The Elder Scrolls V. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions.

Post Date: 08:00 01-03-2015
Rating: 10
Author: axwellshm
Comment: Briliant series with a perfect story that crawls trough the whole game. The graphics are just perfection. Really great game and really good series. Gonna rate it 10/10.
Post Date: 16:51 08-10-2014
Rating: 9
Author: KuNG-Fu-PeoN
Comment: if you like open world games and want to explore the game this is great game for you. i stared playing it like 2 days ago and i cant stop XD so much things to see and new weapons ,armor….
it has alot of bugs but most of them are really funny (etc. when you kill someone he fly in the air XD ) btw graphics are just…. amaizing 😀
its 9 becuz bugssss
Post Date: 07:16 06-08-2014
Rating: 4
Author: Glorious
Comment: ah, elder scrolls again. with each new release i care less about the series. i was very excited to play morrowind when i first saw it, it was a completely new experience for me. i went out exploring the landscape, doing random quests, hoarding stuff as usual. and i eventually got bored. after morrowind i played oblivion for some time too, and had some fun with it, i cant say i didnt. before skyrim came out i revisited those two, see how they hold up and all that and i realized that these elder scrolls games follow very strict patterns:

main quest – no matter what the main storyline is about, one thing is consistent: you need to roam around the world. bethesta WANTS you to explore their world so they are forcing me to do it in every possible situation. i dunno, maybe they think that no one would want to explore their world unless they are forced to?
another pattern that emerges in the main storyline are the dungeons. again, it feels like bethesta is afraid someone might not see all the 4-5 types of dungeons they made so you need to visit each one of them during your main quest.

i havent beaten skyrim as i really dont have enough patience for it after morrowind and oblivion, i could barely finish them.

when i look at skyrim, i basically see just a polished version of flawed morrowind with graphics pimped to the max and a much bigger world. it has all the basic elements of an elder scrolls game: exploration and wandering, doing quests, killing random enemies, gathering/selling/buying stuff, sloppy codding -> resulting in -> bugs. maybe i have just sated all my elder scrolls game type needs with morrowind all those years ago and that’s why i dont see what’s the big deal with skyrim. i think its just a mildly amusing, empty-ish game, unless you use mods.

ah, the mods, when someone mentions elder scrolls to me, first thing that comes to mind are mods. i feel like bethesta discovered a perfect recipe for a successful game: huge world + graphics + editor = people make what they want to see in the game themselves. for a few days ive been browsing oblivion – skyrim mods just to see all those crazy things people made for this game, and i think these mods are the reason why skyrim still stands as one of the best RPG recently released.

no matter how much i dislike realistic graphics in games, i cannot say skyrim does not have great graphics and environment, heck, they are really good. i feel like environment was the main focus of the developers as the game wants you to explore this new land of ice and snow. but if graphics arent your thing (like they arent mine) you wont find this game so fascinating on this front.

sound…well, i cant say that anything past morrowind’s theme ever caught my attention music-wise. even the skyrim theme bored me after hearing it like 3 times. elder scrolls soundtracks have always been forgettable for me, skyrim is no exception. and also, who can forget the bored voice actors that sound like they are recording the dialog during their coffee break. imo bad voice acting is the trademark on all elder scrolls games, and i find skyrim again, as no exception.

combat-wise gameplay in elder scrolls games, to me, has never felt like anything more than just meshing your left click until your target dies. maybe because i would always play a straight-forward melee warrior, or maybe because there really is nothing more to it, and considering the fact that there is a lot of fighting in these games, that’s a bad thing as it gets to feel like a chore really really fast.

on the good side, it only took bethesta a couple of games to realize that their method of leveling up in their games was really bad and needed to be changed into something better. so skyrim has that, a well made leveling system. lack of exp in previous games made quests pointless as you didnt get anything out of them except the ‘enjoyment’ of doing a quest and an occasional reward. this time around, you are given more reasons to do quests, as they let you improve your character further.

again, like in all elder scrolls games, i find skyrim suffering from a lack of interesting equipment. they all show you several different sets of items and that’s basically that. you get ebony (fun fact – its rubber), glass, daedric, iron, leather, dwarven, and a few others. that’s all fine and dandy but i really want to see more unique-looking enchanted items, not just another random enchanted dwarven or glass weapon with a name. i havent played skyrim all that much, maybe it does have a ton of unique looking weapons, but i doubt it. but i know that mods can fix that. whatever you dont like about the game, turn to mods for help.

oh and lets not forget the camera. i dont know if i am the only person on the planet but, when i see the 3rd person view that has your character NOT in the center of the screen, i feel like im drunk and i just cant play it. it is really distracting for me and totally ruins the experience. hope im not the only one here, as if i was, id feel really dumb now…

overall, i dislike skyrim just as i dislike the previous elder scrolls games. to me they are just lazy games that follow a recipe for a successful game, so the majority likes them. it really offers nothing i would look for in a game. i can see why it appeals to people, but it just does not to me.

Post Date: 23:45 24-05-2014
Rating: 10
Author: Extreme9898
Comment: All the elder scrolls games are awesome but skyrim is best.For me its best RPG game ever and one of the best game in all.Gameplay,sound and graphics is epic.If you not try this you are not gamer.
Post Date: 16:18 25-03-2014
Rating: 9
Author: tothadrian94
Comment: nice game good grafics nice story lot of side quest long game to play woth lot of fans
Post Date: 20:51 10-08-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Dmt_2000
Comment: This game is awesome the graphics are epic this game is one of the best games of all time for sure the game play is good the story line is also good
Post Date: 11:14 10-08-2012
Rating: 10
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is the latest game in the brilliant Elder Scrolls series. Even this part of the series, that I spent about a hundred hours with it, is an absolute masterpiece. Skyrim can be played in both first and third person perspective, and both work well. Although I think I prefer playing in first-person more than third-person.. The fighting with sword, bow, or magic works very smoothly and everything is easily accessible by fast changes in a splendid practical menu system. The sound is also both beautiful and grand as it should be in the Elder Scroll games. The voice actors are more here in this game than in Oblivion although I still wish that there were a few more. The missions in Skyrim are both numerous and varied in the nine provinces in Skyrim. This is therefore a fantastic game and I think it beats Oblivion pretty easily.
Post Date: 05:34 20-07-2012
Rating: 8
Author: Aaddron
Comment: But there is one they fear, in their tongue he is known as Dovahkiin, Dragonborn! The long running Elder Scrolls series returns with The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim. Set 200 years after the events of Oblivion the Septim line has ended and the world has entered the Fourth Era. A Warlord has conquered the Imperial City in Cyrodiil greatly weakening the Empire. A number of Provinces take the opportunity to break from the Empire and new alliances are formed. 30 years prior to the start of Skyrim a group called the Thalmor invade Hammerfell and Cyrodiil sparking “The Great War”. The Empire manages to survive by signing a treaty agreeing to ban the worship of Talos. The province of Skyrim is generally unhappy with this and Ulfric Stromcloak, the Jarl of Windhelm forms the Stormcloaks to rebel against the Empire and lift the ban on worshiping Talos. You play the long lost Dragonborn and are thrown right into the middle of all this, welcome to Skyrim!

Like previous Elder Scrolls titles Skyrim takes place in the world of Tamriel, this time it’s the province of Skyrim, the northernmost province and home to the Nords. Winters are long and the bars are always full… the life of a Nord is a simple one but don’t cross any of them! To better capture the Nords life a few key features were added… everyone is big and hairy… they also tend to carry big axes. Bars are full of life including bar brawls and a bard in every tavern who sing wonderful songs about the King Killer and the Legendary Dragonborn. Last, it snows… it snows a lot. Dress warm or freeze, Skyrim is not an easy place to be and that ruggedness is captured beautifully.

The interface has been updated… some good some bad (mostly bad on PC) but they’ve added a few key features that are really great additions. First lets talk about the onscreen interface, it’s good, really good. The first thing you will notice is well there really isn’t one. Everything except the compass by default fades out of the way when not in use to provide an extremely clean and immersive HUD. It’s a great way to do it and works well. The Menu/Inventory interface on the other hand needs some work. They’ve separated Items/Magic/Leveling/Map menu from the System/Quest menu… which at first is extremely confusing. The System/Quest menu is done pretty well… except for the part of Quests being in the System menu…. The other Menu though is just a train wreck… the only real redeeming feature is thanks to Favorites you don’t have to use it a whole lot. One example is checking on effects like having a disease is under Magic… whaa? Exactly! At least the Map is pretty cool.

The Favorites system works extremely well. It allows you to favorite weapons, potions, spells, shouts… well pretty much everything and then access it via one button. Press the button and the game will pause and open a menu… in the menu is a list of all the items you have favorited. This allows you to switch weapons, spells etc on the fly without having to hunt through the menus. It’s genius, simply genius. O and hotkeys still work too.

Skyrim brings a number of streamlining features that long time Elder Scrolls fans may not like. Quick travel returns… along with most of the Oblivion “streamlining features” (although they added a Morrowind Strider like system via carriages if you choose to use it yay!), armor degradation has been removed, leveling has been simplified a ton and the big one regenerating health has been added. Still here? What kind of hardcore fan are you! Just kidding, before you grab your pitchforks and torches hear me out. I’m not the biggest fan of these features but they work well and all seem to be focused on keeping downtime well… down.

Armor degradation was always annoying in Oblivion especially early on when money was scarce… nothing is worse than your favorite sword breaking in the middle of a fight… welll except for going back to town and find out you don’t have to cash to repair it *sadface*. Skyrim changes that, instead of degradation Skyrim focuses on upgradation!?!… . The system is pretty simple but it’s pretty well done and in the end works well. You’ll also find quite a few unique weapons along the way making upgrading largely not needed if you so choose.

Leveling has been changed a ton. No more sleeping to level up, no more core attributes… it’s all about perks! Those that have played Fallout should be familiar with this term and it works a lot like it. So skills like Archery still grow levels through use and after you gain enough skill levels you level up… everytime you level up you get to pick a perk and add a point to one of these three, Heath, Magicka or Stamina. Them three are pretty self explanatory so I’ll jump to perks. Perks are added bonuses for skills, like in Archery, slow time, zoom, more damage etc. Again the system works well, I still prefer how it worked in past Elder Scrolls games but it’s nice and straight forward.

Last but not least is regenerating health. Regenerating health is major change to the gameplay and I like it alot. Now before you burn me on a stake, I hated it… really hated it at first. I thought it was a step back but then I started playing dying and slowly I started to come around to the idea, it wasn’t until I went back to Oblivion and had to constantly chug potions that I really started to like and mIss the regenerating health. It ‘s not overpowered and work very well. It’s not immersive but everything else is so immersive it doesn’t really hurt the overall immersion and it helps keep you in the action. Don’t neglect a good heal spell and potions though… you’ll still need plenty of them on harder difficulties.

Combat is nice, it’s pretty hack n slashy melee weapon wise but they’ve tried to add some depth. Finishing moves and kill cams are a nice touch… although can sometimes look weird. Shield bash is also a really nice addition and has a nice feel to it. Melee combat overall feels a little weak in the sense club to head doesn’t provide a nice crunch *sadface*. Magic has been revamped a bit, you can now equip to spells at once… casting two of the same spell can form a more powerful version. Archery has a nice feel to it. Arrows have a nice weight and impact is solid. Some of the kill cams are done really well too. Being a Dragonborn you also have a shout ability, I won’t go into them too much as not to spoil it but I will say it’s done well and integrates very well with all the primary combat types.

Graphics are amazing, details are amazing, the world is… well you get the point… moving on.

Bugs bugs bugs… it wouldn’t be an Elders Scrolls game with some bugs. At this points most of them are fixed but the game launched with quite a few bugs… some extremely crippling to the game. I’m not gonna go into it to much as most of it has been fixed by now but never the less it happened again, *sadface*. I’m also sad to report that a number of weird things like save a town from destruction… everyone greets you like a hero… then treats you like always… mostly dirt… are still are around, which is a shame. “New engine” was suppose to fix all that….

Skyrim is another step away from the beloved Morrowind days but that’s not to say it’s such a bad thing. The game may have changed but at the end of the day the core is still intact. Skyrim delivers the open world experience better than any Elder Scrolls, I could go even as far to say better than any other game before it. What it lacks in classic Elder Scrolls it makes up for in pure unrelenting fun and honestly that is what games should be, fun!

Post Date: 12:38 04-02-2012
Rating: 10
Author: Skylars
Comment: I haven’t played Skyrim for a long time. But it’s an amazing game that everyone should try. I really like it and it’s probably the best game I’ve ever tried.
Post Date: 01:54 03-02-2012
Rating: 10
Author: Ichigohollowfied
Comment: Just started playing Skyrim the other day.

For starters, I want to thank my computer for allowing me to play this amazing game……

This game is absolutely stunning. The combat system is great now that you can heal yourself and swap to a weapon without having to use hot keys (you can if you want still)

So far I only have Fus to Fus Ro Dah but I plan to try and max out this game.

Out of the graphics I would say that the worst detailed item is the ore. It is extremely difficult to find when you are in the harsh land of skyrim.

-Still a nub in Skyrim but love it-

Ichi

Post Date: 08:09 06-12-2011
Rating: 10
Author: KiteDancer
Comment: fun
Post Date: 19:21 04-12-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Webber
Comment: Skyrim is the best RPG of all time. There I said it . You have to buy this game if you are even mildly interested in RPGs. The graphics in a fw areas will drop your jaw in amazement!
Post Date: 08:04 24-11-2011
Rating: 10
Author: Thedarkboy
Comment: Skyrim is brilliant! It’s pretty popular right now. I personally think it’s better then MW3 and BF3.. But those games are shooters. Well there’s nothing you can complain about this game. Gameplay and graphics are great. Nothing bad actually
Post Date: 23:57 13-11-2011
Rating: 9
Author: lumlehsumleh
Comment: skyrim is very fun. it was released very resently, i tried it and it has many places you can discover which makes the game a lot more fun. try it!
REVIEW OVERVIEW
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
SHARE
Previous articleProteus Review
Next articleThe Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Review

14 COMMENTS

  1. One of the best elder scrolls game that comes with interesting story and lot of hours of fun.
    Detailed zones with tons of sidequest to do.

    Septera did not rate this post.
  2. This game is awesome because you can do alot of stuffs….Pretty much love this type of games….Graphics and gameplay is awesome overall i recommend this game it is very funny and interesting…Plus story is amazing

    xicor97 did not rate this post.
  3. I like this game so much.
    King of Skyrim has been killed.And the country of Skyrim is stucked in war between Imperial and Nordic army.The eldest dragon Alduin has been awaken,who has ability to deveour dead souls.But there is someone who can absorb souls of a dead dragon,and he can learn their tounge.His name is Dragonborn.
    One of last dragonborn has to get strength,power to defeat other evil dragons.
    Graphic good,gameplay fantastic.
    Giving 5 stars for this.

    djolebelevode did not rate this post.
  4. The Elder Scroll serial is one of the best type of rpg games I had chance to play.Skyrim is big game and with that its really hard to check and write about every detail in this game,and trust me this game have a lot to offer.Story is based about dragons and Dovakhiin person born with soul of a dragon.
    At start of the game you are sent to execution but thankfully dragon attacks and you manage to escape.
    And here your really long journey starts.For me story in Skyrim was really interesting.You wont really find unnecessary drama but that didn’t bother me.Skyrim is situated in the most north part of the elder scroll world.Its smaller then Cyrodill and Morrowind but that’s not something you will notice in this game because it offers a lot of content.
    Fights is really improved to the other elder scroll games.You can now handle 2 weapons at the same time ( now you can combine weapons and magic).This allows combining magic and makes game even more fun.Also in fights there are also added executioner moves that activates with critical hits ( something like newer fallouts already have: with VATS system.Fight itself isn’t really something special ( hits don’t have physical influence on enemy until he dies) and AI of enemies isn’t that great either.
    Weapon and armor design are really detailed and goes well with game itself.This is especially seen if you play in first person because you can see close up of the weapons.On the other hand to admire and enjoy the look of armor best is done in 3 rd person view.
    Interesting part that really enjoy is so called shouts ( interaction on dragon language) that you get from different location in Skyrim world.You cant use more then one at the same time.
    Compared to Oblivion upgrading your character is changed, dominant and specific skills are now dependant on your race.Now you also have perks with bonuses.
    Graphic part of this game is really impressive all that because of designer’s imagination and detailed world. Effect of water are excellent.On PC version you can use large amount of mods to make game look even better.Since this game is on steam and there is also skyrim creation kit there are a lot of quality mods available to download for free.Some of the modes I used and found interesting:
    Sky UI offers interface mod with a lot of advanced features ideal for PC,
    Immersive armors mod adds armor variety to make lore even more authentic.
    RaceMenu makes character mode detailed as much as possible.
    There are a lot of more mods that change weather , change gameplay and so on but I only listed the ones I tried or used the most.
    I really enjoyed playing Skyrim because there was always something to do and a large choice in freedom.
    Customization of your character and upgrading it with strong weapons and armors is something I enjoyed the most.Game comes with incredible soundtrack and stunning graphic that makes exploring Skyrim world even more exciting.

    8/10

    Septera did not rate this post.
  5. One of the best games I played at least for me the game is just so awesome the main story is good but so does the side quests that the game offer, be a thief, assassin, mage you name it the game offers a lot of stuff you can even become a vampire and werewolf I haven’t played the previous TES games like Oblivion so I was really amaze and had a lot of fun playing Skyrim the graphics might not look good for you but there are other players there that offer mods that makes the graphics better and even mods that adds new contents and quests like new monsters, mounts, races and weapons the game is good but it can be more better playing it with mods and I mean a lot, exploring the whole map was really exciting and scary when you enter dungeons the game looks like it needs high requirements but hey my junk pc did run it smoothly so you guys will be fine unless your computer is from the ancient times, 😀 the quests in this game gives you choices as well for example *spoiler* when you start the Dark brotherhood by sleeping in bed after helping a kid assassinating an old woman you’ll meet the leader of them there’ll be a couple of dialogues and then she’ll make you choose who to kill from the 3 person that have a bag head or whatever but you can instead kill her too *spoiler end* and yeah like I said the quests gives you options on what you want to do you can be anything you want there’s even a great war of Stormcloaks and imperials and you get to choose sides, summon dragons using the so called shouts(one of the abilities you have cause you’re the dragon born when you play the game) and if you are going to play it might as well recommend the SkyUI Mod which is probably the best interface there is it have a nice design as well 🙂 have fun playing it.

    Masako ratings for this post: Masako gives a rating of 5Masako gives a rating of 5Masako gives a rating of 5Masako gives a rating of 5Masako gives a rating of 5
  6. Well there is so much to say about this single player rpg. It’s been one of my fan favorites ever since release. The game has plenty of things varying from killing a mans chickens to becoming a Dovahkin. There are tons of quests to do on this openworld map. The game includes a major story line and couple of minor storylines to follow with it. There is a huge, and I mean huge customization setting available when the player is first introduced to making his or her character. There are plenty of races to choose from and each race has its own specific unique ability. However, refraining from the customization lets talk about the gameplay. The game play it self is no where near bland because it takes hours to finish some quest, therefore it would satisfy anyones needs when achieving beating a quest. The graphics on this game are remarkable, exactly what every rpg needs. The textures are unbeatable with every other town unique in its own way. Furthermore, every town and city has its own unique characters, quest, and etc. The game is a first person or third person game for the players suited settings. The crafting system is unbeatable, having to retain certain ores and skill level to be able to upgrade to some better gear. The skill tree found in this game takes a long progress for the player to really complete, therefore, there is a lot of grinding found on this game. There are also different rare items found on the game that can be obtainable by doing certain quest or scavenging in unknown dungeons. There are many wars to partake, mainly of the major one “The Battle of the Storm Cloak and the Imperials.” There are a couples of bandits here and there trying to steal loot off of you as well. Lets talk about the difficulty on the game now. The difficulty can be changed in the settings bar as well as the graphics if your ping is a bit too low to be able to play the game smoothly. However, don’t be so mad now, the game does include a whole section of mods online in the pc version. There are plenty of different assorted mods that can implanted in the game to make it seem even more enjoyable for the player. However, if you do not have the pc version, there are other things players can do to obtain more game play in the game. Such as buying the DLCs that can be included to the game. The DLCs are not half bad at all as well, the player can go through these quest having the ability to seek newer lands and join different guilds. Also there is a DLC that allows the player to really create and farm for items in building his or her own house. Overall, I found this game addictive the past 5 years I’ve played it. It’s constantly been one of the few games I look back into playing.

    ugmsrocks09 did not rate this post.
  7. Hmm. Okay by far. This is one of the best games i really liked. The story, the side quests, the open world setting is what makes it so fun. The graphics is like Dragon’s Dogma – ish and i really liked it.

    Im gonna give 10/10 aaaand
    A Thumbs Uppy~

    Mayonnaise did not rate this post.
  8. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an amazing single player open world role-playing game, especially as the player can explore around, play this game modded, enjoy the story, and have a fun time with the combat. The graphics in this game are very detailed and the gameplay by far is one of the best gameplays that I have played for a role-playing game. Perhaps my favorite thing about this game is that it can be played with modifications which greatly enhance the game. Overall, I would rate this game a 4.5/5.

    SnowyAE ratings for this post: SnowyAE gives a rating of 5SnowyAE gives a rating of 5SnowyAE gives a rating of 5SnowyAE gives a rating of 5SnowyAE gives a rating of 5
  9. I would recommend this game to all of my friends, and I implore anyone who kin of wants to get it to get this game. This game gives people a very nice experience, with how open it is. There are so many side quests, mods, DLCs etc. that this game will keep you hooked for many hours.

    Qsljic ratings for this post: Qsljic gives a rating of 5Qsljic gives a rating of 5Qsljic gives a rating of 5Qsljic gives a rating of 5Qsljic gives a rating of 5

LEAVE A REPLY