Cosmic Supremacy


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Cosmic Supremacy is a FREE tick/turn-based massively multiplayer space strategy game with a 3D 'Galaxy View' interface. You share a galaxy with hundreds of players each with their own alien civilization. Some of them might turn out to be your enemies, others could be your allies. You need to explore the galaxy around you, discover new solar systems, colonise new planets, and expand your empire. You can design every ship in your fleet, and research new advanced technologies so that you can build faster and stronger ships that will give you the edge in epic battles. As a game in the 4X genre (eXplore, eXpand, eXploit, eXterminate), Cosmic Supremacy draws inspiration from the hundreds of browser-based games out there, but we did not want to add yet another one - instead we took the basic idea to the next level. Cosmic Supremacy is played with a very slim downloadable client allowing features that are not found in any other game.

Total Rating: 8.88
Reviews: 25

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 06:58 14-09-2014
Rating: 10
Author: FrendlyLeBlanc
Comment: This game is great and have a lot of good reviews just don't know why this last review before me gave 0? Reccomended to all to try this game!! 10

Post Date: 03:06 05-07-2013
Rating: 0
Author: mmowiz
Comment: pros:

longevity
free

cons:

turn-based
i could not play for a day

Post Date: 20:02 31-01-2013
Rating: 8
Author: Mordekaiser
Comment: Great game pretty fun graphics are nice and its alot of brain when i say that i mean you need to be smart to be good but you can be dumb or smart to have a good time also the game is always changing lots of things to do and there is space ships what more could u want i really had fun with this more people need to play this game dose not get enough love 8/10

Post Date: 15:12 13-08-2012
Rating: 9
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Looks really good :D Nice gameplay. You think its difficult but no its not. Nice graphics and realistic economics engine. For me 9/10.

Post Date: 00:58 13-08-2012
Rating: 10
Author: SuPeR NooB
Comment: Cosmic Supremacy is an awesome game, I have been playing it for quite some time now.

What it is: This is a turn-based, 4x style (explore, expand, exploit, exterminate) space based strategy game. You download the client which is what the game is played in, allowing more features than if it was played in a browser. To accurately describe the game play, I would say it is a mix between; a real time strategy such as starcraft, and that of a persistent civilization building type game such as evony or sid meier's civilization. There are many things which set Cosmic Supremacy apart from these, however.

First off, the game is free. It was developed by a game creator that was looking to make the best game in its class and to stimulate an online community which plays it. It was NOT designed to generate income. The game is supported by donations which are completely voluntary. There are no pay elements at all such as what other 'free' games have.

This game is multiplayer, pitting you against others online. The way it works: Various different game matches, each one called a 'galaxy' is created and posted on the game's website. The start date and time is given for these and a sign up period is given. Depending on your skill and ranking you have access to different galaxies which can have very different characteristics. A galaxy could be a 'speed' galaxy, played over a manner of hours, a normal galaxy lasting 3-6 weeks, or an even longer one lasting months. This all depends on the galaxy's turn length.

You start out with a planet and a few colonization ships. You then go to work building your planets up, colonizing more planets, researching technologies, building custom ships you design and build in factories on your planets and ultimately go to war with against other players in the same galaxy. You will fight your enemy to take control of his planets, while defending your own. You will engage in ship vs. ship battles with fleets of hundreds of custom ships, whose attributes are designed by the players that built them.

A beginner to the game has access to an excellent wiki site which explains all of the game's mechanics in fully disclosed terms, no having to backwards engineer things in game trying to figure it out like other games, it is all on that site and easy to understand. Also, the community has a very active forum with helpful members willing to help you learn how to play. Also, you can try the game out in a single player version which you can use to perfect your starting skills at playing.

At last I must mention the two most amazing aspects of this game that I have not seen in any others: Governors and Admirals. A Governor is a set of rules you can write, as simple or as involved as you wish, for how you want your planets to behave. This not only eliminates most of the micromanagement games of this nature demand from the player, BUT ALSO it allows you to log off, have a life outside of the game and still do extremely well and continue to gain power in game! For instance, I have written a very nice one which controls all my planets activities, such as every single building to build from colonization or conquering a fresh planet, how to distribute my workforce and it does all of these things while being sensitive to the planet's strengths and weakness. For instance, if the planet is one whose attributes favor manufacturing, it will build more factories, or if it is a good researching planet, it will build along those lines.

Admirals are the same idea, except they are for controlling your ships. You can actually write a fairly simple admiral which you can tell it exactly how to attack enemy planets, and have your conquering take place when you aren't even online! You can also write them to defend your planets, etc.

All in all, I rate this game VERY HIGHLY. I have been looking for a very challenging game to play in my spare time, yet still have a life outside of the game and that I don't have to log in every hour of every day to manage.

Give it a try, you have NOTHING to lose! Tell them SuPeR NooB sent ya!

Post Date: 15:18 08-08-2012
Rating: 9
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Very nice economic space game. I like this kind of scenarios and all games with it are amazing for me:D 9/10 for me :D

Post Date: 12:58 19-11-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: Pretty nice game. It's better than most of the others RTS games. I recommend it for everyone. A 9/10 for me.

Post Date: 03:41 23-02-2011
Rating: 9
Author: sasuke24
Comment: This is a enjoying game. I love this RTS. The features of this game are awesome!!

Post Date: 09:37 17-01-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Huriance
Comment: This is superb game! Everyone should try it out!

Post Date: 21:05 31-05-2010
Rating: 10
Author: Connahkil is Back
Comment: This game is amazing. Played it for a long time now and I am still addicted to it. Recommend it to all.

Post Date: 15:47 16-05-2010
Rating: 10
Author: khaled12
Comment: The game is good.it is really very exciting and nerve tingling experience.added graphics and space view has demarcated its difference from others.In one word fabulous.After searching for months at last i have got it which is satisfying. But graphics of ships should have been developed. So check it i can guarantee u will like it.

Post Date: 15:13 25-02-2010
Rating: 10
Author: starsurfer
Comment: Great Game!

Post Date: 23:21 19-01-2010
Rating: 9
Author: kickthecat75
Comment: This game is amazing. i came into it thinking it to be another one of those 2D games where your ships just move up down left or right. but man im glad i stumbled onto this game, the community is great and Erwin ( the creator acualy replys to questions.

the environment that the game takes place on is 100% 3D making distances between 2 stars realistic and also adds a nice strategic element to the game

9/10 great game

Post Date: 00:08 12-01-2010
Rating: 8
Author: super1
Comment: Cosmic Supremacy is a very fun game!!

Post Date: 01:16 09-12-2009
Rating: 10
Author: super1
Comment: very nice fun game, very adictive

Post Date: 16:40 17-10-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Branko
Comment: If you ever played and liked a space strategy game you can not afford to miss this one.

I've been out-of-the loop on games for a while, but a couple of weeks ago i decided to try some on-line games, i signed-up for dosens and didnt found what i was loooking for. Then i found Cosmic Supremacy, i downloaded a tiny client, and hoped it will work on my ancient PC.

I tryed it and was immediately hooked on it, it is amazing.

In the beggining you start in a Sandbox Galaxy, all players are newbies, so you dont get into too many fights, which is a good thing, if you are anything like me and dont read the manual. Even if you do, the other players will eat you alive. You can concentrate to colonize new planets, develop them and build your conquest fleets, you'll need them.

When you get the hang of it, you can sign into a normal galaxy with experienced players, ussually that is when the troubles begin. In the start there are something like 30-40 players in a galaxy, each fighting to be on top, at the end only a few are left.
Brute force wont always help you to win, but combined with diplomacy, trade and treatyes you just might have a chance. It's better to have your team fighting someone than someones team fighting you.

You can sign into many galaxies at the same time, but i dont recomend it at first, you really should finish atleast one before that.

The game has beautifull 3D graphics. Galaxy with suns, planets, ships and wormholes. It is easy to learn and play. You can micromanage everything or assign a few governors, depending on your preferences, play style and the time you have.
It has an extensive research tree, custom ship designs, scanning and in-game messaging between players. Cool graphics and 3D galaxy view. A perfect ammount of control over your empire. Options given to the player were very well thought over and there is nothing missing or too much, which is rare to say the least. Easy to learn but complex to play.
Over all, one of the best games ever and its free.

Post Date: 23:39 03-09-2009
Rating: 10
Author: mattneed
Comment: Great game with GREAT graphics and gameplay

Post Date: 19:12 24-08-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Kadath
Comment: This is an excellent game.

Cosmic Supremacy is a must-try for any 4x addicts in general or MOO/Galactic Civ players specifically.

The game is deep, offering the same sort of strategic options as available in Master of Orion while allowing you to challenge many other players online (I am currently in a galaxy with 42 other players!).

The game maps are also 3D, which is great.

The playerbase is steadily growing. I had no trouble jumping into a 42 person galaxy just 3 days after I completed the tutorial. New galaxies start all the time... at least weekly.

I highly recommend giving this a try.

-Kadath

Post Date: 16:46 21-08-2009
Rating: 10
Author: shanson000
Comment: shanson000-

I have played all tick based online multiplayer games... but this is THE BEST. It includes 3D game play, custom ships, option of paying for special features, or even customizing citizens on your planets. You can even own 30 planets and attack others in a galaxy to gain points for more galaxys. This is a must play for all Tick based game players. Oh and I have played Travian, Ikariam, Battledawn, and about 3 others, THIS IS FOR SURE THE BEST!

Post Date: 11:08 26-07-2009
Rating: 10
Author: lumplore
Comment: Cosmic Supremacy (C.S.)…
Who wants to live forever? Well, you cannot in this game. No persistent never-ending storyline here. Win, or die trying. Just because you have been around since day one, should not make you number one. Receive fame (for permanent ranking only) based on how well you played a game. Afterward, take what you have learned into a new galaxy. This re-incarnation keeps it fresh and fair.
Is not “real time strategy” an oxymoron? I cannot do everything at once. I cannot be hovering over my computer, clicking away all day. Real strategy is planned and thought out over time, then executed in a moment. I dislike hectically scrambling over what are really tactics, in those other games. Cosmic Supremacy is true to turn based strategy. Fine tune your orders between ticks/turns, and then have them happen all at once, along with everybody else. This is what makes real fine strategy.
Tired of imagining what all the numbers and locations within your text game look like in “the big picture?” I was. Then I saw Cosmic Supremacy’s visuals and never went back. Here in the galaxy map, you can look at and interact with your empire. See where ships are and where they are going. Zones of control add a satisfying touch. Hover over something and/or click it with your mouse for desired information. Toggle easily between the galaxy map and the empire overview (two separate windows) that interact seamlessly. Stare in awe of the stunning sight that is Cosmic Supremacy.
Lost? Help is here in this tight knit community of C.S. gamers. They can be found via the homepage, which supports live chat and an overflowing forum. This makes for easy communication with the empires you will be allied or at war with. Sorry, but the tutorial was lacking. I figured it out by doing, from the players themselves, and by what I found interesting to read (of which there is much). I learned lots and found good friends in less than a week, making C.S. easy and painless.
Still not convinced? Do you need a game that will run on most computers? Do you want an amazing virtual power fix? Do you want to play for free? Why battle predictable artificial intelligence computer games, when there are challenging online opponents, right here? Join up and be a part of the best new strategy game out there!
-Greg Brumwell/lumplore, July, 2009

Post Date: 15:05 15-07-2009
Rating: 10
Author: lumplore
Comment: Remember how you loved "Master/s of Orion?" No? No matter kid... this game will have you hooked in two days flat. Free to play! Challenge online opponents. Turn based empire building and conquest. And it sucks up little to no computer juice... I give you your new game fix, "Cosmic Supremacy." P.S. The galaxy map rocks (and interacts beautifully with a well laid out empire overview)!

Post Date: 21:50 29-06-2009
Rating: 9
Author: russo
Comment: Quite unique game, haven't come across such a game on the net so far. Pretty heavy on strategy, with lots of different tactics to play the game. They have a pretty unique scripting system, which allows you to define your moves while you are not online, so you don't have to be on 24/7 to win the game! The game is not quite perfect yet, but they listen to the community and keep developing the game with new features and stuff. Definitely recommended!

Post Date: 13:03 22-06-2009
Rating: 2
Author: chukwa
Comment: looks good, but extremely low population for now, made me sit through a 15 minute tutorial to only find out there is only one galaxy available and it doesnt start till 3 days from now

for that.....2

Post Date: 12:02 10-06-2009
Rating: 10
Author: freejack101
Comment: Ogame is a massive well known game. Cosmic Supremacy should be.

The 3D map and core allows great gameplay, whilst not needing uber graphics cards.

Free accounts aren't threatened by unfair Premium players, they simply allow access to expanded features like wormholes and greater control over how your civilization is rule in special premium galaxies.

Post Date: 19:38 06-06-2009
Rating: 10
Author: rubbersocks
Comment: As an avid MoO and Civilization gamer I like the game concept that Cosmic Supremacy is offering. It feels like the old classics, except that you play against real people! You give your orders and check back again a couple of hours later for the result of your actions, so it's pretty ideal to play besides school or work.

They also seem to offer speed and team galaxies, and other variations of the game. The 3D galaxy view is awesome, and you give your orders right there!

Definitely recommend to all fans of space strategy games!!





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.