Anarchy Online


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Anarchy Online (AO) is a science fiction themed massive multiplayer online roleplaying game (MMORPG). The first two expansion packs, Notum Wars and Shadowlands , have received high praise and won 20 international awards. The 1st of September Funcom launched the anticipated Anarchy Online - Alien Invasion.

Total Rating: 7.37
Reviews: 87

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

Anarchy Online Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 21:53 04-08-2015
Rating: 8
Author: axwellshm
Comment: Somehow the clases reminded me of Team Fortress 2. They did really good jobe with this game. For an Sci-Fi MMORPG, this game is really well designed. Only bad thing about this game is a little sloppy graphic.

Post Date: 21:07 26-12-2014
Rating: 7
Author: altot
Comment: Anarchy Online is a 3D Sci-Fi MMORPG originally released as a subscription-based game, but it’s now available for free. Anarchy Online has four playable races and a whopping fourteen different classes to chose from. While the core game is now free, playing through the expansion pack content still requires a monthly subscription.
All in a all, a classic MMO that you can play just for nostalgia reasons.

Post Date: 15:24 09-05-2013
Rating: 8
Author: xenaphobe
Comment: Game has huge potential.
Needs better graphics and a few other things.

Post Date: 21:55 17-02-2013
Rating: 8
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: Great game nice graphics the combat system is excellent and the story line is interesting and makes u want to have more also the amount of players is pretty big and the level cap is high

Post Date: 17:13 30-09-2012
Rating: 8
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Another great game :D 8/10

Post Date: 22:37 22-06-2012
Rating: 10
Author: florentall
Comment: Anarchy online, the Sci-fi MMORPG, is a good game with great graphics.
There are many kind of characters you can choose of, from an engineer with big robots, to a doctor who can heal your team.
There are a lot of weapons/ skills you can choose off so every build will have different consequences to your game play.

The monsters who you will face look awesome and the mini bosses will give you a hard time.

The only Down side of the game is the advertentions to a different part of the game. You can play it for 1 month, and after that you can't play anymore. So if you want to play the game for free you should not accept those advertisements.

Post Date: 12:46 30-04-2012
Rating: 8
Author: KuroTsuna
Comment: Anarchy Online is a sci-fi MMORPG, which makes the game very interesting. Creating characters is the first thing you do in the game. You're allowed to have 8 characters max in 1 server. After starting the character creation process, the first choice you need to decide on is the choice of a breed. A breed is similar to a 'race' in other games, although all the breeds in Anarchy Online come from the same groups of human ancestors, and many are genetically engineered, but they are all essentially 'human'. For newer players, it is recommended to choose a breed that compliments the desired profession (or classes) skills, and this will be covered in the sections on professions. More experienced players however may prefer the challenge of mixing less compatible and less common professions and breeds.

If you are interested in playing a character that is Damage Dealer you might want to try an Adventurer, an Engineer, a Keeper, a Martial Artist, a Soldier or a Shade.

If you are looking for a Caster you should try a Doctor, Trader, Nano Technician, or Bureaucrat.
Professions with Pets are: Engineers, Meta-Physicists, and Bureaucrats.

If you want a character that requires more Strategy you might consider an Agent, a Fixer, a Trader, or a Shade.

If you want to play Solo you should try an Engineer, Keeper, Martial Artist or Adventurer.

If you want to be a team player or a Support profession Doctors, Traders, Agents, Bureaucrats, and Engineers are good choices.

If you wish to play a Tank class, try an Enforcer, Adventurer or Keeper (As an offtank).

If you like to make things than you want a Tradeskill profession which are mainly Engineers and Traders.

There are many classes you can play. Nice game, I'll give it a 8/10 because the graphics aren't that great

Post Date: 01:07 03-02-2011
Rating: 8
Author: champking5
Comment: Really good game, makes me feel like I was playing StarWars. I like the different skills you are able to play. Making multiple accounts creates a better feel of the game.

Post Date: 01:05 03-02-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Adrian
Comment: This game is fun for a Sci-Fi based online MMO. It has good graphics and playerbase, downside is...it gets pretty boring after 2-3 hours or so.

Post Date: 02:47 01-12-2009
Rating: 10
Author: alysenminase
Comment: Very good game. Over 80 skills to distribute points into each level, so even if you play the same one of the 14 classes as another player, they can have very different playstyles. Huge world, without a vehicle or transportation it will take well over an hour to reach the other side. They have an instance every 20 levels or so to help players level in. There are customizable missions you can do, and you can set them to solo or group. Tons of items, you can equip weapons, armor, implants to help further specialize your character, and clothes to wear for social events. Many different kinds of mounts in game like cars, tanks, flying vehicles and even mechs. Each class get's tons of different nano programs, AO's version of magic, so even melee types are interesting to play. PVP is played out really well, player guilds can make cities fo call aliens for fun raids, but other player guilds can become rivals and attack each others cities. You choose a faction on the newbie island as well, and once on the mainland you can attack the other faction at will. Despite what other people say, a quick /tell helpbot server always brings over 4k players online on each server, so it has a very healthy population. AO is not all good though, the graphics are bad in today's standards, the animations aren't too smooth, and the lag can get bad sometimes. Luckily, Funcom is releasing AO in a new engine (AoC's engine) with updated graphics soon, so it will hopefully fix these issues. AO is by far the best f2p game out there, give it a try.

Post Date: 09:31 18-09-2009
Rating: 5
Author: bucky
Comment: Anarchy Online, not a game that i suggest to players who doesnt read. Anarchy is a science fiction game which suprisingly has alot of player and really popular. I personal, didnt like the game but it was truely diff. from other MMORPG games Ive ever seen.

Post Date: 13:38 03-04-2009
Rating: 9
Author: awesomedrako
Comment: Unfortunately, I tried my hardest, but I got so bored in the beginning, that I quit, and uninstalled Anarchy, and also, I couldn't find a way to set the resolution to a higher one, so I quit :(... I'm still rating this game very high, because I've seen screenshots, and I've seen what you can do once you can get to the higher levels, and plus, there was a lot of choice in races and classes, though the character appearance customization sucked. This game seems very good, but only do it if you have enough concentration to get through the beginning, and you don't mind about graphics.

Post Date: 09:03 27-12-2008
Rating: 10
Author: OGC-Bricks
Comment: Anarchy online is one of my favourite RPGs.
Extremly advance. it might not look like it. but theres so much to this game its insane. you dont just go on, level up, put up dex, str, stam :). nah.. you put up some of the 80ish skills there are, go to wars, over land control between three armys ( Omni-Tek , and Clans, and Neutrals). you put implants in your body to improve stats, and if your wealthy and have high level toons, or friends you can get twinked (a series of buffs, that allow stronger imps to be put in, so that you can use more amazing equipment).

if you try this game out, DO NOT quit at newbie island. it is by far the worst part of the game, in my opinion it is ugly, and boring. and un-futuristic.. wait it out like i did. and youll find the most amazing game. (Omni-Tek rules :P) Rimor server.

Post Date: 11:32 26-12-2008
Rating: 7
Author: naruto25
Comment: Nice advance gameplay and graphics.However,community could be better.

Post Date: 19:12 01-12-2008
Rating: 5
Author: wolfstrikr22
Comment: alsome game had players theres always a quest to be done pvp is fun but when wow came out everone left for it anarchy is really cool if more players whould come back i ues to play it for a long time :D i give it a 7 but if more players a 9

Post Date: 04:56 28-09-2008
Rating: 4
Author: brentman0110
Comment: Beautiful Graphics and rich story line, that is where this game stops in being enjoyable. It seems as if so few people play this game that is defeats the purpose of being an online game.

Post Date: 16:44 24-09-2008
Rating: 10
Author: satyrion
Comment: Legenday game with a huge world full of content

Post Date: 00:17 23-09-2008
Rating: 0
Author: marz777
Comment: I personally hate it. Jus because its like a mixture of an rpg and fps. they dont mix well together. and the community is not great.

Post Date: 18:53 15-08-2008
Rating: 10
Author: ninjaguy4
Comment: one of the best games ive ever played. Way better then WoW. If you play the game but think the graphics are bad then your in luck because it's getting and incredible graphics update. From the videos, i can tell this game will have millions of users by the end of the year

Post Date: 09:18 12-08-2008
Rating: 7
Author: Lekkon
Comment: maybe its just my computer.. but the graphics kinda sucked.

anyway, away from the graphics. the world is huge. And you can easily walk into something that will kill you.. while you're hunting level 1s. (such as them blood missile things set around borders) not so easy to get money.. or better weapons. you have to fight things way higher levels than you to get these items. also, in the mainland if you're kinda level 6 or something its hard to find an enemy to train on.. because there arent any. goes from like lvl 2 to lvl 15. misses out the middle bit. stay in the beginner's part for a while. its better there. but.. i dont usually remember the good parts of a game. but i can remember it was alright. soo.

Graphics: 6 - i've had better
Gameplay: 6 - its alright, i suppose
Controls: 8 - better controls than most games.
Community: 7 - the community on the novice chat thing is good
world: 8 - its huge. 'nuff said

i shall give it.. a 7

Post Date: 17:32 09-08-2008
Rating: 9
Author: toldbygod
Comment: absolutely frigging fantastic. I played Wow for a while. and this game kicks it out of the park. HUGE amount of class choices. ALMOST seamless, there are a few loading areas when switching areas, but it doesn;t pose a plroblem like guild wars. fantstic game.

Post Date: 03:01 07-07-2008
Rating: 10
Author: ninjaguy4
Comment: (qoute from bisurge): I really do not get this game. I downloaded it, checked and double checked system requirements, and then installed it. Then it didn't work for some reason. It simply refused to patch. And I had really good internet O.o. If your computer is Windows 2000 or less, than don't even download it.


9now me, ninjaguy4): Get a better system. If you still have a 2k the DAMN you're poor. This game is better then WoW. 10/10.

Post Date: 04:55 01-07-2008
Rating: 0
Author: bisurge
Comment: I really do not get this game. I downloaded it, checked and double checked system requirements, and then installed it. Then it didn't work for some reason. It simply refused to patch. And I had really good internet O.o. If your computer is Windows 2000 or less, than don't even download it.

Post Date: 10:52 12-06-2008
Rating: 8
Author: mikel19
Comment: Pandatwin: That image above comes from an Org. doing an AI raid in their city. It does exist, it happens every day, I've seen it, I've participated.

Very involved game, very steep learning curve, but once you get the basics of the game, it's really fun and addictive. Very big world (although not "seamless" but that's alright) If you have all (or even one) of the exp packs, it makes the game all that much more fun. 8/10

Post Date: 22:58 26-04-2008
Rating: 9
Author: biggestfatmonster
Comment: This one of my favorite mmorpg has a ton on items and armor. It is a little harder to lvl when you aren"t paying. But paying is well worth it. If anyone needs any help let me know i have a lvl 132 mp and a few other characters in the lvl 50 to 90 range. i am on the rimor server.

Post Date: 19:25 14-04-2008
Rating: 8
Author: satyrion
Comment: This is an excellent game with tons of features, its noe free but its boring without all the weapons and extra features you get from the expansions.

Post Date: 17:55 05-04-2008
Rating: 7
Author: nayrmik
Comment: well it has great tradeskills and its fun. There is SO MUCH u can do. Unfortuantely, its also quite boring. Here are the bad things: Kinda complicated and lots of micromanagement(not in combat, combat is pretty simple) involved. Also, for noobs, it might be kinda hard to make a decent character and end up with like 3 gimped characters. A lot of things are also for members which suck. (by members i mean expansion sets) BUT there are good things: its fun;lots of stuff to do, lots of items and diverse variety of armor and weapons, big big world, somewat friendly community(there are some special "dicks" out there who flame u for no reason) and any comp can run it



For those who dont like this game for graphics and such, guess wat. ITS GETTING AN ENGINE UPDATE WOO
the skins and gameplay will prolly change over time but the engine is still getting revamped and it looks like Age of Conan without the cool models. (shaders and real time lighting DAMN)

Post Date: 06:38 22-03-2008
Rating: 9
Author: lemoneko
Comment: I actually spent my time reading some of the reviews. I can't believe that some of you guys actually gave this astonishingly addictive game a 6 or lower out of 10. I have to admit that Anarchy Online is one of the most complicated MMORPG's, and it does take some time to learn. That is what makes the game so fun to play. You'll level up and discover more things to do. The best thing about this game is the community. I remember my days as a newb. I used to ask a lot of questions, and there are always people to answer them. I used to use the /petition a lot when I needed help from GM or ARK(Advisors of Rubi-Ka). The ARK actually came to me to solve my bug problems with the party system. The GMs and ARKs are really friendly. There are a lot of things you can do in this game like doing missions, furnishing your room, partying with people to train, hang out in bars and much more.

Community 10/10
Gameplay 8/10
Graphics 8/10

Post Date: 01:41 09-02-2008
Rating: 6
Author: Pandatwin
Comment: This game was good, but theres not much to do after you get off the traning area. You can't really buy anything because it's too expensive. It's hard to balance stats and that screenshot up there, i don't think it even exsists. Towns are small. Community is great with the clans, omni-tech, yeah kinda crappy. It took me 3 days to learn where the heck the blue district was in rome! Omni-tech community sucks. It's a great game, but if you play, join the clans!!!

Post Date: 19:49 01-02-2008
Rating: 9
Author: Tripax
Comment: Awesome game. The community is (or atleast it used to be when i played) GREAT. People are friendly, there is much to do.
The first levels (1-40 lets say) aren't that fun in my opinion though, but don't let the start fool you ;) from 200 levels the first 40 are nothing (220 if you decide to buy SL)

Good:

+ Community
+ Graphics aren't that bad, a bit outdated ofcourse
+ Massive world
+ Many different classes
+ No class limitations in 95% of the armor/weapons, if really want to be a doctor with 2-handed swords, why not ;)

Bad:

- Control system is slightly annoying sometimes
- Long traveling distances at lower levels
- You might want to buy the expansions when you have played enough =P

Post Date: 18:57 29-12-2007
Rating: 9
Author: jmetal
Comment: great game
has easy tutorial (annoying if u have multiple characters)that shows u the ropes. stuff u learn in there stays with you. gameplay is overall pretty smooth, some lag points. community is pretty good. i dont see scammers in here at all. even with different talk channels to buy and sell items. very vast item inventory. dozens of missions, although they get very repetitive. killed the same guy like 20 times. huge map. bit to big. easy to get lost if u dont know where u are going. combat system, well im not a fan of turn based but ull get used to it. dozens of skills, teams/ clans incorparated well


graphics: 9 very nice enviroment with little lag

gameplay:7 dont like combat system but controls easy

community:10 very easy to find what ur looking for. if you dont find it on one channel there is always like 20 more u can look through

character design/custimazation:9 classes are very numerous with own unique abilites, lacking facial features. and there isnt just 5 classes of armor. different quality= different amount of protection.

easy to level (lvl 45 enforcer, lvl 49 advy), fun, very addicting, sometimes you get frustrated over missions because your here, and the guy ur supposed to kill is half way across the planet. grid comes in very handy(i like teleporting). unique "mage", melee, and ranged system.

best free game ive seen by far.


Post Date: 13:45 25-12-2007
Rating: 5
Author: Arckangel
Comment: Ok guys...I dunno whts with this game...I dont relly like its graphic.
I didnt play much
GRAPHIX:5(C"mn guys,u cant say this game is on #1 On grphix)
GAMEPLAY:6(Long quests my dears,annoying movement controls,But its got some nice lots a classes I presume)
Sound:UNTESTED(I played it for like 10 minutes then i quit it)
COMUNITY:5(Thats a favor coz I asked for some help and no1 bothered 2 answer me,really)
So i GUESS..ill igve it a

Post Date: 17:13 30-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Warzhar
Comment: I had no problems and I just started a week ago. Had help everytime I asked. Glamplay is great! Community is great! The game is free! I love it and never had any problems with it.

Post Date: 01:28 12-10-2007
Rating: 5
Author: cenovis
Comment: Not very fun or intuitive for the new player. I did not level very much in this game, although I tried.

I found the controls and character movement supremely annoying, and the very lengthy quest dialogs tiresome. I enjoy a good yarn as much as the next (literate) person, but I felt like I was being given a lot of superfluous information for simple kill x quests. This is not innovation.

I wasn't able to explore much beyond newbie island. I had trouble finding my way, and I didn't get any help from anyone in the community. Even on newbie island, the players did not talk to one another. This was very uninspiring, considering how complicated this game is.

I give the game a 5 simply because it's not another fantasy knights/elves/wizards clone, and I appreciate that there was much content I wasn't able to access.

Post Date: 01:38 16-09-2007
Rating: 4
Author: Fatalis67
Comment: Relatively fun game overall. The character movement is quite annoying due to a number of difficulties and bugs I encountered while simply trying to move around. The graphics need a MAJOR update because they look almost unbearably dated. The game was P2P for a much longer time that it should have been, but now has a free version with, wait for it... Fanta Ads. As you can imagine, it"s pretty distracting when you are battling an enemy to see a big "Wanna Fanta?" sign in the background. It was a good game, but jeez. shut it down already.

Post Date: 17:57 12-08-2007
Rating: 4
Author: Toastage
Comment: it was ok but I really hated the graphics and character movement

Post Date: 19:10 08-08-2007
Rating: 9
Author: cantouchme
Comment: this game is pretty sick, and kicks the hell outa WoW coz it has a free version.

the classes are ill, but in my opinion there should be more races, not just humans and then a few geneticly altered humans, lol.

Post Date: 07:42 11-07-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Vampiricus
Comment: I have played this game since beta, then the graphics were great, now they are still pretty good on the lines of how old it is now. Game play was and is always going to be great but only if you realy get into the game, other wise you are gonna burn out quick. I also love the player made city idea and how you have to defend it from the alien attacks, but way tomany org.s have them and they seem all like ghost towns now. The character development "not the way you look but your skills" is very in depth and a little compicated if you dont know what you are doing and if you dont plan for the future of your character then you are gonna go through alot or reset points. Overall i think the graphics still deserve a good 7. And oh ya, dont forget on just how big the freakin world is with AO and Shadowlands, lots o stuff to do and kill.

Post Date: 21:59 07-06-2007
Rating: 7
Author: dabest
Comment: i found the game quite laggy but its better than runescape.
great for sci fi lovers

Post Date: 07:29 24-05-2007
Rating: 0
Author: Farestar
Comment: Lol its worse than runescape lots of character options but its really bad if you dont have a friend giveing you stufff and telling you what to do

Post Date: 19:51 14-03-2007
Rating: 10
Author: like clockwork
Comment: It was a fun game for me.Although i had a buddy who bought me everything..Its really fun untill Subway intrance is forbidden then its tough to lvl.
Community 9/10
Gameplay 10/10
Economics 10/10 (good pricing.I dont expect a shot-gun to be $12.00 xD)

I played it free. GO ENJOY IT WHILE BEING FREE LASTS!!lIMITED TIME!!

Post Date: 16:41 18-02-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Snowknight
Comment: Im not the person to ask about this game i like fantasty mmorpgs not sci-fi i dont know why im more into knights,mages,and big dudes with swords that kill dragons and stuff like that shooting and killing weird things and being in the futer isnt for me but grafics rock and if ur into sci-fi games this might be in the top 5 for you

Post Date: 00:37 11-02-2007
Rating: 8
Author: agentbassil
Comment: Good game, but it is a little too complex. This game's design is great. It's awesome how they decided to stray away from the common trend in MMORPGS, which was fantasy. This game is a must have for anyone who loves sci fi.

Post Date: 06:17 11-01-2007
Rating: 6
Author: ligato
Comment: i wish they would upgrade graphics lighting and make some functions easier and simplify it. cause i tried to do something and i felt like it was harder then learning how to dismantle a bomb. i love the story and the roleplaying involved in this game but it was took dark to see alot and stuff was very blocky and horrid. this game needs a little bit more light a graphic touch upgrade make it easier to understand and more simplified and i wouldnt put this game down.

Post Date: 01:32 06-01-2007
Rating: 5
Author: oneyx
Comment: I honestly cant say much. It is a very good game but... yea... If you like games like runescape you might like this... But come on! Get with the picture! You play these games, get addictid, play it for hours, have no social life, get lazy and over weight then guess what... There goes your life. So if you do play it you ahve to download it, it costs alot to play, but the up side is that you do get a one year free trial :)

Post Date: 07:10 15-12-2006
Rating: 10
Author: aNARCHY
Comment: great game offers a lot for those of u sci-fie lover of star teek or just a hardcore mmo-er who loves to play games to bad ull have to pay soon but owell i got this and downloaded through roadruneer took me 5 minutes no lie installing took about 20 but owell i got a nana-mage pysasist lvl 215 thank you very much only took me about 6 months but give it a trey while its free or if u play past 2006 u gotta pay for a game u dont even kno if u like or there might be a free trial period i dunno but still worth i try i give it a 10 cause this game deserves it and i expect to get higher rating then 7.5 comon it should get at least a 9 or so but that my opinion i will just keep writing to see if u will keep reading so im just gonna say more things about the game lets see there are pets u can transform into diffrent animals vast wepon system and armor lotta world to play not like rs where the free world is so tiny and the p2p is just twice as big but i gotta get off rs so when it comes down to it anarchy ownz and if it wasnt so sy-fi i think more gamers would play or maybe they r makin an old school blade game like rs no technology is avialible but we"ll i think i wasted enough of ur time by read ding this so im gonna stop saying things and have fun with what i gottta say...which i forgot but owell im having fun as u read this and waste ur time and if u reading stop reading what im typing cause i cant say anything else about anarchy cause it would be giving away to much now stop reading this.

lol thought i was done talkin? fraid not!

-graphics (8) seen better
-gameplay (8) ship crashing and u surving lmao
-weps (10)lotta variety
-armor (10) same as weps
-fun (5) gets boring after lvl 183
-missions (9) lotta gameplay there
-maps (12) hehehe lotta play space
-overall (9) i put 10 tho hahahaha

Post Date: 00:12 17-11-2006
Rating: 7
Author: ghoulkidc
Comment: good game,rather picky with download,but worth a try.Good ta see a game withtons of classes,waited for a game like that for awhile.Mainly,if u like scifi over fantasy(u get what i mean)play this,if ur into more WOW(ish)games,pick flyff,silkroad or xiah,a strict 7 outta 10(belive me,if u r not a scifi fan,u will waste ur time with this one)

Post Date: 18:08 29-10-2006
Rating: 2
Author: Black-Dagger
Comment: This games massive tons of choices and is worth a shot. Killing things is tedious and boring and will shortly have you snoring. No stupid rhym intended.

Post Date: 16:21 29-09-2006
Rating: 0
Author: jackpole
Comment: wouldnt let me download without a disk after an update so stupid game

Post Date: 03:31 13-09-2006
Rating: 10
Author: wallyworld96
Comment: ok i read all these other reviews and i think these ppl are all noobs that have no clue! sorry guys but this is one of the most intense games with huge choices in class and path. the maps r huge the music is sweet (i dont use the music though, this game has online djs 24/7 that r much better w/ rl music). everyone i met have different attitudes towards helping others, thiers even channels devoteed to helping you through this rediculessly massive game. this game is an virtual escape from all the other sorry games out there includinding WOW (

Post Date: 17:49 10-09-2006
Rating: 6
Author: play_them_all
Comment: Dont be fooled by this game, its horrible, the levels are huge yes. Beautiful graphics. But now the downfalls, when you start, sloppy camera, constant lag thanks to servers, choppy fighting, nothing special about that one, but I recomend trying it out cause its free now.

Post Date: 21:02 10-08-2006
Rating: 9
Author: crcore
Comment: i luv this game, really nice graphics and gameplay...this game is HUGE!!

Post Date: 07:06 25-07-2006
Rating: 4
Author: Sataned
Comment: Hard to find anything sort of...Good idea Gameplays ok...My graphic card is bad so The graphix were meh... yea

Post Date: 21:51 18-07-2006
Rating: 10
Author: mightynight
Comment: It rocks! Id like to see the ppl who dont like it name 3 better gamez

Post Date: 09:01 26-06-2006
Rating: 9
Author: smartperson
Comment: It's a good game with outdated graphics. Sound isn't too bad, but that's rarely high for any game. It is free, so you might as well check it out if you are thinking about it, it won't be a waste of your time.

Post Date: 19:24 24-06-2006
Rating: 10
Author: optimoz
Comment: I cant even begin to sum up how good this game is compared to the rest of these TRASH free games, hell I cant even begin to sum up how good this game is compared to alot of these other PAY trash games that are out there.. if you have paitence and want a major change of pace from the same predictable boring mmorpg... this IS the game for you.. and id nearly bet money you end up subscribing and getting all expansions for the game. its that good.. I dont know about how long you will find it GREAT but i found it to be EXTREAMLY fun to pay to play for about a year....the hardest part to learn is where to use your points for your class and how to use the masses of items/implants/nanos(spells)/computer decks and countless other items to do amazing things for your character after that you will be hooked - but for this game to be free? wow... outta hand man...

you cant even put this game in the same class with these other games man - anyone who says otherwise has more than a few screws loose or no screws at all and need to go back to playing the sims or whatever other brain dead game they play.

Post Date: 03:45 28-05-2006
Rating: 10
Author: daggerfell
Comment: lvling is easy and its really fun. Cept for the ingame ads. Gets annoying after a while especially in the shops. But its really fun but hard to find the items u want. All i got is lifeguard chest, boots, and helm so far...the rest are other advy things..and i chose a solitus adventurer so it ROX!

Post Date: 02:01 11-05-2006
Rating: 6
Author: Cams69
Comment: Cons:
Poor community.
The graphis as well as the engine are unstable and low quality at best.
The expansion packs do little to provide additional content past old-world Rubi-Kai unless you enjoy Shadowlands' style.
PVP is lacking but acceptable.

Pros:
Its free.
Older systems should run it as well as a new highend system due to low quality graphics and poor engine.
Some of the best dungeons in any game I've ever seen.
Joyful real flight with vehicles and nanos.
Very well thought out character development.
Missions while repetitive after a few thousand are very pleasant for the majority.
If you love the number game of getting every last point in something you can, this is the game for you.
Excellent world and terrain realiism.

Personal opinion:
I loved it and played for years, Shadowlands was a very big disappointment for me from the drastic change in play style over Rubi-Kai. Fantasy isn't what I expect to find in a Sci-Fi MMORPG while Rubi-Kai itself is excellent. I no longer play from burnout due to lack of real highend accomplishments to reach for, though getting to that point takes quite awhile. Overall, if you have some time to kill and don't mind the poor engine and graphic quality, its probably the only free mmorpg worth playing.

Post Date: 10:21 01-05-2006
Rating: 9
Author: DestzenAED
Comment: Not bad . .so far so good .. I'm really having fun . .I plan on buying a subscription as well as expansions

Post Date: 00:29 01-05-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Ceretress
Comment: Good-- tough to find a profession that you like

Post Date: 00:29 23-04-2006
Rating: 8
Author: daggerfell
Comment: umm yea....i haven't played this yet but i MIGHT play it. But wat if its time to PAY and i dont know how to cancel teh subscription? anyways it sounds pretty fun.

Post Date: 20:28 26-03-2006
Rating: 8
Author: bigchinks
Comment: to complicated and not enough i like medievel rpg this is just not wut i like but ill give it an 8/10 for graphics

Post Date: 12:53 26-03-2006
Rating: 7
Author: RyanForEva
Comment: Another review board of full crappy ratings. Atilise, shut the ____ up and dont even think about comparing any I SAID ANY MMORPG game to WoW cause WoW is the best MMORPG game in any professional site its rating is like 100000/100000
About Anarchy.....Graphics 10/10
Sound - 10/10
Gameplay - 10/10
Story - 8/10
Replayable - 0/10....unlike my other ratings this replayable rating is the real rating. I mean the reaaaal rating. You dont want to play it again, seriously.
Totally 7/10
Why 8 after all this 10/10 ratings? Cause the game is too long its for the galaxy geeeks who like to play forever...... and ever and ever. Map is REALLY REALLY HUUUUGE!!!!!!!! This game is not simple in fact it is the most toughest and the most complicated game i have ever seen in my whole gaming life!!!!!

Post Date: 18:09 25-03-2006
Rating: 7
Author: jocksteeluk
Comment: i found this game not as enjoyable to play as others and the learning curve can be pritty steap to novice players but for now a free game (1 year trial) it deserves credit

Post Date: 17:10 24-03-2006
Rating: 9
Author: DawnSedai
Comment: Anarchy Online is an AWESOME game. Anyone who says otherwise deserved to be beaten the crud out of by Juju Dolls and served to the Aztur the Immortal in TOT. What a way to go, huh?

AO is the pinnacle of f2p p2p MMORPGs. I have not found a better one to play while free. People are helpful and the class system makes people dependant on one another to breach dungeons/sewers/subways/temples/other nasty places. I personally love to be an Adventurer myself ^-^

The quests are slightly dissapointing to me though. The system is good, but I just can t understand it. I just go stab stuff in temples and ignore those confusing mission booths...

The monsters are well made and challenging... *flashback [Yinadele[me, running]: You just HAD to attack Aztur, HUH?]* Err. I hate TOT sometimes. Why does everyone feel this need to attack high level bosses and get us killed? x.x

The graphics are realistic and loving done. No more needs to be said. Go lookitem yourself. They re all MY eyecandy. Hiss.

I rate it a 9.5, it comes so close to perfection. Just add more loot sorting modes at give us party leaders more control to keep people from attacking every monsters in a sucidal way and it might get that elusive 10 from me. Game on ^-^

Post Date: 21:32 22-03-2006
Rating: 10
Author: mini reddish
Comment: I think this is most likely the best game thats ever come out on the internet. Also the graphics are really good compared to most games.
There are loads of things to do like:
1)kill monsters
2)do missions
3)join clans/teams/organisations
4)upgrade items using tradeskill kit
5)dance in nightclubs/bars
6)get a room
7)decorate rooms with furniture
8)adventure
9)help fight off aliens

there are loads of professions to choose from as well, loads of nano programs(same as spells)and you can have pets.they also have frendly staff that help you out when u need it.
This game is the only sf.(science fiction) game ive ever seen and ive seen loads of games.
So i rate this game 10/10 for its amasing graphics and endless gameplay.

Post Date: 00:24 15-03-2006
Rating: 9
Author: hallwass
Comment: none

Post Date: 23:35 08-03-2006
Rating: 8
Author: tessa46
Comment: I really enjoyed this game mostly because of it s change of pace from fantasy mmorpgs. The graphics at the time were comparable to other generation MMORPGS and I especially enjoyed the optional instanced missions and the fact that it wasn t so simplistic that you didn t have to think and plan out how your character was to progress. I even loved the techno music (I even bought the music CD) and nightclubs. Also, the community was helpful, for the most part and soloing was possible. Looking back, I had a lot of fun with this game (played about a year).

Post Date: 15:20 14-02-2006
Rating: 0
Author: caleb1135
Comment: Slowed my computer down to like matrix speed, i felt always like i was neo with slow-mo powers.

Post Date: 03:25 18-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Etang
Comment: Been playing this game for over a year now. As Bob Frank mentioned, the game is insanely complicated, and does take around 2 weeks to get used to, but after playing AO and then trying other MMO s I am usually dissapointed at how simple they are.

Free accounts are good, but to be competitive in pvp at higher level you need the expansions. pvp at low levels is great though. And battles between the clan and omni actually have an effect on the greater community in the form of xp bonuses to the side winning the most battles.

Fantastic comunity, more than enough people are always willing to help, and even after a year I find myself asking questions. There is soo much to learn about this game, and the free part is only HALF the game. The Shadowlands expansion adds a whole new world, with even better graphics and story.

Post Date: 00:54 12-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: supermutt0
Comment: A lot of game r better BUT! if you r no goin to pay use tis game its #1! i have a lvl 129 guy in runescape,but its not as good as tis game!

Post Date: 17:03 11-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Atilise
Comment: i have a lvl 220 charicticter, it is much better than runescape or WoW, you dont need the expansions to get to high places, i didnt pay till lvl 178, people respect you if you dont say...CREDZ PLZ!! thats just n00bish. if you hav not played this please do, the graphics are probably the best in all MMORPG s. best thing is you can partisipate in tower wars and AI raids without the expansions!!!!

Post Date: 20:09 08-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: ossy
Comment: I downloaded this game with full intentions to play for free and not upgrade. But once i had played AO for a few months i got addicted. The game play and comunity of this game is increadable. For anyone that is wanting to download and play AO i advise u do so with a few friends all at once, then u wont feel alone and will have a constant team for missions or dungeons.

I can honestly say that AO is a bit complicated to learn, but out of all the different games AO was the easiest to pick up - with easy to use help boxes and training area (best known to its comunity as newbie island) when u first enter the world of rubi-ka there is no end to help that u can recieve, from the ppl of the comunity to the ARKs they are all willing to help.

Finding an organisation will be a good idea once uve got the basics of the game - and there are alot of organisations out there that are willing to take on new players and help and train them with knowledge of how to play the game. So my opinion is dont put it down until uve tried it :P

Post Date: 18:58 02-01-2006
Rating: 6
Author: runescaperocks
Comment: looks cool, tho it seems has if people are quitting this to play eve online seeing has this droped form the highscores and eve online advanced

Post Date: 21:01 28-12-2005
Rating: 10
Author: sydney
Comment: none

Post Date: 08:11 28-12-2005
Rating: 7
Author: focus22
Comment: This game was pretty good when it was free, not worth paying to play for in my opinion. If you re willing to pay, go play WoW or FFXI

Post Date: 03:02 04-12-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Bob Frank
Comment: MY FAVOURITE MMORPG.

The graphics are quite good, if you are willing to lag, and the world is huge, so open-ended, epic and has so much to explore, with so many players that you re never completely alone.

There are thousands of really different weapons, armour and gadgets, and there is alot more to do than quest and grind. Parties are actually fun, and the Game-masters (ARK) enjor themselves and make random events every now and then. Also, the max level is 200, which takes a year or so to reach.

The only real bad thing about the game is the combat; it s crap. Incredibly slow, and melee weapons attack from 10 metres.

The only slightly bad thing I can say about the game is that it s hideously complicated and will seem crap until you have been playing thoroughly for 2 weeks, when you finally get hold of the ropes, it then suddenly hits you that this is the best MMORPG ever made!

Post Date: 16:29 29-10-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Shikoku
Comment: This game is kool! 0.0

Post Date: 21:53 01-10-2005
Rating: 3
Author: auto160
Comment: booooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post Date: 10:39 17-09-2005
Rating: 10
Author: kuza55
Comment: Its free till 2007 now, :D

And it still rocks!

Post Date: 02:55 28-08-2005
Rating: 0
Author: johnp
Comment: This is a pitiful game. There are an infinite number of bugs, bad pathing, poor landscape, etc.
Few players are even friendly enough to answer when you message them. Free version involves running missions over and over. Some character classes are essentially unplayable while others are extremely overpowered. If you enjoy the game enough to stick it out, you will HAVE to buy each expansion to be competitive.

Post Date: 23:10 19-06-2005
Rating: 0
Author: mcbride
Comment: I dont have a good reason to love it.

Post Date: 01:55 27-05-2005
Rating: 6
Author: kafreedor
Comment: none

Post Date: 02:30 20-03-2005
Rating: 9
Author: blargle
Comment: none

Post Date: 01:08 08-03-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Sehiroth
Comment: Great looking Game!! when i saw starwars galaxies i craped my pants but when i saw this beats it i would love to play a game like this any day but my computer just can t play a game like this i would give this game a off the chart but i can never play it

Post Date: 02:59 30-01-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: I love the no subscription till 2006 :).

Post Date: 02:16 28-11-2004
Rating: 9
Author: Altor
Comment: Still enjoy this one.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.