Wheel of Time MUD


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


The Wheel of Time has entered into an epic age of struggle; times are unsettled... tensions run high. Forces of Dark and Light continue their momentous confrontation for supremacy, whilst the Crystal Throne observes keenly from over the ocean, waiting to strike. Hone your skills and role play as a hero for the Light, brutalise the world as a beast of the Dark or serve the Empress, awaiting the Corenne.

Total Rating: 8.11
Reviews: 27

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 16:40 01-11-2012
Rating: 0
Author: geen
Comment: Perhaps one of the worst muds around, all players are concerned about is gear, they aren't helpful, they don't listen, and if they disagree with you even a little, you better be ready to sit around doing nothing for 15 minutes as the pk rule is, you stay in one room unable.to chat with anyone for 15 minutes if anyone decides to kill you. The immortals are more concerned about the rules that have yet to be updated in the almost 20 years since they were made.. they don't have time to improve or fix even the slightest problem. You pick the wrong class, you're dead.. say the wrong thing, dead.. ask the wrong question, dead. It doesn't matter if you're a level 15 trolloc, if you say something, a much higher, say level 40 trolloc will come and kill you just for asking a question and everyone will be on their side instead of explaining why you shouldn't be asking those questions or better yet.. answering them. There are much better wastes of time out there.

Post Date: 10:43 19-05-2011
Rating: 10
Author: ClareThistleton
Comment: The only reason I've read thousands of pages of Robert Jordan's books is because of this game. I don't love the books, but love WoTMUD.

Great PvP. Good roleplay. Engaged community. Great support. Has been around for a long time managing to be both stable and ever evolving.

Pretty easy to get started. Learning curve to excel and advance. Difficult to stop. Have been playing (with some extended breaks) for over ten years now.

Post Date: 19:29 23-02-2011
Rating: 0
Author: BMedley
Comment: Why is a WoT MUD in the top ten????? I did not like Jordan's books much less this MUD.

Post Date: 03:50 22-08-2010
Rating: 0
Author: mogly
Comment: I am a big fan of the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. However, I don't understand how this MUD or any MUD for that matter can be ranked this high. Hello? Its 2010 not the dark ages.

Post Date: 16:46 13-06-2008
Rating: 10
Author: jg0204
Comment: Agree with all of the other raters,this is awsome!

Post Date: 08:52 14-04-2008
Rating: 10
Author: rosh
Comment: This isn't a 2-3 day game, it's a game that can keep you entertained for years. Amazing stuff considering it's free

Post Date: 20:58 10-04-2008
Rating: 10
Author: skittles
Comment: I'll play any type of game, but this one is above and beyond the most intense I have ever tried. It takes more thought than a regular game, and the payoff easily exceeds the effort.

Post Date: 05:36 09-04-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Gwan
Comment: I'm still new to the game, but what I can say about it is that it has a great community. People take good care of the newbies and are really helpful. It's also very fun and I'm getting addicted...

Post Date: 14:10 01-11-2007
Rating: 9
Author: sunflower
Comment: wish there were more cooking added and, certain crafts werent so expensive to join..and more things were added. but cool overall, kinda addictive, could add things that are ridiculously hard in the game..

Post Date: 12:47 19-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: karoli
Comment: this mud is really great, i'm playing it for over a year now, but i still didn't see the whole world. It's great fun to explore and to fight against the dark, or the light if you play darkside. It's very exiting because you never know when a new attack has to be beaten.
I have to admit, this game made me addiccted.

Post Date: 22:39 12-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: daemis
Comment: excellent mud. love the people ive met and hate those i kill (mostly):P
fun pk fun rp and based on a great book series

Post Date: 18:04 11-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: skunkport
Comment: The question isn't whether the MUD is good enough to keep you playing. The question is are YOU good enough! This game is hard. It takes practice, tactics, intelligence and determination. You will die. You will curse. You will sit trembling in front of your pc cursing the game, the *trolloc* or *seanchan* or murderer who killed you. Then it's up to you. Either you reenter the game, chat for some help reequipping by killing smobs and keep going....or you quit playing, return to a nice, easy game and never feel the thrill of killing that *trolloc* and looting his equipment, never feel the relief at making it to safety (although very few places are truly safe..) after being chased by a group.
Can you handle it? Have you got what it takes? Test yourself. Prove yourself. Play WOTMUD!

P.S. Despite what the log-in screen says, ignore the experienced players only tag on Seanchan. It's the best side to start on, just chat that you're new and you're almost certain to get help/equipment/advice immediately.

Post Date: 12:20 01-09-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Amarisa
Comment: The Wheel of Time is a fine-tuned, beautifully-contructed MUD with a huge playerbase where you have the opportunity to create a myriad of different characters and spend your time in many different ways. With a very strong roleplay and playerkilling base, you are thrust into a world where you can be an Aes Sedai, a Child of the Light, a Dreadlord or a Seanchan. There is a learning curve but there is always someone online to help. The game is constantly developing so come join and leave your mark on the pattern of the Wheel.

Post Date: 07:02 04-08-2007
Rating: 5
Author: thegiantpotato
Comment: Absolutely the best PK/PVP experience I've ever encountered. Much more rewarding even than FPS PK, and a world apart from MMORPGs like WoW or StarWars Galaxies where to be good at PVP you must study the most broken skill set combinations and axploit the game system. WoTMUD is all about skill and its an amazing amount faster and more responsive than any graphical MMORPG I've ever encountered.

The player base is very good, the folks online are well versed with what they are doing and know how to help you out. They've improved the statting system a substantial amount so that now its not a month's worth of work to stat a decent char, etc. All this comes back to the fact that the gameplay is so well evolved that skill is the overwhelmingly the factor that determines whether or not the character is successful. Much more of an accomplished environment than a gear-centric, semi-static, boring world you have to pay $15 a month to visit.

Post Date: 01:01 29-07-2007
Rating: 9
Author: soxthecat
Comment: The world of the Wheel of Time may be a cliche, though this is essentially a game. I have read many books and even-though the novel series is not one of my favourite, the game is one, and I love playing computer games - ("game over, insert coin" to be written on my tombstone)

The world concept of the game has tenfold novels that was defined by a good author who is beheld as the next chapter of Tolkien, but the story is now yours. The classic dungeon and dragon characters are synthesised to interact in a gamezone with hundreds of other gamers. Creating for me, as a discerning audience some of the most intense game time I have ever experienced.

Post Date: 05:03 14-07-2007
Rating: 6
Author: PestvsPet
Comment: Would rather play a Tolkien mud than one on RJ's books.

Post Date: 21:59 17-06-2007
Rating: 10
Author: zoon
Comment: Simply the Best mud on the web today, with great roleplay and RP interaction from 3 differant races this is Must See. If you love WOT and you love Mud then you will love WOTMUD.

Post Date: 11:10 13-04-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Torridon
Comment: This stands as one of the best MUDs I have ever seen in 8 years of online gaming. It is now the only mud I play and has been for the past 9 months.

OK I did start writing reasons why under a lot of headings but thought perhaps it best to describe my individual experience on this mud.

Anyway the headings were-

The Actual World.
-admitedly RJs book have gone nowhere int eh last several but he DID create a detailed and fascinating universe.

RP PK Imm Activity etc.


Right a personal account...

I started playing WOTMUD about September '06. I dropped any other games i was dallying with withing about a week.

I started a hunter, named him Cearon and appeared in the 'Circle of Light'. This is also where any Lightside people are sent after a RIP so there were about 3 or 4 people resting up in there when i logged on. The mobol started telling me a bit about the game while i said hi everone present.

I mentioned that I was brand new and bam! One of the guys there, naked himself after dieing then proceded to show me the ropes for the next three hours. He also told alot of his friends on the mud and over the next week withing minutes of logging on someone would be offering help.

OK fastforward a bit. Here I am having been shown the mechanics of the game, a few little tricks for making heaps of cash, and various people have given me pieces of really nice equipment over the past few weeks.

Am wandering around exploring and get a bit close to PK areas. In walks a *Trolloc* and procedes to crush me. Heart never raced as fast as that first time. Anyway, needless to say i die but people requip me pretty fast and what I'm not given I can now buy.

OK enough on how cool the player base is.

So currently, I have the char 'Spruce' who is a Child of the Light. Based in amador, we, coupled with the Red Eagles of Emonds field are first in defense against the Seanchan invasion.

Here I get lots of PK and also as a Child, plenty of RP as well.

The mud is never too quiet or isolated, it is easy to learn but at the same time a challenge that would take many years to master.

The IMMs are amazingly active with new features added regularly. Just today we got pikes in our cities to display the heads of our slain enemies. Recently an entire system of ships and PC controlled sailing was implimented.

Anyway, come and try it out. thats all, I know you will get stuck.

Post Date: 17:16 20-11-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Jezebel
Comment: Awsome mud!! User friendly without being a hand holding mud. Race wars between Trollocs, Humans and Seanchan make a truly dynamic experience every time you login. Imms are friendly and fairly responsive with gaming issues. Great mud!!!

Post Date: 09:24 15-05-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Thayla
Comment: I have been mudding for about 5 years off and on now. If you are looking for a good WOT based mud then look no further, because this is it.
The Wheel of Time MUD is far superior in detail and complexity to any other mud that I have come across.. and I have looked.
I also found it to be more comphrensible as far as learning how to play and getting started then alot of other muds out there. The creators did an exellent job in keeping the world true to the actual series. I am very Impressed.
Also very detailed and beutiful descriptions. And not to mention the size of the actual MUD world. Awseome for the curious explorer.

Post Date: 20:29 28-04-2006
Rating: 10
Author: MaximillianofManetheren
Comment: If you like D&D (the original with dice) you'll love wotmud.

If you also like Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series.... welcome to your new addiction.

This is the only game I play online. I will probabably never need to play another. I do not forsee becoming board with this one any time soon. If you see me on, I'd be glad to help get you started if I'm not busy. I play Maximillian.

Post Date: 22:41 15-04-2006
Rating: 10
Author: bock
Comment: Having played countless online games since first logging on to a BBS with my Apple IIe and 300 baud modem in the early 80s, in the realm of MUDs, WOTmud.org is probably the best I have seen.

Like Robert Jordan s books, danger can appear at any time, in many forms. This is an unrestricted PK/PVP (Player-killing or Player v. Player) mud, so at some point, one of the evil Trollocs, or perhaps one of the returning Seanchan, will attack you! Or perhaps you want to BE one of the evil Trollocs? You can do it!

With three sides to choose from (Light side, Dark side, Seanchan), the PK and role-playing opportunities are seemingly endless.

The world is huge. The playerbase is large. Whether you re into exploring, PKing, RPing or meeting new friends, WOTmud.org has much to offer. It does take a small amount of effort to truly learn the game (and I m still learning, trust me), but the help boards contain a wealth of information regarding characters, classes, weapons, PK help, RP help, etc. And I ve found that overall the playerbase is very helpful when you re starting out.

Some may enjoy those so-called "graphic" online games, but with WOTmud.org, the theatre of the mind rules! I still recall the first time I ran into a Trolloc and I was away from town... the adrenalin rush, the shakes, the excitement as I fled for my life!

If you ve played MUDs before, you need to give the Wheel of Time MUD a spin. If you haven t, give it a shot and in a short amount of time you will probably become one of the many ADDICTS who consider this place home.

The admins are continally and actively working to improve the game, so the future for WOTmud.org is very bright. Come join us!

Post Date: 11:10 15-04-2006
Rating: 10
Author: hikiko
Comment: The world is beautifuly written and a great place for explorers, roleplayers and socialisers alike. The textual medium allows you to use your imagination to the fullest and it is a completely different experience to a graphical MMORPG.
The twist however is that while it has a steep learning curve it has one of the BEST PvP mechanics of any game out there.

Post Date: 04:10 18-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Rorae
Comment: I am almost finished the first book and I absolutely LOVE Robert Jordan s books. I want to read ALL of them and now there is a game...amazing!

Post Date: 21:43 18-11-2005
Rating: 0
Author: Jan B
Comment: 4 some reason I am unable to play this game???

Post Date: 16:09 08-11-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Kayleigh
Comment: Tremendous fun! Great coding/imm involvement plus great player base makes for a constantly evolving experience. Started playing a little over a year ago, and I ve been hooked ever since! If you appreciate reading a good book as much as or more than watching a good movie, you ll enjoy how WotMUD stimulates your imagination.

Post Date: 04:51 08-11-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Strings0305
Comment: Awesome game, been playing for years, it s amazing how much work the immortals have put into it =) Give it a try.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.