1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. To chat with the GameOgre community, you need to have at least 100 posts. Once you have the 100 posts, post at Become A New Ogre
    Dismiss Notice

OgreMUSH

Discussion in 'OgreMUD' started by quinn, Jan 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    As I watch the text going down the screen, I thought I would tell you that OgreMUSH should be done within the hour!

    Of course I'll have to create the rooms and such, but it will be up and running soon, at:

    vermaxhosting.com port 8029

    I will be running a few classes on basic MUSH room and object creation, and making a newbie tutorial area first.

    I'll post again once the server is completely up.


    EDIT: My username will be either Tinker (for some special editing stuff...expect not to see him.)
    Wizard (Ultra-Mod Account, needed for lots of things at startup)
    or Quinn (normal mod account)

    Tester shall be mine too.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 24, 2011
  2. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    EDIT: TEH SERVER IS UP! ALL YE PRAISE QUINN!

    I'll allow registration in a bit, not that any of you are awake.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2010
  3. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09

    checking for gethostbyaddr in -linet... no
    checking for main in -lm... yes
    checking for ANSI C header files... (cached) yes
    checking whether time.h and sys/time.h may both be included... yes
    checking for sys/wait.h that is POSIX.1 compatible... yes
    checking for unistd.h... (cached) yes
    checking for memory.h... (cached) yes
    checking for string.h... (cached) yes
    checking errno.h usability... yes
    checking errno.h presence... yes
    checking for errno.h... yes
    checking for malloc.h... (cached) yes
    checking sys/select.h usability... yes
    checking sys/select.h presence... yes
    checking for sys/select.h... yes
    checking fcntl.h usability... yes
    checking fcntl.h presence... yes
    checking for fcntl.h... yes
    checking limits.h usability... yes
    checking limits.h presence... yes
    checking for limits.h... yes
    checking sys/file.h usability... yes
    checking sys/file.h presence... yes
    checking for sys/file.h... yes
    checking sys/ioctl.h usability... yes
    checking sys/ioctl.h presence... yes
    checking for sys/ioctl.h... yes
    checking sys/time.h usability... yes
    checking sys/time.h presence... yes
    checking for sys/time.h... yes
    checking for sys/stat.h... (cached) yes
    checking for an ANSI C-conforming const... yes
    checking whether char is unsigned... no
    checking for inline... inline
    checking for off_t... yes
    checking for pid_t... yes
    checking return type of signal handlers... void
    checking whether struct tm is in sys/time.h or time.h... time.h
    checking for struct tm.tm_zone... yes
    checking for struct stat.st_blksize... yes
    checking for struct linger... yes
    checking for union wait... yes



    THIS is what my screen is filled with.


    YAY! IT WORKS! QUINN IS A GENIUS!

    RE-RE-EDIT: Got the bonuses to work too! I am awesome!
    I'm allowing player creation now, although if you are a MUSH newbie you might want to wait for the tutorial, but typing "help" is your friend.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2010
  4. JaredOzzy

    JaredOzzy The Legendary Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    7,207
    Likes Received:
    521
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Credit:
    22,163.93
    :sleeping2: i am awake :D
    when i click on the link what must i type in?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2010
  5. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    Actually, you need a telnet client installed.

    Google PuttyTel, and download it. You don't need to install it, just run it and put in that telnet address. (make sure you pick telnet, and not ssh.)

    EDIT: Click here: http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/latest/x86/puttytel.exe


    EDIT: I've added in another global. Typing in +viewprojects will show what I plan to work on.
    EDIT: Removed said global...buggy and annoying. Maybe I will remake it...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2010
  6. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    Added yahtzee to Game Room...attempted to make a flip coin, but am too tired. Sleeping now so I can work on it tommorrow night.
     
  7. shugo

    shugo Elite Ogre Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Credit:
    14,832.42
    ugh my parents comp doesn't have a telnet client... need to install one first.. i'll try it out later
     
  8. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    Putty is nice because it doesn't install...it goes directly.

    Once you get in please set your

    @desc me=!!Description here!!

    @sex me=M/F/N

    Until I set up the new player room.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2010
  9. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    I'm messing with the source code to try and add extending characters, and more colors.

    It probably won't work...I've saved the database in about 3 different places though.
     
  10. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    I'm messing with the source code to try and add extending characters, and more colors.

    It probably won't work...I've saved the database in about 3 different places though.
     
  11. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    It didn't work...

    the MUSH is back up.
     
  12. awesomedrako

    awesomedrako Clubbed

    Messages:
    2,703
    Likes Received:
    463
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Credit:
    2,856.14
    It says "host does not exist" when I try to open it.
     
  13. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    You click the link? It won't work unless you set a program to open telnet with. I just tested it and the server is up.

    Try connecting to vermaxhosting.com:8029 mannualy with your telnet program.
     
  14. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    I created a dice in the game room.

    Type dset (or set, can't remember) followed by a number to set the sides on the dice.
    ex: dset 6
    then type droll to roll.
     
  15. awesomedrako

    awesomedrako Clubbed

    Messages:
    2,703
    Likes Received:
    463
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Credit:
    2,856.14
    I downloaded that program you said, then I went on that link, copy pasted the link from the address bar, put it in the box in the program (top one, "host name"), and clicked Open. It said host does not exist.
     
  16. quinn

    quinn Starcatcher Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Credit:
    13,241.09
    Oh, just manually type in the two boxes:
    Host name: vermaxhosting.com
    Port (to the right): 8029
     
  17. shugo

    shugo Elite Ogre Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Credit:
    14,832.42
    well i'm in on my old comp with no problem:

     
  18. shugo

    shugo Elite Ogre Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Credit:
    14,832.42
    ok i've noticed that if you do nothing for 1 minute you're auto disconnected from the telnet server
     
  19. shugo

    shugo Elite Ogre Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Credit:
    14,832.42
    ok when i type in create shugo, the cursor doesn't move forward and the text doesn't appear

    I can press enter, but then i get an error message
     
  20. shugo

    shugo Elite Ogre Ogre Veteran

    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Credit:
    14,832.42
    unfortunately i'll have to be back at my parents this weekend and that means i have to find a away to install a telnet client on windows vista environment (oy is me)

    i don't have much time, but i'll try to install it and see if i can connect and then try again
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page