Wizard 101


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Wizard101 is an online, Wizard school adventure with collectible card magic, wizard duels, and far off worlds! The game allows players to create a student Wizard in an attempt to save Wizard City and explore many different worlds.

Total Rating: 6.53
Reviews: 19

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 23:02 08-02-2013
Rating: 6
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: This game is a 3D fantasy MMORPG online production. Its based on Harry Potter idea and give a chance to bacome children wizard :) Game is very good made and have awsome graphics. We are able to choose our own wizard from seven types. While playing we will learn new speels and explore great world. I think that this game is very good made production and can be recommanded. I rate this game 6/10 :)

Post Date: 18:30 09-05-2012
Rating: 8
Author: MommyLea
Comment: Wizard101 is touted as a family friendly multiplayer game, but after playing this game for more than three years, I have uncovered many things that are far from family friendly. Wizard101 has some dark secrets that need revealing before you shell out that money each year or month for a subscription or give your favorite child one of those epic bundle gift cards for his or her birthday. The two main problems are crowns (wizard101 in game currency bought with real life cash) and predatory behavior. Let us talk about predatory behavior first.

No one can deny that sick people exist in this world, nor can we fool ourselves that in an online environment our children are ever truly safe. Wizard101 has three levels of chatting options. The safest is of course menu chat where an individual can only communicate through phrases that exist. Sure, this type of chat is great for the youngest of children, but even some adults have a difficult time trying to communicate using the menu chat. The second type of chat is a sort of filtered chat. This chat allows typed communication but does not allow numbers and certain words to be said. This chat is supposed to ensure that young children cannot communicate personal information to other people. This chat fails in that department. Children are creative and always find a way to convey information around filters. The final type of chat is open chat, which only adults are supposed to obtain. In reality, anyone with a credit card on file can change his or her chat to open chat just by logging into the account, using the parental password, and click a button. I cannot begin to count how many people I have met in the game that are under the age of 13 with open chat. Parents, please take care of your children!

Onto the crowns issue. The problem truly lies in the fact that one can gift other players using crowns in the game. Sounds great, right? WRONG. To give a few examples of how this has horribly gone wrong, we will talk about the ever-popular pvp aspect of Wizard101 and the Commons.

Commons: Walk through the commons and pause for about thirty minutes. It is almost guaranteed you will see someone swindling someone else for a crowns item. Luckily, many people are also aware of the problem that the commons swindlers rarely find a mark… but it does happen.

Pvp: Ah the pvp system of Wizard101… so many flaws! I will not begin to list all of the problems of the pvp system, but one problem does involve the crowns/gifting issue. The pvp matching system is greatly flawed because it allows one person to team up with someone who has a much lower or higher level than themselves (Note: level refers to questing rank, not pvp rank. As a wizard progresses in the game, he or she gains levels and subsequently new spells). Therefore, what happens is a phenomenon now being called “puppet teaming”. Go to any fan site and you will find thousands of posts that mention this problem! Since I did mention that I am speaking of a crowns issue, let’s get to the point. Here is a scenario:

A young low-level wizard wants to rank up in pvp. He or she is having trouble in 1v1 but given his or her age, he or she is not willing to progress naturally.

A high level wizard drops his or her pvp rank down below 0 and offers to team up with the young low level wizard… meaning they will face opponents who are closer to the low level wizard. In case you cannot see the obvious problem here, the high-level wizard has powerful spells that can defeat the low-level opponents quickly. This means a free win for our low-level wizard.

So, where is the problem? You are thinking this game is for KIDS, and kids do the darnedest things, right? Wrong. The high-level wizard sets a price for those easy wins, and that low-level wizard is paying that price. The price… usually a crowns-bought item. Oh, and also the opponents lose out on rank because of an unfair match-up, but that’s a pvp problem.

How these problems are fixable, I surely do not know, but I do know that I have taken away my own daughter’s subscription because of these things. Do I dislike the game? Absolutely not, as I still play it every day for a few hours and thoroughly enjoy many aspects of the game. Will I allow my daughter to play again? Maybe… if they start fixing some very real problems.

Note: My number review is a result of my enjoyment of the game, but I do feel parents need to be made aware of the above issues.

Post Date: 13:18 29-01-2012
Rating: 5
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: This game is OK. I didn't really like it very much in the beginning but I think it's an OK game right now. The graphics aren't the best but they are ok. Acceptable.

Post Date: 23:40 19-11-2011
Rating: 0
Author: Spiral Storm
Comment: This is without a doubt, the worst online game I ever played! Apart from being a turn-based trading-card battle-style game, this game is obviously a cliche or knock-off of at least two different franchises. The Harry Potter Series and the Yu-Gi-Oh! series are the two I think of when I played this game for the 1 day I played it. My good friend told me about this game, but honestly, I don't even see how he can stand to play it every day! In fact, I am not even sure if he still plays it or not! Anyway, here's the breakdown...And it's NOT gonna be pretty...

Pros:

None cause every aspect of this game is ridiculous! At least to me.

Cons:

* The game is VERY childish to the point of being downright embarrassing! You play as a wizard and if you're new, you have to go through this awful tutorial where this 'headmaster' who looks and acts (Or tries to act) like Professor Dumbledore 'recruits' you to become a wizard and join a wizarding school. Oh, how typical! Yeah, you get to choose what type of Element you want to train with, but this does nothing to help make the game better. Why? Well, let's just say when you get into your first battle, you're using certain 'cards' which summon monsters or minions or whatever they are and they attack the monsters or minions of the enemy. And some of these cards are so embarrassing, I actually had to turn the sound and monitor off until the card was done being played! Then, towards the end of the tutorial, the 'good Dumbledore-like' wizard challenges the evil 'Voldemort-like' wizard, but of course, the evil wizard declines and says 'Another time, old man...'. I cannot even begin to tell you how cliche and predictable the whole tutorial was. Lame!

* The graphics/characters are stupid-looking. And again, some of them are obviously cliche and knock-offs of certain characters who are much cooler than these cheap knock-offs created by whoever makes Wizard 101.

* Battling against monsters/NPC's is practically forced upon you as every time you wander a little to close to a monster, some sort of 'battle-triangle' appears and you're forced to do battle with whatever monster you were trying to get past. And what happens if your health drops to zero? I did not play long enough to find out, nor did I have any intention of doing so.

* Leveling up is very hard to do and it's not very likely it was intended to be easy. And making money? Forget it! Just stop playing this game before it reverts your brain into the state of an infant or at least a VERY young and probably VERY immature kid.

* Quests are quite hard to do, so if you're the type of person who likes to play through the storyline of a game, forget about this game. It's not even worth downloading and installing. Oh! And speaking of which...

* Downloading and installing this game was a piece of cake. But now, I cannot get rid of it to save my life! And I've looked around online several times for a solution and came up with nothing at all.

* Lost your password? To bad, cause I cannot log in to my account, therefore, I cannot scream at the community of this game for help on how to get it unstuck from my computer!

* Sound effects and music? Not even gonna go here, but I bet they have every single type of childish and embarrassing sound effect anyone's ever heard of on here!

* Battle system is not really based upon magic itself. More like based on using cards and taking turns using those cards and hoping you can defeat whatever tough monster or NPC you're up against and pray to God you don't get killed.

* The community was not helpful to me at all! I doubt anyone who could stand to waste their time with this piece of trash even knew I was playing it amongst them!

Okay, so there you have the pros and cons. The summary...This game is not worth paying any money to play the full 'unlimited' version of it. In fact, I don't even think the full version is unlimited. I still think you'd have to pay real money for virtual currency or items or something in-game not worth paying for. Yeah, this game is lame and I think even some kids around ages 5 to 10 would have to agree with me on this. So, unless you love wasting your time with a lame and highly cliche and embarrassing game like Wizard 101, then either find a much cooler game to play or don't play any game at all! Worst...Game...Ever!!

Post Date: 03:42 24-07-2011
Rating: 10
Author: DAVORBELTRAN
Comment: I'AM LVL 18 I LOVE THIS GAME

Post Date: 01:51 17-06-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Vikeadyn
Comment: This game has an Item mall, auction house, and crafting.

I tried this one awhile ago when level caps was level 50, with my neice, not sure if it still is, or not. It was one of them times when you say, "let me try it, to see what it is all about, and safe to play for a child." First off it is not free, "Persay". You pay with prepaid game cards or credit cards. Free gives a taste of the game, and that is all it gives. I think the free part last until level 5, after that you must use crowns to advance further in the game.

You can by family kit combos for a cheaper monthly bill, or pay around 6 dollars per month, to unlock everything, or even pay a couple of dollars just to unlock 1 area at a time if you want. Yes, areas will be locked out for you at Level 5, unless you pay some cash for crowns, which is the games currency I am pretty sure.

This game has an extremely strict policy of filtering almost everything in chat. So Strict players have a list of set names to choose from in the character creation menu they can mix up, no custom naming on pets or characters, even typeing numbers is bad. There is adult chat that allows the typing of numbers, but you still have to use the list of names giving when naming your Wizard upon creation.

The game is rated "E" and it has all kinds of policies to protect children that play this game(I think the yougest I seen was 8, my neice was 11 at the time) so it is a great family game.

Basicly the game is turned base, and you are handed a deck of cards with skills and creatures in the deck. You can build all decks the way you want, from heavy hitting, to heavy healing, or mix 'um up a bit, also some cards have Buffs.

Buffs are spells that last on your character or characters, that give all kinds of bonuses depending on what buff(skill) you use at a set time, that needs to get recasted when the time of the skill runs out. That you can use for yourself or in a group.

Level caps is(was) 50 which gives you the Grandmaster tittle that everybody in game can see. Wizard 101 also has some mini games built in that you can play anytime, and win prizes. This game also has one of the most unique pet systems then any other Pet system I ever came across in any game so far.

The pets can be bought, with crowns, or dropped by boss mobs in game, or some quest chains reward pet cards. Here is where the pet system gets interesting, not only do the pets have attack/spell, Heals, or buffs cards that you can use in your custom built deck. But there is a place called a hatchery, and you can breed two totaly different pets, into one, and MAYBE come up with a very unique pet by incubating the two togeather, by help of a friend in game. You can not incubate two of your pets togeather, it has to be with another players pet. Sometimes you will get a one of a kind pet, and other times you may get a clone of a pet you used. you never know.

The graphics are very toony, leveling is easy peasy. You can get max level in a matter of days. When you start you can focus on one skill type, like Storm(Diviner) or you can learn another skill type like Pyromencer, and your wizard can be a Pyrodiviner. Wizard 101 classes are Life, Death, Fire, Ice, Storm, and Myth.

Myth is one of them skills that you mostly never see in other MMO's. Myth is basicly a summoner, that summons Mythilogical beings, Like Trolls, and Cyclopses, that act as your henchmen, you cast your spells through these creatures, and the creatures do most of the work for you. Myth is a great solo class.

Wizard 101 is just an awesome family friendly game.

Post Date: 11:57 23-03-2011
Rating: 6
Author: Adrian
Comment: I like this game, its simple to start out, doesn't take long to level up....6/10.

Post Date: 02:19 23-03-2011
Rating: 8
Author: EcLuD
Comment: like me .. card is really like those games! and it is magic, I recommend it. 8 / 10

Post Date: 17:07 05-12-2010
Rating: 10
Author: latiana1
Comment: loved this game from the start. beautiful graphics, awesome storyline, and all the updates-wow! no wonder this game is so popluar!

Post Date: 15:08 26-09-2010
Rating: 10
Author: greeklilnick
Comment: itz a raw game the quest r awsome u can meet new people and play and help them out with thier quest and alos i love this game

Post Date: 01:55 24-08-2010
Rating: 10
Author: 506dude
Comment: I am going to give a 10 every time i love this game!

Post Date: 01:31 06-08-2010
Rating: 10
Author: 506dude
Comment: Ive had a subscription and been playing game for about 2 years, and it is the most amazing game. But mostly with subscription of course. Here is my review. W101 or wizard101 is amazing because it has so much to offer for a subscription.
It gives everything including an amazing pet system that got added. Best pet system in any game. You can hatch, mix, train, allot more with your pets. The most unique aspect of the game though is the battling. Amazing turn based crd style battles, turns into an addicting way to fight! Not only that but wizard101 has a beastly pvp, for any pvp fan to enjoy. Big worlds, lots of lots of spells to learn, and more! This game has everything to offer, and Gets updates all the time XD! This is definetly the most amazing game ever, with beautiful graphics, and full over voice acting. Every character you talk to has voice acing! Best game in the world

Post Date: 23:09 28-06-2010
Rating: 1
Author: Ichigohollowfied
Comment: I played this game and installed it and whatever, i was expecting a lot more out of it....the tutorial sucked. the graphics blow, the chat feature sucks even more. graphics are cruddy, its soooo laggy no matter what. nobody is willing to help you its just a really really bad game in my opinion. needs to be worked out completely.

Post Date: 21:17 31-05-2010
Rating: 9
Author: 506dude
Comment: dont listen to all those crappy reviews,because they didnt play the whole game. Wizard101 is a turn based card game which is the best game i have played. You do have to get a subscription though which might cost a lot. I beat whole game three times and it is truly addicting. the best game. It is so worth playing. only the money part might ruin it.

Post Date: 08:30 24-04-2010
Rating: 0
Author: smo68
Comment: one of the worst games i ever played do not care about the players
fan site is worse.
got banned from fan site for life just for saying goodbye to all my friends.

Post Date: 20:35 08-12-2009
Rating: 10
Author: botanage
Comment: i beleive that it is real good got me hooked try members if you like it dont think it is drag because you have to pay at about level 10 the censors are good it is targeted to little kids and when your there awhile there are ways to get past with numbers keep it a kids game dont talk thrash and for you guys asking to be a girl o frieed or will you be my girl you dont even know how old or young they are if you dont want your kids to be on that menu chat is a good way to go

Post Date: 00:55 13-08-2009
Rating: 10
Author: webber
Comment: 1.5??? Wizard 101 does a MUCH better score than that. What do you expect in a game targeted toward families with kids? IMo it is a blast if ur a harry potter fan. To me that is what the game is trying to capture. Instead of being Wow, you focus only on a being a wiz.....The game is simple but it tagrget its audience well with something a little different than the normal fantasy mmos. I give it a 10 because the score is too low!

Post Date: 02:08 06-04-2009
Rating: 3
Author: Ubiquitous
Comment: Repetition is an understatement here. Every fight is carried out "trading card" game style. Unfortunately in their attempt to reach a young audience they have seriously ruined some of the potential of the game.

I enjoy turn based games and I enjoy trading card games. So this game does satisfy those pleasures in a small degree, but it will never contain the complexity necessary to keep your interest for more than the first "zone". At least not if you enjoy progressive challenges. I know, I know...you don"t want complexity in a child"s game, but then again if you visit their forums you will read members crying out for fixes. You will also discover that the members are more than capable of theory crafting and strategizing (especially in PvP.) It seems they are selling their users a bit short when evaluating their players mental capacities.

Every quest is a series of "collect this" or dual X monsters. Period. (Well perhaps there is a "walk here and walk back", but you get the point.)

The PvP system is broken big time. In the rated games (the ones that matter), you have no control at all as to whom you are up against. Imagine my surprise to pay real money for in-game currency (which I used to play around with PvP a bit) only to discover that I was automatically paired up against someone with several more levels than myself and double my health. Actually, this was not a fight at all. It was a murder. A murder that I paid real money to experience. I could actually go on for quite some time picking out the serious problems with the pvp system, but I don"t really think it so much a pvp system a "test out your spells until your opponent has enough pips to one shot you" system.

Support is a bit slow on the draw and is relentless when it comes to parting with a dime. After several communications with them they quite literally informed me that the design of their account processing system made it impossible to manually add credits to an account. I found this frightening since every system is capable of errors. After some back and forth banter with their support staff I am somewhat scared that they are currently in possession of my credit card info especially since they apparently can NOT fix an error should it occure. I challenge them to say this is slander....I still have the emails.

Oh and free to play covers less than half of the starting world. Furthermore, you will not even be able to complete every quest given to you in the free areas as several of them send you into paid zones. One in particular sends you into nearly every paid zone and early in the game at that. Quite the gimmick to get your payment info.

If you enjoy an exceptionally simple game with a ton of repetition and you trust payment systems that can"t be corrected then go for it. Its childlike atmosphere might provide you and your kids a great time. For me however I simply wish I could get my money back for unused credits.

With the influx of new online gaming options I can only imagine that this one will fizzle away unremembered as its initial fan base grows up and moves to bigger and better things.

Oh, you might also find it interesting that their first major "upgrade" was the addition of low quality voice overs to all of the starting world characters. As if this was needed with the three simple, largely recycled quest requests that they asked you to read in the first place. I am almost convinced that they grabbed a few of the office staff to record these voices and it shows. A better option for their resources would have been to improve broken game mechanics...and oh, I don"t know...maybe to enable staff to make manual modifications to player accounts? You know. Stuff that improves the game.

Well at least you can entertain yourself with minigames while you regenerate your mana and health (and a necessity for filling your potion bottles unless you wish to spend hard earned gold.) You"ll remain rivited for hours playing recycled versions of games like Dig Dug (you remember this exciting 8-bit game right?) Truely original content that will keep you engaged for days just looking for an excuse to refill your potion bottles. Yea...that was sarcasm.

Post Date: 04:19 02-02-2009
Rating: 0
Author: clickmehere
Comment: I saw the commercial then tried it.. of course like most disney games there was a hit and then a miss. at first everyone goes on and there is a big rush but then after about a weak the game is garbage.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.