World of Warplanes


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


World of Warplanes is the flight combat MMO action game set in the Golden Age of military aviation. The game continues the armored warfare theme marked in the highly-acclaimed World of Tanks and will throw players into a never-ending tussle for air dominance. Based purely on aircraft setting, World of Warplanes will allow players to build full-scale careers of virtual pilots offering machines of several key eras, staring from World War I period with 'Biplanes' and up to jet fighter prototypes that led the way to modern air forces. World of Warplanes will feature a wide range of warbirds, each of them unique in their effectiveness and behavior. Virtual pilots will choose from three main warplane classes - single-engine light fighters capable of engaging enemies in close dogfights, twin-engine fighters with their deadly straight attacks, and strafing aircrafts, the fearsome threat for ground targets.

Total Rating: 8.26
Reviews: 19

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 17:03 19-06-2014
Rating: 10
Author: FrendlyLeBlanc
Comment: This game is like WoT only planes :) Amazing and 10/10 :)

Post Date: 13:45 19-06-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Vrcinac
Comment: i have played it it is nice and fun but i dont like airplanes that much. what goes up has to go down one way or another :D i like tanks more but for those who love air thingies this game is just a thing 9/10!

Post Date: 16:58 26-05-2014
Rating: 10
Author: Gavra10
Comment: Its very very cool game .. :D That games like WoT and WoWP are awesome :D

Post Date: 14:57 19-05-2014
Rating: 10
Author: Ckalja99
Comment: When i was litle i always liked playin with toy planes.When i got a computer my first game was about planes(can't remember name of the game it was long ago).My parents couldn't take me off from computer because i was always on that game. I was surfing the internet and i found World of Warplanes i was exited.I foung it like a half year ago and i playin almost every day. I only have BEST words for this game.Might say it is my favourite game! Polikarpov I-15bis DM-2 is my favourite plane! I can only give perfect 10 for this game cause it made my life more interesting! I recommend to all plane lowers to start playing it and they will soon see that the game is really good.So that would be all from me.

Post Date: 14:45 18-05-2014
Rating: 10
Author: bloga99
Comment: World of Warplanes is for me the best flight game ever made. I began to play it 2-3 months ago, and so far my highest tier 5th.
I think they are the strongest German planes.My strongest German plane is Messerschmitt Bf 110 E.Game I found on the official website Wargaming.net.
New missions are appearing every day, and always brings good rewards, which help a lot early players...
You have to play a lot of this game to earn enough expirience,and enough money for new aircraft.
I recommend this game to everyone who love airplanes and shooter games.If someone wants to play with me send a private message:)

Post Date: 15:42 28-04-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Aki013
Comment: I tried this game ,well i like it.There you fight in sky, shoot airplanes..Youc can play with diffrent nations too :)..I will recommend you this game, destroy enemy airplanes and get expirience ! :D 9/10

Post Date: 17:32 22-04-2014
Rating: 5
Author: nikiwild
Comment: Tryed it once and i dont like it :)

Post Date: 18:11 16-04-2014
Rating: 7
Author: Aneman
Comment: so this game is about planes, you have a lot of nations (same like at Wot), you start with one plane then you have to upgrade/buy new airplanes, you can get some "exp" by destroying enemy airplanes... game is good 7/10

Post Date: 22:56 12-04-2014
Rating: 10
Author: DancinGDeaD
Comment: soo good i played this :D

Post Date: 19:08 11-04-2014
Rating: 8
Author: pisoj13
Comment: Enjoyable arcade shooter in the sky, free to play and free from annoyances like flutter and engine torque.

Post Date: 10:58 10-04-2014
Rating: 7
Author: molnyi
Comment: World of Warplanes is an flight combat mmo. It offers you to play with different nations. The game offers a lot of maps for combat, lots of airoplanes. Sistem of this game is that u start off with 1 plane and then u buy higher tier planes and upgrade them by adding extra dmg, higher speed etc etc. U get expirience for destroying enemy planes and objectives. It's a fun game at start, but you can get enough of it in a constant play. I think 2-3 hours will be enough before you run out of "fuel" :)

Post Date: 20:12 30-03-2014
Rating: 10
Author: Aneman
Comment: This is really amazing game 10/10.. :)

Post Date: 05:09 09-02-2014
Rating: 5
Author: CrownKnight
Comment: love the flight on this game a nice simple game with graphed planes

Post Date: 12:06 27-11-2013
Rating: 9
Author: sipanapada
Comment: Excellent substitue for tired WoT players like me. No campers, no OverPowered TD's, no last-shot missed kills, etc...
Quick game, some kind of FPS in the air. :)
There are room for improvement (big maps "eat" lots of PC resources).
I would give it 8,5 - but 9 for a future trust!

Post Date: 22:29 25-11-2013
Rating: 7
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: I simply love to fly in games. I always choose the helicopter or the airplane when the opportunity is given in a game and that is why I was quite euphoric over the initiative to move the brilliant, free action concept of World of Tanks to new heights, literally.

The concept is simple. You have to shoot down all the enemy planes, and to do this it's important to communicate with your team so that you can protect each other from ambushes and such. At the same time, there are buildings on the land which is destructible to thereby weaken the enemy in different ways. When all the enemy planes have crashed the match is won.

And that's that. During my initial hours in World of Warplanes, I am surprised by how simple and repetitive the concept is, but two things that happens changes everything. Firstly, I invite a friend to play together with me and secondly I begin to explore the game's menus and discovers aircraft, weapons and designs that I just have to have. Aircrafts that could easily destroy mine in the blink of an eye.

Together with my friend, we discover how easy it is to play together and which strategic opportunities that you have in the game. We almost live in the game, help each other from ambushes, flanking the enemy and shouts with laughter when we accidentally crashes into each other. Then we sit in the queue for a new game to play again. What I want to say with this is that the game is definitely a game that is very entertaining when playing together with someone you know. There are many games that can be fun with people you know, but not many games like World of Warplanes.

The aircraft that replicates have been given pros and cons that match their real models from the world wars. BF109 as an example, flies fast and shoots very far but are too tight in the turns - but World of Warplanes is hardly a pure flight simulator. Sure, it will be cooler when you mix a joystick in the game, since they are supported, but I quickly find that World of Warplanes is synonymous with simplicity for me and I choose to continue to play with a mouse and keyboard instead. It's quick, short game sessions that apply to my part rather than the long-running sessions, and there's a very simple reason why. World of Warplanes is namely missing varied game modes.

It almost seems like Wargaming have put all of their effort and resources to thoroughly researching and producing lifelike aircrafts, weapons, engines and other upgrades and completely forgot about picking up game modes. It's almost like Wargaming are so proud of their aircraft, rightly, that they settled by letting us go loose on each other as we want, but in the end, World of Warplanes would have significantly improved by a slightly more structured and streamlined structure. With the time, they will probably add both more aircrafts and more game modes but right now it's unfortunately quite cheap when looking talking about the game modes.

It is purely beautiful to fly and it looks like they have put much effort in making a game world that invites you to fly as low as possible, to just see the trees whiz by. Bu at the same time, the light setting are a little too thin and some animations have had to be tweaked to give more weight to the fighting. The same should be said about the sound that is definitely of the conservative kind. It's a shame, because the arcade feeling of the game would have needed powerful sounds and roaring engines.

I can say that World of Warplanes isn't boring, but rather reasonable. Because it doesn't matter how good your vehicle is if you can't cooperate together with your team and have the skills to help them. It might be tricky to fly and here it really the sedulous that wins. At the same time it is fully possible to play your way to get better planes, since the currency that you get by playing can be converted to such that can be bought by real money, even if it can take a while.

I am definitely enjoying the time in World of Warplanes. It might not be the best game out there and it's definitely not flawless, but the game itself is fun and that's what matters the most.

Post Date: 01:53 02-06-2013
Rating: 9
Author: FoxWMB
Comment: World of Warplanes is the 2nd major MMO game coming from Wargaming, which recently made a name for itself with its World of Tanks MMO. As such, World of Warplanes has a lot in common with its older brother, and is about to have even more. Currently, the game is in closed beta, version 0.4.2, so many of the options are not yet implemented into the game.

For now though, there's only one battle mode, in which the goal of the player's team is to either eliminate the other team, or gain superiority before the battle time expires. Superiority is gained by destroying enemy planes or ground targets, and if one side manages to keep more destroyed enemies than the other long enough without having any of its own planes or ground targets destroyed, which resets the superiority counter.

The battles are intended to be fought 15vs15, but currently due to lack of players in closed beta, the game's matchmaking system allows for less players in battles.

As in World of Tanks, World of Warplanes also offers 10 tiers to play on, with tier 1 consisting of the weakest and oldest airplanes, mid tiers focusing mostly on World War II era planes and late tiers focusing on post war planes and projects, which mostly include the early jet airplanes of late 1940's and 1950's.

There are currently 4 nations represented in WoWp, with almost 70 regular and several more premium aircraft. USA, Germany, Soviet Union - each represented with 2 trees of planes, and most recently added Japan, with a single tree.

There are currently 4 classes of airplanes in the game as well, but in reality, they boil down to 2 classes. Fighters and carrier based fighters represent the fighter class of the game, while heavy fighters and attack aircraft represent the bomber class of the game. At the moment, USA, Germany and Soviet Union all have a single fighter tree, while USA and Japan have a carrier based fighter tree as well. Soviet Union has the only attack aircraft tree, while Germany has the only heavy fighter tree, making those 2 nations currently the only choice for those that prefer bombers to fighters.

The game's interface is pretty similar to that of World of Tanks, and everything pretty much works the same way, so WoT players will find themselves right at home in this game and will probably think of it as WoT with planes. For those unfamiliar with WoT, it might take some getting used to. The planes are purchased with credits, earned in battles, and higher tier planes, along with module upgrades for current planes need to be researched with experience points, and then purchased with credits. Premium airplanes, along with premium accounts are purchasable only via gold, which at the moment is gained through winning battles, but will be only purchasable for money once game goes live.

Most of the planes in the game are upgradeable, with upgrades such as better guns, engines, hulls, rockets and bombs. Planes can be customized with upgrades in many ways, allowing one plane to be used in several different ways (for example, installing rockets on a fighter plane will reduce its maneuverability, but on the other hand rockets can deal significant damage to anything they hit, usually destroying it). The planes exterior can also be modified with several camouflage patterns and nose-arts, which are currently just a decoration, but are likely to actually become useful in one of future updates, as in WoT.

Another similarity to WoT would be the consumables and equipment. Each aircraft can carry up to 3 consumables and mount 3 pieces of equipment (exactly like tanks in WoT do) . The consumables can be used in a single battle, while equipment provides bonuses throughout any battle the player undertakes in the aircraft. Both of these are invaluable in WoT, and are definitely extremely useful in WoWp as well.

The game currently features 7 different maps, ranging from desert maps of North Africa, through continental Europe maps, Pacific Ocean maps, all the way up to frozen Arctic map. The main problem with all of these maps is the fact they're not really very big, at least not from an airplanes point of view. This was done intentionally, in order to get player to the action as soon as possible, but it's overdone leading to the fact maps are not big enough for proper aerial combat. They're playable, but there's a large room for improvement in this area.

As for the fights themselves, they're done rather ok, despite the fact that planes actually have hit points, which is kinda ridiculous on its own, but the system works, and it wouldn't be much different if the game took a more realistic approach. Various parts of the plane can still be damaged, which significantly reduces the plane's performance, and planes can catch fire as well. These are the things that can be seen in WoT too, and luckily they work just as well in WoWp.

As far as controls go, the game offers a wide variety of different predefined control settings, and can be played via just a keyboard, or combination keyboard and a mouse, keyboard and gamepad or keyboard and a joystick. All controls in the game are fully customizable, and the player can also customize the way camera controls function, giving the player the full control of everything. This is a very positive point of the game, and it can be noted that there's practically no more improvements necessary in this area.

Visually, the game is constantly making progress. The planes look excellent and very detailed, but the ground targets, together with ground itself, are not modeled too well. They're still decent, but they can't be called good, which is forgivable since most of the time player will spend far from the ground anyway. It should be noted that the water and smoke effects are done rather well. It should also be noted that the maps are designed well and resemble real life locations, so the only problem is the level of detail of objects themselves, and not their design or placement. It's quite clear that lately developers priority was optimizing game's performance rather than making the game look better, and they have done a pretty good job, making the game playable on max graphics settings on a mid range machine. In comparison, previous versions of the game had problems even with average graphics settings, while max details were way out of range of an average user.

From sound point of view, the game is pretty well done, with airplanes sounding quite well, along with all the other sounds in the game, like gunfire, explosions, and others. It's one of the strong points of the game.

Overall, World of Warplanes is doing rather well at the moment. It looks good, feels good, has some very nice aircraft available for the player, and a pretty decent matchmaking system. The game utilizes a lot of positive things from World of Tanks and the progress certainly shows. With that said, there's clearly still room for improvement too, especially in the map size area, and there's still plenty of legendary aircraft that need to appear in the game, along with some major nations of World War II era when it comes to air warfare. Still it can be seen that game progresses well and that the developers know what they're doing, so by the time game reaches open beta, it should be fairly safe to say it's going to be quite a good game to play, though it will not be one of the kind out there so it's going to have to do really well to interest the players in it. Judging from how it goes so far though, it's safe to bet it's going to do ok compared to the competition upon release. And of course, Wargaming will continue to develop its game once its released, exactly like it's done with WoT at the moment as well, so there's plenty to look forward to in World of Warplanes

Current rating - 9 out of 10 (and still going up ;) )

Post Date: 00:09 04-12-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: The graphics are not as good as world of tanks but the game play i must say is very good i like the game play alot for some reason i just do everyone says this game is bad but i really enjoyed playing it not as good as world of tanks but still its a great game worth checking out

Post Date: 19:54 03-12-2012
Rating: 7
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: This game is one of three WG.net childrens. But now this game is very ugly child. Graphics are very poor also the main pannel of game have many mistakes and look ugly. We havent got posibility to play bomber planes :/ But we can play planes like stukas... weird for me. Like in WoT we starts with as many planes like as many nations are in game. Then we starts our adventure on air battle field ;) Unfortunatly I cant recommande this game becouse for real it doesn't exist to this day :/ I think that for some time this will be good game:) Now I rate it 7/10 ;)

Post Date: 22:04 03-08-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: This game is pretty cool if you like world of tanks but if you like any air plane games then you should play this game for sure





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.