Guardians of Middle-earth


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


A shadow grows over Middle-earth as the greatest armies of the Third Age prepare for the coming battle. Take up arms in the clash over Middle-earth with the most powerful heroes from the greatest fantasy epic of all time. Form memorable and unlikely alliances with and against friends as the wildly popular Multiplayer Online Battle Arena genre comes to Xbox Live Arcade and PlayStation Network.

Total Rating: 7.46
Reviews: 13

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 18:01 16-05-2015
Rating: 8
Author: LosmiK
Comment: This MOBA from Monolith is a correct entry for those who would like to begin training, but some defects prevents it from getting into the closed circle of the best games of the genre.

Post Date: 12:55 03-02-2015
Rating: 9
Author: axwellshm
Comment: What else i can say than it's a great game. Not only it has a good gameplay and solid graphics, it's because i personally love that film. I don't know that any film in my past shed every tear on my face at the end. I watched the movie 10000x times, and I'm still crying at the end of the movie. Really perfect, played game The battle for the middle earth, liked it very much , and this "expansion" is good aswell. Gonna give 9/10.

Post Date: 21:09 09-01-2015
Rating: 8
Author: arZ
Comment: The developer from the popular game named Guardians of Middle earth is the company Monolith Production Zombie studios and the publisher is the famous movie company Warner Brothers Interactive Entertainment. The game is released for play station and X Box 360in december 2012
and for personal computer end of August 2013. Guardians of the Middle earth like the name says is set in the Middle earth. This game is based on the popular movie series The Lord of the Rings. The game genre is a multyplayer online battle arena, and is a single player game mode to.
The game is base on the popular Warcraft mode Dota.

Lets talk about a game play. So at begin you can pick one of the free to play champions, or some that you can buy with a coins for real money or when you play some game you can get small amount of gold. They are many cool different heroes or champions. They are some no names in the game that are not in the movie, but they are some famous champs like Gandalf, Legolas, Aragorn or a funny Smeagol. They are different game modes, like normal game, practice mode. After you select a game mode you need to select one of the champions and you are matched with four different players. Its a 5v5 game. The cool thing in this game is you can be just one good or evil team, and you can pick just from
the good or evil champs. The map got three lanes like all popular mobas top, bottom and middle and every lane is supported by by spawning minions and high damage towers. Every champion starts with three skills and the ultimate skill you can lock when you hit the level five.For using skills you just need to wait for the cool down no mana in this game. That is pretty cool. You cant buy any items, and for killing minions you get extra experience. For experience you get level and you can upgrade one of your skills. For killing enemy champions you get some point that
you can upgrade you towers. The point in the game is to destroy the enemy town tower with your team, and who destroyed the first wins the game.

The graphic from this game is awesome, really love it. The game play is nice too. Really love the good vs evil matchmaking where you can just pick good or evil champs in your team. The sound is pretty relaxing. Not so hard to learn, because they are not so many champions in game
and you dont need to build different items. I rate this game with the note 8/10. I did not play this game so much, but I really like it because I am a big Lord of the Rings fan. Recommended this game for all Lord of the rings and Moba fan. When you are searching a new moba this game is for you. I enjoy id to play so I think you will have a lot of fun.

Post Date: 11:20 04-11-2014
Rating: 6
Author: Mihajlo
Comment: Guardians of Middle-Earth (GoME) is Lord of the Rings based MOBA. Characters are called guardians and there are 36 unique ones. All guardians are free, and you unlock then as you level up. I rate this game 6/10

Post Date: 18:49 01-07-2014
Rating: 8
Author: wec0
Comment: It's very nice game, i highly recommend to everyone!

Post Date: 15:42 20-06-2014
Rating: 7
Author: Shokata
Comment: Very nice game !

Post Date: 10:59 26-05-2014
Rating: 8
Author: bloga99
Comment: Very fun game :)

Post Date: 16:31 24-03-2014
Rating: 10
Author: axwellshm
Comment: Well i haven't played this game. But title says everything it's based LotR story. Middle-earth, oh man how i love this movie. i'll keep it up to play the game too.

Post Date: 20:08 10-09-2013
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: You probably haven't seen Gandalf, Sauron and Arathorn fight side by side before, but in Guardians of Middle-Earth, that's happening very often. And if the game digs deep into the Lord of the Rings world, most of the playable characters will be unfamiliar to many that have only seen the movies. The game doesn't really care about the official chronology, and the evil forces are often found fighting beside the good forces. Instead, Guardians of the Middle-Earth focuses on having fun, which is something very good.

This is a MOBA-game, a DoTA clone or a Lord Managements game, depending on who you ask. It's a genre that have exploded in popularity recent years, perhaps most with League of Legends, one of the most popular games these days.

It's a genre where many believe can only work with a mouse and a keyboard. It is fortunate that Monolith, the developers, haven't listened to this speculation. They have taken on the challenge to making a MOBA to a console and somehow they have succeeded. Guardians of the Middle-Earth is a pleasure to play, and the controls are never a problem. Monolith has had to rethink about the whole MOBA game concept from the ground to adapt it to the consoles. Guardians of the Middle-Earth is more streamlined than its competitors and therefore it's also more accesible.

The main difference is, as mentioned, the controls. Instead of clicking on the units like in other MOBA games, you have direct control over them in Guardians of the Middle-Earth. You move, aim and send out special attacks. More advanced maneuvers like upgrading buildings go as easy, and it is impressive how smoothly everything is controlled.

Seasoned MOBA players might be disturbed by the fact that in Guardians of the Middle-Earth, there's no ''last hitting''. Here, it's not the player that gets the final blow that leaves with the gold and experience points, instead all players that are close are rewarded. This has two effects. First, you can't just run in to a battle and ''steal'' experience points from a team mate, so there's no risk of greedy teammates that destroys your experience and rewards. It also results in faster leveling, which in turn results in shorter matches, often below twenty minutes.

Another difference is that there is no shop in your base where you can spend your gold or experince that you collected on new things. It definitely takes away a bit of the depth, but at the same time, considering that a game like Dota have over 1000 items in the shop, makes Guardians of the Middle-Earth seem a lot mre accesible.

Even though these changes have a major impact on the gameplay, comparing to other MOBA's, they are still not changing the basic layup in the game. It is still hugely important for the teamwork to work, if you want to win, and skilled players can still dominate the game and lead their team to victory.

The biggest drawback is that the game can be very sensitive to lag when you are playing online. If the host (in both Xbox 360 and PC), has a bad connection, you will have to play through laggy rounds and will have to put up with it, which might ruin the game experience for you. Another thing that is worth mentioning, is that if a player in your team leaves in the middle of the game, it becomes extremely hard to win the game. But that's a problem that exists in many games.

Despite this, Guardians of the Middle-Earth is a very impressive game. The developers, Monolith, have really made a game that seemed impossible to play on a console work and in some ways it even improves the genre. When you play with speed in a close-knit team, this kan be as fun as hell, and this is the perfect game for those who want to dip their toe in the MOBA-genre.

Post Date: 17:40 17-03-2013
Rating: 8
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This game is very fun its a moba based on lord of the rings so you can play characters from that series also there are quite a few players if you are looking for a lord of the rings online moba then buy it

Post Date: 22:56 15-03-2013
Rating: 5
Author: Webber
Comment: Its ok if you want to buy a lotro moba and have the cash. Only lotro fans will want it since the game itself is not as good as other mobas like LoL.

Post Date: 23:26 19-02-2013
Rating: 9
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: Great game its like league of legends but the champions are characters form the movies like golem vs gandalf stuff like that its pretty fun and not that stressful like most mobas also there is not alot of players right now so the more the marry i recommend playing this game for sure

Post Date: 04:07 17-02-2013
Rating: 3
Author: akshaj
Comment: its a nice game i played it in ps3 when i got my ps3 plus.

but i would say not that worth it when u have 2 pay for it.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.