1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. To chat with the GameOgre community, you need to have at least 100 posts. Once you have the 100 posts, post at Become A New Ogre
    Dismiss Notice

So I'm studying Eve Online for my dissertation

Discussion in 'Eve Online' started by maximiliancb, Apr 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maximiliancb

maximiliancb Ogre Newling

Credit:
    Hi all,

I'm writing my undergraduate dissertation on the use of Virtual worlds as a source of information for research and predictions in the real world. Eve is one of the three games I'm studying for this dissertation, and so, if you would be so kind, I would appreciate some information on the subject.
    I'm studying three aspects of these games; Auctions, inter-faction conflict and copyright/authorship.

The auctions is more a study of how the in game economy works, is there a cetralised auction house used by all players of a faction, can a player host an auction themself or are both true? is it possible for money to be 'burnt'? by this I mean, to leave the virtual world market. In World of Warcraft, this is done by things such as NPC vendors, or the AH cut of the profits, where the money you pay to them is never re-introduced into the system, its just gone.

Inter-faction conflict means any conflict between corporations or empires, I imagine the definition of a state in the game is somewhat inappropriate, so along what lines are these factions identified? Is conflict prompted by the members of the faction, and if so what range of motives would prompt them (aggression, hatred of a particular foe, or perhaps more economic concerns, we need X asteroid belt or Y room for population expansion) or is it performed according to the whims of a ruler or ruling class?