CS:GO or Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, is a popular multiplayer game. The Terrorists and the Counter-Terrorists are competing against each other. The game uses nine modes, including the following:

  • Competitive
  • Casual
  • Deathmatch
  • Arms Race
  • Demolition
  • Wingman
  • Flying Scoutsman
  • Danger Zone
  • Weapons course

Each mode has specific characteristics of play. Some are more competitive than others and they have different rules. Take a look at the most popular modes in this game.

Competitive Mode

Competitive mode is the most important game mode in CS:GO and this mode put it on the map. The progress in this ranked mode translates to the rank of the player. There are two teams that each have five players and the game is divided into 30 two-minute rounds. The team that wins 16 rounds wins the entire match. If there is a tie, it will be decided by overtime.

Casual Mode

The nice thing about casual mode is that players can play without having to worry that they will lose ranking points. It is easy to drop in and drop out, and you will receive armor and defusal kits. This is a great mode for practicing and learning to master the skills needed for the competitive mode. Each team will have ten players and they will play 15 two-minute rounds. The first team to win eight rounds is the winner.

Demolition Mode

In demolition mode, players are still divided into two teams and the match lasts for 20 rounds. Each player receives weapons automatically and they have to use what they get. If the team cooperates well, they have a better chance of achieving the goal that is specified. Players take turns attacking and defending the bomb site in a series of maps. This mode is designed to be fast-paced. You advance through weapons each time that you kill so when you are more successful, you will get better weapons.

Arms Race

In Arms Race, each player starts the match with a neutral weapon and they get new firearms for each kill. Ultimately, players want to get the golden knife as killing the enemy with this weapon ends the match. This mode forces players to be versatile and use different types of weapons. It is important to keep a lookout for the golden knife as this is the weapon that will end the match.


In the Deathmatch mode, players are all over the map. They have access to all weapons and can change them when they respawn. When players kill other players, they receive rewards of specific amounts of points. The goal is to win the most points.

How it Works

When you play CS:GO, there is an “Official Matchmaking” option. It will select a server owned by Steam and you will play against other players all around the world. The thing to remember is that you are dependent on where the game sends you to play and you have no control over who joins the server, what the rules are, or the settings.

If you want to host your own matches where you set the rules and play with your friends, you will need to consider cheap hosting. You can invite people you want to play with, host matches, make your rules, and even rent to other players who want to host a match.

To take full control over your favorite modes of CS:GO, you will enjoy having your own server where you call the shots.

Final Words

CS:GO is a popular game and people often enjoy hosting their own servers. It gives you control over who you play with, how you play, and what the rules are. This is a great way to play your favorite mode of the game on your own terms.


  1. The different game modes definitely make the game worth playing. I can see why CS:GO is among one of the most popular games out there, because there’s just a lot you can do, and choose from. If you get bored of one mode, it’s simple to switch to another mode.

    Snowy did not rate this post.