Kingdom Of Loathing


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


The Kingdom of Loathing (or KoL, as it has come to be known by its player base) is a free comical RPG.

Total Rating: 7.91
Reviews: 54

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 20:20 05-01-2013
Rating: 8
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: This production is a humors txt based browser game. This game can be described as a huge RPG games parody. This game is one of the only browser based MMO's of its kind. Game have very original style of game play. We pick up quests from random choosing. Making that quests we recive meat and then buying new equipment and everything else. Game is very original and gives fun from playing. For me 8/10 is a good rate of this production ;)

Post Date: 08:43 18-09-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Webber
Comment: KoL is old school all the way! The text makes you think instead of being spoon fed everything. RPGs should make you think imo. Several of the GO regulars play Kol. There is a GO guild!

Post Date: 03:05 17-09-2011
Rating: 10
Author: pureevil4
Comment: Ah, Kingdom of Loathing. This is a text-based browser RPG by Asymmetric Publications.

It's rather chock full of pop culture references, obscure and not, and jokes. This doesn't detract from the experience, as some might thing, rather, I find it enhances it (though if you hate pop culture references and/or humor, you might want to steer clear). The game gives you six character classes to choose from, Seal Clubber, Turtle Tamer, Pastamancer, Sauceror, Disco Bandit and Accordion Thief. Each has its own unique and silly backstory, and they fall into three main playstyles: the muscle classes, Seal Clubber and Turtle Tamer, specialize in dealing lots of damage, and being able to take it too; the mysticality classes, Pastamancer and Sauceror, who specialize in raining down massive amounts of damage from spells, and the moxie classes, Disco Bandit and Accordion Thief, who specialize in stealing things and avoiding damage. Each class then individually specializes more, so there's a lot of flexibility in character choice.

"But pure," you say, "how am I to choose? I don't want to be stuck in just one character class forever!" Ah, my friend, you aren't. Every level in the game through thirteen, you are presented with a quest to do. Upon completing the final one, you can choose: ascend, to begin another play through of the game, or stay and muck about, and ascend later if you want. What good is ascending other than playing as a different character class? Well, you keep all familiars you've collected during all of your previous runs, and you can permanently acquire some skills from your previous run for use in future runs, so that you can use skills from one class while playing as another! You can also chose how difficult you want to make your playthrough, be it casual, normal, or hardcore, casual with no limitations and little reward, normal with some limits and decent reward, hardcore with bigger reward. You can also take on a voluntary path restriction, such as eating no food during the run, or losing the ability to use items with a B in them, with varying levels of challenge and reward.

All this, coupled with the fact that the game is always being worked on and updated, makes the replay value incredibly high, and I believe well worth the 10/10 rating I'm giving it.

A special note to those who value games based on the quality of their graphics: what graphics there are are entirely hand drawn. If you're looking for something that looks pretty, this isn't it, you're much better off just not playing a browser game, let alone a text based one.

Post Date: 18:46 09-09-2011
Rating: 7
Author: Supernatural
Comment: Kingdom of Loathing is browser based RPG.
The moment you see it you will notice there aren"t any similar games like this one on the market today, so it has a huge advantage on players who are looking for unique casual games.

The game itself is presented in a comical way, with cartoon alike graphics, and very unique gameplay for a browser game. It"s can"t described with comparison on regular MMo"s, it"s story for itself, and every player who is curios enough to ask what this game has to offer should make an account and try it right away.

The game features 6 unique classes with very funny names.
Seal Clubber - Melee muscle character
Turtle Tamer
Pastamancer
Sauceror
Disco Bandit
Accordion Thief

I rate it with a 7, like a casual browser game.

Post Date: 18:32 09-09-2011
Rating: 7
Author: buzzsaw
Comment: KoL defies the way it looks. This RPG looks like it was made by a school kid while really being a deep game that is updated frequently. There are so many things that you can do that is impossible to get bored unless you prefer different games.

Post Date: 19:55 04-09-2011
Rating: 8
Author: mmowiz
Comment: kol is one of the best online rpgs. the crappy graphics are part of the humor. what makes it a success is the old school rpg system underneath it all. 8/10

Post Date: 06:03 16-08-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Aldious Ace
Comment: The intro describes almost everything. This game, Kingdom of Loathing is all about the jokes, puns, and humour. Care not about the graphic or sound (they don't have 'em by the way).

To be honest, you won't be bored when you play Kingdom of Loathing, as it is being updated every now and then. New stuff is being added and old stuff is being changed. Another fun thing about Kingdom of Loathing is that the game even made jokes out of real life holidays.

The only reason I can't give it a 10/10 is because some of the classes are overpowered than the rest, I hope that they could do some changes to it soon.

Post Date: 15:31 28-05-2011
Rating: 9
Author: Noche
Comment: I have to say, KoL has really grown on me lately. It's a very unique RPG with hilarious quirks.

Although the graphics are sketchy and minimalistic, they basically don't matter-the real beauty is in the humorous messages that appear when you perform different actions. It has classic RPG elements such as slightly tedious quests, but I almost don't even notice the grind. The witty text distracts you from any repetitiveness in combat and exploration. The sheer amount of things you can do and collect is impressive. This game is based on humorous interactions and discoveries, and this is reflected in the oddly named items, locations, and characters.

KoL just doesn't get old, and it doesn't require a huge time commitment like a lot of other games out there. 9/10 for sheer originality and laughs.

Post Date: 05:16 03-03-2011
Rating: 8
Author: EcLuD
Comment: Haha I played this game long ago .. is fun, RPG style but with a touch of humor, like me. 8 / 10.

Post Date: 12:50 23-11-2009
Rating: 9
Author: jd.emosmos
Comment: yes,this game is unique.
Graphics is not the only thing you look in a game.
Replayability,Gameplay,Music and control counts too,and this game owns!!!

Post Date: 23:14 09-12-2008
Rating: 10
Author: MachoNacho
Comment: Still a favorite. Just shows you that graphics do NOT make a game I mean just look at the screenshot. Does that look like good graphics to you? Of course not. KoL pwns because its orginal. Its a clone of nothing. Give it a try!

Post Date: 15:00 13-09-2008
Rating: 10
Author: darklord2517
Comment: The game is funny and awesome. Pure and simple.

Post Date: 03:58 31-07-2008
Rating: 6
Author: pifreak
Comment: meh its funny 6/10

Post Date: 04:01 21-07-2008
Rating: 7
Author: jonkujo1
Comment: this is one of the most funniest text based games ever! i lost my account though because i didnt play for a year or two but it is woth a try you get a certain amount of action point things and you get to customize your stick figure by getting armour for it and there are lots of quests to do

Post Date: 22:23 29-05-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Axeforhire66
Comment: This game is hilarious! It is alot of fun to play with a mature community. The pop culture references are great! I reccomend it to anyone who enjoys a funny, unique gameplay experience.

Post Date: 16:59 27-04-2008
Rating: 8
Author: jjdragon60
Comment: this game is really funny,and is a great break from those 3d action mmos. its really funny, with lots of jokes and humorous gameplay. a great try for optimistic people(ps. all these pesimistic people can get a good laugh!!)

Post Date: 02:07 21-04-2008
Rating: 7
Author: geohyte
Comment: It's a giant joke of a game, but for once that's a good thing. I played with a few friends, and we couldn't stop laughing at it. It's also not a bad game once you get into it. Although if you only want to be serious in a game then turn back now if the stickman with a martini glass, and sword didn't get rid of you!

Post Date: 00:34 23-12-2007
Rating: 10
Author: peyton007911
Comment: lolololol dont be destracted my the stick picture its a great game!

Post Date: 18:11 24-08-2007
Rating: 10
Author: moooo566
Comment: possibley the greatest game known to man. i had millions of laughs and i am completely addicted. if i could find one fault it would be that it have no faults. the way it never ends and that you can change and get rewards by completing it, so you chose a class then change to play with a different one.

Post Date: 19:21 08-08-2007
Rating: 9
Author: cantouchme
Comment: this game is very good, and i play it whenever the servers are down in other games i play. the great thing is no downloads and its pretty funny.

Post Date: 23:13 24-07-2007
Rating: 3
Author: Nalmid
Comment: seemed good at starts
had really good time laughing with the moves etc etc
but whats the point? no goals
you reach level 999999503457800436290634
and only you do all day is try to make it to the next lvl but you understand that lvls never stop
and there is like non stop increase in stats non stop increase in lvl etc etc only fun is when you fight in guilds but even then the higher lvl wins

3 for the funny animations :)

Post Date: 09:31 30-06-2007
Rating: 9
Author: monkey44
Comment: i like this game. its very fun. and people should actually have a go at it

Post Date: 04:55 30-06-2007
Rating: 8
Author: Mink
Comment: Very fun game:). Great for a chuckle whenever I need one.

Post Date: 19:50 13-06-2007
Rating: 10
Author: nonforgotten12
Comment: its a hilarious game. i actually love it. the gameplay is just page-to-page but still funny nonetheless. its a good way to kill time and can be very addictive. overall score, 10/10

Post Date: 03:26 08-06-2007
Rating: 7
Author: Cenovis
Comment: Hilarious game, but you run out of fun as soon as you use up all your adventure points. You can get more by coughing up a little cash, but I am not devoted to it enough to do so. It is good for a laugh.

Post Date: 17:52 28-05-2007
Rating: 9
Author: pokerhappy
Comment: this game is a hilarious, fun, addicting game. you need to have to good sense of humor to play it though, as it has a lot of puns and jokes, some of which may be 13+, and to those who have given it a bad rating, that is probably because you want a game that has good graphics, and that you can play 24/7, which, yes this game does have restrictions as to how much you can play each day, but you can still play for about 1-2 hours each day, and all of the characters look as if they have been drawn by a person who has way to much time on his hands, but it is a great game, with a funny, intresting storyline, and you can chat with friends, or other players who play the game. the only downfall, is that when you ascend (when you beat the game) you restart the game again, but with (sort of) all of your items again, and you can choose to make the game harder on yourself, so it isnt like you are continuously playing the same thing over and over again... and you get new quests/subquests each time you ascend (well, up until you ascend with each class, but that will take a while...) i highly recomend it, and hopefully, you will decide to try it...

Post Date: 20:21 15-04-2007
Rating: 9
Author: MetalEd
Comment: This is a hilarious game. Notice that a bunch of the people that gave it 0's and 1's are the people who don't even talk in complete (Or understandable) sentences. This game is a good thing to play now and then, but I understand how it can be boring if you play it for a long time. I think the guild system is great and the graphics fit the game very well.

Post Date: 14:30 31-03-2007
Rating: 7
Author: Pwnage32
Comment: Very good MUD game (a nickname for text play games)pretty fun game not the best online game out their but worth a go.

Post Date: 19:17 25-02-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Zorin
Comment: I played this game a few years ago and loved it, but got bored before I even won or knew about ascending. Then I started playing again last September and I still love it.

Post Date: 04:08 25-02-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Daemonx
Comment: I have been playing for a few years now, and I can say there has been no better of a time killer than this game. That said if you have an internet connection and a fair amount of time on your hands, this will occupy you easily. And to those that only demean the "quality" of the game, learn to spell! (You'd understand if you were a fan of the game, spelling is stressed) This game was not created to "look great" or play like one of those industry-churned money pits, it was created out of originality, speed and ease of use.

Post Date: 03:32 21-02-2007
Rating: 7
Author: Ajax574
Comment: This game is good for people who like bad puns and jokes. I wouldn't recommend playing it for long periods of time, but for a quick few minute break, this is an excellent stress reliever.

Post Date: 21:04 27-12-2006
Rating: 10
Author: brightsea
Comment: Awesome game for between things at work. It gets boring clicking on the same adventures over and over, but the descriptions are fun and the quests well-paced in general.

Post Date: 23:48 21-12-2006
Rating: 0
Author: death throw
Comment: What is this garbage? How can you even give this a 1? its not even funny...if there was any rateing below zero i would give it that.

Post Date: 21:31 10-12-2006
Rating: 9
Author: Foucek
Comment: This game is great!Ony one downside you can only plaay for like an hour until you run out of adventures

Post Date: 06:39 15-11-2006
Rating: 0
Author: gamedude
Comment: i rated it a zero this game is boring all u do to level up is click on the explor again butten if u like games were u git to read stuff that to me isnt funny try this game and that jack dude hes a chepskate he whants a 10doller doniot u can play for free but that game only took like 20dollers to make he dosnt need that much to make it bater all he needs to do is add were u can coler your stick guy this game if u ack me is a BIG FAT WAST OF TIME and guy that just reviewed your sense of humor is horble sry but eff thows jokes on the game were lame it git a 0 in my book

Post Date: 18:43 28-10-2006
Rating: 8
Author: maskedzoro
Comment: a truly original game
this game has quite a long life span and offers a humerouse time for anyone.
unless you have no sense of humor!
not the greatest online game in the world but it is a step up from most.

Post Date: 23:18 19-10-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Beelzebub99
Comment: I don't like text-based games, but there's something about KoL that has kept me enthralled. This really a good game even if you have only want to kill some time.

Post Date: 21:26 09-10-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Hero786
Comment: its awesome it has humor and fun its the BEST text game EVER...but a text game always has bad sides....

Post Date: 10:01 05-09-2006
Rating: 6
Author: FBINinja
Comment: i liked the froums better than the game, althought thats a completely different thing. it was cool.

Post Date: 12:03 22-07-2006
Rating: 6
Author: Jinede
Comment: This game does, and will ALWAYS get repetitive.

WHY?

because the MAIN point of the game is to ascend, which means completing all ELEVEN quest.

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER?

You start again. However, this time you have choices of Paths, Signs and either Hardcore or Softcore.

----

Think about it. Do you REALLY want to spend your time doing that?

Post Date: 10:07 20-06-2006
Rating: 8
Author: Mr. Peel
Comment: Perfect example of an original game that does need good graphics to be very fun.

Post Date: 22:31 13-06-2006
Rating: 10
Author: sony11
Comment: Amazing game that I highly reccomend. I've been playing for about 1 and a half years and have no complaints. Plus new content's being added constantly. There's lots to explore and the text in battles are hilarious...Especially the Final Ultimate Epic Final Conflict.

Post Date: 00:46 12-06-2006
Rating: 10
Author: gbwong
Comment: the funiest game

Post Date: 18:20 22-05-2006
Rating: 10
Author: SelfStudyBuddy
Comment: This and runescape are the only games for me

Post Date: 08:07 26-04-2006
Rating: 10
Author: fightermonkey
Comment: i bought guild wars and neverwinter nights dimound but i never played them since i found kingdom of loathing!!! SUPER Funny

Post Date: 05:57 21-04-2006
Rating: 1
Author: Izanagi
Comment: I used to play this game and it took up a whole summer of mine. Then the maker (Jick) got kick out happy and kicked out some of the most loyal players of the game including ones that spent more than $1000 on donations. I got kicked out for no reason and that was about a year of my life down the drain.

Post Date: 02:23 31-03-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Iamh4xbox
Comment: lol awesome lol a hat to keep the bat guano away

Post Date: 01:07 14-03-2006
Rating: 9
Author: wuheros
Comment: this game is so freaking hialrious lol lol lol lol
rotfl rotfl rotfl rotfl

Post Date: 04:32 09-01-2006
Rating: 9
Author: DT
Comment: Completely addictive, and everything s a joke or reference to the past 25 years of gaming culture.

Post Date: 01:29 16-11-2005
Rating: 0
Author: king2k5
Comment: very unsupportive, if the admin was a little more sociable maybe it would be better, but, not my kind of game... i like: galacticoddessy, martobia and utopia

Post Date: 00:34 06-10-2005
Rating: 9
Author: Bishop4853
Comment: sweet game

Post Date: 23:18 02-10-2005
Rating: 9
Author: bugbear
Comment: i love it too!

Post Date: 17:34 18-09-2005
Rating: 8
Author: oozium
Comment: I love it!

Post Date: 00:34 12-08-2005
Rating: 9
Author: dungeonman45
Comment: Really good, I highly recomend it.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.