Half-Life 2


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


By taking the suspense, challenge and visceral charge of the original, and adding startling new realism and responsiveness, Half-Life 2 opens the door to a world where the player's presence affects everything around him, from the physical environment to the behaviors even the emotions of both friends and enemies.

Total Rating: 8.47
Reviews: 32

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 11:10 03-08-2015
Rating: 9
Author: SulzYee
Comment: Played Half-Life 2 few years ago, more then few... Half-Life stays in my hearth, for me HL2 is one of the best first person shooters of all time, not the best but one of them.
Design of the game is good, really good, 14 levels i think and all of them are different and funny. In that levels you see an incredible variation in locale, lighting, level structure and gameplay. This game makes you "in", you feel like you are that guy with gun.
My rate for this gaem is 9/10.

Post Date: 19:06 31-05-2015
Rating: 9
Author: LosmiK
Comment: Half-Life 2 has astonished us from start to finish. Valve has done to the FPS genre what restaurants in Chinatown do to ducks; shredded it, smothered it in a delicious sauce of their own devising, and served it up in a way which you simply couldn't have imagined when looking at them in the pond.

Post Date: 19:41 16-01-2015
Rating: 10
Author: altot
Comment: Firstperson shooters since Half-Life, at least on the PC, have been unsatisfying footnotes to the events of 1998. A smattering of ideas have crashlanded in the ballpark, but everyone is still playing the same game. We’ve seen better special effects, even some new material to work with, but there’s still been a sense of deflation with each new title. Nothing on PCs has quite managed to repeat the fine melody with which Half-Life was orchestrated. But firstperson shooters haven’t become outmoded, they’ve not even lost their way. They’ve simply not managed to do what we thought they could do. Half-Life 2, on the other hand, does exactly what we thought they could do. Those unrealised visions of intensity, action, drama and relentless challenge weren’t just a figment – Valve knew that. The genre still has a way forward and the Seattle team has found it. Yes, it’s a linear shooter: a magnificent, breathtaking paragon of the form. Half-Life 2 takes the squad-based elements, the vehicles, the physics, the gorgeous good looks, the whole sedimentary block of genre conceits and carves out a masterpiece. This isn’t about doing things differently to anyone else, it’s about doing them better. How is that possible? Well, it’s largely about timing. The set-pieces are, almost without exception, supremely effective. A giant strider tripod crashing through a building, a zombie bursting from a door, a floating-barrel counterbalance puzzle, a duel with a helicopter, a line uttered by an otherwise inconsequential character – whatever it is, it comes barrelling in, pitch perfect to the very second of delivery. And it never stops. Half-Life 2 never lets up; it’s a high-bandwidth cascade of challenges. There is no time for repetition or monotony. The sheer urgency with which the player is propelled through the game sees to that. Few games have such a qualified sense of drama. Half-Life 2 tells a story in which you are swept along without feeling helpless. The intensity of chase scenes, the gut-wrenching loss of friends, the grim brutality of killing – all these experiences are delivered with astonishing vitality. The characters win hearts and raise suspicions. The acting, their movement, their facial expressions, all seem imbued with humanity. The city itself, awe-inspiring, oppressive and terrifying in equal measure, is flawlessly designed. You are embedded in this world. And no, Gordon Freeman never speaks. No cut-scenes, no muttered voiceover. This seemingly sinister quirk is elegantly handled, gently transformed into a joke by the other characters. Alyx, the core female character, laughs and shakes her head, while Yoda-type aliens mutter things in their own language after informing the player, politely, that they would only ever speak in their native tongue if they wished to say something rude. All of this brilliance takes place within a framework of sensational technical achievement. The Source engine might not have Doom 3’s fearsome lighting, but it nevertheless believably renders everything from a vast brutalist skyscraper to the peeling paint on a tenement wall. The striders, the towering tripedal robots that hunt the army of rebels along the streets, are wonderful to behold. Death occurs on numerous occasions simply from the awesome need to look and gape. Even in the large outdoor spaces, such as the high-speed journey along a temperate coastline, Source remains unfazed. There are a few examples of textures being too stretched and bland, but the naysayers who are liable to worry about that will have bigger things on their minds… such as the physics. Finally we have a game in which physics are more than just an excuse for ragdoll deaths. Gone is the Mr Magoo effect of running around banging into things and knocking them over. This time the world is there to be grasped. Within moments of Half-Life 2’s opening scenes a vicious metrocop throws a drink can on the floor and insists that you pick it up and put it in the bin. In that moment the player is equipped with everything they need to know about the world. And these moments continue – the game constantly teaches us something and then presents a challenge to be overcome by applying what has been learned. This is never more true than in using the gravity gun. This is the core tool, and it’s what makes Half-Life 2 simply sing with entertainment. It can be used to drag objects, pick them up and carry them about. Its second mode can be used to drop, throw or smash them away. The applications for this spread wide indeed. Initially, it’s about hurling metal discs through the bodies of encroaching zombies; later it finds an application knocking over the buggy and getting it upright, or dislodging weird sticky mines, or picking up a filing cabinet to use as a shield or a battering ram. Tearing a radiator from a wall and using it to swat a parasitic headcrab, while all the furniture in a room goes tumbling around you, is truly a gaming epiphany. This is possibly the most exquisitely crafted action game of all time. Half-Life 2 is a firstperson shooter. But in action, storytelling, technical achievement, atmosphere and intensity it has far outdone its peers. Valve just hit the top note no other PC game developer could reach.

Post Date: 17:12 26-05-2014
Rating: 10
Author: ivekvv256
Comment: Really cool and not an usuall shooter. It's pretty fun shooting at enemies with different guns. The graphics are good and gameplay is awesome so I rate it 10/10.

Post Date: 19:54 21-09-2012
Rating: 9
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: Great game. For me 9/10 :D

Post Date: 11:02 25-04-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: Nice game its kinda hard with the puzzles and stuff but nothing is better then killing a zombie with a BuzzSaw as ammo if you like Valve games Then you must play this game

Post Date: 14:32 06-12-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: Nice game. It's one of the best I played. It's really funny and the graphics are pretty good.. 9/10

Post Date: 07:58 06-12-2011
Rating: 10
Author: KiteDancer
Comment: Perfect and awesome in every way

Post Date: 19:58 22-01-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Adrian
Comment: A near flawless implementation of a first-person shooter. A mix of intelligent and frantic combat, you cant get bored playing this.

Post Date: 08:28 12-12-2009
Rating: 10
Author: rensoalink
Comment: awsome game

Post Date: 23:38 21-08-2009
Rating: 10
Author: tank5550
Comment: FREAKY!!! Man Ravenholm is definetly the freakiest place i've been to (even though it's not real). Great graphics.You know what would make this better? Aliens! Real aliens not the head crabs and those things that hang from the ceiling with their tongues sticking out. Aliens, like Starcraft 2 (not really).

Post Date: 18:09 08-08-2009
Rating: 10
Author: doomguy93
Comment: This game is one of the greatest of all time & was almost as revolutionary as it's first game. Half-Life 2 is the first game to use the most commonly used engine to this date: Source. The game is practically flawless with its vivid scenery & use of physics & puzzles to advance to the next area is very clever. the voice acting along with the animations are performed perfectly especially during "cutscenes" that allow you to move around & play whilst the scene goes by, which leads me to say it barely has any flaw. the gameplay is great both gunplay & said physics play. this game does many things that would surprise one whom had not played the game before.

Post Date: 15:01 08-08-2008
Rating: 4
Author: killervickboy
Comment: i liked it the graphics wer sucky not sure thats my opinion i wasnt really a fan of half life but i dont really like it much

Post Date: 22:39 15-10-2007
Rating: 10
Author: happylad
Comment: Love this game. Gravity gun is the best thing ever to happen to this game.

Post Date: 11:20 05-01-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Asuka
Comment: its a good game but i got stuck in some stages....-__-

Post Date: 10:59 16-06-2006
Rating: 6
Author: Ouchie
Comment: Due to steam, i have a real hard time enjoying this game. Would give it a 9 without steam.

Post Date: 01:49 22-12-2005
Rating: 10
Author: royal_pwnage
Comment: Best game ever no game comes close to this

Post Date: 14:08 15-12-2005
Rating: 0
Author: Zod
Comment: none

Post Date: 03:13 02-12-2005
Rating: 10
Author: seanlin59
Comment: this is the broucher to half life 2:bored?wanna save the world with nuclear bombs and other stuff your mom doesnt let you use?well todays your lucky day!!save the world in your own den!just look at the screen shot!ugly no freakiness of total intention of destruction of alien lifeforms?yes!buy now!!!

Post Date: 20:53 15-11-2005
Rating: 6
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: Actually, I had more fun with ther original and its much lesser graphics. The mods helped a lot too. Steam just hurts this one too much for me.

Post Date: 10:19 20-10-2005
Rating: 10
Author: Fuzzy_Fuzz
Comment: This game won Game of the Year award, and it deserved it. Some of the best graphics I have ever seen in a game (with Doom 3 as an exception) best physics engine, and gripping plot.
A great sequel to Half-Life.

Post Date: 14:15 04-10-2005
Rating: 10
Author: raxer92
Comment: This one demolishes the original in not just it s graphics but its gameplay too. It also has it s scary levels.(WERE NOT GOING TO RAVENHOLM)In a good
way. But completely it s a must have for any true gamer.

Post Date: 23:24 28-08-2005
Rating: 10
Author: ABC12345678910
Comment: Beats every single game including WORLD OF WARCRAFT, BATTLEFIELD 2, UNREAL TOURNAMENT 2004,2005, DIABLO 2:EXPANSION, and all other games

Post Date: 10:42 15-07-2005
Rating: 6
Author: crazy_flower
Comment: I can t play this game, But I love watching my friends play, it has given me night mares.

Post Date: 10:04 22-01-2005
Rating: 1
Author: tayxuan
Comment: none

Post Date: 15:56 04-12-2004
Rating: 10
Author: elcarto
Comment: How SWEET it is!

Post Date: 12:52 02-12-2004
Rating: 10
Author: reece
Comment: none

Post Date: 02:18 28-11-2004
Rating: 10
Author: Altor
Comment: One of the best games ever!

Post Date: 13:57 13-11-2004
Rating: 8
Author: Sticks
Comment: Very Realistic big step from the first. More Action more to the point. Less Wordy. Great graphics once again i must say i am very impressed i was a little disapointed with the first 1. Great Job!!!

Post Date: 22:04 14-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: visitor
Comment: none

Post Date: 18:29 13-09-2004
Rating: 9
Author: Rix Raw
Comment: All this waiting kinda ruined the game ,but it does seem like it s going to come out soon now.

Post Date: 01:36 11-09-2004
Rating: 10
Author: visitor
Comment: Can t wait for this one to come out!





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.