Dont Starve


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Don’t Starve is an uncompromising wilderness survival game full of science and magic. You play as Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to exploit his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home.

Total Rating: 7.89
Reviews: 9

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 11:30 25-12-2014
Rating: 7
Author: altot
Comment: I used to be a big fan of survival game, and if I still was I feel like I would enjoy this game to the full extent. Still, it didn't stop me from having fun every now and then. It has it's flaw but it has it's ups as well.

Post Date: 10:44 13-11-2014
Rating: 8
Author: arZ
Comment: Dont starve is an adventure survival game with full of science and magic. YOu are controlling a normal human that has been trapped and you need to learn different magic to go out of the different traps. Interesting game, lot of fun. I rate this game with a note 8/10!

Post Date: 10:42 26-07-2014
Rating: 3
Author: ivekvv256
Comment: I've played this game at a friend of mine and didn't like it at all. Maybe it's becouse I don't like these type of games. But anyways the gameplay for me was booring so I'd rate it 3/10.

Post Date: 16:00 04-07-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Frozen
Comment: Don't starve is great indie game,something like minecraft but more harder then you think.
Don't starve is released in April 2013. and developed by Klei Entertainment.
You can buy don't starve for only 14,99$ what is great price for game like this one.
You can play it in single player and multiyplayer with your friends.

First of all you need to creat your world,chose your character and customize world if you want to change something.
The world will generate in different maps.
On the start you will have just 1 character called Wilson. You unlocking them by playing and earning experience. As much you survive you will get much experience and you will unlock other characters.
The every character have some special things.
for example the character called Willow is immune on fire damage and she have her lighter.

The start of game is the hardest, you need to find food and other stuff for survive.
Food which you can find is carrots,berries and seeds.
You can plant seeds and after some time it will grow up in random food.
On the ground you can find the flowers,flint (you using him for tools and other stuffs),saplings (with them you also make tools and other stuffs),grass and more...

You need to be prepared for night,first you need to make is fire (you can build classic fire for one night or camp fire with stone).
If you don't have light you will instantly die.
your character have:
hunger bar you need to feed him with food, if not you will starve then die.
Health bar you can be damaged by animals,fire or other things.
And sanity bar if you don't make new thing after some time it will go down, then your character will starting to be afraid of shadows and voices until he don't die.
So it's a little difficult game.
In this game seasons changing so it makes it much harder.
The hardest season for survive is winter, you can't find much food on the ground you can't also plant them, and you need to wear jacket and cap.

There is also the different bioms like in minecraft.
Some of them are grassland,dark wood,desert,savanna and more.

You can also finish game, you can find maxwell's door and went to the adventure which have 5 different stages. The first one is easiest and the last one is hardest.
When you complete it you finished the game.
By finishing the game first time you can unlock maxwell character.
In mine opinion don't starve is the best survival game after minecraft.The more funnier is when you play multiplayer with your friends. The shadows and graphic of this game is done very well.
Well i don't like the way how they did a food system. It's really hard to find food and survive at winter and also when you went to the maxwell's dore stage 5 is really hard to survive.
So my rate for this game is 9/9.

Post Date: 19:47 02-07-2014
Rating: 9
Author: FrendlyLeBlanc
Comment: This game is pretty fun where you need to survive.... I enjoyed when was watching gameplay and 9 for this game :)

Post Date: 23:47 24-05-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Extreme9898
Comment: Very good,fun and simple game.Must try this survival game.

Post Date: 09:18 09-05-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Leviathan39
Comment: This game is currently one of the best survival games for PC...It is very much fun. It lets you craft,build,it has pretty much anything that a survival game should have...And it has a nice soundtrack too! One of my favourite indie games. :)

Post Date: 17:16 01-05-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Frozen
Comment: The don't starve is indie game which you can buy on steam for 14.00e.The point of game is to survive as much as you can or go to advanture mod and win all 5 stages.When you start game you have to choise character firt.There are 11 different characters.Firs is wilson which you get on start.
he is the main character in Don't Starve. He is the only canon character with a confirmed backstory, and as such he is the main protagonist of the game. His backstory can be found below. He is known in-game as Wilson. He has no character-specific item, and his only perk is that he grows a magnificent Beard.The next on is wollow
Willow is the first unlockable character (160 XP). She is immune to Fire damage. When she is at low sanity, she starts a fire at her feet. However, this fire can spread and burn resources unintentionally and cause trouble when collecting resources. She also comes equipped with Willow's Lighter, which is an infinite source of light, and can be used to light things on fire. Willow also has a lower sanity, but this is compensated by her regaining sanity when near a fire.Next one is wolfgang
Wolfgang is the second unlockable character (320 XP). He does higher damage in melee and ranged combat and has more health. This gives him great advantages when fighting against Monsters or destroying Spider Dens. He also has a larger stomach at a max of 300 and a starting amount of 200, but his hunger will decrease faster or slower depending on how full it is.Wolfgang also loses his Sanity 10% more quickly than other characters when in the Dark or when near hostile Mobs such as Spiders.The next on is Wendy
Wendy is the third unlockable Character (640 XP). Wendy has a morbid personality; she always relates everything to death and how depressing life is, including herself.
The next on is WX-78
WX-78 is the fourth unlockable Character (960 XP). WX-78 is a self-sustaining automaton who hates all living matter. It can eat stale and spoiled Food without Health or Hunger penalties. However, food penalties that occur even if the food is not spoiled (such as eating Monster Meat) still take effect.WX-78, being a robot, will take damage when it is in the Rain. The amount of rain does not matter and WX-78 will always receive 1 Health point of damage every 2 seconds. The damage will not stun it when taken, similar to Fire damage. When taking rain damage, WX-78 periodically emits light due to sparks flying off its body. This provides enough light to prevent Charlie from attacking it, but WX-78 will suffer great sanity loss from the darkness. Using an Umbrella though will prevent the health loss and the sparks.This will take a lot of time if i speak about all of them :D.There are
Wickerbottom,Woodie,Wes,Maxwell,Wigfrid,Webber another characters :).you can try play this game it's a lot of fun and it is nice strategy game :)


Post Date: 09:43 26-01-2014
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: The modern game developer wants to give you everything. Preferably on the same time. Single-player, multiplayer, campaigns, happiness, sadness, adrenaline, romance, explosions, the sharpest graphics and the best online support. Don't Starve is a nice, quirky and original remedy for those who need to clear their head and just focus on one thing, because here it is really just to not starve to death.

It is in itself a truth with modifications, because in Don't Starve you can actually also be eaten, chopped to death, eat something poisonous, burn up or die of stupidity, so we can agree here and now that the goal of the game is to not to die.

I pretty quickly see the irony of spending money on the game, to prevent myself from starving in a game, when I just as easily could have been giving away the money so that someone actually had escaped starvation in reality, but if you start thinking too much in those courses, in the end you can just keep spending your money on anything at all. So I leave morality aside for a moment and enter into the role of an anonymous scientist.

I've just woken up on a small patch of grass in a deserted, sparse forest. Soon it begins to rumble in my stomach as I collect sticks and stones to build an axe. In the game I pick berries from a bush and seeds from the ground. It's soon evening in the game, and I decide that a small peninsula right next to the water becomes as good a camp as any.

The night goes as I wait at a small fire that I made up of wood and flint stone, which I collected on me during the day. From the forest sounds I hear alarming sounds and I do not dare to go out into the darkness and uncertainty. If I die, my character remains dead. Game Over, only to start over. So I patiently wait instead. The next day I build a trap that to catch some rabbits. I don't have much more time to do much else before it gets dark again and when I go back to the camp to make up a new fire and cook my catch it isn't really enough to calm the hunger of my character.

It continues ilke that for a couple of days. My character is becoming more and more hungry and I also happen to run into an gravesite which makes my character gets scared and mentally tempted, so I decide to leave everything and to go out exploring. Somewhere must be something that can help me, I think, but the only thing that greets me is deadly monsters, and my journey thus becomes short. I die and start over.

The nect time I'm a bit more careful. This time I am looking a whole day to find a good place and discovers a pair of pigs who seem sympathetic. I do not disturb them and they do not bother me. Right next door lives a few nasty spiders, but the pigs are taking care of them. Slowly I build a laboratory, a farmhouse, straw clothes, a couple of important tools and a spear. I also find a cap not too far away from my camp. "This is good when winter comes," says my character.

As I build up a bond between me, my character, the world and everything I accomplished I become increasingly cautious and afraid of losing everything. There lies the beauty of Don't Starve for me. The concept is simple - the fundamentals are based on Minecraft principles where new basic materials brings new inventions and tools - but when everything feels so perishable, it suddenly becomes interesting to hear what other players have accomplished, and I want to tell my friends how long I have survived and what I have discovered.

Everything is framed with charming aesthetic that makes Don't Starve to look like a doll game built of cardboard boxes and cardboard. Lakes consists of cut-and-painted cardboard whose waves undulate excessively regardless of size, the trees look flat and two-dimensional, while the characters shows absolutely no emotions. Klei Entertainment makes no attempt to compete with the graphic giants but choose instead to go a completely separate way. The end result is amazing, unique, effective and scary.

I play Don't Starve with a controller on my PC, and unfortunately it's not free from problems. Sometimes I had to search between the game folders to change the graphics settings manually to get the right resolution. Even though this might be quickly done by those who knows how to do this, it's definitely something that you should be able to do by simply going into the settings via the game's menu. Particularly annoying is of course when the option is there but doesn't work. Who knows, maybe I just had bad luck and maybe the problem is rare.

Otherwise I dont have much to complain about Don't Starve. It's mysterious, eerie, addictive and will probably last long for those who like survival-subgenre. Sure, it can be a little repetitive to start again after a couple of games but do not let that stop you. Don't Starve is an amazing experience.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.