The Dark Grimoire


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


The Dark Grimoire is a free text based multiplayer online role playing game ( MMORPG ) featuring amazing adventure, magnificent treasures, and a vibrant, highly interactive community. Starting out in a small town as an initiate you learn the ways of Valorn with the guidance of the many seasoned adventurers you will meet during your travels, while becoming a mighty Warrior, Cleric, Rogue, or Enchanter. In a world torn apart by evil demons, dark beasts, and an evil Lord bent on world domination, your strongest weapon against the coming hordes is the comradery you develop with others.

Total Rating: 4.52
Reviews: 25

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 21:28 08-07-2014
Rating: 10
Author: Memory
Comment: I've played this game on and off for eight years. It has always been a RP community of diverse, talented players dedicated to fostering a friendly story-driven atmosphere. Admin led plot lines and player plot lines intersect in interesting ways, and though the current player base is small, finding quality RP is very easy. Most of the players are excellent writers, and I enjoy the opportunity to stretch my own RP skills.

While I never encountered any enjoyment-breaking admin interactions mentioned in earlier reviews, some of my friends did quit because the environment felt creatively stifling and rife with favoritism. The new admin team is VERY different.

They take player concerns and suggestions seriously. Massive and minor game changes have occurred as a result of player input. The actual world - the text descriptions - have been changed in real time due to player interactions with one another and the environment. As mentioned before, story lines are not static plot points thrown to liven up the game at predetermined moments, but evolving elements that change according to player reactions.

Honestly, I love this game. If you appreciate the written word and fantasy RP, and can refrain from sexy time chatting, this is a great place for you.

Post Date: 20:22 29-06-2014
Rating: 10
Author: MerchantRogue
Comment: This game has made a HUGE turn around since the new admin team have taken over. The game has gained a darker feel, tons of new items and areas have been introduced and the admin team really listen to the players when it comes to adding new features, or changing old ones. Speaking as a player who quit and has now returned to the game, I am VERY impressed with the changes and am loving the game play like never before.

Post Date: 17:27 29-06-2014
Rating: 9
Author: ~Q~
Comment: We played this game years ago and quit because the old Admin team leader could be... difficult to deal with. Nicest way I can put it :D We came back last year, bringing some old players with us, and found the NEW team to be very amusing and, most importantly, willing to listen to their customer/player base. They realize it's a game and their players are their customers, so though there should be rules to protect their players there should also be a balance and an allowance for differences in character personalities. They are much more accepting of the odd characters and strange rp as long as it's kept to a pg-13 level and nothing dirty is taken outside game.(They wouldn't want you to accidentally do naughty rp with a 12 year old obviously, they'd feel responsible and I can respect that.) They are working on some awesome new changes, new icons, new art, and I hope to see it continue on this path. If you checked it out before and were disappointed or were thrown off by the previous reviews it may be time to give it a second look. This game is definitely made better by it's player base they are all ooc friendly and helpful. If you don't like old skool rp and reading, it may not be for you however, thus TEXT based.

Post Date: 23:54 15-05-2014
Rating: 10
Author: DGCleric
Comment: I've been coming back to this game for years now and it's my favorite browser game. I've met amazing people on this game.

Post Date: 22:11 01-03-2014
Rating: 10
Author: User Name
Comment: Major overhauls to this game. Take what is said in previous reviews with a grain of salt and give this one a second look. RP heavily, leveling might be a bit of a click-grind, but if you enjoy interaction with a variety of characters and steady history that is heavily influenced by the PLAYERS - then its worth it.

Post Date: 04:08 11-03-2012
Rating: 0
Author: skulleg
Comment: wow, i have never seen a game that sucked quite as hard as this one. navigation, interface, everything is horrible. if you want a game that you have to read a book to be able to understand much less play you might like this game. but if your like me and would like to play a game that you can pick up on quickly, dont waste your time.

Post Date: 18:38 01-07-2011
Rating: 8
Author: QMagi
Comment: A second look at this game prompted me to reconsider the management style, especially when an apologetic response was given by the ADMIN via email. The admins DO care about the RP perspective of the game and enforce it to their design. Perhaps being a little too "old school" myself should be taken into consideration -- I have always preferred in-game support over email, but I digress.

As mentioned earlier, roleplay is the key to this MMO. There are players and mentors that make the realm portrayed to be friendly and helpful. I cannot stress this enough. Support and praise is readily available for the needy. Special events (run by PLAYERS!) are common, including crafting and hunting events. In game, I was given an invite to join the player festivities. The "message" is a web link:
http://forums.darkgrimoire.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10566&p=88326

All in all, I've reconsidered my rating. Having understood the greater scope of this realm, I absolutely agree with the policy. I feel the naming policy needs a bit of clarification, but the roleplay premise is there.

It takes a tough reviewer to point out flaws -- but it takes an honest person to admit their own. I WAS TOO HASTY TO CONDEMN THIS FINE GAME AND THE PEOPLE THAT PROVIDE IT.

My second rating for this game is an 8/10, which when paired with the first review of 2/10, gives... well... two votes of 5/10 (average-wise).

~ QMagi


Post Date: 19:38 28-06-2011
Rating: 2
Author: QMagi
Comment: As a long-time veteran of MMO's, I have recently found this text-based game to be both interesting and compelling to play. That is, until I got a taste of the Admin's enforcement and communication process toward players. Having reached all of level 3, during game play my name was changed from Darkgem (a roleplaying EULA friendly name) to "Dar Gem". Naturally, I checked out their spiffy Mentoring system (which allows new players to ask seasoned players general questions). After communicating with a couple of the veterans, I was advised that all ADMIN type inquiries were handled via email. Not a single player was willing or able to provide an in-game Admin name.

I have a definite issue with game administrators that anonymously (and, without explanation... as so lovingly stated in the EULA) handle the gaming issues. This does not give a player any sense of fairness and quickly converts what seems to be an enjoyable game into a hassle to even play. It is this type of passive-aggressive administration that makes players of all ages feel like they're being treated as an unworthy pre-teen. Especially when the admins don't even bother to respond to your emails politely requesting clarification of the matter.

The gameplay is relatively simple and the concept is nostalgic of a cross between MUD and PHP click-fest. The website's artwork is unappealing -- this is not to say that the website should have a bunch of ramped up flash or anything, but the interface feels shallow and cold.

The leveling system is SLOW. While this is good for long-term players, the initial experience curve to begin is almost stagnant. Most MMO's I've played get the player more interested in staying by having a few quick levels under their belt before leaving the newbie training ground. But again, to each their own! :)

The player is CONSTANTLY reminded by in-game advertisement to upgrade their account for either prepayment of a selection of time or a recurring charge for ongoing service. Not overly pressuring, but pricey for a text-based game. If you're a fan of role-play and have a touch of narcissism, better pony up that cash or risk being a generic player for the duration of your stay.

I am, however, pleased to report that the players in the game are both friendly and courteous, with particular interest in helping new players learn and grow. Negativity is minimal and frowned upon in the rules. This type of community is absolutely essential toward the success of a MMO!

Bottom line: Great concept for a retro-style text MMO, great player-base, and text-clicky goodness... but without a MAJOR overhaul to the "Customer Service"* policies I predict that this game will not flourish and quickly become one of the dusty alcoves of internet games. * - (I use the description "customer service", as they offer premium services for money, therefore... customers.)

My final rating: 2/10. Players who can endure makeshift game administration may find a home here, but don't get too cozy - especially if you don't like your name changed without warning or GOOD reason.

Post Date: 16:59 18-03-2011
Rating: 10
Author: DGCleric
Comment: I haven't run into any of the issues that many of the people below have. Most of the people who are banned are banned for good reason...like being predators. If you say you're 12, they say they're 14; if you say you're 26 they say they're 30. My boyfriend played for 5 years and I've played for the last year and we've only been warned for minor things. My first character's bondmate got banned in the last mass banning (4 players banned, 2 of them were cybering, 1 was a banned player returned, and 1 was involved IRL and lived with another one of the players. Miranda had to be sure that the predatory player did not return). If any of the people posting in previous years think that isn't a reason to be banned...chances are they got banned for being predators.

As for the RP factor...they do have a set of rules, yes...but I've never been tapped on the shoulder by an admin and told "You can't do that" as long as I remained PG13 and thought creatively. If you can't find a way to creatively RP your character probably isn't interesting enough or you should find a different game. The biggest key is to make your character individual.

Post Date: 05:21 21-02-2010
Rating: 1
Author: RPG fan
Comment: I agree with most of what is being said here. The worst of the admin is Miranda. I spent over a year emailing her with an issue and I never once got a reply. She is rude and arrogant and unless you are one of her little pets, you have no chance. She banned one of my friends for having more than one account, but a lot of people I know have more than one account, so why pick on her. I have also been warned for stupid things like " act non insane " How do you act non insane anyway, and does that mean that insane people are not allowed to play? Miranda is always warning me for random things, and I know it's her because there is never ever anyone else around to see what I'm doing, and you are never given the chance to defend yourself. It is pathetic, she needs to get a life, grow up and let us have fun. It is a game after all we are there to have fun and enjoy ourselves.
The admin seriously need to think about what they are doing to people because people won’t put up with it forever. The only reason I still go there sometimes is because I have made a few really good friends. I have also lost a few really good friends because of Miranda banning them for no good reason.

Post Date: 08:04 08-02-2010
Rating: 0
Author: jdallas111486
Comment: Said all i need to just giving a game the rating it deserves

Post Date: 20:17 13-01-2010
Rating: 0
Author: jdallas111486
Comment: Well after making the mistake of giving this game yet another chance thinking it can't get any worse it leaves you with more and more surprises on how lousy it really is , the admin and constables are more pompus and arrogant over power they really wish they had , its really hard to believe that someone out there is making or trying to make a crap lousy version of this game forgot the name of it though so it must not be that important , don't waste your money on nobility its a waste of $7 a month besides they're not too picky about who they have top their stature list .

Post Date: 16:25 27-12-2008
Rating: 0
Author: DGAdminDie
Comment: Why oh Why do I return to DG daily? It's something to do and I enjoy my RP friends. I am in TOTAL agreeance with a few of these posts here. DG Admin, I hope you're reading this: You make the game an oppressed, non-creative environment. You are clearly letting the game degrade. Your constables are obviously hypocrites. I get warnings for things in my profile where other players DO NOT. Tell me what the deal is with GAME RULE # 5? There are profile violations going on THAT ARE NOT... ARE NOT listed in the rules. The RULES, Ben, ARE NOT clear. In addition , DG Admin (Yes, you, BEN) You're grubbly, slimely little finger is a bit too trigger happy on the DELETE key when you go off banning ppl for no apparent reason **holds hand to ear** Oh? What's that? "They broke the rules"? What? WHAT CLEAR AND DEFINED RULES, Ben? What rule? Oh, the one you made up that day?? What have you got a 20 sided die with random rules THAT ARE NOT POSTED that you're going to ban ppl for? I hate you **smiles broadly**

Post Date: 01:37 15-08-2008
Rating: 0
Author: Chante
Comment: I was breezing past once more, and I happened to notice the comment left by RP Fanatic, and it made me giggle. I gave the game another try a few months back, a quick IP address change, no problem. More people have been banned, there are whole DG populations on the games Fallen Sword & Archaea. Admin is still the worst thing going in this game. A new plot-twist led to some interesting role-play within the game, but what was more fun? Watching the somber events take place, or watching the key players take off running suddenly, to be replaced with another? Let me tell you: When a game is held together by less than 20 people who all have multiple characters and/or accounts... it is going NOWHERE, FAST. RP Fanatic, riddle me this: Since when is lesbianism, kissing, & the worship of other gods something your children have never seen in real life? Unless you live in a communist, facist country, let me tell you, this is LIFE. This is ROLE-PLAY. Banning people for playing other games is ludicrous. Banning people for having opinions is not only idiotic, but a hinderance to role-play. BenRanda, since Ben & Miranda are so obviously the same person, you really need to decide what it is you are trying to do with this game. Let it die, or give it some room to breathe. I'm giving this game a ZERO, based SOLELY on the fact that a doctor wouldnt pronounce a DYING PATIENT physically fit, no matter how aesthetically pleasing the patient was.

Post Date: 23:51 11-08-2008
Rating: 0
Author: jdallas111486
Comment: Besides of having the satisfaction of giving this game another 0 i noticed that the comment that RP Fanatic left I realized that it must be pretty sad to be the only one on this review page to give it a good word , i'm not sure if i should laugh or pity him/her considering she's the one that makes the game a living hell

Post Date: 09:02 01-08-2008
Rating: 0
Author: jdallas111486
Comment: To put it nicely this game blows hands down , the admin are total idiots not knowing what they are doing and you get bored of it 5 minutes after playing , tell you the truth i don't even know how i lasted playing it as long as i did , a complete waste of time and money , watching paint dry or running around in traffic is more fun.

Post Date: 14:04 31-07-2008
Rating: 10
Author: RP Fanatic
Comment: This game is absolutely brilliant, and actually takes roleplay seriously. After some time out the admin are back with new areas, quests and roleplay events that really get ppl going. The areas are well-written for the most part tho some earlier ones are a bit bare. Best of all the community are seriously into rp but are always happy to help new players find their way around.

I'm kinda sickened by the reviews on this, especially when I see who wrote them. Admin bans people with good reason, keeping it a sicko-free game and a decent rp base. Some people just want a 'fantasy' game in all senses of the word, which is fine but not in a PG13 environment. I personally feel much better in a place where I know my kids can play too and where I know roleplay is actually valued.

Check it out and don't pay attention to the small-minded whiny babys who complain because they got banned for breaking the rules!!!

Post Date: 22:32 16-07-2008
Rating: 2
Author: thomas mcharg
Comment: as a member of this game i find it very lacking in everything a true RP needs. If you don't do as your told by the gods,constables or the iron knights you face punishment, which can go from time in jail to getting banned. The game has gone no where for over a year and it looks like it's not going anywhere soon. I rate it a 2 and that's being generous.

Post Date: 22:07 16-07-2008
Rating: 0
Author: Valkaryrie
Comment: I played this game for 3 years, I liked the game well enough, but thought the Admin was too strict and narrow minded. Lately, it has gotten much worse, they are banning people for small things and leaving harassers in the game when before they actually used to get rid of harassment. They have nothing special for any of the professions except Warriors, while that battle system seems alright to me, people have a hard time making money to buy the things they need because the monsters don't give money or drop items that match with the level they are supposed to be (i.e. person fights a level 45 monster and gets 2 gold after nearly dying at the hands of said monster ) The money level also doesn't raise with your level. ( i. e. level 25 and making 20 plat, level 35 and making 20 plat ) I've heard complaints of this from some of the higher levels there, and experienced it myself. And when you reach peak level which is 62, there is no good way to make money. The avatars are lacking. The Admins are overbearing and unwilling to listen even if you are in the right. The Rp there allows for no real use of the imagination, you Rp the way the Admins want or you get banned. You are not allowed to have an opinion. The game has the feel of being in a communist state, no new ideas or opinions are allowed. The game play environment is deteriorating, the community is small and no new blood has been there in a while except for gamers who don't Rp which seems fine with the Admin. It is my opinion that this is what they want now and Rp'ers in Dark Grimoire are becoming a dying breed. The text area descriptions invite forced Rp. People are actually encouraged to lie. Nobody can be trusted there except a very few people. They also encourages people to turn others in with threats that if a person doesn't tell, they will no longer be allowed to play, bad moderation in my opinion. My advise? if you play, don't have an opinion. Personally I would not even return to this game or play it again. If you like to be subjected to rudeness and oppression then this is the place to go, other wise I would not recommend it. My rating for this game is 0, due to the bad moderation and overlord Admins.

Post Date: 19:49 18-03-2008
Rating: 10
Author: Chante
Comment: Best text-based game I've played in a long time, but I recently got banned because one of the admin didnt like me for some reason, she told everyone I was some other player, then deleted my account so that I couldnt go back on and defend myself. She blocked my IP address though, which is stupid, because it takes about 12 seconds to change that. I would go back & run through the town screaming MIRANDA OF ADMIN IS A LIAR AND A BAD GAMER, but why stoop to her level?

Post Date: 10:45 18-03-2007
Rating: 2
Author: tdechant
Comment: Admins are way overbearing. They have "spys" looking to mute and/or ban people who actually do role play, but do not use "Thee's, Thou's, and Thus's". The believe a thief should be an honorable little warrior, instead of being a thief. If you can play without running into the mutings, or bannings, it can be fun. Otherwise try a different online playing site.

Post Date: 12:23 01-08-2006
Rating: 0
Author: offended
Comment: The admins for this game are RUDE. Other than that the game is put together rather well. If you play do your best not to have to deal with them (admin) unless you like being belittled or insulted.

Post Date: 19:49 21-06-2006
Rating: 0
Author: dragon5806
Comment: text based games stink cause you dont do anything

Post Date: 00:27 29-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Dr.Bob
Comment: none

Post Date: 20:40 18-10-2005
Rating: 9
Author: monkeydude93
Comment: sweeeeeeeet im gonna give it a nine for one glitch though cuz u czn get stuck in a leveling up place once you have enough experience 2 be lvl 4.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.