Heroes of Newerth


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Fantasy real-time strategy MMO with amazing graphics that is based on Defense of the Ancients from Warcraft III. Unlike most other real-time strategy games, Heroes of Newerth allows you to focus on your hero instead of micro-managing everything.

Total Rating: 7.29
Reviews: 35

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 18:15 12-04-2015
Rating: 8
Author: LosmiK
Comment: "Heroes of Newerth" or "HoN" is a great game to play. It is essentially a copy from the Warcraft 3 custom map "Defense of the Ancients" or "DotA".

In HoN (and DotA) you choose from a vast variety of Heroes, each with different roles and abilities. Your team of five players versus another five players with the aim of "pushing" lanes, and eventually destroying the opponent's main structure. AI units ("creeps") spawn every 30 seconds from either side of the three lanes, which automatically attempt the push the lane. If your Hero is nearby when an enemy creep or enemy Hero dies, you gain experience. By gaining experience, your Hero eventually levels up, allowing you to learn/improve your different abilities. By killing creeps and Heroes, you gain gold (as well as gaining gold periodically) which allows you to purchase items to make your Hero stronger.

The graphics in HoN is a huge improvement over the Warcraft 3 graphics DotA was utilising and being able to reconnect to a game is a great if you have an unexpected connection issue.

Many of the Heroes in HoN are clones from the DotA Heroes, which for someone like myself is good - having played DotA for a while, I am able to play HoN with all my old favourites. Although, not all the Heroes from DotA have been ported over. And there are even some non-DotA Heroes in HoN which are really good.

For someone new to this type of game, HoN can be quite difficult to grasp. The majority of the HoN community can be quite mean to new players. However, an easy way to overcome this is to play no-stat games. In HoN, different statistics are tracked as you play, such as Kill:Death Ratio, win %, and Public Skill Rating (PSR). When you win/lose your PSR will go up/down depending on the PSR of all the other people playing. Since most people would like to have a high PSR, they critizise new players who cause them to lose the game, and thus cause their PSR to go down. When playing a no-stat game, none of the stats a tracked, so people aren't aggressive.

Post Date: 20:26 09-01-2015
Rating: 7
Author: arZ
Comment: The developer and the publisher from Heroes of Newerht is the company S2 Games. Heroes of Newerth (HoN) is a popular multiplayer online battle arena video game for PC and Mac OS. The game was released in may 2010, and re released on july 2011 as a free to play game. Like all popular mobas this game was derived for the popular Warcraft mode Defense of the Ancients.

Heroes of Newerh is a team game where the player is a part of one team Two teams of five players are fighting each other and the goal is to defeat the enemy town hall. The teams are put on the two different corners and every team spawns ally minions that should help to destroy the enemy building. They are three lanes, like in all popular mobas,
top, middle, and botton. Every lane is guarded by towers and on every lanes are spawning minions. Every team got a base where with towers, and central structures and the important town hall, World Three on one side (Legion) or on the other side (Hellbourne) Sacrifical Shrine. Every player need to pick one champion that spawns on the spawning pool.
Every champion is unique and got his unique skills that can be used offensive or defensive in the battle.

Heroes of Newerh got some nice game modes.
Like in all mobas you got the bot game to practice and learn the different champions, normal game, where you can play against different people or friends on line. Courier game mode is same like the normal but each team get more gold, experience and get a courier. The most played game mode is the matchmaking game mode. Its something like a
ranked game where a player is placed with other players same skill level to battle each other. Every player starts at 1500 MMR and after every win or lose he get or lose some of the MMR points.

At the moment they are 125 unique champions on Heroes of Newerth. Its same like in other popular mobas. Every champ got three skills and one ultimate skill. You can use it with the keyboard keys Q W E R. The skills you can get from gaining experience points killing minions or killing the enemy champions. And you get gold too, and you can buy
different items that helps you champ and team to win the game. The max level from champion in game is 25, and every lvl you get small amount of stats. They are different types of heroes. Intelligent are most range mages, Strenght are mostly mele champs tanks, and Agility are DPS champ.

The graphic from the game is really cool, and the sound effect are nice to. Really good gameplay. Hard to play, because you need first to learn the different champions and they skill. Its a copy from the popular game Dota I would say, but I like dota more then HoN. I rate this game with the note 7/10, because of no unique things in the game.
They could add some changes in HoN, because this game for me is same as dota, just with other champions. But still cool game.

Post Date: 22:20 14-11-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Wildout
Comment: HoN has been with us for a long time, and it one of the most popular moba games right now, although it has regressed drasticly in the period betwean 2012-2014 cause of the various games released that want to copy DotA/LoL, but the game is very interesting and has a lot of options to chose from, i give this game a 9/10

Post Date: 17:29 29-10-2014
Rating: 5
Author: Mihajlo
Comment: Heroes of Newerth (HoN) is MOBA game based on DotA. There are over 120 different Heroes and they are divided in 2 teams (Legion & Hellbourne) and three categories (Strength, Agility & Intelligence). Really fun and competitive game. My rate for this game is 8/10.

Post Date: 08:33 09-08-2014
Rating: 9
Author: shaki997
Comment: Its a good MOBA game where you wield powerful heroes and fight the enemy plaers to see who will come out on top. The game is played on a 5 vs 5 map similar to the map on league of legends and DotA 2. It has amazing graphics! The game focusses on strategic team play adn its really fun to play!

Post Date: 15:43 20-06-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Shokata
Comment: Pretty nice MOBA but League of legends is league of legends ! :)

Post Date: 14:24 07-06-2014
Rating: 8
Author: FrendlyLeBlanc
Comment: Good MOBA but LoL is better.... close enough
8/10 :)

Post Date: 11:30 07-06-2014
Rating: 7
Author: najdan11
Comment: Nice Moba game,but this game cant compete with LOL and other MOBA games...Graphics is good,gameplay is good too.

Post Date: 10:21 07-06-2014
Rating: 8
Author: htsUNL1MITED
Comment: Very nice MOBA game i enjoy played it :)

Post Date: 10:54 29-05-2014
Rating: 9
Author: bloga99
Comment: Very good MOBA game :)

Post Date: 07:35 17-05-2014
Rating: 8
Author: bboyMinato
Comment: One of the best MOBA games. Played and have too say it is really hard to play, but fun.

Post Date: 12:08 06-05-2014
Rating: 8
Author: doca8
Comment: This moba game i didnt play but it look really nice, i saw couple time in gaming house, but never try it . :)

Post Date: 18:40 29-04-2014
Rating: 7
Author: nikiwild
Comment: Ok, here we have a moba game named heroes of newerth, or hon. Game is pretty much copy of lol and dota. Like every moba game. There cant be much changed in it. So game was made by S2 games, and it was released in 2010, but in 2011 it was free to play. Goal in this game to destroy enemy base, like in every moba. In this game u have 2 team, one is the Legion and the other is the Hellbourne. In legions are humans, elfs and other nice creatures, and people, in hellbourne are orcs, undeads, and other disgusting creatures. Legions are in bottom left corner, and hellbourne are in top right corner. The map is split by diagonal from top left corner to bottom right corner. On the left side everything is green, many green trees, on the right side every thing is black, the trees dont have the green surface, every thing is of rock, black rock. The game can be played online, alone, or with other people. Usually its played 5v5. Sound in this game is pretty much good, you can hear the trees when they are mooving, every champion has his own sound, towers while attacking can be heard too, as i said, sound is really good. Graphics are nice too, if u have a good pc u can play it in nice graphics mode without lags. Graphics can be reduced, if u have a low computer like me. Reduce the graphics and u will not have lags, but u will not have a good looking at the game. They have really put up a hard work in this game. You can scroll up and you will zoom in and see how details are really good, they made it look really nice, realistic. Gameplay, like every moba game you have 3 lanes, top, mid, bot. Nothing special here. Like i said there are 2 sides the Legion and the Hellbourne. Every side has its own champions, there are a lot of champions. Every one has its own abilitys, 4 abilitys, 3 arbilitys are normal, and the fourth is ultimate, that u unlock at level 6. Levels are gain when u fight against monsters or other champions, you can gain exp just by standing near them while they are dying. To gain stronger you will need items, items u will get buying them in shop, there are 3 shops, one is in base and the other 2 are in the jungle, on every side. To buy items u will need gold, gold is earned by killing a minion, when u last hit a minion u will be given amount of gold that is given. Or u can destroy a tower, kill a champin, or asist someone to kill a champion, those are ways to get gold. You can invite your friends to play the game, game is much more funnyer to play with friends than alone, so feel free to invite them to play with you. So this was my review of this game hope you like it.

Post Date: 00:04 19-04-2014
Rating: 7
Author: TheSDPproduction
Comment: Graphics : 7/10
Sound effects : 8/10
Multiplayer : 7/10
Gameplay 7/10

This was once a good game,but it just cant compete with League of legends and dota 2.Still its a pretty good game that you should try out!

Post Date: 19:24 15-04-2014
Rating: 10
Author: BorisBox
Comment: Pretty awesome game to be honest, when i first downloaded it, i didn't expect that much intense action like in LoL teamfights / Dota teamfights...
They have more then awesome graphics, also a cool item building system and what i like the most ANNOUNCER!
Announcer is they bigger game-changer when it comes to rating this game.They also have an 3D animated shop where you can buy various things starting froum name color change to announcer, couriers and much much more :)
I like the game specially because it's free to play and they you can chose will you spend money on it or no.
I give it 10 on scale, epic game.

Post Date: 23:59 08-04-2014
Rating: 8
Author: cemex
Comment: awesome MOBA, similarly to dota and lol, nice champions, graphic and gameplay

Post Date: 15:10 27-03-2014
Rating: 10
Author: Flupix
Comment: Great game. I am adicted to the game

Post Date: 17:55 26-03-2014
Rating: 6
Author: Chavo Ledeni
Comment: I dont know is this game copy of League of Legedends, but i dont like this game, i dont like graphic, and gameplay it's too complicated... when i tried this game, after 5 min of play i had a headache :P

Post Date: 11:03 22-03-2014
Rating: 5
Author: Nawger
Comment: Well this rewiev is hard to start off. First of all the interface is soooooo hard to manipulate. The item shop is too complicated. the graphics are realy not my type. Hope s2 games will do a better job with Strife.

Post Date: 16:15 19-03-2014
Rating: 7
Author: NeSsQQuiCk
Comment: Hardest moba out there currently. Not developed enogh. It has some bugs and the community is not so numbered as other mobas. I don't like to paly it often but sometimes I play it to see what is changed. I wouldn't recommend this to new moba player.

Post Date: 10:27 08-12-2013
Rating: 10
Author: keller07
Comment: DotA 2 is the best game. Just like dota but now online. Improves heroes, items, and many others in DotA. Dota 2 is a very nice game I ever played.

Post Date: 00:37 06-03-2013
Rating: 8
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This game is a MOBA which means Multiplayer online battle arena and that means you fight to the death in an arena till the other team wins by killing there towers and there base and kill minions for gold the graphics on this moba are great the best graphics for any moba that isnt smite for sure if you like moba games give this a try you might like it 8/10 for me

Post Date: 21:17 27-02-2013
Rating: 7
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: This production is na 3D fantasy MMO with great gameplay. Game is based in WorCraft III Defence of the Ancients. In game we have many competitions on which whole game is based. Game have very nice leveling system which not leting players go sleep and still playing :D In game there are two factions Legion and Hellbournes and 3 categories Strength, Agility and Intelligence. All compilations need a different skills sets. FOr me game is preety good and have nice game play. Original graphics and good sounds also give this game huge bust. I rate this game 7/10 :)

Post Date: 18:31 12-07-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: This game is about two a good side and aevil side that's trying to conquer each other's bases. Your role is to help one of these two sides to win the battle with the help of a hero together with up to four other players fight against another team. There's training mode for those who want, but you mostly learn the most by fighting against other people. What makes Heroes of Newerth to stand out is especially it's accessibility. It is neat, fast and stylish with game lobbies and community features. The game sounds good and feels good. So the game is kind of just to knock out the enemy base. The graphics are just amazing. So in total HoN is a great MOBA that you should try. At least if you like MOBA's xD

Post Date: 15:44 06-07-2012
Rating: 9
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: This game is just like Dota 2 if you want to play something well you are waiting to play Dota then this is for you or you can play League Of Legends either are good choices

Post Date: 08:17 04-04-2012
Rating: 4
Author: c32ar
Comment: I rate this game a 4.

Post Date: 09:44 04-11-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: This game is actually a very fun game. It have good graphics. The sound is also pretty good :S

Post Date: 20:38 27-10-2011
Rating: 5
Author: dmt_2000
Comment: This game is like lord of the rings online if you like lord of the rings online then you should play this

Post Date: 16:04 20-08-2011
Rating: 2
Author: jelena23
Comment: The only good part about Heroes of Newerth are its graphics. You can only choose between 15 heroes who are free to play, any other hero you have to buy. Game lags a lot and there aren't many new players around. Pass.

Post Date: 20:53 17-12-2010
Rating: 0
Author: dirtyworm
Comment: just bad

Post Date: 16:55 08-08-2010
Rating: 1
Author: blastoise466
Comment: in my opinion this game is worthless. I played dota too much and loved it. then i firstly started on LoL. lol was awesome. It was too easy to learn but hard to master. lol is completely free also. lol was a different experience then dota and much better experience then dota. Then i tried hon. i bought it for 30 dollar i was waiting an improved dota but i saw a game worse than dota the games items are yet complicated alredy... There is no respect in the game everyone is so mean. i play games for fun not standing like a dog on the computer. Hon is completely hard to learn. when i played the starting tutorial of lol i learned everything. but in hon in tutorial i couldnt understand things even a bit. At lol s matchmaking the players were all newbs like me. but in hon i dont get it why everyone was pro except me. i think i told enough i give it a 4



video 10/10 the best you can except
sound 8/10 not good enough
gameplay 3/10 it sucks
players language to you 0.1/10 no comment

=4
but i give it 1 cuz everyone gave it 9 or 10

Post Date: 10:27 01-08-2010
Rating: 10
Author: misterpete
Comment: This game is simply amazing. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys RPG or RTS games.

Post Date: 10:22 16-05-2010
Rating: 9
Author: thundemp2007
Comment: This is the evolution of DOTA.But what exactly lies behind these four mysterious letters? DotA for Defense of the Ancients, is basically a scenario Warcraft III , which sees two teams of five players, one side of Sentinel and Scourge of other on a map symmetrical and whose purpose is to go sack the enemy sanctuary, the famous Ancients.
I could gush on to explain all the mechanics behind DotA and what makes it great, but there really is so much depth to this game that it would take me another two articles to get through it all. All you need to know is that DotA is often considered by gamers to be one of the staple competitive games at any legitimate eSports event. It's incredible when you consider that DotA is, literally, a single map on a seven year old game engine.

Of course, while there have been a few attempts to "re-create" the DotA experience (gaming marketers around the world are crying in their pillows over the fact that they can't monetize this game), nobody has been able to make a sequel that preserves the true depth of DotA. In fact, many gamers had given up on DotA ever really getting a real "sequel" until the release of Stracraft II, when (hopefully) IceFrog will magically port DotA over to the SC2 engine and continue this map's legacy.

Post Date: 17:04 16-04-2010
Rating: 9
Author: jared
Comment: HoN is better than dota grapahics are amiazing and its also really difficult when you play online some of those people are mad men!awesome game 9/10

Post Date: 04:44 09-04-2010
Rating: 10
Author: brickhead
Comment: The best DoA game ever! I have never had more fun playing a strategy game. I would rather play HoN than League of legends.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.