1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. To chat with the GameOgre community, you need to have at least 100 posts. Once you have the 100 posts, post at Become A New Ogre
    Dismiss Notice

Questions on developing Card game site

Discussion in 'Trading Card Games' started by jpn, Dec 19, 2012.

1. jpn

jpn Ogre Newling

Credit:
    New to this site and enjoyed 3 detailed brogs by Shugo. Thanks in advance for your help with the 2 questions embedded in the background.

I am interested in developing non-profit card game site on behalf of a handful of enthusiasts. We currently play this game within the program structure available on a free website, with the game program developed by the student son of one of the players. I am an engineer with little computer programming skills. I had done a course in Fortran long time ago. I handle a sketching program well, which helped me do a pseudo screen shot for this project. Thanks much to Shugo’s pages here, I have some understanding of what may be needed to bring this game site about.

With the 2 enquires below, I am looking for counsel to help me to search/evaluate a professional to do this project or me to self-learn the topics, given the brief description of the project that follows. I have drafted a screen shot using a sketching program and written a 6 pager as instructions for a cost friendly professional out there to develop this game site, without necessarily having to know the game.

1. What all are needed among: HTML, JS Basics, CSS, PHP, JS, SQL, AJAX and CRONJOB.

2. Since SQL seems to be is a Script language connecting with Database, assuming the degree of interactivity requires a database in may case, why is PHP needed at all?