A Tale In The Desert


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


A Financial empire building MMORPG set in ancient Egypt. This pay-to-play game focuses on economic activities over combat.

Total Rating: 3.10
Reviews: 21

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 21:48 06-05-2015
Rating: 5
Author: LosmiK
Comment: You can’t begin to experience the complexities of this game or reap its full benefit during a review period. If I had more free time right now, I would embrace A Tale with all of my gaming heart and dive deep into Egypt.

Post Date: 13:17 11-03-2015
Rating: 2
Author: axwellshm
Comment: A game is not really one of my type,and i wouldn't even play it cause i see the graphics are really bad... My rate is going to be 2/10.

Post Date: 08:34 23-01-2015
Rating: 3
Author: arZ
Comment: The developer and the publisher from "A Tale in the Desert" is a company called eGenesis. The game was released in year 2003 for Windows, Linux and Mac. A Tale in the Desert is a online massive multiplayer role playing game or MMORPG et in Egypt. The game is free to
play you need just to download the software.

A Tale in the Desert is a multiplayer online role game without any combat system in the game. So there is no fighting against other player or against monsters or minions. The game is more based on social activities. The game mission is just to grow the community playing this game. A Tale in the Desert got a begin of the game and every year and half the game ends and starts from begin ( like a new life ). After the game ends you need to update your game, and they always add some more new thing in the game.

In game there is a game economy, including regional or global trade where players can trade different items and stuff. And you need to learn how to trade in the game to become the "Jack of trades" the master of trading. On the map of Egypt there is an island called Newbie Island. This island is for new players. Players can enter the island and you are allowed to train and learn the basics of the game. After completing some of the quests the player can take the part in the real life of the game. After completing the basic quest the next goal is to find a social group and the central challenge of the game is
the "Test" and find publish resources. They are 56 defined Tests in the game. For example Art, we can say its a skill to build and paint, or building some structure. Body, is a skill focusing on survival abilities. Architecture, skill to build projects and building houses. Leadership is a discipline skill, Work ship is for organized group of working skill and many other different test that you need to learn in game to enjoy it full.

The graphic from the game is really cool and the sound is relaxing. The players can have fun playing this game, but I really did not enjoy it. When I want to be a part of a social game I better go out and be social with my real life friends. The game after few players get really boring and you do not have so much possibilities in the game. Yea you can learn the boring tests whole day whole night or talk to different unknown people. But when you want to talk to people just open your facebook and talk. I am now a fan from this game and I did not played it for so long. Was really bored from this game. Zero action in the game. I need to rate this game really low. I rate A Tale in the Desert with the note 3/10. Just because of the idea and the good graphic. They could add some action. One time In a day some attack from tiger, lion or something. But you can try the game, maybe you enjoy it
more then I did.

Post Date: 05:19 17-12-2014
Rating: 5
Author: thundemp2007
Comment: A tale in the desert is pay to play MMORPG. At first this is free but after 24 hrs you need to pay to continue. This is an interaction game develop by EGenesis company. There is a test that needs to complete by cooperating by every player. The game needs to improve with regards to graphic and i think more interaction features so that every player must be enjoyed and not be bored.

Post Date: 19:27 10-06-2014
Rating: 2
Author: Shokata
Comment: Very bad graph , bad game

Post Date: 14:22 02-05-2014
Rating: 1
Author: Frozen
Comment: well this game sucks no point of playing it.you will wast much time for building houses and other things...Also bad graphic

Post Date: 22:38 12-04-2013
Rating: 1
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: This game sucks graphics are bad gameplay is bad and its pay to play enough said 1/10

Post Date: 17:01 22-03-2011
Rating: 0
Author: dantabletennis
Comment: Not worth it when you have to pay!

Post Date: 22:52 19-02-2011
Rating: 4
Author: Adrian
Comment: This game is sorta fun, good graphics, gameplay is alright. Downside though...you gotta pay.

Post Date: 05:28 27-02-2009
Rating: 5
Author: Milai
Comment: This is a niche game, so it's hard to say whether or not someone else would like it. Check it out if you are looking for a game that isnt the norm.

Post Date: 01:32 30-08-2008
Rating: 0
Author: Arakus
Comment: social pvp, backstabbing bickering, gamers bored out their skull turning upon each other, fun at start of new tale for awhile but tedium becomes the norm , the game moves to slow, content is held back and you end up just biding time til the developer moves his butt and decides to add the next tidbit for his little children he "gods" it over and he puts things into the game to pit people against people on purpose in his little "social experiment" that just ruins the whole experience- stay away for your own sanity, if you have any emotions do not enter as you"ll get hurt.
Honestly if your cerebrally minded there are some good challenging puzzles to work out certain concepts in the game such as using mutagens on flowers etc but just heed the warning above on "social pvp"
In the right hands this game COULD be awesome, with its current creator/developer and the long time cliques who enforce their rule on the land and manipulate things to suit them and their friends whilst giving this butter wouldnt melt impression its just not worth the grief!

Post Date: 08:20 31-07-2008
Rating: 1
Author: Adeori
Comment: I've played it before. Well, it was fun for the time I played. Although the idea of "the game ends when the story does" is just to get more money. I don't think there is any difference between A Tale In The Desert 1, 2, or 3. I'm pretty sure they just re-release the same game, maybe update the graphics or add an extra feature or bug fix, then they slap a new number on it and say "Here you go, another $20 and $14 per month and you can do it all over again! ^.^"

Post Date: 22:01 18-06-2008
Rating: 0
Author: lordnincompoop
Comment: Dull as hell. Go, pick thing up, put down in location. Pick thing up again, put it down somewhere else. Do that 1000 times an you'll see how dull it really is.

Post Date: 19:25 04-06-2008
Rating: 8
Author: MightySheep
Comment: Good fun once you get into it and the players on it are really nice, but it just seemed dull.

Post Date: 14:08 27-01-2008
Rating: 8
Author: immortal143
Comment: it is the most succesful non violent mmorpgs around
i played the game for a year and it was fun
great for younger kids

Post Date: 02:07 24-12-2007
Rating: 5
Author: daimyo92
Comment: nvr played it...after the reviews, nvr want too

Post Date: 20:54 22-11-2007
Rating: 0
Author: xrultima
Comment: Fun for a very, very, VERY short time then you get bored.. 'tis another game that falls in my never-play-again list.. 0/10

Post Date: 19:26 28-04-2007
Rating: 4
Author: orasis
Comment: Its a sketchy game, you never really comprehend what is going on around you - and you never really are told why you must achieve these goals.

Some of the goals are so long that it is like a second job, it's not fun.

Also to get from place to place you need to run and run quite a bit you will - seriously it can take 5 minutes time of just watching your badly animated character running before you actually get anywhere where you can do anything.


Post Date: 18:20 21-02-2007
Rating: 4
Author: Thejester
Comment: eh, the tutorial is pretty fun, but after that, you go to the mainland where there is about one other player, and it takes forever to get anywhere. it also takes say, 600 bricks to build a basic house, and it takes about a minute to make 6 bricks. i wasnt prepared to spend over an hour simply making bricks. this game might be fun if there were more people.

Post Date: 20:22 26-03-2006
Rating: 2
Author: bigchinks
Comment: i dident have a clue wut it was about and it was very odd

Post Date: 23:27 08-03-2006
Rating: 5
Author: tessa46
Comment: This game was very interesting and fun for a short time only. It is a lesson in working together and accomplishing goals. I did some exploration also without risk since there is no combat. I enjoyed making things and participating in Developer run events. Wine tasting and experimenting in cooking was a hoot. However, in the end, unless you were a member of a large guild, you were limited in resources.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.