Colony


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Colony is an RTS Strategy game based off of the popular game Starcraft. It has loads of units, and you play either with one to 4 players. It has a great campaign and tutorial as well.

Total Rating: 7.36
Reviews: 11

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 20:38 01-11-2014
Rating: 6
Author: paksupro4
Comment: This is flash RTS game . Litle looks like Starcraft. You can build a lot structures and units and create your army.
its a nice game 6/10

Post Date: 15:39 06-10-2014
Rating: 8
Author: brankomiljus20
Comment: This game is similar to Starcraft. Game is strategic, goal of game is to build different structures, units, get stronger and defeat ur enemies U have 2 modes campaign and or custom game. Game is good and fun to play

Post Date: 09:33 05-09-2014
Rating: 9
Author: arZ
Comment: Colony is a flash stategy game. Its a similar game as a Starcraft. Point in this game is to destroy all you enemy buildings and soldiers. Play a custom game or a campaign.
For a flash game you got many solutions ... I rate it with 9/10!

Post Date: 03:29 27-04-2013
Rating: 9
Author: FoxWMB
Comment: This is a simple, yet rather complex team strategy game, which happens to be an hommage to Starcraft.

The object of the game is quite simple - destroy enemy team's central base structure, using any means at your disposal.

The game is always played in 2 vs 2 mode. Both teams get 8 building slots, 4 per player, and construct various buildings that are used to produce troops or resources. Most of the buildings are upgradeable as well.

There are 4 resource types in this game, most of which auto-replenish, though all can be acquired in some way by base structures, and some in other ways as well.
The resources are cash, manpower, energy and influence, with only the influence not being auto-replenishing, it replenishes when the player's units control an area of the battlefield.

The game features 4 factions, which are essentially government types used throughout human history. Each of the 4 factions posses an unique bonus over the others.
Capitalists - gain 20% higher resources from structures.
Fascists - build units and structures faster
Communists - gain manpower faster at the cost of gaining energy slower. Also get additional money and influence from killing enemies
Monarchists - Unknown, due to it being explained nowhere in the game. An educated guess however would be that they gain influence at a higher rate.

The player can build 7 different structures
Outpost - used to train basic troops and tanks, can be upgraded to produce much heavier weapons. It can also be set to produce manpower.
Forge - used to create air units and androids, can be upgraded to produce more advanced versions. It can also be set to produce energy.
Hospital - used to create medical units that heal other units. Can also be upgraded to produce superunits. It can also be set to produce manpower
Bank - resource production building, produces cash. Can be upgraded to produce more cash.
Armory - resource production building, can be set to produce either cash, manpower or energy. It can also construct a powerful air unit
Generator - resource production building, produces energy, can be upgraded to produce more energy
Special Operations - A special building that can launch missiles at the enemy units or base, or produce special units, which are mostly upgraded versions of basic units. It can also be set to produce influence.

Units that can be produced in this game range from basic marines, over tanks and helicopters, to powerful battle suits, androids, heavy bombardiers, and more. Each of the units has its own hit points and armor, and all are good against specific types of units, making careful planing an important asset in this game. There are also special units, which pretty much present upgraded versions of normal units, some extremely heavily upgraded, and can only be purchased by influence.

The game features a six mission long campaign mode, in which player gets to fight both for the USC, and for the rebels. The game has a weak storyline, no backstory, no afterstory, the player is just dropped in a war zone and fights till victory is achieved.

The game can also be played in quick-play mode, which is essentially human and AI vs AI and AI team. It features 5 difficulty levels, along with the tutorial level as well.

One of the greatest things about this game is fully functional multiplayer support, allowing players to create games or join already created ones and play with other players. Each of the 2 slots in both teams can be filled either by a player or by one of 3 AI players, the easy, the normal, and the hard one. The games are ranked as well, allowing players to keep track of their stats over time.

From sound point of view, the game is doing rather well, with good sounds for all units and a well made soundtrack. Both muteable in case the player dislikes them.

Visually, the game is nothing special, though it doesn't look bad either. All the units and structures in the game are designed creatively and look right, however the graphics level on its own is not impressive.

The game has its flaws as well. One of which is the fact it doesn't allow the player to pause it in single player mode, nor does it have any option menu at all, nothing is modifiable.
Another flaw is the lack of a proper tutorial. There is a quick battle tutorial that explains some of the basics but it's pretty poorly done and leaves players with a lot to learn without any help. The campaign missions also present some sort of a tutorial on their own and provide some info to the player, but still, this is not enough, and leaves gaps. One of the example of this gaps is the fact there's absolutely no way to discover the bonuses provided by the monarchists.

Overall, it's really a good game, can be quite addictive and the multiplayer feature will definitely keep players occupied for a long time. The game has been designed rather well and gameplay is excellent, look and feel are really well too. The game's flaws appear to be simple and relatively easy to fix as well, but still leave a bad mark on an otherwise excellent game.

Current rating - 9 out of 10

Post Date: 18:36 14-02-2013
Rating: 6
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: When I first sow that game I wasnt to much enjoyed but when I played it some time I must say its ok. First we need to build main constuctions as outpost power plant and many other. While game we can improve that buildings to get betetr units. This game is more def then strategy production. Graphics are even ok but nothing special for me. I played better games then this. For me this is not bad and I rate it 6/10.

Post Date: 17:11 15-10-2012
Rating: 4
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: I cant understand this game. Looks shity for me. Without tutorial its a crap.

Post Date: 17:06 15-03-2011
Rating: 7
Author: Adrian
Comment: Another great flash based RTS game, the fact that it has a good campaign setting is great.

Post Date: 01:02 09-12-2010
Rating: 8
Author: EcLuD
Comment: haha nice game, is like Starcraft style's, a good time playing this i like 8/10

Post Date: 04:07 13-11-2010
Rating: 8
Author: Julein
Comment: Great Game campaign starts a little easy. A good amount of strategy involved in it. Good amount of units, needs more upgrades though i think. One of the best at its job.

Post Date: 04:05 26-09-2010
Rating: 8
Author: RandomZ
Comment: I love this game alot, since it's Starcraft based. I'm practically a SC fanatic and I've even tried out Starcraft 2 tower defense. This game is worth trying for any SC fan, because of the tactical aspect of it, and the variety of units in the game. Must try

Post Date: 01:20 22-09-2010
Rating: 8
Author: anymotion
Comment: I"ve played Colony many, many times. It"s a great game, and there"s more to it than you think. I really love the way the air units and ground units are balanced, and I like that there"s a fair amount of strategy that goes on in the game. There are also 3 different classes, Communist, Fascist, Capitalist, and they change how fast you get certain resources and small things like that. I give this game an 8/10 only because of the huge amount of hackers who, well, ruin the game most of the time





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.