Dungeon And Dragons Online


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Dungeons & Dragons Online (DDO) is a fun, action-packed, massively-multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) that allows thousands of players to participate in a story-driven D&D campaign. DDO features swashbuckling adventures, betrayal and intrigue, and lots and lots of deep, dark, dangerous, trap-riddled dungeons.

Total Rating: 7.19
Reviews: 72

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 20:29 08-07-2015
Rating: 9
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Very good game, as soon as I tried it I immediately liked.

Post Date: 16:23 01-01-2015
Rating: 7
Author: ColdDomination
Comment: Dungeons & Dragons Online provides players with the definitive online Dungeons & Dragons experience, complete with dramatic dungeon crawling, terrifying monster combat, challenging puzzles and character advancement. Dungeons & Dragons Online is centered on robust character advancement and challenging dungeon combat. Players choose and develop a character based on some of the iconic races associated with D&D, including Humans, Elves and Halflings, as well as classes such as Fighters, Clerics, Rogues and Wizards - after which they can socialize, find quests, group together and equip themselves for future battles. Dungeons & Dragons Online lets players travel alone or in parties as they explore the seemingly endless dungeon complexes found beneath the world. Through the dungeons, players engage in physical and magical combat with hideous foes straight from the pages of the Monster Manual rulebook. Battle is challenging, fast-paced, and easy to control with a wealth of unique weapon effects and character movements, as well as specific monster behaviors designed to keep combat both tactical and action packed.

Post Date: 16:47 31-12-2014
Rating: 9
Author: arZ
Comment: This is a multiplayer action online game. There are interesting quest that you can complete and gain a reward. The graphics are really cool. Every character have a special ability and skills witch you can upgrade by time. This game is really cool and i give it a note of 9/10

Post Date: 16:07 12-08-2012
Rating: 9
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Good game with nice graphics. Nice Game play for me. 9/10.

Post Date: 16:58 06-03-2012
Rating: 9
Author: KuroTsuna
Comment: Dungeons & Dragons Online is a good game and I really like the story of this game. The gameplay is decent and the quests of this game is very interesting too. The graphics are amazing. The design of the characters look realistic and well made. . I like the Feat, Skill, and Enhancement system.
Feats are special abilities that grant a character additional actions or abilities. Skills can be increased to give higher bonuses or satisfy prerequisites. Enhancements can be chosen, which augment feats and class-based abilities.

Post Date: 11:55 05-03-2012
Rating: 7
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: DDO is like lord of the rings online but not as good the game play is ok i like the storyline but there could be more classes the Graphics are ok but if you want to play a better game play Lord of the Rings online

Post Date: 19:16 23-02-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: I like this game pretty much. The graphics are pretty good and the gameplay is very funny. It's full of action so you won't get bored, until you have played it for a long time xD. I think this game is more entertaining if you play with your friends.. I mean irl friends. 8/10 from me.

Post Date: 11:04 18-09-2011
Rating: 8
Author: dmt_2000
Comment: Dungeons & Dragons Online (DDO) is a fun, action-packed, massively-multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) that allows thousands of players to participate in a story-driven D&D campaign. DDO features swashbuckling adventures, betrayal and intrigue, and lots and lots of deep, dark, dangerous, trap-riddled dungeons.


the game play is awesome the graphics are OK it is like Wow or lord of the rings online it is a MMORPG so if you like MMORPGS or fighting game or questing games or games that you can level up and get upgrades then this is the game for you..

Post Date: 21:54 25-02-2011
Rating: 7
Author: TristonPlante
Comment: Its a pretty good game. Great graphics, some flaws such as death and healing, but otherwise great. Oh and some of the quests lacked plot.

Post Date: 19:46 18-02-2011
Rating: 8
Author: Adrian
Comment: This game will always remain a classic. When you think of MMORPG, you will think of this. Great graphics, good gameplay, music is nice.

Post Date: 14:17 18-02-2011
Rating: 8
Author: sasuke24
Comment: This is an awesome MMORPG. I love the combat and graphics.

Post Date: 17:14 27-12-2010
Rating: 9
Author: TheFavorite
Comment: Pros: quests, story, party system, graphics & atmosphere, free, character creation, phasing, solo play
Cons: little PvP

I have tried many mmos and this one is fantastic. Right now I'm playing it for free but should I get more serious into it, I may upgrade to the $10/mo premium.

Post Date: 21:45 17-11-2010
Rating: 8
Author: Julein
Comment: Great game if its what your looking for... if you want great group based PvE action the this is your game but it has very little PvP at all. quests are extremely good for a MMO always somethin new about them for a little while but i have heard it turns into more of a grindfest. if you wanna play a game with your friends this is your game.

Post Date: 01:34 26-08-2010
Rating: 8
Author: buzzsaw
Comment: Can't get much better for a freebie! DDO has to be any D*D fans dream. OFC, the depth is there if you keep playing. If you don't you are missing out. I still find it tough to solo well despite improvements is my only gripe.

Post Date: 09:30 20-08-2010
Rating: 9
Author: Webber
Comment: DDO is a cool game if you want more than the usual fantasy grind party. The reason why DDO is not more popular is because it has more depth than WoW without many of WoW's more casual features. The RPG means more here than elsewhere. The GM narrating is a nice touch for any D&D fan:D.

Post Date: 21:01 17-08-2010
Rating: 10
Author: Catica
Comment: Dungeons and Dragons Online is a game that stands out in the MMORPG world, its not just another clone and while it may share features with other games like having micro-transactions, mobs to kill, and raids. Its definitely in a class by itself.

Starting with choosing your character and character customization DDO starts to set itself apart. There numerous races to choose from, and classes for each one that affect your stats and game play. Dont know where to start? DDO will even walk you through the character creation process step by step and provide you with pre-made builds. For the more experienced you can completely customize your character on your own.

Once you get started you will instantly find yourself immersed in a lush rich virtual world. Stunning graphics and scenery which can be adjusted to optimize your game play and run on even the oldest computers. Quests are aplenty with in-game tips, clues, and narrative to guide you on your way.

The majority of the quests are instanced based allowing deeper story lines, more complex scenarios, and a different experience each time you run the quest. Along with the standard mobs to kill, you will find puzzles, traps, hidden passages and rooms, mazes, and more in your dungeons.

Raids start around mid levels and are often more than the typical tank and spank. They require strategy, planning, and a good use of your brain. Rewards from raids range from unique and powerful gear to items that can permanently increase your characters stats.

There is plenty of social interaction as parties are a must for most successful game play. Parties can range in size of 2-6 people for normal dungeons and up to 12 for raids. Finding a party is never a problem with their built in looking for group system and no matter what time of day you play you can always find a group to join.


DDO even takes the party experience one step further by offer a built in voice chat for parties. Its like having vent built into the game! Talking not your thing? No problem, you can off your voice and just listen to others or use the traditional party text chat.

Feel like being on your own? Then you can visit several NPCs in the DDO world who sell hirelings. Hirelings are Computer ran characters in the class you choose that you can summon in quests to fill your party. You can control and command your hireling to do what you want and they can be very effective in filling the rolls of missing party members.

Overall there is more in DDO than a single review could ever hope to cover. Gamers looking for a new game and a break from typical MMORPGs should make DDO first on their lists of games to check out.

Post Date: 05:17 16-08-2010
Rating: 7
Author: Julein
Comment: Are you tired of boring MMOs where you click on your enemies 30 nseconds later you win or lose. DDO is a game that takes a lot more skills. Mad skills. If i got more depth and PvP it would be a very popular game.

Post Date: 00:57 21-07-2010
Rating: 9
Author: Bobandjoe
Comment: Great Game! One of the things that makes it stand out is its new price tag: $0.
Graphics: Customizable: Either low-end for a bad computer, or amazing for a gaming rig.
Gameplay: Lots of fun to charge into dungeons with friends, strangers, hirelings, or just by yourself. Great balance of combat, puzzles, traps, story, and social gameplay.
Social System: There's a great interface for finding groups, getting together with friends, and looking for players. loads of chat modes and intuitive chat commands make widespread and specific communication fast and easy. In-party voice-chat works like a charm. High-level players are generally really helpful.
UI: The interfaces are all descriptive and intuitive, easy learn, but also very capable.
Character Development: Character creation is great in this game, and very true to actual v3.5 D&D, although the Drow and Warforged Races, in addition to the Monk and Favored Soul classes, you have to pay real cash for. The only reason this game loses a 10 is the grinding involved in leveling. It takes tons of XP to go up, and dungeons give you progressively less as you go through them repeatedly. This is partially compensated by ranks, which act as sub-levels, and give you enhancement points to spend on stuff as if you had a mini-level-up.

Overall: This is a great MMO, which I find more fun than WoW, not even including the price reduction. I would recommend it to anyone, though not as a part-time game.

Post Date: 18:01 13-07-2010
Rating: 9
Author: kuleshs
Comment: DDO is the best free MMO ever.

Post Date: 14:32 24-06-2010
Rating: 9
Author: maurus
Comment: It's a good game to play with your friends, it has got nice dungeons and I love the combat!

Post Date: 21:30 31-05-2010
Rating: 6
Author: 506dude
Comment: ok at first it looks and plays ok. But then most of the game is all payed. This ruined my experience because i could not pay for it. The game is ok, but then is a waist of time. Go with something like wizard101 or allods. Those are two great games i reviewed. This game is ok at the start but then gets very limited on the way.

Post Date: 18:17 26-04-2010
Rating: 9
Author: Xkerblui
Comment: DDO is an epic game. The combat is the greatest I have ever played in a MMO. I"m not going give it a 10 for 1 simple reason: too many dungeons aka instances. Go anywhere and it"s full of giant spiders and traps. "You have searched every room except for the basement". The basement is full of traps, thieves, iron defenders, oozes (I HATE OOZES!!!!!!), levers and water you actually swim in. Don"t think that can be called a basement -_- Other then the lack of exploring (THANK GOD FOR DANGER ZONES!!) it"s one of the best games online EVER!!! I prefer it more than WOW for one simple reason, apart from the fact that the graphics aren"t cartoonish, you can cross class! Love it when you can do that since you can always bring new changes into your character =D (Until you reach max level anyways -.-*)

Post Date: 04:23 22-03-2010
Rating: 10
Author: Pallid
Comment: this game is great!! i play this all the time. there are tons of classes and sub classes to pick from. and if you are having trouble finding a group, go to your social panel (O) then go to group. if you need a guild, contact me, Beichin Strum, the guild is shibuya stilettos. the items are great, people are great, gameplay is great, graphics are okay. 10/10. rogue is the way 2 go. so is cleric, every one needs a cleric.

Post Date: 02:23 28-02-2010
Rating: 10
Author: spacemonkie
Comment: DDO deserves nothing less than a 10 after going free to play last fall. How can anybody say this game has dying? It has 1 million more players after going free!!!

Graphics: 10
GamePlay: 10
Community: 10
Story: 10

Post Date: 00:27 14-12-2009
Rating: 10
Author: seasnake
Comment: I'm going to have to give this a ten. The key down sides to it are an inabilty to just hack away at monsters to grind up experience points as you have to complete quests to obtain experience and the more you do quests the less the same ones return, until the point they give nothing at all; and not much of a game in terms of pvp although it does provide pvp areas in taverns. The biggest complaint I have is its small and most likely diminishing player base making finding groups to play in hard to quickly find. Also, at mid-levels and higher, you really need to be in a group to do the quests.

You need to talk to the NPC's to get quests and then you need to find where the quests are by observing the map. The movement around town is a major headache as they did not make it easy to travel to where you want to be at, trying to figure out how to get around a cliff or to a bridge you need to cross just to get to a quest can be a bit nerve wracking.

The upside is that it has fantastic graphics and an easy to use and quick combat system. It is also one of the best online games I've played when it comes to the thief class, you get to find traps, pick locks, and other things making the rogue actually worth playing. The adventures all seem to be well thought out and well-crafted. As a free player you have decent access to adventures to play for your level, and if you want to pay to get access to other adventures for your level I think it would most likely be worth it.

The character creation isn't bad. I like how my characters look after spending time upon their appearance settings. I love that I can multi-class and can multi-class into up to three different classes per character, and I also like that for those who want to be just one class that the game makes going single classed worthwhile. In fact, every class in the game seems to be well balanced, but what I dislike is that you need to go either lawful good or true neutral or else you will be missing out on the use of better unique equipment around mid-level unless you get your use magical devices skill to 20 or more.

I find the game a good relief from WOW type games, so for what this game is and what it offers in terms of play (expecially for free) I'm rating it a 10. If there were a better free game around, I'd play it, but so far haven't found one, though I do like Wizard101 as its fun for arena play.

Post Date: 22:20 28-11-2009
Rating: 7
Author: Avascar
Comment: *sniff*This game is dying,not much players,no pvp,and no side quests.The developers is a PRIVATE COMPANY named Turbine,doing their best to make the best game.But they failed since there's no side quests nor pvp.It gets all exciting when your in the story line.But this game cannot grow,many players chose for pvp games.But Turbine is doing there best.

RATINGS:
Graphics-10/10 Perfect!
Storyline-9/10 Trying to keep track,its like were going on reverse!
Payment-8/10 Trying to make the best deals and special goods
Combat-10/10 Fianlly! A game that you dont have to click on a monster and you dont have to wait!
Character Creation-7/10 Not much of a epic character creation
Weapons-8/10 not much weapons,but they have upgraded weapons
Holiday Celebrating-3/10-Its like the holiday doesnt even exist!
Community-7/10 High lvls are mean,some are nice,but its rare.Most are useless if your looking for a lvl 4 or higher quest
OVERALL:7/10
Comment To OVERALL-I will never forget this game,even though its dying hard.People that are looking forward playing this game,try it.

Post Date: 23:52 16-11-2009
Rating: 10
Author: 123edd4
Comment: This is one of the best rpgs out there and eats up my free time in moring and night Good sound Good graphics for its "free" Players Awesome battle system I dont like to do PvP in pretty much any game i play cause of the Kids That Call you Newbs (Like Runescape) Great Challenges Almost like The Real DnD missing some classes but its ok

Post Date: 05:39 06-11-2009
Rating: 8
Author: sass
Comment: I had trouble signing up to DDO. I may like Aion better but DDO is still a game to play once a week because since it is free now.

Combat is a blast but PvP is a blow-off imo.

Post Date: 15:49 11-10-2009
Rating: 10
Author: sylexus
Comment: Well, I guess I have the first review since it's gone free. And even after playing it Im pretty sure I'd pay for it. I'll do a full in depth review of the 4 hours I've played so far (Note: I have played real DnD since I was 9 years old, I understand the rulings and other stuff that goes into it).

Graphics: If your graphics are on Medium + They look amazing but you're subject to lag without a gaming PC, under medium they still are above average and look much like Savage 2's low graphics (for those of you who play it). The animation is a bit choppy but I kinda like the feel that gives off

Interface: Not bad at all, I instantly logged in and found everything I needed, within a minute I had mastered their hotkeys. Definitely better than some games (*cough*LastChaos*cough*)

Movement and Combat: Wow, I cannot stress how good the combat is, the movement is basic but that's fine. The combat works much like a LoZ game, my only qualm is that you can't see your weapon in first person.

Character Customization: The character customization was quite in depth and on par to SWG, plenty of choices and races and classes (a few are locked and need to be bought, but I wasnt interested in them anyway). If you sleect customize, you can further choose what stat points and abilities your character has.
The classes are of course the normal DnD classes from 3.5 I believe (Though druid appears to be absent and favored soul in its place). Since you cna mix and match classes for skills and such as leveling it gives your character plenty of flexibility.

Community: Even in the starting town there are about 35 or so people at a time I noticed (and they cause no lag), the people are kind and active there, many looking for groups but a few trading or just talking. I have yet to get to mainland Xen'Drik but I like what I saw.

Gameplay modes: Whether solo or with people (which makes it more fun than it already is) Dungeons and Dragons online has great game play no matter what. While soloing you'll do fine by yourself, but for real challenges and plenty of fun times, groups are where it's at. Even by yourself you can hire retainers to act as group members for you, they sure did well with the instancing system which is undoubtedly the main perk of the game aside from 0 grind.

PVP: Havent gotten to yet, but I've watched videos, seems theres an absence of PvP in the game but still there are a few ways to do it.

Sounds: This is the one part of the game that doesn't strike me as amazing in any particular way, but hey, you can always turn it off or mask it with voice chatting so it's not a big deal.

All in all:
10/10

why? Well, If I were comparing it to P2P games like it used to be, I'd probably give it a 6-7. But as a free game it competes with Runes of Magic and Perfect World as my favorite MMOs. Since it is free I suggest that anyone who hasnt played it, or had payed for it, should play now.

Post Date: 17:44 02-09-2009
Rating: 10
Author: Joker
Comment: I say that DDO will be one the best F2Ps on Sept 9th! Forget about cutsey little anime characters that make sick, DDO is the real deal MMO. At least I know what I will be playing soon:p.

Post Date: 17:36 09-08-2009
Rating: 10
Author: buzzsaw
Comment: DDO deserves a better rating now that it is going free-to-play. The level cap will be raised to 20. Getting to level 20 will be like getting to level 80 in WoW. New content is on its way too.

Post Date: 08:29 22-04-2009
Rating: 8
Author: K0phoegon
Comment: Funny as heck, everyone. I loved the game. I also found the comments about the wizards starting out with a short sword and a bow funny. I'm glad it's instanced, though out. My reason. It can actually be ran on systems that other engines would cripple because of the way the content is put. I mean great, you zone in and out alot, but really it enables those with systems that would stop under other games to play.

1. General rule of D&D - Casters are nearly always screwed over, IT's horrible in 1st and 2nd ED, Sorc. are still more screwed then wizards. Atleast wizards can get bonus spells for SPlvl 1 + with the INT bonus, and have a naturally higher skill set without having to sacrifice their main stat(s).
2. Spell Casters who relay on divine or number amount of spells to cast.. It's that way in the Pen&paper version also.. bad fight, dumb player needs heals, Sorc, or Wizard runs out of spells, rest up.
3. Solo ability of the game in general, Not to able to solo everything, but good grief people, I was able to solo as a Sorc and as a warrior (that had 1 Rogue for traps) and as a pure Warrior, and a rogue. It's harder sure, but the Pen & paper D&D, Was MEANT for groups.
3. Rogues Never had Stealth in D&D pen and paper version, They had sneak, and they used shadows and skill. Stealth and invisible like effects (for rogues, not spells) where mobs could stare at you 10 yards away and not see you is BS that was created by other MMO's not D&D.
4. The level system is Tweaked, and honestly there are 4(named as Ranks) levels per one, because of each dot, is like an original D&D level {the exp. matches the rate of 3.0 - 3.5 D&D) Unsure of if this is bad or good. It does help keep the mental BS about I'm bigger then you down since even if max is 16, that's 15x4 +1 levels, meaning. "I'm level 61, I'm to busy to help you, a lvl 25." Instead of "I'm lvl 16, I'm to busy to help you, a lvl 7 (rank1)"
5. WAHH WAHH No PVP. Last I checked, Most DM's who ran their games frond on PC vs PC fights that would rank as PvP. That crap always boils down to who has the best stuff, then it turns into honor, or some reputation gear from being so famous or well known against other heroes, risking an even more unbalanced character setup, and also detracting from the story just as much, when all you do is look for Fights with non-NPC mobs.
6. It'll never been seen as full potential to the tweakers who get the I'm better then you situation, and start wanting to prove it by beating, PKing, PvPing, and then complaning later on how a game that was designed for A group of players, to hang out and work together for a somewhat common goal.
7. This game don't take skill, good grief. It's spose to be about the story, and interaction.. of course it won't have skill related to it when all you have to do is click a button or repeated click it. Oh my, Look at that all he does is click buttons and he's good, well dur. It's not like your doing a LARP where it does require some skill, and physical shape.

Yes the game is making a slow downward slide, and if it stays a good, and great game it will level out with a steady number of players, because they aren't there for the crap that can be found in nearly every other MMO. PvP, when the hell did that become a grading scale for a MMO game, For a fact, DID NOT advertise or even HINT at any form of PVP, and when they give tavern brawls to allow others to settle the pvp, It wasn't enough for you people, and you bitched about it. The good PvPers left because they knew that Turbine wouldn't ruin the game, and create a pvp game in the DDO world.

Here is a Hint for all you idiots. StormReach, Is a Campaign setting for a D&D world, and Like all settings, there is only so much that can be done with it and players come and go, stay for the interaction. I'm sure They will either make/adapt other settings (with permission, legal bs), let DDO:Stormreach Die slowly, or find a way to make it a free MMO, like Sony has done with some of their .. less popular MMO games, and create some form of a staion. (Hell I hope they sell to sony, that way the game won't die, but will remain there, with minial changes)

This is exactly why we don't see alot of good D&D games, because a true D&D game requires so much effort to create, and when it's done, you need to make more story, expand it in some way. Not the best game to convert to an MMO.

I admit the trouble I had with the game was the communication system for some reason. *shrugs*

I loved the game, but I admit the flaws of the system it was built from doomed it to a slow death. I'm glad They refused pvp, so few games actually work on the storyline anymore without it being centered around pvp.

If I want to PvP I have other games, Games with better engines to pvp in, without having to go though hoops and spend hours(and in some games, Freeking weeks+) and hours to get equipment for a somewhat level shot at pvp. All the while missing out on what the game was designed for and being so competitive that you kinda get wrapped up in doing so you don't help others or suffer in the pvp. Then without Fail, you can bust your ass off, to get the high end equip/Combo styles and have it down pact, and all you hear is "OverPowered, cheater" because they didn't do what you did, and next thing you know it's nerf ville for pc's and in turn harms PvE because of it, while the only issues lied in pvp, and the stupid twinks want a *coughs* 'Fair' PvP they ruin PvE for everyone else.

Post Date: 03:53 05-03-2009
Rating: 4
Author: jaitee
Comment: This game is great, what sticks out the most is the real time based combat system. But sadly the community has alot of die hard dnd fans, which prevents this game from reaching its full potential.

While this game is slowly dieing, and such, the players dont want change, but want to instead whine about how dead the game is. In order for change to come, sometimes you must Sacrifice something to gain another. Many people have asked for the once PvP system that was in the game to be worked on, but people dont want that. Thus losing many more players.

The question is what will you do, when you beat the game? there is nothing is work towards or offer once you reach the max level of 16.

Talking from experience, I loved this game, I played for about 2 years, and had 15 or so characters at lvl 16(the current max level). What really made me quit was that once you reached 16, there was nothing to do. I was very interested in PvP as most games provide it, but DDO didnt. They had tavern brawls but that was not enough, because no one ever came. There was at one point when the taverns were always full of players wanting to PvP(a PvP community). Truthfully, those players had moved on to another game that can offer the aspect of PvP. The DDO community drove away anyone that was interested in PvP, If you were to search the forums, you would find countless threads about PvP. The truth? you see people saying such things as we dont need PvP, go find another game, DnD isnt about PvP! DDO is not a normal MMO. DnD die hard fans are the ones actually killing the game, not turbine.


Overall Rating: 4/10

For lack of content, Closed mind Community, and no PvP system.

Lastly, The game cant grow, if you wont let it grow, so the next time someone posts about how dead the game is. Think about why its so dead.

Post Date: 02:20 04-11-2008
Rating: 7
Author: fitzgiggler
Comment: I believe that this is a good game, but the popularity of other Fantasy games in this Genre will forever keep it from reaching a full a very large audience. this game caters to people who want group play, the way it did when it was just a board game, so it isnt for everyone, but people who can't find players for there offline games should look here (unless they have already sunk alot of money into minitures)

Post Date: 12:12 05-09-2008
Rating: 8
Author: J00ker
Comment: I like this game but it wants some free servr because it sux to pay monthly for game.

Post Date: 23:41 02-11-2007
Rating: 7
Author: nolonger
Comment: Loved playing this game. Inovative for sure since you do not only fight the mobs but also the dungeon. Endless possibilities for characters make this a great game. It is great if you do not have much time to get actually immersed in a MMORPG. Small world is what makes this review go down 2 points. Too easy to make money if you play enough is what drops another point.

Post Date: 12:21 26-09-2007
Rating: 6
Author: ealdon
Comment: DDO is a big disappointment. The game itself is wonderful. The gameplay and graphics are second to none, and MUCH better than other top MMORPGs such as LOTRO. I've played both, and DDO has a much more advanced look and feel. The dungeons are intricate and well planned out. The character options are almost endless, something that other MMORPGs promise but don't deliver.

There are three major flaws with this game that prevent it from being a top MMORPG. First is that the world is relatively small. The level cap is 14 (56 total advancements), and it doesn't take too much time to get there. Once that happens the game is nothing but rinse wash and repeat and it loses much of its enjoyment.

The second major problem is the enhancement system. Melee types get ridiculous boosts to AC, hit, dmg, and crits stats. Because of this MODS are generated with ridiculously high hit points and AC, and unreal immunities. For many of the quests you need an uber mage or uber fighter to be successful.

The final issue is the Monty Hall style loot. At L14 experienced players are running around with Vorpal/Disrupter/Banisher/Paralyzer weapons, +6 items for every attribute, +1 or + 2 tomes for every attribute, and a plethora of other stat boosters. Since there's nothing else to do when you're capped, people just loot, loot ,loot. If you don't have time to do this, or you're new, then you're going to feel useless. The game is very unbalanced.

Currently it's uncertain how long DDO will survive. MOD 5 is coming, but based past Necropolis series it's not likely to be popular. The newness will soon wear off, and there's nothing on the horizon. Much like OS2, Turbine has produced a superior product that will ultimately have a short shelf life.

Post Date: 22:07 19-08-2007
Rating: 5
Author: Icephoenix
Comment: At very beginning when this game was launched I was very excited. However I have alway played D&D based computer games as dual- or multi-class character. The whole idea of multi-class characters has ruined because of some kind of enchantments thing. Every character class and every race has their own enchantments. Of course what higher level you character is, so much better enchantments you can choose. Now that is the problem actually. For example if you are fighter(4)/rogue(6), you can choose naturally enchantment for fighter level 4 or rogue level 6. Now.. when we are thinking what are those enchantments for pure characters which has just 10 level of fighter or rogue class. My point is the dual classed fighter/rogue character doesn't be able to disable any trap or kill any monster in later levels. This is nonsense if asked from me. I don't really understand why this game carries D&D brand's name. For now there is thousands of very similar characters with very similar feats and skills. They are forced to play this way, because there is no other way to advance in game.

The one more thing what made me very mad. Even the most rarest items got permanently damaged. Is this a some kind of punishment for people who finds unique items? You can't use them because those lose their value.

I don't say this game is not worth of try, but because those enchantments the DDO has nothing to do with Dungeons and Dragons. I bought this game and I feel I was cheated some how.

Post Date: 11:53 14-07-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Choren
Comment: I have read most of the comments below and can honestly say that you cant really judge the game unless you play it for at least 6 months. I say this because as a new player (especially one who hasnt played D&D) it takes quite some time to figure out the gameplay and understand its subtlties. I have seen many new ppl stop playing because the older players are so fast and experienced in all the quests that the newbies simply cant keep up. This is a bugger but you do find groups that are newbie friendly. Some ppl are nice to play with while others are complete selfish idiots! I played DDO for over a year and was completely addicted to it.

The draw of the game, for me, is the interactive strategy involved. You really have to work as a team and plan ahead which makes it extremely challenging and fun to play. Admittedly yes, after a certain amount of time, the quests get old and boring. New content is introduced approximately every 2 months and the game is continually being improved in quality and quantity.

The cons of the game are:

If you are into PvP (there are options for it however) its not for you!

Most dungeons are just too difficult to solo, so groups are a must - if you don"t like this the game is not for you!

If you dont have more than an hour to play at a time then the game is not for you. The average lower lvl quests are fast but get longer as the lvl quest increases. Yes i have been in a quest for 3 hrs before but that is rare and only with a party full of inexperienced players!

New patches tend to open up a hornets nest of the problems before they can fix them

The repetition can get boring

Can be difficult to find a group for specific quest

Not always new player friendly!

On a final note: if you enjoyed D&D in the past this game is for you no matter what problems you might face!

Post Date: 01:57 17-06-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Chaossoldier128
Comment: Dude, it is so fun!1.good graphics.2.good gameplay.
3.Easy to understand.4.Gives you alot of choice in what you can be or choose.5.If you have a mic just plug in,join a party,and talk,and even if you don't, you can listen to what your other party members are saying.6.Lots of quests.7.Good amount of people online.8.Usally nice people online.9.Doesn't need ahigh tech computer, to play.10.Easy to lvl up

Post Date: 19:42 06-06-2007
Rating: 2
Author: Nalmid
Comment: it looked soooooooo good when i saw the first video.
everything detailed,nice graphics nice background.
until i thought ... "where the heck is the pvp?"
why would someone play a game to advance lvl ?ok he reaches 10000000 lvl he is the top he has everything enchanted so what?he will probably quit and lose everything..you an do the same thing in a private server x9999 exp.

Post Date: 06:24 05-06-2007
Rating: 5
Author: cenovis
Comment: This game definitely fell short of my expectations but has a lot of potential (if they ever want to completely revamp the combat system.)

Pros: Innovative leveling system that does not give experience based on kills, but rather how many quests you complete. Lots of built in features to make it easier for you to find parties (ability to advertise what quest you"re on and need for a group on a game-wide list,) and communicate (built in voice chat.) Despite being a very elaborate game, very little FPS lag on my laptop. Latency is a different story (no servers for my country,) but all in all, not too bad. There are in-game puzzles that require you to use your brain; in fact this is the least mindless MMO I have ever played. If you"re easily frustrated, it"s best you take a powder from this one.

Cons: Over-complicated! Speaking as someone who has never played D&D the paper and pen game, learning to play was like studying for a test. There were so many options to choose from and vague explanations for certain things. There were a lot of similar skills to choose from, which just seemed like clutter, and the in-game guide was of little help. Yes, I did read the manual (it was a 2.1 gig download + patches so I had a whole day to study it,) but Jesus lord almighty. It was too much.

I"d be willing to forgive all that for great gameplay but it wasn"t what I expected. You need a party for everything, which I thought was a GREAT, AWESOME, and WONDERFUL idea until I got in. On the top server in the list I couldn"t get one for the newbie quests, and so I had to reroll on another server.

Quests are... interesting at first... not very challenging... and quickly become mind numbing. You run through dungeons, looking for/disabling traps, killing monsters, and smashing crates and stuff for loot. Sometimes you have to solve a puzzle (which is the most interesting thing about it, and I am not a puzzle person.)

My biggest gripe is combat. Combat is basically the same old stuff you find in every other MMO, with a little WoW mixed in. You can"t be facing any old direction to fight, you must face the target, and that"s a good thing. The bad part is that you just double click on something and you"ll auto attack it. You can also just swing wildly (right click) and hope you connect. Either way: no skill required, not very exciting, and pretty slow.

Finally, I"m going to describe healing for you because I did roll a cleric (and have much cleric experience even if it"s not in DDO.) Healing in this game is a pain. You don"t recharge your mana passively, you get a set amount when you start your dungeon, and if you run out, then too bad. The only place you can replenish yourself is at a "rest shrine" which are placed here and there in dungeons. This is very, very annoying, especially when you have stupid party members who charge at the front when they should really be at the back. Normally, healing requires a little skill and time management. Well in DDO, it doesn"t, because you don"t recharge. All you have to think about is, "my god, where is the next damn rest shrine!"

All in all, I am not too impressed. I will give this game another go but I doubt it will cause me to raise my score. It gets a 5, mainly because the leveling system is very innovative, and in every other respect it"s on par with most other MMOs (which inexperienced players would probably think is great, but old hands know are trash.)

Post Date: 14:53 20-05-2007
Rating: 5
Author: kazalor
Comment:
Not a very good game, everything required a party, and even simple quests took 1 hour. I could never solo one quest because i had no clue where to go. The dungeons, however, are magnicifcent. Secret strategically placed traps would harm party members and rogues, bards, and rangers would have to dismantle them. But, the economy and lack of players was the cause of its "downfall". Dungeons could take up to 3 hours when some people could only stay on for 1. I think Turbine created a large failure, but their newest game, LOTRO, which I play( Level 29 human Captain) will be a great sucess. Don't buy DDO if your looking for an RPG that you want to play every day. However, cooperation in DDO is very inportant and it is a very fun game to play with friends.

Rating: 5/10, obviously, not a good game

By: Kazloc, level 29 human captain in realm, Brandywine, Lord of the Rings online Shadows of Angmar.

Post Date: 02:03 12-05-2007
Rating: 3
Author: Nightfall5
Comment: Looks good, yet it and WoW are the geekiest games in the world

Post Date: 12:52 03-03-2007
Rating: 5
Author: whatmmorpg
Comment: What is it?
Like the name says, it’s an MMORPG
based on Dungeons and dragons.
It has a great many dungeons and, as
anyone who’s played it for a long time
will tell you, very few dragons
(They’re working on it).

How’s it play?
DDO has a very refreshing control system
for 3rd person combat. It lets you
feel like your actually contributing to the
fight, rather than letting your computer do
it all for you.

Content
The dungeon system is fun but also makes the mmorpg seem less immersive as you cant just run outside and land in a bunch of mobs, what unfortunately makes this worse is no ability to solo as after the first few dungeons you HAVE to be in a group. Also severley lacking in any PvP content.

Suggest this to DDO fans but MMORPG fans will be disapointed.

Post Date: 11:02 10-01-2007
Rating: 0
Author: Cals
Comment: The worst MMO i have ever played!!

Post Date: 01:58 06-01-2007
Rating: 7
Author: oneyx
Comment: If you ahve other friedns in RL ( real life ) that woudl liek to buy the game as well ( which goes for lots of store bought games ) then buy it cause it is an awsome game, but a little tricky if your not willing to put your time into it.

Post Date: 14:49 25-11-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Knightwolf
Comment: Definatly the best game I"ve ever played. besides the small world its very good


Graphics:Beats runescape in a longshot!10/10
Gameplay: exelent!10/10
community: Very good!10/10
giving it an overall of 10/10!

Post Date: 00:17 31-10-2006
Rating: 6
Author: dominic3456
Comment: Were shall i start?
Played it for 5 minutes, got borred and quit. Ok went through tutorial i picked mage as my proffesion. However i start out with a bow and sword but no spells? I picked mage not ranger/warrior!!!!!

Then i go to some tutorial island and instantly die..... This game is really really really a mmo, for you cant do anythings without a large group of people. This stinks for when your bored and just wanna log in for 20 mins get some xp maybe do a quest or two.

Good graphics and D & D people may like it.......

Post Date: 20:32 24-10-2006
Rating: 3
Author: xtatic
Comment: After playing this game for 3 months every single thing you do gets old. It's got no economy and the patches are slow in coming and dont adress gaming issues. I can only rate this game as 3 although the initial gameplay is killer it just has no staying power. I can promise you I will never again invest money in a Turbine product.

Post Date: 12:01 19-10-2006
Rating: 0
Author: fabia
Comment: I like to play in such graphic but.. then i saw.. NO PVP, Where did they go wrong in the mist? :P

For me pvp = monthly fee and wow got the best pvp play!

Post Date: 10:29 28-09-2006
Rating: 6
Author: gunslingerkid08
Comment: Fun game if you live in your mothers basement and like to pretend your a lvl 99 wizard with your friends

Post Date: 19:22 14-08-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Elfable
Comment: All of you wait a game like wow FREE if you want to pay monthly get it if you want a REALLY good game thats Guild Wars the Best free game i played in my life you buyu it and you p[lpay all your life...

Post Date: 13:54 01-07-2006
Rating: 8
Author: dlaaa
Comment: Fun but scary if you are alone

Post Date: 23:27 25-05-2006
Rating: 4
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: Well I had high hopes for it as can be seen in my first review months ago, but it let me down big time. Tired of depending on either people to group with all the time and I hate that the game is just in Stormreach.

Post Date: 09:35 07-04-2006
Rating: 6
Author: not-my-fault
Comment: hey tessa want an online game with cool places to explore???
why wont u try conqueronline???its great!! many plces to go!!! u can even be lost in it!!! lol.. got millions of players that can help you!!
u can call it a place for expedition... or something like that... i guess...

anyway, the game s cool!!! and this game tooo!!!

Post Date: 09:10 14-03-2006
Rating: 10
Author: average_joe
Comment: a very fanatastic game indeed no doubt...i have just bought a key on this...can t stop play..i forgot my breakfast, lunch, dinner, even my girl....

Post Date: 07:18 11-03-2006
Rating: 2
Author: Tonyxxx
Comment: No PvP? Are you crazy? D&D gets a 2 for getting me excited about it coming out...but then a big let down.

Post Date: 16:49 09-03-2006
Rating: 1
Author: Averyl
Comment: I could just cry. The only thing this game got right was the way it gives out EX for compleation of an area (well done) the rest is just garbage. The controls are clunky. The game takes away already earned abilites for leveling. The game has no economy so game cash will become worthless. Very few items overall. Max out level easily and then have nothing at all to do. This game is really only for the part timers who want to get to gether once a week for a couple of hours and then I m not sure it s worth the price.

Post Date: 23:23 08-03-2006
Rating: 4
Author: tessa46
Comment: I only beta tested the game but chose not to purchase after release. While combat and missions are fun, there is no world to explore, no crafting, no solo content to speak of and every single mission is instanced. It wasn t for me.

Post Date: 01:14 08-03-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Abebow
Comment: Although I hated AC2, D&D is the best MMO today. If you dont want to play other people then why are you playing an MMO in the first place? No PvP? Who cares? The quests and story are so good that it needs no PvP! The way the instances are may be a little like Guild Wars but the quality of the quests are night and day. D&D is not a thing like Diablo but GW is.

Post Date: 21:26 07-03-2006
Rating: 8
Author: dracandros
Comment: Not for the absent minded xp grinder. The quests give you exp and can sometimes be done without even fighting anything. Not enough solo action, no pvp, and no overworld [everything is instanced] and okay graphics - that knocks it down from a perfect score.

Post Date: 06:26 07-03-2006
Rating: 0
Author: nevarine
Comment: You are right, its no wow. It takes you 2 hours to get to level 2....You dont even get experience from killing monsters, i think. And there is no pvp! Why did they go wrong!

Post Date: 02:35 06-03-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Banger
Comment: Started playing a few days ago. It is good but it is definitely no WoW. The servers have been down a couple times, but I guess that is not unheard of in the first few days of the game. The combat is pretty fun. I just wish they would add PvP someday because that would be great with the way the combat is.

Post Date: 12:45 04-03-2006
Rating: 7
Author: pellnell
Comment: Not bad, but not quite as good as I was hoping. I am a big D&D fan but I am not crazy about it lacking PvP and snubbing solo players. The quests are awesome compared to other games like WoW and CoH tho.

Post Date: 06:17 28-02-2006
Rating: 1
Author: Nimzabaat
Comment: Okay I have actually played in the stress test for this game and it s not a WOW killer. It is at best OK, the graphics are similar to Dungeon Lords. The play scale is terribly unbalanced. The game world is probably the most obscure d20 setting i ve ever heard of (including lame battle-mech type guys, yes it s "fantasy"). They left out the coolest parts from D&D (Elves & Dwarves should have night vision, Rogues should have stealth etc). In short wait for Age of Conan or NWN 2. Thank me, i m saving you cash on a lame game.

Post Date: 15:28 22-02-2006
Rating: 9
Author: Miranda
Comment: I love this game 3_3 Great graphics!

Post Date: 07:54 26-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: johnxatzi
Comment: none

Post Date: 17:50 24-01-2006
Rating: 9
Author: raynarok
Comment: About time i found this game. ( i hope its better then the pen and paper one)

Post Date: 09:43 22-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Royoku
Comment: I played the Preview from Jan 17th through to Tonight at 12pm Jan 21st... As some one who loves DND (Pen and Paper) this game rocks. Id say its a mix of Never Winter Nights meets diablo in a first person style combat in real time, with groups. You can create a guild at no cost or all that sillyness. Myself aswell as 10 of my friends who played are all getting it the day it comes out.. Look out world DND is online and its Huge!!!! Rating 10/10

Post Date: 01:21 15-01-2006
Rating: 9
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: Finally, a complex MMORPG instead of the regular cookie cutter EQ clone. To answer your question, Roroken, I have heard the chat and group finder aspects of the game needs serious work and thats why I will give it a 9 instead of a perfect 10.

Post Date: 17:18 11-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Atilise
Comment: As a regular D&D player i hope it does well, it is going to be my alt to anarchy online (god bless that game) because i need an alt from si-fi but no WoW, played that, its too over-rated and isnt cool. love this one and think it will be the best fantasy MMORPG and WILL woop WoW s 4$$ :) everyone rate it 10!!!





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.