

Maybe I should send an attack at your villages too :)

*shrugs* whatever man.. I"m just tired of chicken-fightin with with one of the players as it goes nowhere...

at least its entertaining?

not really entertainig at all when a small player like kibbutz can pull the strings of the whole world 8 whenever she/he wants to and make what amounts to a gang-bang hit on anyone...not entertaining at all...

Are you sure?

quite sure... in case you do not know.. here is the "short" version of whats happend thus far - if I sound short-tempered I apologize as this whole thing has me rather flutured.
1) my old tribe -DB- leader had a war with the SU tribe that kibbutz used to be part of.
2) -DB-"s leader LEFT the tribe as part of a cease-fire agreement with SU and the [ally]AND[/ally] and (as far as I gathered) your tribe too.
3) I was appointed leader of the -DB- tribe
4) player started raiding our members villages and another player supported doing it.
5) I approached the AND tribe for permission to counter attack SU - because two players had threated to use them against us.
6) AND tribe rep gave -DB- the go ahead to defend ourselves which we did. We lost several villages and memebrs.
7) through talks with one player we reached what seemed like a case fire and end of the war.
8) -DB- tribe merged into the S~W tribe - where I am just a baron now.
9) The worst player started trash talking me via messages
10) I reported this player to the FAP leader and the game mods for being bothersome in messages after one of the players and I had worked out a cease fire between us.
11) ... and here we are...

Did I metion that it sucks having someone like this guy, a relativelty low level player, pulling the chains of large tribes like yours to do his durty work?.. maybe I did...dunno...

Anyway,
God Bless You and your kin.


are you really sure?

I am 100% certain of my facts. But, I am not quite sure if you are really interested in this.. bored.. or if you"re toying with me (perhaps I sense that because I have tried every method I can to work with those two players at different times and they continue to manipulate larger tribes for their own purposes).
*shrugs - oh well..

Post Date: 03:21 16-04-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Falar
Comment: A decent game. Graphics are updated from the pic, and theres generally a prettu good community(but this doesnt mean people wont kill you). Its usually best to get into a strong tribe and get a big army before getting points, which is kind of lame though.

Post Date: 17:06 18-03-2008
Rating: 0
Author: bartoz
Comment: I use to play this game for a few months. I cannot login atm, or even trace a route to the server. I would deem this game unplayable due to that. Also keep in mind that if you want to grow in a secure tribe, you are usually forced to be online at least every other day, or you will be conquered. Also, some actions in this game take a LONG time to take place in real time. I have launched attacks taking over 70 hours to come to resolution then another 70 hours for your troops to march back. That is much too long a time.

Post Date: 15:22 04-03-2008
Rating: 5
Author: imgaerion
Comment: this game is a true ripoff from travian, no doubt about it, nothing wrong with it though...but check out 'travian' if you want a very balanced game. literally millions are playing the game world over.

Post Date: 18:32 17-08-2007
Rating: 10
Author: monkeydude93
Comment: Freaking amazing game!! If you start you just can't stop. After you get past the noob stage of the game you just can't stop playing. If you get nobled just start again on a different world and take the experience with you that you had from the past world and own in the next.

Post Date: 15:28 15-06-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Juggernott
Comment: Its a pretty good game. I like how you can view your town and see it change as it grows. I wish you could watch the battles though. Overall its a pretty good game. Worth trying.

Post Date: 17:14 26-04-2007
Rating: 10
Author: david_barton_uk
Comment: I have played Tribal Wars since the very start, it has been great fun and the probably the best part is the community. World 1 is pretty much over now unless there is another twist to come.

Post Date: 13:45 23-04-2007
Rating: 0
Author: Puma1
Comment: Do not bother with this game. The staff are all players or ex-players who demonstrate their personal bias in the forums on a regular basis. They enact and enforce rules targeted at specific teams that they don't like. The lead admin is quoted on the boards saying she doesn't like the top tribe. She has called them cheaters, created a cap on their member limit, changed the rules and retroactively banned players who were previously in accordance with the rules. Perhaps most importantly she has turned a blind eye when her own volunteer staff who are also players violate the rules of the game. There are plenty of other games out there like this one so I think you would be wasting your time to get involved in this one.

Its a shame, because like the other reviewer this is an excellent game. However, it is rendered almost unplayable if your team does not have people on the staff.

Post Date: 21:31 07-12-2006
Rating: 10
Author: yanbo
Comment: lol i just had to re-review this game lol it actually rox! the guilds (tribes) are amaazing and the way you contact other members is great ive just sent troop to aid my ally in a war and well its just really exciting
Seriously your probably looking at the picture right now thinking BOORING but just give it a shot join a decent guild (The Blood Moon Tribe) and i promise you youll love it

Post Date: 08:16 05-12-2006
Rating: 8
Author: yanbo
Comment: Usually this sort of game doesnt appeal to me but thanks to the fun tutorial i got started and actualy began enjoying the game! Its also good because if you pay for premium it doesnt mean you get any better troops or buildings (keeping the fights more equal) but you do get an easier to navigate map.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.