StarCraft


Review Directory Intro ...

Want to know what other gamers are saying about an online game that you are interested in? Good because this is where gamers can give their opinions about different types of games such as Online RPGs, MMORPGs, Online Shooters, and Free Games.


If you don't want to leave a review, simply click on the link or the screenshot on a game's review page to go to its website.


Signing up is free and allows you to review games, post in the forums, and submit games for review. The forums allow you to ask questions, share tips, and discuss games after you have reviewed them. Let your opinions fly !.!


Control any of three different species, each with unique units, technologies, attributes, and abilities.

Total Rating: 8.44
Reviews: 39

Online Game Review

 0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10

Login to review a game.

MMORPG Forum

Review Archive

Post Date: 07:37 06-08-2014
Rating: 9
Author: Glorious
Comment: well ive played this game since i was a kid, and i must say its fun...until you see koreans play it and realize that all you will ever be able to do in starcraft is to just play it casually. i have the same problem with blizzard's game i have with bethesta's games, i just feel like they are utterly overrated, and it seems like everyone decides to ignore the fact that blizzard just steals ideas from other less-famous games - warhammer 40k in this case. but back to the game at hand...



story - its fine, nothing special imo, but it works for campaign purposes. thou later as i played warcraft 3 frozen throne campaign, i dont know if i was dreaming or if i really noticed some resemblance of starcraft's story? it was a long time ago, i cant remember anymore now. but i remember wanting to see the story to the end and, since i sucked too much to beat the campaign myself, i used cheats to do so. it was a shameful thing to do...

gameplay - when i finally thought i figured out how to play this game successfully, i saw how koreans play it and realized that i have nothing to do here. for a casual gamer, its basically simple: you mine minerals and collect gas to mass-produce units and kill your enemy. i like how in starcraft unit cap is at 200 unlike the warcraft 3's unit cap that is a measly 100. each race has some unique traits that offer different experience while you play with them, and that's a nice touch.

environment / graphics - i think they are really well done, both of them. even thou the basic ideas are a ripoff of tyranids, space marines, and tau from warhammer 40k universe, they are still well done in their own right, animations are smooth, and since the units are so tiny, sometimes you cant clearly see what's going on there in those animation...but that's cool imo, if i was a commander of some army i wouldnt be able to clearly see what everyone is doing while idle.

sound - i think that voice acting is legendary in this game. even today i find myself quoting random units from starcraft with my best friend to pass time...dang, we must sound like idiots when i say it that way...i think i still remember at least 60% of all quotes from the game! they went one step further to ensure that aliens sound alien compared to humans, it is a minor difference, but a good one. i just love the prottoss voices, ever since i was a kid i loved them. even the zerg sound cool despite the fact that they have no intelligent quotes (except for the infested terran, who's voice is again, very cool). music is also good, i especially like terran and prottoss music, but it isnt as memorable as the voices.



overall, its a fun game, just not for me. it is very well done, no aspect of the game is lacking in any way. i would recommend this to anyone who hasnt already played it and likes RTS games.

Post Date: 04:47 18-08-2013
Rating: 7
Author: El Monstro De Galleta
Comment: Wow old game but fun. Great game, i think it was the first rts I played.

Post Date: 21:03 04-12-2012
Rating: 10
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: This Game is an epic production :) The best RTS I have ever played :D I have many good memories with this game:) In game we have posibility to choose from 3 nations ;) Zergs, Protos and Terrans :D I always prefered Protos becouse of much bigger heath points and endurance. I can recomande this game to everyone who likes RTS games :D Only rate can be 10/10 :)

Post Date: 20:18 29-07-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: This game is pretty fun even its kinda old the graphics suck in my opinion number 2 is way better and in number 2 the graphics are very nice and much better then this one

Post Date: 11:42 29-07-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: The game was fun but a bit old, but that does not mean you do not have fun! The graphics aren't that good though. But what can you expect from such an old game? xD But you forget about the graphics since you are enjoying the game that much. At least I did xD The sounds aren't really that good though. But I'm not listening to the sounds anyways so that doesn't really matter. The gameplay is good I guess. You feel like you have total control over the game, but then suddenly the base is destroyed in a second. So it's like you have to be active all the time to avoid being crushed. I think that's good though. Not fun when games are too easy. The game in total is pretty good considering it's pretty old. A fun game to play with your friends too.

Post Date: 11:56 27-07-2012
Rating: 10
Author: PolanWalker
Comment: EPIC production from XX century. The best strategic game after Red Alert which I played. SC II is a crap. Loved protos canons :D Best strategy to build forget then 6-10 canons and then in quiet and peace grove up in power to attack :D Almost always 3 dozents of dragons was enought to kill at least one enemie :D Zergs are also great spiecie. Possibilities to build new units are vonderfull :D 10/10 from me :D

Post Date: 00:45 26-10-2011
Rating: 7
Author: champking5
Comment: This is a format of gaming I see all the time. Move your characters into positions and battle the enemy. Good game but I always see this type of game.

Post Date: 16:10 25-10-2011
Rating: 8
Author: dmt_2000
Comment: This game is a Strategy it is like number 2 if you like number 2 then you should try this game they are both fun

Post Date: 20:47 24-10-2011
Rating: 9
Author: lumlehsumleh
Comment: this is a really good strategy game. it envolves 3 races, zerg, protoss, and tarren. it is a good game

Post Date: 20:51 25-06-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Atomic2110
Comment: You can't judge an old game like this the same way you judge new next gen games. Judge it by its time, as if nothing came after it. It's wrong to compare it to SC2.

Truly one of the best games I have ever played.

Post Date: 19:33 23-02-2011
Rating: 0
Author: BMedley
Comment: Starcraft WAS epic. SC2 improves on graphics, gameplay, new features, epic story and multiplayer.


Post Date: 00:36 08-12-2010
Rating: 10
Author: EcLuD
Comment: personally one of the best strategy games of all time, real-time strategy, balanced races, many players around the world, global tournaments, finally one of the best games of all time.
10/10

Post Date: 16:06 20-11-2010
Rating: 10
Author: beachbum69
Comment: an epic game

Post Date: 09:45 10-11-2010
Rating: 9
Author: winston9999
Comment: great game. stopped playing it since SC2 came out but its still in my top 10!

any sci-fi/rts fan NEEDS this game

Post Date: 03:55 22-08-2010
Rating: 3
Author: mogly
Comment: I would rather play StarCraft 2! It won't be the dominant RTS anymore due its own sequel.

Post Date: 02:32 06-03-2010
Rating: 10
Author: obesechicken13
Comment: SC is the dominant RTS and has been from 1998-2002, then after wc3 declined to dota and wow, from 2004 - now. SC2 will probably be the dominant rts after that. The game is fun, fast paced, and strategic. If you're casual you can play ums(use map settings) or with friends. If you are good you can play ladder(though some ladder players are bad) or bnet. The singleplayer is fun, though Warcraft's is better. Warcraft's ums is better.
Be warned, starcraft can be addicting, though not as much as dota.

Post Date: 02:48 29-11-2009
Rating: 9
Author: anymotion
Comment: An awesome RTS game that I fell in love with. Good job Blizzard for making some awesome games, and I would recommend the SC series to anyone! 9/10

Post Date: 16:04 02-06-2008
Rating: 10
Author: gra t1
Comment: SC about the only thing that beats this game is Red Alert

Post Date: 06:22 31-05-2008
Rating: 10
Author: clickmehere
Comment: Greatest RTS of all time. THere are more then 100 strategys and you can get creative with tanks and marines. Make 20 marines a few tanks and they can do alot of damage. Greatest game ever and SC2 will be even better.

Post Date: 04:29 03-04-2008
Rating: 0
Author: Falar
Comment: If buy this, buy WC3 instead. It has a lot more people and is better overall; the SC map editor sucks while the WC3 one will blow you away. In general, the melee games online are filled with jerks that are waayyy to intense about winning(unlike WC3 where nobody cares and most people will say gg whther they won or lost and whether it actually was or not). The online for SC is very limited by the bad editor, so buy WC3 instead!

Post Date: 18:39 19-01-2008
Rating: 10
Author: neoshogun
Comment: It is one of the first truely AWESOME rts out there it is a classic, it never goes bad, OMG if you haven't played it play it its old but it's STILL good (I mean dang its 10 years old now! for games thats ancient and people are STILL buying it!) 10 for its shear continued existense let alone its popularity!

Post Date: 08:47 13-12-2007
Rating: 10
Author: GameTester
Comment: StarCraft is my favorite game every, period.

I"ve never actually quit playing the game since I first got it, I just occasionally get occupied by other projects and games, then come back to it ... or I found my CD"s that I lost 8 months ago (oh, that"s why I stopped.) hehe.

Anyway, A++ to Blizzard for making the most amazing game ever. But I"m excited for the sequel, since that will probably be the new most amazing game ever.

Post Date: 13:28 02-11-2007
Rating: 10
Author: jedigonz
Comment: this game is the best among them and this game is remembered as one of the greatest games ever

Post Date: 04:23 29-10-2007
Rating: 8
Author: philonus
Comment: Basically all I have to say is starcraft is A classical strategy game RTS fans will remember for generations to come.

Post Date: 20:02 09-09-2007
Rating: 9
Author: IcyDrummer
Comment: one of the best online games that has survived the test of time. I go on and there are still thousands and thousands of players on. Even when you get bored of just fighting, there is the added element of map making and 'Use Map Settings' games. players are coming up with new maps and new types of games to expand on (Defense, spawn, control, RPG's, and so much more) i love this game and always will! 9/10

Post Date: 03:11 07-08-2007
Rating: 10
Author: runel
Comment: beside warcraft you can"t go wrong with this game. age of empires is great but this just kicks it"s butt. probelm is now that people have run out of ideas for maps.

Post Date: 19:17 30-07-2007
Rating: 10
Author: himas123
Comment: i love this game its awesome. I'll play it for hours. And if your sick of the ordinary games, the player created ones can be lots of fun! The campaign is fun too, and its always nice to use cheats. power overwhelming or show me the money. operation crawl, black sheep wall.

Post Date: 05:56 05-07-2007
Rating: 10
Author: Juggernott
Comment: Frickin beastly game! Terran are frickin juggernauts.

Post Date: 20:01 24-06-2007
Rating: 10
Author: FlameLord
Comment: Mr.mmorpg addict Is 100% Right Starcraft is one of the very bst games ever know to human history. And I was getting mad that BLIZZARD (the maker of starcraft) was working mostly on Warcraft even through Wow it Fun But I would Rather Play a Game Called Word of starcraft> But Finally they are working on something i like STARCRAFT2......Go to www.starcraft2.com

Post Date: 18:55 27-05-2007
Rating: 10
Author: mmorpg addict
Comment: Anyone who gave starcraft below an 8 is messed up. THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER. DONT EVER QUESTION THAT. Anygame that can revamp a countries economy(coughcoughsoutkoreacoughcough), go 8 years without a tru sequel and still be considered one of the best games ever, become a professional sport, be a way to pick up chicks(in korea),
and make it so that a game in this can actually be considered a date(agin in korea) can be called THE BEST GAME EVER

Post Date: 23:04 04-11-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Adamadamn
Comment: "One of the Best games ever" indeed - also one of the most underrated; great Storyline, Decent Graphics, Hopelessly addicting especially online, even for beginners, and that is without mentioning the expansion. Would Recommend it to all gamers, Definate 10.

Post Date: 15:27 21-09-2006
Rating: 9
Author: Steev
Comment: I do not play many games. I -DO- play a few games tho ...STAR Craft was instantly addicting and endlessly fun and gratifying. It is the ONLY game where, I began to play it, and could not WAIT to get BACK to the game, whenever I left it. Recently my girlfriend asked me, "Do you EVER win at this game"? My response was, I always Win, ...eventually. And informed her there was simply an endless series of battles to test yourself against.

Post Date: 11:36 12-08-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Akar
Comment: This IS the greatest game ever maybe, with the abilbity to make your own maps and even add triggers on them is truly 1 of a kind! This makes it virtually never ending. They even seperate maps into genres. You can play rpgs, defense maps, bounds, and melees all on one game. With this game anything is possible.

Post Date: 02:44 25-05-2006
Rating: 10
Author: BlackJack
Comment: Agree with Etang...The best RTS ever.

Post Date: 03:53 18-01-2006
Rating: 10
Author: Etang
Comment: Love this game, and I still play it today. Probably the best RTS ever IMHO. Well balanced and great multiplayer. Huge strategies. This game is like a professional sport in Korea.

Post Date: 13:16 11-12-2005
Rating: 8
Author: Slake
Comment: A cool RTS in the future. We can play online and it s cool.

Post Date: 18:51 31-07-2005
Rating: 4
Author: fragmaster
Comment: this game was good when it first came out, but for today its not that good

Post Date: 02:33 10-02-2005
Rating: 5
Author: brann
Comment: good game but not that great so 5 out of 10

Post Date: 08:18 04-10-2004
Rating: 9
Author: jubei
Comment: One of the most addictive online games ever. There needs to be a sequel of some kind on the PC.





GameOgre now on Twitter

Keep up-to-date with all the happenings and events on GameOgre.